View Full Version : Foot.ie Match
Ruairi
09/02/2003, 7:20 PM
hows about awards for the best/worst players etc?
Like the John O'Flynn award for top scorer, the Noel Hartigan award for the player who couldn't hit a cows backside with a banjo, the Liam Murphy award for the player who moves the least, the Biscuits award for best keeper, the Dick O'Handjob award for worst ref :D
Just a few suggestions :)
SÓC, training will take place for non mods fri 21st, 10pm in the Gateway :D
Scum members (mods) welcome too :D
Originally posted by Ruairi
the Noel Hartigan award for the player who couldn't hit a cows backside with a banjo
I've got that one wrapped up anyway :)
What Irish game is that Scotty?
To be honest, as i have pretty much no life, anytime is good for me, but the 6.30 sounds very good.
at least that way we can go out for a drink afterwrads where the winners will be showered with praise and the losers will be booed and hissed til my throat is sore.
10/02/2003, 10:50 AM
scoooty gone bye-bye's :)
methinks scotty and savo are one.
anyone agree?
--
oh and scotty, i'd say more people work by day.....:rolleyes:
Any time day or night is good for most of us student wasters anyway!
Im carrying a slight knock going into this game(not able to walk at the moment), bloody Law Cup is even more painful than the Quarry Cup, defo going in goal now!
No chance Ref that running could be made a bookable offence during this game?
Users United will prevail, Im sure of it, how about another wager Éanna, or any other one of Magic Mods?
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
No chance Ref that running could be made a bookable offence during this game?
i'd say there'll be enough bookings besides making running a bookable offence!!
Ruairi
11/02/2003, 6:03 PM
Who's taking bets on the first person to be booked?
:D :D
Actually Ref, is there going to be a sin bin sorta arrangement going, or is it red and your off?
This is what is used in a lot of 5-a-side competitions and this is what we'll be using.
Yellow - five mins in sin bin
Red - you're off and you don't come back but you can be replaced by a sub after 3 minutes.
I'm saying this now so don't say you haven't been warned.
This is NOT a chance to go and kick the sh|t out of each other!
People have work to go to Monday morning!
Yellow and red cards will be used when neccessary and as often as ye make me use them.
So don't complain if you get sent off.
:cool:
Originally posted by Ref
This is NOT a chance to go and kick the sh|t out of each other!
Doesn't sound as much fun now. :(
btw is an ankle tap classified as kicking? :confused:
Ruairi
12/02/2003, 10:10 AM
5 mins in the sin bin for a yellow seems kinda harsh. It'll end up being two on two! :)
We have to give people the chance to display their wonderful skills :)
They can't do that if they're being kicked from one side of the pitch to the next.
It's only a bit of fun so if you get a card you'll probably have deserved it.
It's a football (soccer) match, no need for anything else.
:cool:
PITCH IS BOOKED FOR 6:30pm Saturday 22nd February 2003
OK with everyone?
Whats the story now so? is Scotty is gone, does that mean that Pablo is also out?
Whose going to volunteer to take up the empty spots?
Originally posted by GWA
Whats the story now so? is Scotty is gone, does that mean that Pablo is also out?
Whose going to volunteer to take up the empty spots?
We'll be able to make up the numbers some how, maybe SEJ's brother will join us?
Right so, one (maybe two?) places are up for grabs on the non- mods team. So, anyone interested in playing throw your name down... first come, first served.
Ruairi
16/02/2003, 9:38 PM
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
maybe SEJ's brother will join us?
Jesus God no :)
Ruairi
16/02/2003, 9:40 PM
What about Eanna junior?
I dunno, it's all set up for Conor to come out of the wilderness that is west Cork and inspire the non mods to victory...
16/02/2003, 10:05 PM
But anyway, on more important matters, how are people getting there; and critically, how are we all getting to the pub afterwards? Is a minibus in order?
EDIT: My god, I nearly forgot: And WHICH pub? I'd take ye to mine, but ye'd all start calling me a puff.
Ill get straight in and say we are going to THE GATEWAY on Barracka, as it is becoming a bit of a haunt for us after matches. Its dead nice as well, and the barstaff (even though cranky!) are nice looking.
i knew you'd find some excuse not to play scooty
Originally posted by SCOTTY II
Jaysus the gateway, too close to home for comfort!nice local!
Why so? Its a nice ol spot, where i normally go anyway. Perfect for a bunch of hopelessly unfit lagners like ourselves!
Ruairi
17/02/2003, 12:13 PM
Ah yeah, good spot for a cigar and being told to keep it down by the barwoman :D
Mods
1 Pete
2 Colm
3 Eanna
4 GWA
5 James
Non Mods
1 SEJ
2 Pablo
3 SOCcfc
4 Ruairi
So whos number five?
Has to be a member. We do have 971 so surely we can get 1 more person to play.
Originally posted by Ref
Mods
1 Pete
2 Colm
3 Eanna
4 GWA
5 James
Non Mods
1 SEJ
2 Pablo
3 SOCcfc
4 Ruairi
Teams look a bit fairer now.
:p
pete u do know that the number 1 ting by your name means you're playing goal :D
Originally posted by James
pete u do know that the number 1 ting by your name means you're playing goal :D
And you think i have some problem with that?
Besides youse be begging for a break in goals after 10mins anyway.
Scotty,
The time isn't changing, it's staying at 6:30pm k.o.
It's booked now and I am NOT changing anything.
Tell him you're not working.
--
And again, no alcohol at the match on Saturday lads, please.
You'll drink enough of it afterwards.
Is it one of those pitches where u can only score within a certain area. I always think that that is a good idea, to keep the score down if nothing else.
There is still one more needed for the non mod team.
ANY VOLUNTEERS?????????????
Are you going to make it SLK????
I've put a message on the Cork City forum, more people will see it there, to get us another player to take on the Mods.
Should be a good laugh
quick update; we might be able to get Shedite to complete our lineup
18/02/2003, 10:40 AM
Broke my toe last night in training fellas. damn metal studs.
gonna have to cry off.
hope it leaves enough time to find a replacement
Originally posted by Pablo
gonna have to cry off.
Non-mods are dropping like flies now.
I might be able to get junior pete to come along... Are ye non mods desparate enough yet?
Ruairi
18/02/2003, 11:57 AM
Ah sure why not? we're still gonna destroy ye anyway!:D
We still have the spine of a great team with my bulky goal keeping, SEJ majestic midfield moaning and Ruairi's sheer physcial presence we should still carry the day even if we have to call up hartigol or goalsie:):)
Originally posted by pete
I might be able to get junior pete to come along... Are ye non mods desparate enough yet?
Junior pete was a bad description. :eek:
My brother (foot.ie reader, not poster) says he'll play for the non--mods (ye sound like those guys in the UK on vespas from the 60's :eek: ) if theres a place....
Lemme know what ye decide...
Ruairi
18/02/2003, 3:53 PM
Sounds to me that junior pete is a double agent, assigned with the task of infiltrating the non mods, gaining our trust and basically making us lose the game... :cool:
gonna have to cry off.
Bullsh*t. Thanks a million Paul.
:mad: :mad: :mad:
Originally posted by GWA
Bullsh*t. Thanks a million Paul.
:mad: :mad: :mad:
well unless i imagined waiting 3 hours in casualty with no toe nail then yes i did.
its only my standing leg. but i have to wait for swelling to go down before they can xray (today)
Are you saying i'm faking an injury? ;)
seriously, i'll be fit for the replay
Pete Jnr will do.
No time for arguing.
Match is 3 days away.
(We could always force Adam to play) ;)
shedite
19/02/2003, 9:15 AM
How about mods wear red city shirts and non-mods wear green city shirts. Or vice-versa.
Originally posted by Ref
Pete Jnr will do...
Can call him Rob for the purposes of the game...
Ruairi
19/02/2003, 10:07 AM
Spoke to Shedite yesterday and he's definately in.
So the non-mods are
1. SÓC
2. SEJ
3. Shedite
4. Rob the double agent :)
5. Ruairi
Latest betting:
2/1 mods, 1/2 non mods, 5/1 draw.
First goalscorer
2/1 Shedite, GWA
3/1 SEJ, Colm, James
4/1 Pete, Rob, SOC
50/1 Ruairi
1,000/1 Eanna :D
Odds on Eanna being sent off for dissent:
1/50
Originally posted by Ruairi
Latest betting:
2/1 mods, 1/2 non mods, 5/1 draw.
First goalscorer
2/1 Shedite, GWA
3/1 SEJ, Colm, James
4/1 Pete, Rob, SOC
50/1 Ruairi
1,000/1 Eanna :D
Odds on Eanna being sent off for dissent:
1/50
I like some of those odds, but really, I suppose each member of the losing team buys their opposite number a pint?
Our player/manager Ruairi got his pre-match preparations going today, he went around UCC getting rallying our troops and sorting out our game plan, a modern day Dave Barry is he.
19/02/2003, 12:32 PM
guess its all systems go so
mods : we beta fiigure out a gameplan so
ie: something along the lines of.. kick anything that moves, dont bother marking eanna (oh chit he's with us :)doh ) . and when in doubt
HOOF IT
guess its all systems go so
mods : we beta fiigure out a gameplan so
ie: something along the lines of.. kick anything that moves, dont bother marking eanna (oh chit he's with us :)doh ) . and when in doubt
HOOF IT
Need new Moderator thread for all those detailed tactics.
Have we decided on any forfeit for the losers?
Have we decided on the Gateway for afters?
20/02/2003, 11:33 AM
gonna have to cry off.
A Cork man pulling out of a friendly? Will wonders never cease?
20/02/2003, 11:38 AM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
A Cork man pulling out of a friendly?
NOBODY said anything about it be friendly
20/02/2003, 11:39 AM
NOBODY said anything about it be friendly
I know that James but I couldn't have landed my childish little dig otherwise could I? ;)
20/02/2003, 11:41 AM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
I couldn't have landed my childish little dig otherwise could I? I would have thought that you could now.