View Full Version : Wales Away (17th November 2007) - Match Thread
Bondvillain
19/11/2007, 3:49 PM
So just another quiet relaxing weekend!:D
Quieter than usual , yeah...:D
19/11/2007, 4:16 PM
Excellent weekend. I'm starting to wonder why I book hotel rooms for these trips though as I never seem to wake up in my own hotel/room. They love their parties in Cardiff. As Beavis said the place was kicking from the start. I was in that Walkabout place after the match too and they had a great laugh building a tower with the plastic glasses. Couldn't believe how many Welsh were supporting England though.
Craig Bellamy was in the Lava Lounge last night.
20/11/2007, 2:03 AM
Bluebeard - Mr G&T himself and the first person I have ever heard saying to an Athlone Town fan that a strong Longford Town team are needed for the league:eek: but he quickly redeemed himself and I accept it was the Gin and Tonics
To my eternal discedit that was at about 11h00 in the morning, and was only marginally not as embarrassing as something I had come out with earlier on the train, hard as it may be to believe. However, even in my gin addled state, I knew that there was something morally and ethically wrong in what I had said, and understandably, I was anxious to correct this chronic error.
20/11/2007, 9:11 AM
Bluebeard, stop it, everyone in work is giving me strange looks for sitting giggling to myself. I shall be posting later this evening/afternoon as I actually really need to do some work this morning. Great trip though :D
20/11/2007, 10:01 AM
The Villain Itenerary
Friday:
Kildare-Sandyford-Nassau St-Rosslare-Fishguard-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Bristol. Yay Booze!
Saturday:
Bristol-Cardiff-Scared the bejaysus out of unnamed female in Wetherspoons (Babysis) -Bristol. Yay Booze!
Sunday:
Bristol-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Fishguard-Seventh Circle of Hell in the sea where boat was thrown 30 feet in the air, and contents of several very green stomachs followed-Rosslare-Rushed the bus driver at the traffic lights in Stillorgan-Sandyford-Kildare Yay Bed!
That was funny,
Babysis nearly died, what did you say to her? You just appeared out of nowhere :D
Paulie
20/11/2007, 10:45 AM
Had a great weekend. Spent a lot of time in Kitty Flynns which was a great little boozer before going on to a little nightclub around the corner where there was something which I would like to think resembled dancing.......unfortunately though in hindsight it really didn't.
I also drunkely met some of the people from here but am a little hazy on the details!
20/11/2007, 10:53 AM
Had a great weekend. Spent a lot of time in Kitty Flynns which was a great little boozer before going on to a little nightclub around the corner where there was something which I would like to think resembled dancing.......unfortunately though in hindsight it really didn't.
I also drunkely met some of the people from here but am a little hazy on the details!
Yes, you met Babysis, myself, AidoM and possibly Bear11. I think you were with a guy with some type of facial hair. Yes, I also have a hazy memory of all the dancing upstairs(crazy dancing by us all) then remember seeing you again trying to get a taxi and you were talking to someone else from foot.ie, who when they found out who i was said "Oh, i don't like your posts" :eek::D But refused to tell me who they were!
I was sooo upset :rolleyes: Unfortunately there was a camera in that dancing place, and if i get the photos, i will send you them!
StephenMcG
20/11/2007, 11:03 AM
Anyone else end up in that kip Insomnia?
About the size of my bathroom, but free in, open til 6am and £1.20 a drink so was good craic!
They weren't happy with us ordering quadruple vodka and VK Blue (vodka & red bull alco-pop) though.
They also sold shots of Absinthe which I suffered for all day on Saturday.
Walkabout was ok but nothing special.
Sligo Hornet
20/11/2007, 11:05 AM
Yes, you met Babysis, myself, AidoM and possibly Bear11. I think you were with a guy with some type of facial hair. Yes, I also have a hazy memory of all the dancing upstairs(crazy dancing by us all) then remember seeing you again trying to get a taxi and you were talking to someone else from foot.ie, who when they found out who i was said "Oh, i don't like your posts" :eek::D But refused to tell me who they were!
I was sooo upset Unfortunately there was a camera in that dancing place, and if i get the photos, i will send you them!
Blimey.......could have been anyone then!:D
Paulie
20/11/2007, 11:18 AM
I was sooo upset :rolleyes: Unfortunately there was a camera in that dancing place, and if I get the photos, i will send you them!
Yeah that was my mate, Pat Pat Pat. I have no recollection of trying to get a taxi and no idea why I needed one as my hotel was a ten minute walk away. I was probably just confused. I don't remember there being a camera either. It appears that I have forgotten more than I thought!
20/11/2007, 11:38 AM
Yeah that was my mate, Pat Pat Pat. I have no recollection of trying to get a taxi and no idea why I needed one as my hotel was a ten minute walk away. I was probably just confused. I don't remember there being a camera either. It appears that I have forgotten more than I thought!
I was in a hostel and no taxi driver knew where it was, it was only a 10min walk also but i was in no fit state to figure out how to get there! Yes there was a camera and we were all happily posing for pictures:eek: while dancing like lunatics!
Sunday night was just as mad, Kitty Flynns wouldn't serve after 22:30 so left there and we ended up by accident in a gay bar with a drag queen as entertainment :eek:
Was like something out of the nightclub scene in Police Academy! :D
Sligo hornet it was probably you i met then! "i don't like your posts"!!
Sligo Hornet
20/11/2007, 11:53 AM
I was in a hostel and no taxi driver knew where it was, it was only a 10min walk also but i was in no fit state to figure out how to get there! Yes there was a camera and we were all happily posing for pictures:eek: while dancing like lunatics!
Sunday night was just as mad, Kitty Flynns wouldn't serve after 22:30 so left there and we ended up by accident in a gay bar with a drag queen as entertainment :eek:
Was like something out of the nightclub scene in Police Academy!
Sligo hornet it was probably you i met then! "i don't like your posts"!!
No can't have been, as I have my name on the back of my shirt....for those hazy moments late at night!.....Sounds like you had a really great time, sorry I missed you in Cardiff:(
20/11/2007, 11:58 AM
No can't have been, as I have my name on the back of my shirt....for those hazy moments late at night!.....Sounds like you had a really great time, sorry I missed you in Cardiff:(
Was a great trip will put the edited highlights on a post later. Met yous lot in Bratislava so should recognise you. Was too drunk at the game and would not have recognised anyone i'd say :o
citizenerased
20/11/2007, 12:17 PM
About the size of my bathroom, but free in, open til 6am and £1.20 a drink so was good craic!
They weren't happy with us ordering quadruple vodka and VK Blue (vodka & red bull alco-pop) though.
lol...Yeah i ended up there till 6am, some dive, absolutely poisoned myself with alcohol...anyone know a lad from kerry called Pat Cronin?
Babysis
20/11/2007, 12:35 PM
I remember seeing you in the corner at Kiwis and bringing you round to meet everyone - Im actually amazed I remembered your name as by that point I dont think I knew my own :o I was polluted! Got taken to the wrong hostel by the taxi man (although 2 fellas insisted on paying for the cab for me anyway, so not all bad).
Sunday we just topped up from the night before. Was good fun, ended up in The Prince of Wales, then the big O'Neills, then The Queens Vault, then Kitty Flynn's then Club X the gay bar!!
As GT said, the edited highlights will be up later. Great trip all in all.
Ireland4ever
20/11/2007, 12:37 PM
Still disappointed with AidoM for making me suffer the indignity of a Foot.ie badge with my name scribbled on in pen and not pre-printed!!:D:D
Babysis
20/11/2007, 12:38 PM
That was funny,
Babysis nearly died, what did you say to her? You just appeared out of nowhere :D
Jesus you did scare me - You walked up beside me and started chatting to me and of course I had no idea who you were straight away (Few cans on the train at 8am had been had, so I do apologise). good seeing you though. :)
Ireland4ever
20/11/2007, 12:39 PM
They also wernt too happy with one fan sitting down asleep while projectile vomiting onto the ''dancefloor''....some spot!:D
Paulie
20/11/2007, 12:41 PM
Fair play to ye for being able for the Sunday as well. After two full days on the sauce I was happy to be going home on Sunday. Here's hoping we get a nice away friendly early next year!
Babysis
20/11/2007, 12:42 PM
To my eternal discedit that was at about 11h00 in the morning, and was only marginally not as embarrassing as something I had come out with earlier on the train, hard as it may be to believe. However, even in my gin addled state, I knew that there was something morally and ethically wrong in what I had said, and understandably, I was anxious to correct this chronic error.
As bad as me and GT felt yesterday travelling back, we spent the whole journey repeating some of the quotes and stories from the weekend. You would want to see the filthy look I got on the flight to Shannon last night from the fella in front of me - Clearly he didnt apporve of the stories, in particular me repeating what Bluebeard had said to the whole train on sat morning! :D
Bear Eleven
20/11/2007, 1:14 PM
What a trip. Crack was great as usual.Hey Babysis glad to see you made it back to the Hostel.You dont have to say thank youto me for waiting with you for 1 1/2 hours in the rain for taxi. GT i have your Tricolour if your are wondering where it went. I will wash it and send it down to you. Hey Ash was it Holyhead you were going home from. I heard AidoM qualified for a Bus Pass in cardiff.
Babysis
20/11/2007, 1:23 PM
What a trip. Crack was great as usual.Hey Babysis glad to see you made it back to the Hostel.You dont have to say thank youto me for waiting with you for 1 1/2 hours in the rain for taxi. GT i have your Tricolour if your are wondering where it went. I will wash it and send it down to you. Hey Ash was it Holyhead you were going home from. I heard AidoM qualified for a Bus Pass in cardiff.
I text you that night and said thank you. And besides it wasnt raining in the bar:D. Those two fellas you put me in a taxi with where quality. Thank you for looking after me really. I vaguely remember givng that Dub who sat beside me in the bar some grief - And you breaking your heart laughing over it all! Defo keeping a low profiel while Im in Dublin this week - Will be sods law I will meet one of tha many random people GT kept making friends with:D.
20/11/2007, 1:36 PM
LOL, I was wondering where the hell my flag went :D Glad it has a home, sure hang on to and I'll get it at the next game. AidoM is going to kill you..snigger
I was just as bad babysis, I went to 2 different hostels before i finally found the right one!
you. Hey Ash was it Holyhead you were going home from
Yep, Holyhead ... in Wales :D
20/11/2007, 1:46 PM
Yep, Holyhead ... in Wales :D
So yous were on a smelly train then...dear god what a story :eek:
Bondvillain
20/11/2007, 1:50 PM
That was funny,
Babysis nearly died, what did you say to her? You just appeared out of nowhere:D
Jesus you did scare me - You walked up beside me and started chatting to me and of course I had no idea who you were straight away (Few cans on the train at 8am had been had, so I do apologise). good seeing you though :)
I honestly had no intention of scaring the bejaysus out of anyone. I was out having a smoke and my phone rang, so I tried to head back in the door, and The Brigette Neilsen fan club in the Black bomber jacket who was bouncing told me I'd have to go back around the building, cos this wasnt an ent-rance hai?. I'd said to her that I was just out for a fag, and she swore blind to me that I'd crawled over the rail to come in.
I was staring at her open mouthed, and she actually had me believing I did until she looked over my shoulder and said "Sor-ry lav, It were the oth-er bal-dy bloke wat I saw climbing ova. He's facked if he thinks he's com-ing in this door. You're ok. In. "
So by the time I copped yis inside, I was still in full on "JEEZUS MAN. I ONLY WENT OUT FOR A FAG. WHAT THE HELL? GRRRR!" mode, so when I walked up to you, it kinda came out as "HI, GOT YOUR MESSAGE. JUST ARRIVED. HOW ARE YOU. OR I'LL KILL YOU!" so I can understand the sheer look of terror on your face.
Sorry. nice to see y'all again, even if I did come across a bit "I know what you did last Summer" :D
20/11/2007, 2:10 PM
I remember the bouncer u mean bond villan, she was a right scary looking piece.
The welsh accent had me laughing most of the time, very funny.
Dying in work today, cannot wait to get out at 1715 :(
21/11/2007, 1:36 AM
As bad as me and GT felt yesterday travelling back, we spent the whole journey repeating some of the quotes and stories from the weekend. You would want to see the filthy look I got on the flight to Shannon last night from the fella in front of me - Clearly he didnt apporve of the stories, in particular me repeating what Bluebeard had said to the whole train on sat morning! :D
Yeah, sometimes one should not sit in the quiet carriage with a booming theatrical voice:o
Perhaps yer man in front was just annoyed at a lost opportunity. I can only hope that you had volume in your voice to match mine as you told it...
Babysis
21/11/2007, 1:44 PM
Yeah, sometimes one should not sit in the quiet carriage with a booming theatrical voice
Perhaps yer man in front was just annoyed at a lost opportunity. I can only hope that you had volume in your voice to match mine as you told it...
Well I was losing my voice at that point, but its fair to say he heard enough :D Although it was a "quiet" carraige, it was great craic. The Guard was brilliant - All together now "Hey Baby":p He never did come back and get a can and a bacon buttie:(
21/11/2007, 2:00 PM
Well I was losing my voice at that point, but its fair to say he heard enough Although it was a "quiet" carraige, it was great craic. The Guard was brilliant - All together now "Hey Baby":p He never did come back and get a can and a bacon buttie:(
First rail guards indeed, he was funny
"Ok baby, i come back for a can and sandwich later" (deepest voice ever) :D
Maybe he had heard what Bluebeard said he liked!
24/11/2007, 10:22 PM
Now that I am slightly recovering from a killer cold all week; looking back on last weekend was a laugh; Was good to see and meet a few more foot.ie people;
Probably the funniest incident was on the 0745am First rail service from London - Cardiff on Saturday, a certain bearded (not AidoM) member of foot.ie announced to a busy "quiet carriage" that " he likes the **** and please form an orderly queue!!" (Long story) The same gentleman proceeded to get drunk and declare that Longford FC were a worthy team...
Meeting Battery Rover for the first time and him saying "I thought you were a man" :D
In the same bar, we met several of the Welsh police force, lovely bunch they are, posing for photos and allowing us to wear their hats, when trying on one of the heavy helmets, Babysis said to one of the officers " Oooh, you've got SUCH a small head" :eek:
During the game, the guy sitting beside me suddenly lost his voice and was talking like the taxi driver from "Naked Camera"
Saturday night included both Babysis and I going to 2 different hostel receptions(within 10mins walk of other) before finally finding the right hostel, was still drunk when I came home and woke everyone up.
Sunday night, Kitty Flynn's shut 30 mins early and kicked us out so we ended up by accident in a gay bar (Club X), think Police Academy nightclub scene but instead with a drag queen singing and lots of big scary "friendly" girls :eek:
Finally flying back from Bristol, at check-in 4 girls cackling away ignoring us finally tell us that "we broke the rules of ryanair" as we selected priority boarding and we did not check in online we had to go and pay a 2 quid fine.
LOL
Got on plane finally and noticed I did not have a window at all...shocking...
Babysis can fill any blanks in the story cos i can't remember much else.
Babysis
25/11/2007, 5:35 PM
No, I think you covered most of it:D- Just have to post a link to the pics, or maybe not:eek:
01/12/2007, 5:04 PM
No, I think you covered most of it:D- Just have to post a link to the pics, or maybe not:eek:
Chicken :D
Babysis
03/12/2007, 8:48 AM
Chicken :D
Moi?? I think not. The pics are on the picture post thread :p