View Full Version : Foot.ie Match

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

13/05/2002, 1:48 PM
Why not have a Foot.ie posters match some day, imagne the fun of seeing a lot of unfit armchair comandos running around after a ball:)

Mods against plebs 6-a-side or so???

I'd have to play in goal though since I have forgotten how to run.

13/05/2002, 2:05 PM
I reckon everyone'd want to be in goal. I'd be ref cos I'm impartial.

heh

13/05/2002, 2:27 PM
Originally posted by Vetinari
I reckon everyone'd want to be in goal.

Since can't have everyone in goal i'd say very small pitch so minimal running.

Could have competition for best impression of BLOB (Liam O'Brien) too. ;)

13/05/2002, 2:38 PM
Originally posted by pete

Since can't have everyone in goal i'd say very small pitch so minimal running.

Could have competition for best impression of BLOB (Liam O'Brien) too. ;)

I donno would I be able for all that running to the train station the second the match is over :D

14/05/2002, 11:28 AM
Originally posted by pete
Could have competition for best impression of BLOB (Liam O'Brien) too.
i can tell ye all now that the Hartigan award has my name on it:D

15/05/2002, 2:41 PM
I'll be Gunther, I'll shout at ye from the sidelines, and abuse any onlookers. I'll also pin my UEFA Grade A coaching badge to my chest......AND , of course, I'll grow the moustache and do the goosestep up and down the line.............:p

30/01/2003, 4:32 PM
Just thought I'd bring this bad boy back from the dead.

It would be interesting to have a foot.ie game. Could have mayb two 11-a-side teams.

Somthing like Non-Mod City fans .v. Mods and others?

I still say just for pure comic value it would be worth it:)

Shed End John
30/01/2003, 4:36 PM
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
Somthing like Non-Mod City fans .v. Mods and others?

I still say just for pure comic value it would be worth it:)

Won't be so funny when I make like Zidane and run rings round the lot of ye!!:D :D :D :D
On a more serious note, tis a great idea for a game, maybe someone could organize a venue/time/participants??

30/01/2003, 4:48 PM
hahahahah twould be great to settle a few scores on the pitch :D
maybe we could have a few awards for the best players etc etc

1:best player
2:* joint second best player
3: 3rd best player

waaahaaahaahaaa
can only see it being a cork thing though
doubt anyone else would bother travelling down for it

Ruairi
30/01/2003, 9:24 PM
I think it'd be great craic. Even five a side up in churchfield would be mad.

Who wants to be on my team?:D

31/01/2003, 12:44 AM
i'm well up for humiliating myself anyway :)

31/01/2003, 7:45 AM
I've decided in the meantime that I wouldn't be ref, cos I don't know enough about football. :)

I'll bring the oranges. Sponge Boy?

DISCLAIMER: My Sponge Boy offer is solely dependant on someone bringing a girlfriend worth sponging.

31/01/2003, 3:58 PM
well scooty you're hardly gona be playing on the moderators team
my shin's are up for it if your's are

Ref
31/01/2003, 4:58 PM
Originally posted by Vetinari
I reckon everyone'd want to be in goal. I'd be ref cos I'm impartial.

ah no, i'd be ref!

31/01/2003, 5:09 PM
well scooty

Heh, scooty.

Ref
31/01/2003, 5:30 PM
when and where is this going to take place so?

how many have we got?

in the farm or regional park ballincollig or FAI grounds, Bishopstown?

31/01/2003, 6:55 PM
I nominate Ref as Chief Flag Watcher.

Ref
31/01/2003, 10:23 PM
COME ON LETS DO THIS!!

City aren't using the cross at the moment so maybe.......

oh and chief flag watcher?????

01/02/2003, 12:09 AM
The price of renting the UCC pitch in a maradyke is something like €20 for an hour for students, it's quite large though, maybe Ruraí's idea of the Churchfield pitch is better.

Well would there be interest? So far;

Non-mods
SÓCcfc
SEJ
Ruraí
Scotty

Mods
Adam (player/sponge boy)?

All precided over by Ref

Any other takers?

01/02/2003, 12:02 PM
Non-mods
SÓCcfc
SEJ
Ruraí
Scotty

Mods

All precided over by Ref

Any other takers? You add another name to that mods team I suppose.

If we can get the numbers and someone is seriously willing to organise it, it could be a good laugh.

01/02/2003, 1:36 PM
Non-mods
SÓCcfc
SEJ
Ruraí
Scotty

Mods

Officals
Ref

We need at least one more per team so. How about Conor, fancy another really long journey for a match?:cool:

Oh yea, minor question, can anyone actually play football?

01/02/2003, 2:17 PM
Adam will die if he plays soccer, therefore all Adam is willing to commit to is copious abuse from the sideline and a round afterwards. :)

Ref
01/02/2003, 11:04 PM
I'll get the ball rolling and organise a venue, date and time if ye want.

Whats the best day and time for everyone interested?

02/02/2003, 4:21 PM
have to be a saturday or sunday cos i'll be back in limerick as of next week. afternoon would suit best :)

Ruairi
02/02/2003, 7:00 PM
The ESB hall by the farm is pretty reasonable, and we could all go upstairs for a few pints afterwards.

And by the looks of it, the non mods team is going to kick ass!Probably not the ball though, we're all sh!te.

Especially Shed End John, he models himself after Kabia :D

02/02/2003, 7:32 PM
Originally posted by Ruairi
Especially Shed End John, he models himself after Kabia :D I thought it was his brother that was the prolific marksman in sidetrax :eek: :D :D

02/02/2003, 7:34 PM
SEJ
wouldn't he be better keeping track of the score, seeing as how his mathematical ability is so far beyond the rest of us :D :D :D

02/02/2003, 8:55 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
I thought it was his brother that was the prolific marksman in sidetrax :eek: :D :D

Ah that was Fast Eddies wasnt it:)

The Mods team is looking a bit thin, surely you boys can drum up a few more players at one of yer stonecutter type nightly sectret meetings?

Weekend would prob be better, no college/work/etc also give chance for exiles to play if they want.

03/02/2003, 9:01 AM
i'm in.......say when and where

Ref
03/02/2003, 9:15 AM
Right folks, lets confirm the teams first so we know how many we have and what size pitch we need.

Put what you think would be YOUR best day and time after your name please.

TEAM A - THE MODERATORS

1 Pete
2 James
3 Éanna
4 Colm

TEAM B - EVERYONE ELSE (NAME??

1 SOCfc
2 Shed End John
3 Ruairi
4 scottyshedender
5 Pablo

Match Officials
me (maybe assistants if we get 11 a side)

Add your name to the list if you're interested anf not already there. Lets make it 11-a-side!

03/02/2003, 11:56 AM
Pete
2 James
3 Éanna
4 Colm

TEAM B - EVERYONE ELSE (NAME??

1 SOCfc
2 Shed End John
3 Ruairi
4 scottyshedender
5 Pablo .....................................Saturday(p.m. )

03/02/2003, 1:14 PM
Dunno if i signed up already but sure put me down anyway although would have to be weekend.

I begs the Gary Lineker goal poacher role ( consists of standing on the 6 yard box line all match :D ).

Is the 5-a-side astro turf place still operational up dublin hill way? Played their a few times back in 98-99 & very good for small teams - probably best to have 6 a-side to cut down the running :D

Will it be green jerseys against red ones?

03/02/2003, 1:43 PM
the floodlit 6-a-side pitches in leisure worls are excellent. we use the in our work matches every week

03/02/2003, 1:59 PM
When is it lads? Cos if yer stuck for numbers, thinking of getting a few Longford lads along and making a weekend of it!

Real ale Madrid
03/02/2003, 2:07 PM
I would be on for a game if ye are stuck for numbers, the 6 a side pitches in Leisureworld are excellent. The CIT astroturf 11- a side could be organised as well if the numbers existed.

03/02/2003, 2:22 PM
era thats all we need
pauro and some of them longford boggers :D
i mean to top if off why dont wwe have nice *friendly :D* match against the scum fans :)
maybe invite hooper and his buddies

03/02/2003, 2:29 PM
Originally posted by PAURO 7
When is it lads? Cos if yer stuck for numbers, thinking of getting a few Longford lads along and making a weekend of it!
Thank god you're a pleb and not a mod, going by the shame you brought on Longford by losing to the students.......

03/02/2003, 2:43 PM
That was just a blip! :) anyway as Niall Quinns missus says in that dodgy washing powder ad, “Well he’s not a goalkeeper!!!” or a defender, midfielder or striker for that matter.... :(

Ref
03/02/2003, 2:43 PM
We could make this a regular thing as somebody said already but heres what i propose for the first match.

VENUE: Leisureworld, Bishopstown.

TIME: On a Friday @ 8pm

COST: 50 euro for the hour, 5 quid each.

TEAM 1: Pete, Colm, James, Eanna & A N Other

TEAM 2: SOCfc, Scotty, SEJ, Ruairi, Pablo

REF: Me

(5-a-side.)

One step at a time.

If this works then we could make it 11-a-side next time.

What do ye think?

03/02/2003, 3:40 PM
Originally posted by PAURO 7
When is it lads? Cos if yer stuck for numbers, thinking of getting a few Longford lads along and making a weekend of it! Losers:D

03/02/2003, 4:04 PM
Originally posted by Ref
We could make this a regular thing as somebody said already but heres what i propose for the first match.

VENUE: Leisureworld, Bishopstown.

TIME: On a Friday @ 8pm

COST: 50 euro for the hour, 5 quid each.

TEAM 1: Pete, Colm, James, Eanna & A N Other

TEAM 2: SOCfc, Scotty, SEJ, Ruairi, Pablo

REF: Me

(5-a-side.)

One step at a time.

If this works then we could make it 11-a-side next time.

What do ye think?

sounds like the dogs rocks so far........ will we go for that?

03/02/2003, 4:57 PM
Is it safe for me and joe to start posting yet?

heh

Ref
03/02/2003, 4:59 PM
will you be the 5th mod adam?

03/02/2003, 5:01 PM
will you be the 5th mod adam?

Bugger, I didn't spot A N Other. Nope. I'll cover Leisureworld for the hour, and that's my final offer. :)

Ref
03/02/2003, 5:03 PM
d'ya mean you'll pay for it??

Ref
03/02/2003, 5:25 PM
How does Friday February 21st at 8pm in Leisureworld Bishopstown sound to ye?

shedite
03/02/2003, 7:16 PM
I'm available to play anytime if ye're short.........

03/02/2003, 11:47 PM
sounds good to me. should make it ok on the friday, provided i don't have to work :)

04/02/2003, 1:06 AM
d'ya mean you'll pay for it??

If Leisureworld is €50 for the hour for everybody, then yes, I'll pay for that, and I'll buy the first drink for the ten players and the match official. Obviously my generosity will require my being able to predict the outcome of the match. Now, who's running the book? :)

Seriously. A tenner on the mods.

Ref
04/02/2003, 8:33 AM
well Leisureworld only take bookings at a maximum of 7 days in advance so we'll have to wait and see if we can get a pitch.

but i'll book it as soon as i can providing everyone confirms that that date and time is ok.