View Full Version : Wales Away (17th November 2007) - Match Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

Saint Tom
13/11/2007, 6:45 PM
so have decided on a boozer for the weekend?

13/11/2007, 6:48 PM

no idea Saint Tom, might do some "research in work tomorrow " on it.

Moscow Mule
13/11/2007, 9:09 PM

We are all heading for the Gatekeeper. Large pub over 2 floors with a couple of bars. It is just beside the ground on the town side. Big and noisy - just how we like it.:)

AidoM
13/11/2007, 9:12 PM
................. Big and noisy .............

Just like the gang ;) :eek: :D

p.r.o.c.
13/11/2007, 10:33 PM
In Cardiff we have a unique and timely opportunity for the island of Ireland to showcase to ourselves and to the rest of the world a different Ireland. An Ireland that is open and inclusive and that respects the rights of all human beings, where our natural reserves of genuine hospitality are displayed in physical support of a lost cause. No more shall we dispair in the failings of a latent glorious team but rejoice in the approaching dawn of an enlightened and successful future where we shall reclaim the rightful position of Eire, our mother Ireland who weeps for her children."Once more onto the breech my friends"......
Oooooorrrrrrrrrr....we could just get langered,check out the local gunther, sing Delilah, drop the hand on some young wan,wake up the next morn with Mrs Jones, promise to ring them while climbing out the bathroom window, miss your flight home, take the ferry and get fluthered, call the moth, blame Ryanair,
and tell her you missed her!

So its the Gatekepers/O Neills/prince of wales , isnt it?

btid1
14/11/2007, 9:19 AM
Oooooorrrrrrrrrr....we could just get langered,check out the local gunther, sing Delilah, drop the hand on some young wan,wake up the next morn with Mrs Jones, promise to ring them while climbing out the bathroom window, miss your flight home, take the ferry and get fluthered, call the moth, blame Ryanair,
and tell her you missed her!

So its the Gatekepers/O Neills/prince of wales , isnt it?

Sounds like the perfect weekend!!!!:D:D

Paulie
14/11/2007, 10:25 AM
One of the lads in my group had to pull out so I have just cancelled one room in the Etap Hotel in Cardiff city centre for anyone needing a room. It's £64 for the two nights.

Battery Rover
14/11/2007, 2:05 PM
Weather (http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?id=1424) is looking rotten wet but at least the wind ain't too bad, we won't have a Faroes incident with fans getting stuck at ports due to wind/storms/fog etc :rolleyes:

Not ballax freezing either for this time of year, but with the rain, we'll just have to stay in the pub all day/night :D

Wind speed on that a lot different to what I have just seen on RTE, 40 MPH from the SW but at least it will be behind us going over:D

Sligo Hornet
14/11/2007, 2:40 PM
Wind speed on that a lot different to what I have just seen on RTE, 40 MPH from the SW but at least it will be behind us going over:D

Hope for your sake Battery it doesn't "go over":eek:

14/11/2007, 2:42 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?id=1424

damn thing changing all the time :rolleyes:

Sligo Hornet
14/11/2007, 2:47 PM

We might be lucky in that case for saturday:)

Battery Rover
14/11/2007, 2:57 PM
Hope for your sake Battery it doesn't "go over":eek:

I just worry about spilling beer nothing else:cool:

Rebel11
14/11/2007, 3:25 PM
Is anyone else fyling out in the Morning with Aer Arran from Dublin?

soccerc
14/11/2007, 3:32 PM
Is anyone else fyling out in the Morning with Aer Arran from Dublin?

Oh Jesus, No :D

AidoM
14/11/2007, 4:01 PM

Isn't climate change a big thing ;) :D

Moscow Mule
14/11/2007, 7:35 PM
Isn't climate change a big thing ;) :D

Where is global warming when you want it?:confused:

SuperDave
15/11/2007, 12:14 AM
'Opening can of worms'!!!!!

Well there are 2 possible ways they get their away tickets:

1) They source their complete allocation (100+ tickets usually) from individual block bookers who have been successful in the ballot and no longer wish to travel (I have never been contact by a travel agent).

2) They get their tickets via some corporate/third party allocation from the FAI.

never thought of that. probably all with the big old complimentary stamp on them. i paid way over the odds for a ticket for the oct 05 swiss game and when i got the ticket it had a big red stamp on it "complimentary"

aidz1
15/11/2007, 12:32 PM
anyone after accomadation for the friday night.....i have just cancelled the travelodge in the city centre.
mates have pulled out of this one. their grannies are said to be on their death beds (i await the joe duffy show to confirm!!).
rather than forking out the cost of a room myself, i now am hunting a hostel for 1!!!
i'll be travelling alone for this one.....
anyone after a cheapish flight from belfast pm me (think its about €70 at the mo to change names with difference included). heading out friday 19:55, back sunday 13:05.

15/11/2007, 1:43 PM
.....mates have pulled out of this one.......

As have many players!

p.r.o.c.
15/11/2007, 1:46 PM
how many will turn up for this game do you reckon?
Id say 5000 tops, still not bad for a dead match. Far cry from the 30000 or so from the paris match eh? :rolleyes:

15/11/2007, 1:56 PM
Id say 5000 tops, still not bad for a dead match. Far cry from the 30000 or so from the paris match eh? :rolleyes:

yeah i am guessing 4000-5000 at very most. last game til spring/autumn 08 :eek::(

btid1
15/11/2007, 2:24 PM
last game til spring/autumn 08 :eek::(

Not necessarily a bad thing.....

aidz1
15/11/2007, 2:49 PM

i'd say about 3500 max...and a lot of that number bumped up by irish based in britain

btid1
15/11/2007, 3:09 PM
I was reading in the Star this morning that the Football Association of Wales, when asked how many tickets had been sold by the FAI, stated that they had sold about 6,000 tickets for the Irish end.

Would the Star lie?

p.r.o.c.
15/11/2007, 3:19 PM
btw, for what its worth a friends friend, who used to live in Cardiff,says that the best pubs on matchdays are "gatekeepers", "price of wales" and "dempseys". Best late bar/club "walkabout" or "liquids". All close to the stadium. Also should be no problem with wearing the green as long as you are not rat arsed !:D

cheers;)

15/11/2007, 3:22 PM
i'd say about 3500 max...and a lot of that number bumped up by irish based in britain

defo, that' s why i was thinking i lot will travel down from brum/london/manchester/liverpool etc

Rebel Don
15/11/2007, 6:20 PM
are ROI in West Upper. If so can we get tickets on de day

Sligo Hornet
15/11/2007, 6:37 PM
are ROI in West Upper. If so can we get tickets on de day

Yes and, as far as I know, No.....though you should be able to pick "spares" in some of the pubs

Rebel Don
15/11/2007, 6:52 PM
Ticketline aren't selling for any part of West Stand. Hopefully will pick up tickets X4 on day in pub. Any update on attendance prediction. Will gor for 28000. 50/50.

Rebel Don
15/11/2007, 6:56 PM
Around 20,000 tickets have so far been sold including the FAI allocation. - 7-Nov-07 [11:30]

from welsh fa..

aidz1
16/11/2007, 8:57 AM
have just cancelled the family room in travelodge city centre for saturday night -not economically feasible for just myself

-also have 1 spare ticket for sale in the irish end.(will have access to this site before 3pm today if you pm me)
am travelling belfast-bristol easyjet flight tonight, so i'll likely be in the airport from 18:30 onwards if anyones interested in it..

Battery Rover
16/11/2007, 9:01 AM
Latest weather doesn't look too good for people like myself using the ferry

Sea Crossings
State of sea until 0600 Sunday 18 November 2007
Dublin - Holyhead Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.
Rosslare - South Wales Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.
Cork - South Wales Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.

Sligo Hornet
16/11/2007, 9:35 AM
Latest weather doesn't look too good for people like myself using the ferry

Sea Crossings
State of sea until 0600 Sunday 18 November 2007
Dublin - Holyhead Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.
Rosslare - South Wales Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.
Cork - South Wales Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.

Looks like there won't be quite as much beer consumed in Cardiff as was first thought:D......better make sure your eggs are WELL cooked on Sunday morning....you don't want to be shaking hands with your breakfast on the return ferry trip!:eek:

Sligo Hornet
16/11/2007, 9:52 AM
Weather for the landlubbers in Cardiff now looks better (for saturday anyhow )http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?id=1424:)

16/11/2007, 11:21 AM
Weather for the landlubbers in Cardiff now looks better (for saturday anyhow )http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?id=1424:)

thank god!

Sligo Hornet
16/11/2007, 12:28 PM
thank god!

I hope you, Babysis and the rest of your reprobates have an enjoyable ( trouble-free) and safe journey...........see you in the capital of Sheepland!

best wishes from "the riff raff":rolleyes:

16/11/2007, 1:41 PM
I hope you, Babysis and the rest of your reprobates have an enjoyable ( trouble-free) and safe journey...........see you in the capital of Sheepland!

best wishes from "the riff raff":rolleyes:

Cheers, we will, on the 20:00 flight from Shannon tonight, so i am leaving work
in half hour or so! :p

Sligo Hornet
16/11/2007, 2:13 PM
Cheers, we will, on the 20:00 flight from Shannon tonight, so i am leaving work
in half hour or so! :p

Will they notice when you're gone?;)

16/11/2007, 2:22 PM
Will they notice when you're gone?

:eek::mad:
The place will collapse:D

Hopefully not, I'm sneaking out a bit earlier than planned

HolylandsMan
17/11/2007, 3:58 AM
Last of the last minute decisions and I'm away. hope its worth it it!!!

come on you boys in green!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Battery Rover
19/11/2007, 10:40 AM
Story of the trip was getting to Holyhead and asking for two return tickets to Cardiff
The ticket guy politely asks

"Would you like the 1.30am train that changes in Crewe or the 4.30 am direct to Cardiff""
We reply "We will take the direct route to Cardiff as we can get a bit of sleep on the way down"

Direct route turned out to be Holyhead - Chester, wait 15 mins there while they changed engines. Then back the way we came to Shrewsbury where we got a bus to Craven Arms and then back on a train into Cardiff.

Then on the way back we were told the train would return at 7.35PM but I took a walk up to the station after the match and was informed that train was cancelled and it was leaving at 6.50 instead (wonder how many missed that train)

Then a good journey by train, bus, train, bus with the Wrexham supporters even though as Ash said on another post some guy got on the train and shat himself a few times and stunk the carriage out. He was abandoned by all in Llandudno Junction

Schloomp was lucky to still be on the train after enticing the fella who sh*t himself to walk up and down the carriage a few times to give everybody a good smell. People weren't happy with that and blamed Ash for encouraging him:D

Had a good weekend and had the pleasure of meeting the following

Green Tribe - Apologies for thinking you were male reading your posts:o
Bluebeard - Mr G&T himself and the first person I have ever heard saying to an Athlone Town fan that a strong Longford Town team are needed for the league:eek: but he quickly redeemed himself and I accept it was the Gin and Tonics
Babysis, Schloomp, AidoM, Philo, Ireland4Ever, Citizenerased and the one and only Bear11

There were probably a few more that I can't remember

Looking forward to another trip that doesn't clash with an Eircom League match.

citizenerased
19/11/2007, 12:08 PM
im back...way hey...great weekend, the result and the penalty with 3 minutes to go really typified the campaign...

met a good few of the foot.ie crew who were mocking me about my pathethic grovelling last week..

unfortunately a few scumbags around again, dublin knackker tried to attack the bouncer in o'neills on friday with a bottle after being thrown out for flashing his genitalia to women. apart from that good weekend

roll on the draw next sunday

Beavis
19/11/2007, 1:16 PM
Had a great little trip. Thought Cardiff,from what little we saw, was a great spot to go out,spent all Saturday in Walkabout.We couldnt get over how the night is in full swing so early, all the people were out on the dancefloor and on the hard stuff by 9 whereas Ireland wouldnt be til earliest 12.
Needless to say in the end,this very long night took its toll, with the bro waking up the whole hostel by setting off the alarm trying to remember the security code:D
Couldnt believe the Millenium Stadium is smack in the middle,probably the equivilent of Marlborough Street in relation to our city centre.Handy as fook.

Ferrys are so much less hassle than airports.No security checks,passport checks, check-in desks or 2 hour prior arrival times, a welcome change.

co. down green
19/11/2007, 1:57 PM
Had a great little trip. Thought Cardiff,from what little we saw, was a great spot to go out,spent all Saturday in Walkabout.We couldnt get over how the night is in full swing so early, all the people were out on the dancefloor and on the hard stuff by 9 whereas Ireland wouldnt be til earliest 12.
Needless to say in the end,this very long night took its toll, with the bro waking up the whole hostel by setting off the alarm trying to remember the security code:D
Couldnt believe the Millenium Stadium is smack in the middle,probably the equivilent of Marlborough Street in relation to our city centre.Handy as fook.

Ferrys are so much less hassle than airports.No security checks,passport checks, check-in desks or 2 hour prior arrival times, a welcome change.

Agreed, enjoyed the couple of days, apart from the result.

Would have been nice if ALL the Irish players could have shown some sort of acknowledgement towards the good travelling support at the final whistle.

Keane,Given,Hunt & Doyle only one's who bothered showing their appreciation towards the Irish crowd

Sligo Hornet
19/11/2007, 2:00 PM
Agreed, enjoyed the couple of days, apart from the result.

Would have been nice if ALL the Irish players could have shown some sort of acknowledgement towards the good travelling support at the final whistle.

Keane,Given,Hunt & Doyle only one's who bothered showing their appreciation towards the Irish crowd

Perhaps the others were getting cold...it was quite chilly at the end!;)

co. down green
19/11/2007, 2:03 PM
Perhaps the others were getting cold...it was quite chilly at the end!;)

Agreed, it was much warmer in Witherspoon's:)

Beavis
19/11/2007, 2:26 PM

Possibly there were a few players who were not happy with abuse they got against Cyprus and understandably so. Given always claps the fans at away games,regardless.He knows the effort made by fans because his family regularly travel.
Decent atmosphere in the irish area for the game.About 20 minutes to go a group of about 20-25 gathered over towards behind the goal who went randomly into party mode.Was anyone apart of this? They must have all simultaneously downed their hip flasks or something cos they were all of a sudden having great craic.

Sligo Hornet
19/11/2007, 2:44 PM
Possibly there were a few players who were not happy with abuse they got against Cyprus and understandably so. Given always claps the fans at away games,regardless.He knows the effort made by fans because his family regularly travel.
Decent atmosphere in the irish area for the game.About 20 minutes to go a group of about 20-25 gathered over towards behind the goal who went randomly into party mode.Was anyone apart of this? They must have all simultaneously downed their hip flasks or something cos they were all of a sudden having great craic.

And all the others who took off their jersies to wave around their heads.....too feckin cold for me to do that!:eek:

Bondvillain
19/11/2007, 3:14 PM
The Villain Itenerary

Friday:

Kildare-Sandyford-Nassau St-Rosslare-Fishguard-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Bristol. Yay Booze!

Saturday:

Bristol-Cardiff-Scared the bejaysus out of unnamed female in Wetherspoons (Babysis) -Bristol. Yay Booze!

Sunday:

Bristol-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Fishguard-Seventh Circle of Hell in the sea where boat was thrown 30 feet in the air, and contents of several very green stomachs followed-Rosslare-Rushed the bus driver at the traffic lights in Stillorgan-Sandyford-Kildare Yay Bed!

Sligo Hornet
19/11/2007, 3:24 PM
The Villain Itenerary

Friday:

Kildare-Sandyford-Nassau St-Rosslare-Fishguard-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Bristol. Yay Booze!

Saturday:

Bristol-Cardiff-Scared the bejaysus out of unnamed female in Wetherspoons (Babysis) -Bristol. Yay Booze!

Sunday:

Bristol-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Fishguard-Seventh Circle of Hell in the sea where boat was thrown 30 feet in the air, and contents of several very green stomachs followed-Rosslare-Rushed the bus driver at the traffic lights in Stillorgan-Sandyford-Kildare Yay Bed!

So just another quiet relaxing weekend!:D