View Full Version : What is the story with your username on Foot.ie?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

11/03/2004, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
Like I can't think of Sting without seeing an Amazonian chief beside him, standing on some Hollywood stage, or Bono leading a flock of lambs through Stephen's Green.

or r kelly with a choir of 250 on the stage with him :p

11/03/2004, 1:04 PM
Originally posted by the 12 th man

by the way soc,how painful was that operation?? :rolleyes:

Took a while to get used to, wasnt able to use it properly for a while but now I wonder why I didnt get it done years ago.

11/03/2004, 2:09 PM
boring ol birth cert for me too i'm afraid

Beavis
11/03/2004, 2:13 PM
I'm told the resemblance is uncanny:D

11/03/2004, 2:28 PM
Originally posted by Beavis
I'm told the resemblance is uncanny:D

are you the guy with the yellow hair or the other one with the slow motion laugh??:D

11/03/2004, 3:20 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
boring ol birth cert for me too i'm afraid

A lot of the Cork City lads went for their own names.
Do any of us have funny e-mail addresses?
Or anyone used an unusual handle on other forums?

Ruairi
11/03/2004, 3:25 PM
Originally posted by Peadar

Do any of us have funny e-mail addresses?

One of my email addresses is bóllocksanyway@.....

It was bad day when i registered.....

11/03/2004, 4:02 PM
Not too interesting, a fan of this guy (http://www.planet-f1.com/graphics/drivers/portraits/2001_portraits/schumacher.jpg).

Paddy Ramone
12/03/2004, 8:51 AM
You might want to rethink that one - saw an article on one of the Ramones lately who has come out in favour of Dubya and said that he was a Republican throughout his punk years and remains anti-abortion, anti-gun restriction, anti-gay marriages etc. etc. That SUCKS maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan...

It sucks big time alright. Maybe I should get rid off all of my roots reggae and Bob Marley CD's because Rastafarians are anti-abortion and anti-gay. But then maybe it's alright to be non-p.c. if you're black or should I say Afro-Carribbean. It's only a crime to be non-p.c, if you're a white Christian of European extraction.

13/03/2004, 2:20 PM
"Hi, my name's Troy McClure (http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=troymcclurepage.tripod.com/tribute.jpg&imgrefurl=http://troymcclurepage.tripod.com/troy.html&h=240&w=320&sz=13&tbnid=HG_AsjFc95MJ:&tbnh=84&tbnw=112&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dtroy%2Bmcclure%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26ie %3DUTF-8%26oe%3DUTF-8%26sa%3DN) , you might remember me from such films like..."

I thought it was quite ironic that everybody knew Troy Mcclure and he wanted to be known by everybody, but to be honest I like my internet privacy by not having my name on the web all the time. Id say most people that know me here call me Troy and prob dont even know my real name (although 3 deff do). Im still ****ed that James found out though ;) . Speaking of him actually, dont people call you Jimmy down in Skib Mr Greenham? :p Surely you have a facinating story behind your handle? :confused:

eoinh
14/03/2004, 11:44 AM
Originally posted by Peadar
Who are you referring to?

That would be Patsh

14/03/2004, 3:50 PM
Originally posted by eoinh
That would be Patsh
What would be Patsh?:confused:

eoinh
14/03/2004, 4:03 PM
well mine is so self-explaining that i wont relate it (also very dull really).

I knew my brother knew someone on this board extremely well but i could never figure it out. That is, until it dawned on me about three weeks ago.

I should have spotted it months ago!

That should solve it patsh!

14/03/2004, 7:09 PM
That should solve it patsh!
Hmmm........what was it that twigged for you?

sylvo
14/03/2004, 11:31 PM
Mine is short for my long latin religous christian name, which i was named after my grandfather and my grandfather's father, a name which i also share with tenth century pope's, a square in Rome a Galway all star hurler from the 80's, and we won't go into two other dude's i share me name with. But i have been called Sylvo since i was a kid for short by my homie's:confused: .

sylvo
14/03/2004, 11:56 PM
Hav'nt a clue Dav, in the Gealtaect region of London N21 it's Sailbhstar, or to my Italian workmate's it's San Silvestro. Anyway meself and the Donegal Cuban stopped off in the railway in N4 on the way back from the Londain game in Ruslip and were very surprised to see yer goodself was not bevving away @ the bar in there, where you hiding Dav.:confused:

15/03/2004, 7:19 AM
Originally posted by davros
Mine was courtesy,of being christened by one of the craziest Evertonians I've ever met who I was @ Wolves Poly.with many years ago....based on my cleancut good looks,not being too disimilar to the leader of those sci-fi renegades.....The Daleks!

EXTERMINATE,Er,EXTERMINATE!

would you consider facial surgery.'if you look like the "davros"
there must be a lot of very frightened kids in your neighbourhood.
do you have the blue jewel thing stuck in your forehead?? :D

eoinh
15/03/2004, 9:12 AM
Originally posted by patsh
Hmmm........what was it that twigged for you?

A few months ago there was a silly juvenile **** on the eircom league board who kept pretending to be me or Conor.

One day (pretending to be me) he announced that i was going to be a dad, which was untrue.

The real conor read it and announced it here. Well you congratulated me and said it was some co-incidence that my brother had just become a father. By my powers of deduction (just like Sherlock Holmes) you had to know my brother to know that.

PS To everybody thanks for your good wishes at the time :) but nobody is getting their presents back :D

15/03/2004, 2:39 PM
Originally posted by Troy.McClure
"Hi, my name's Troy McClure (http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=troymcclurepage.tripod.com/tribute.jpg&imgrefurl=http://troymcclurepage.tripod.com/troy.html&h=240&w=320&sz=13&tbnid=HG_AsjFc95MJ:&tbnh=84&tbnw=112&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dtroy%2Bmcclure%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26ie %3DUTF-8%26oe%3DUTF-8%26sa%3DN) , you might remember me from such films like..."

I thought it was quite ironic that everybody knew Troy Mcclure and he wanted to be known by everybody, but to be honest I like my internet privacy by not having my name on the web all the time. Id say most people that know me here call me Troy and prob dont even know my real name (although 3 deff do). Im still ****ed that James found out though ;) . Speaking of him actually, dont people call you Jimmy down in Skib Mr Greenham? :p Surely you have a facinating story behind your handle? :confused:

We all know it says Worm on your birthcert:D

15/03/2004, 2:44 PM
i know a guy from cork and that is his name.....troy mcclure that is, poor fcuker !!!

15/03/2004, 3:13 PM
You might want to rethink that one - saw an article on one of the Ramones lately who has come out in favour of Dubya and said that he was a Republican throughout his punk years and remains anti-abortion, anti-gun restriction, anti-gay marriages etc. etc. That SUCKS maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan...

The Ramones could be card-carrying members of FF and I'd still love 'em. ;) The kings.

They've always had dodgy politics but I couldn't care less. Incidentally, they released a single in the 80s called Bonzo Goes to Bitburg about Reagan's tasteless visit to an SS war grave memorial thingy, so they're not all bad.

Gabba Gabba Hey

16/03/2004, 2:34 PM
Originally posted by SÓC
We all know it says Worm on your birthcert:D Thats only on my City shirt ;)

4tothefloor
18/03/2004, 1:21 AM
4tothefloor is short for "four to the floor" (never! :D ), which is a term used to describe the beats in house and techno music. There's 4 beats to the bar in most dance music tracks (except Hip Hop, Drum & Bass, and R'n'Bling-bling), therefore four-to-the-floor is a term used by alot of dance music journalists when writing about dance. I've been using it since 1999 on dance message boards, so for convenience decided to use it on here aswell.

DolansWaistcoat
18/03/2004, 7:25 AM
Long story,meself and Pat Dolan out on the town one night...............:eek: :eek: :eek:

noby
18/03/2004, 7:59 AM
Originally posted by 4tothefloor
4tothefloor is short for "four to the floor" (never! :D ), which is a term used to describe the beats in house and techno music.

And used in Northern Soul many years before that.

Aberdonian Stu
19/03/2004, 1:43 PM
Quite imaginative really

I lived in Aberdeen for a year and am a (well was but will be again) student.

19/03/2004, 3:00 PM
Originally posted by 4tothefloor
four-to-the-floor is a term used by alot of dance music

The criminal justice bill define it another way didn't it.

4tothefloor
22/03/2004, 6:16 PM
The criminal justice bill define it another way didn't it.

???????? Don't understand what you're on about.

23/03/2004, 10:49 AM
???????? Don't understand what you're on about.

The Criminal Justice Bill in the UK outlawed gatherings where people danced to "repetitive beats" which were defined as 4/4. I guess you had to be there. :) And 4 to the floor does indeed come from Northern Soul and not from your namby pamby modern dance music.

lopez
24/03/2004, 11:36 AM
I got mine shortly after the 1982 World Cup by some new found plastic mates on a trip to see Ireland v Spain in Dublin. They thought it highly amusing to name me after Roberto Lopez Ufarte (Oo - far - tay...who farted?..Geddit?.. :rolleyes: ) of Real Sociedad and Spain fame.

24/03/2004, 12:19 PM
I got mine shortly after the 1982 World Cup by some new found plastic mates on a trip to see Ireland v Spain in Dublin. They thought it highly amusing to name me after Roberto Lopez Ufarte (Oo - far - tay...who farted?..Geddit?.. :rolleyes: ) of Real Sociedad and Spain fame.

thank your lucky stars it wasnt the dutch match or you might have been
a vollox :D

lopez
24/03/2004, 12:30 PM
thank your lucky stars it wasnt the dutch match or you might have been
a vollox :D
Or Germany and be called Kuntz. No, being half Spanish was the clincher, so that's why this title. Lopez Ufarte was mentioned in Phill Ball's 'Morbo' playing ball on the beach in San Sebastian/Donostia. First time I heard him mentioned in years.

eoinh
24/03/2004, 12:49 PM
remember last season someone put up the rovers v liberec line up and one of the liberecs' players names had his name blanked out?

i wonder what he was called? :confused: :p i think it was ******!

24/03/2004, 1:04 PM
sure we went through that with Nwankwo

lopez
24/03/2004, 1:52 PM
remember last season someone put up the rovers v liberec line up and one of the liberecs' players names had his name blanked out? i wonder what he was called? :confused: :p i think it was ******!
Checked with google. It is ****** as in the golfer, Bernhardt ******. :D

25/03/2004, 7:23 AM
. No, being half Spanish was the clincher

i met a guy who worked in a factory in dublin and his surname was ballesteros.
his da is spanish.i thought he was winding me up but he had an obscure spanish football club shirt on him and said he gets wound up by everyone when they hear his name.is this you cos i like the sound of "lopez ballesteros" ;)

lopez
25/03/2004, 9:56 AM
i met a guy who worked in a factory in dublin and his surname was ballesteros. his da is spanish.i thought he was winding me up but he had an obscure spanish football club shirt on him and said he gets wound up by everyone when they hear his name.is this you cos i like the sound of "lopez ballesteros" ;)
No father, tis not me. I'm was born in bondage and have always been exiled in Babylonia under King Nebuchadnezzar. And my old man's from Dublin originally.

A few weeks ago I was at work (on the tube here) and this manager came along with a school party of five-year-olds (trainee graffiti artists I thought). He got in with me and I noticed from his accent that he was from Cork. Like all good managers he also had his name badge and rank. Anyway, I looked at the name and it said 'Sean Lopez.' :eek: I nearly fell off the seat. I said that isn't a very Irish name and he laughed. Transpired he was from Kinsale and his father was German but with a Spanish father who came over to set up some sort of aircraft place where he met the bloke's mother. Strange but true!! :cool:

25/03/2004, 11:28 AM
[QUOTE=lopez]

A few weeks ago I was at work (on the tube here) and this manager came along with a school party of five-year-olds :/QUOTE]

just wondering lopez,like em,ahem,whos driving the train while your rapping with the locals??? :D

lopez
25/03/2004, 1:37 PM
just wondering lopez,like em,ahem,whos driving the train while your rapping with the locals??? :D
It was just him in the cab with me - perfectly legal as he was a 'railway official' which,apologies, may not have been made clear earlier by me. The kids had to wait until I got to the end of the line (branch shuttle up in Cajun country Buckinghamshire) and the train was fully secured before they could come in, blow the whistle and basically attempt to cause general mayhem. :D

25/03/2004, 5:26 PM
The kids had to wait until I got to the end of the line (branch shuttle up in Cajun country Buckinghamshire) and the train was fully secured before they could come in, blow the whistle and basically attempt to cause general mayhem. :D

I'm sure the good burghers of Chesham loved that... ;)

:D PP

25/03/2004, 5:53 PM
...He got in with me and I noticed from his accent that he was from Cork. Like all good managers he also had his name badge and rank. Anyway, I looked at the name and it said 'Sean Lopez.' :eek: I nearly fell off the seat. I said that isn't a very Irish name and he laughed. Transpired he was from Kinsale and his father was German but with a Spanish father who came over to set up some sort of aircraft place where he met the bloke's mother. Strange but true!! :cool:One of the best young chessplayers in the country is one Alex Lopez from Cork. Has to be related - anything else would be taking the pi$$.

lopez
25/03/2004, 6:45 PM
I'm sure the good burghers of Chesham loved that...
It was at Chalfont instead of Chesham - or Chechnya as we call it at work. Two names in the phone book type of gaff...and one is Patel. :D

One of the best young chessplayers in the country is one Alex Lopez from Cork. Has to be related - anything else would be taking the pi$$.
This is getting very eery now. :eek:

26/03/2004, 8:54 AM
One of the best young chessplayers in the country is one Alex Lopez from Cork.

That is true, I remember him utterly kicking my ass around the board a number of years back.

26/03/2004, 9:41 AM
he gets wound up by everyone when they hear his name.
Everyone thinks it's so funny and they're the first to ever make a joke about it I'm sure... :rolleyes:

26/03/2004, 10:06 AM
It was just him in the cab with me - perfectly legal

conversation goes something like this

lopez says:"dont let the bstards wear you down etc ..............."

official says:"yeah right,right,dont know for sure........................"

little kid tugging lopezs sleeve says :"eh mr lopez we didnt stop at the last 5 stops
you know,and you ve got about 200 people here going mad!!!!"

lopez:"jaysus ,wheres those brakes" :eek:

lopez
26/03/2004, 12:48 PM
And your point,caller......? 3-2 to the Indjua,(v.the'auld sc*m')........
Listen my little fat, brown, friend (although I'm close to you in the brown stakes at the mo following my peaceful convalescence on the Costa de la luz): It's simple. There is one Indian takeaway in Chesham and the boss's brother runs a newsagent. Everyone else? Same surname! Just think Deliverance - or that film with Nicole Kidman and River Phoenix's brother (Caesar in Gladiator?) and the remark about hanging around trailer parks f*cking your cousins - and you'll get the picture. :D

sylvo
27/03/2004, 1:42 PM
:"jaysus ,wheres those brakes" :eek:

Father the brake's on those metropolitan line train's that Lopez drive's are fine, in fact the brake's seem to be alway's in use, it's the fcuking accelarator that's missing.The metropolitan line could even be twined with the laus, after all hardly anyone has seen either in action yet.

lopez
27/03/2004, 1:58 PM
Father the brake's on those metropolitan line train's that Lopez drive's are fine, in fact the brake's seem to be alway's in use, it's the fcuking accelarator that's missing.The metropolitan line could even be twined with the laus, after all hardly anyone has seen either in action yet.
The Metropolitan line has seen as much action over the past 15 years as John Holmes of 'Girls On Fire' fame. :eek: :o

4tothefloor
27/03/2004, 6:28 PM
The Criminal Justice Bill in the UK outlawed gatherings where people danced to "repetitive beats" which were defined as 4/4. I guess you had to be there. :) And 4 to the floor does indeed come from Northern Soul and not from your namby pamby modern dance music.

Ya but 4tothefloor doesn't mean a rave, which is what you're on about. Is just a journalistic term that describes mainly the harder side of dance music, such as techno, trance and some types of house. That and a rave are two completely different things.

Regarding Northern Soul - don't know anything about it, so it means nothing to me. As far as i'm concerned 4tothefloor comes from dance music, if it does apply to Northern Soul as well, i'm sure its a very different type of 4\4!

Whats namby pamby btw??!

09/09/2004, 12:41 PM
this seems to be the time for resurrections of old threads.

anybody else feel like giving us the lowdown on where they got their foot.ie name from.
there are a few unexplained beauties out there :D