View Full Version : What is the story with your username on Foot.ie?
Pages :
[
3]
green goblin
09/09/2004, 12:58 PM
this seems to be the time for resurrections of old threads.
anybody else feel like giving us the lowdown on where they got their foot.ie name from.
there are a few unexplained beauties out there :D
Been called a few things in my time, but never an "Unexplained beauty". :D
Mine's name's easy enough. As a comic book anorak wearer I went for Green Goblin, Spiderman's arch enemy. There have been a few Irish superheroes over the years (There's an X-MAN called Banshee, for e.g.), but the GG just sounded right for foot.ie
"Green", obvious enough, and "Goblin" purely for the inuendo value.
liam88
09/09/2004, 1:23 PM
Good on ya! :D
Name's Liam.........born in 1988 ;)
What a year though ey? Stuttgart, Celtic centinery, me being born....... ;)
Dont know sory :D :D :D :D :)
ThatGuy
13/01/2006, 6:08 PM
Sorry of this has been done before.
What is the story with YOUR username on Foot.ie?
Mine is from the "That Guy" character in futurama, the guy frozen in the 80's who is like Gordon Gekko from Wall Street!
Drumcondra Red
13/01/2006, 6:18 PM
Well I'm from Drumcondra and I'm a Red so Drumcondra Red!
13/01/2006, 6:18 PM
Done before as well (http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=12959&highlight=wondered)! ;)
13/01/2006, 6:23 PM
Well I'm from Raheny and I'm a Red so Raheny Red!
*Take God for copy and paste* :D :p :cool:
13/01/2006, 6:26 PM
Take God?!
13/01/2006, 6:29 PM
Well I'm from Raheny and I'm a Red so Raheny Red!
*Thank God for copy and paste* :D :p :cool:
Your welcome.
Gerrit
13/01/2006, 7:17 PM
It's my real name. On forums where a certain degree of anonymousity is required I go under the moniker Nocturnal Me. Sounds goth and refers to my favourite band Echo & The Bunnymen.
I also had Forbidden Snowflake on one forum long ago, and Tsunami at one where nicknames had a max length of 10 characters (my cat is named Tsunami and it's a nice song by the Manics)
Babysis
13/01/2006, 7:49 PM
A few of the users on here knew my older sister first then met me and so i was called babysis. So when I joined foot.ie, it seemed the right username:)
13/01/2006, 8:35 PM
A few of the users on here knew my older sister first then met me and so i was called babysis. So when I joined foot.ie, it seemed the right username:)
Funny how that happens! I used to play hockey (I know...:o ) in UCD - I was known as Burko...because that's (nearly) my name. My sister started playing for the firsts a couple of years later and was MiniBurko. I stopped playing three or four years ago, but she's still called Mini, and I'd say most of the people who call her that haven't a clue why! I've even been introduced to people as "the original Burko"! :p
14/01/2006, 12:08 AM
Mine's a bit similar to Drumcondra red and Raheny red's except I'm from Sligo and I'm(well nearly:o) a man:p.
hamish
14/01/2006, 12:17 AM
My second name is Ambrose which a friend in school changed to Amby to Hammy to Hamish in the space of a few seconds. The West Ham factor helped.
There wasn't much he could do with Noel.:D
I was also called Sir Alf by my mates in the local footie club. When they heard about Hamish they dropped the Alf bit and called me Sir Hamish.
Eventually, Sir bit was quickly dropped and I've been called Hamish since I was 13.
Had to reactivate the "Sir" bit when I got a computer 'cos someone already had Hamish taken.
Kids in school called me Archie after Archie Gemmill when they saw me play for the local football club.:o
14/01/2006, 1:06 AM
did you score a goal reminiscent to gemill against holland in 78 once?:)
14/01/2006, 10:12 AM
My uncle who plays for Bray, his nickname is tarzan! I'm called that alot of the time!!! Thats why i have the tarzan bit and the 1 is because i'm his number 1 fan!!!
14/01/2006, 11:07 AM
Birth Cert:cool: .
hamish
14/01/2006, 1:53 PM
did you score a goal reminiscent to gemill against holland in 78 once?:)
Eh.......no.........the name related more to Archie's delightfully placid on field temperament.:o
14/01/2006, 6:18 PM
My full name is Anthony McCluskey and im from Dublin so Anthony was shortened to Anto(as you do) but someone had Anto on here so i became Anto McC :)
14/01/2006, 6:28 PM
Anto McC are you not a Boez hoolie
CLICK (http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://www.gla.ac.uk/departments/childhealth/photo/amc.gif&imgrefurl=http://www.gla.ac.uk/departments/childhealth/cvs/amccv.html&h=160&w=120&sz=14&tbnid=nfdykWmbtBYx6M:&tbnh=92&tbnw=69&hl=en&start=6&prev=/images%3Fq%3DAnthony%2BMcCluskey%26svnum%3D10%26hl %3Den%26lr%3D%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official_s%26sa%3DG)
Do people here use their same user name on pther forums or do any of yous change it for different forums??
14/01/2006, 6:38 PM
CLICK (http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://www.gla.ac.uk/departments/childhealth/photo/amc.gif&imgrefurl=http://www.gla.ac.uk/departments/childhealth/cvs/amccv.html&h=160&w=120&sz=14&tbnid=nfdykWmbtBYx6M:&tbnh=92&tbnw=69&hl=en&start=6&prev=/images%3Fq%3DAnthony%2BMcCluskey%26svnum%3D10%26hl %3Den%26lr%3D%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official_s%26sa%3DG)
Ha,nice one Raheny Red,if he wasnt so damn ugly id admit to being a member of the BSC infiltrating Shels but he is so damn ugly so i just cant do that,sorry :D
My full title is actually Anthony Michael Edward McCluskey :)
babydol
14/01/2006, 10:03 PM
my initialls are D-O-L (just incase anyof you thought i couldn't spell) and i was always the youngest in my group of friends so that was my nickname and it stuck.
hamish
14/01/2006, 11:38 PM
Do people here use their same user name on pther forums or do any of yous change it for different forums??
Anto says he looks something like this::D
http://image.clickbox.co.kr/0/00026790.jpg
Dr.Nightdub
15/01/2006, 11:39 AM
Mine's my old DJing name from years ago when I was on pirate radio and everyone had to use false names to reduce the possibility of tapes of your shows ever being used in court as evidence that you'd been broadcasting illegally.
A mate of mine actually made it up. The Night- part was cos my show was on from 10 - 12 on a Sunday night. The -dub part was nothing to do with Dublin but cos it was a black music show, hence a lot of reggae and dub (also ska, soul, African, hip-hop, salsa and this really bizarre speed steel band album I picked up for half nothing in Freebird). The Dr. part was a combination of the show providing a musical education and just cos it sounded good.
And to answer the other question, I use this name for all internet stuff, I couldn't be doing with a whole raft of different alter egos.
jorge
15/01/2006, 12:43 PM
Im Jorge because thats my name in spannish and im from Peru and in Peru they speak spannish...
ken foree
15/01/2006, 12:47 PM
i'm the one on the upper left
hehehee
1 9 2 8
15/01/2006, 12:49 PM
Mine is my ATM pin number
15/01/2006, 1:29 PM
Anto says he looks something like this::D
http://image.clickbox.co.kr/0/00026790.jpg
Who says i dont!!!
ccfcgirl
15/01/2006, 1:30 PM
I follow Cork City Football Club and Im a girl.
My names Patrick Anthoney Rowe...Say it with my middle name as just an initial and it kinda shounds like a certain vedgetable we all love to eat.....so thats where i get my name from! ;)
Aberdonian Stu
15/01/2006, 3:44 PM
I used to live in Aberdeen and am a fan of UCD aka the Students. It would have been Aberdonian Student but it only went as far as stud before I exceeded the limit. I figured Stu was the better option.
Unlike the good doctor I do use another name on other forums, my real one. In fact this is the only one where I use this moniker.
hamish
15/01/2006, 4:33 PM
Who says i dont!!!
Not me anyway amigo:D
BTW I gave Bubbles her nickname 'cos I felt she had a bubbly personality.:D
I named my godson Shakedown 'cos he was mad about that song when he was a kid.
Gerrit
15/01/2006, 4:39 PM
Mine is my ATM pin number
Next meet-up: beware of your bank card, some may be very interested :D
Named after one of the greatest players to ever don the blue of Wateford Utd.
Dominic Iorfa :)
15/01/2006, 7:21 PM
I like shinny things.......
15/01/2006, 9:03 PM
I just didn't really think "Regular Frank" was cutting it so I super-sized my name. That's using your head....
cullenswood
16/01/2006, 7:37 AM
After the street I used to live on
finlma
16/01/2006, 8:39 AM
Mine is my old work login. I tend to use the same handle and password for most things cause I've a head like a sieve.
aido_b
16/01/2006, 8:43 AM
name is aidan buckley ... not much thinking really went into my username when i think about it!
Neish
16/01/2006, 10:39 AM
Mine is Neish simply as that my kinda nick name. My real name is Naoise and I've been called Neish since I was about 9 or 10.
ollie
16/01/2006, 11:31 AM
Amhlaoibh is my name and i suppose lads had a little difficulty in saying it and were miss pronouncing it so some were calling me Ollie(sounds a little similar to my name) and it stuck.
i'm ollie in the cork city forum and i'm The baker in the rebel gaa forum.
Baker is another nickname i have[only at home though] which comes from ollie baker (a famous clare hurler btw if you've been under a rock for the last 15 years), which comes from ollie.
SaucyJack
16/01/2006, 2:10 PM
my moniker is a Spinal Tap reference
Spinal Tap A to Zed
Saucy Jack: David’s rock musical based on the life of Jack the Ripper. It opened and closed in London in record time. "Saucy Jack, you’re a naughty one/Saucy Jack, you’re a haughty one." Conceived by David and Derek at the Luton Palace and discussed during end-of-tour party during filming of "This is Spinal Tap." In 1996, David reported that "Saucy Jack has been workshopped within an inch of its life." Derek: "Its destiny is to be a work-in-progress." (AOL)
ken foree
16/01/2006, 2:39 PM
my moniker is a Spinal Tap reference
Spinal Tap A to Zed
Saucy Jack: David’s rock musical based on the life of Jack the Ripper. It opened and closed in London in record time. "Saucy Jack, you’re a naughty one/Saucy Jack, you’re a haughty one." Conceived by David and Derek at the Luton Palace and discussed during end-of-tour party during filming of "This is Spinal Tap." In 1996, David reported that "Saucy Jack has been workshopped within an inch of its life." Derek: "Its destiny is to be a work-in-progress." (AOL)
"you can't.. dust.. for vomit.."
16/01/2006, 3:20 PM
I'm(well nearly:o) a man:p.
The surgery's nearly finished is it? :D
Used go under the name daviddrog on football forums, and when I was in milan for a match ones of the lads was winding me up saying it was a sh!t name (not much imagination :eek: ) and Cosmo was suggested as we were drinking cosmopolitan cocktails at the time (plus the lads reckon I'd be as cosmopolitan as del boy :D )
16/01/2006, 5:55 PM
The surgery's nearly finished is it? :Dhaha, yeah, nearly done now:D.
16/01/2006, 8:50 PM
well its cos this isnt my real name, i decided to use it as it was someone that babysis used to fancy so i thought it would be funny.
and im a funny guy so there ye go.
16/01/2006, 9:03 PM
Mine is what it is, because when I post, it is quite literally, my post. :)
Drumcondra Red
16/01/2006, 9:04 PM
Who says i dont!!!
Well, me for starters...
hamish
16/01/2006, 9:11 PM
Well, me for starters...
Well, Roy, does he look anything like Ian Gillan???:D