View Full Version : Foot.ie Match
As an exile be hard for me to make a friday :(
well pete we'll see what everyone else says before we agree on a day but so far a Friday does look good!
04/02/2003, 11:10 AM
No pete, I won't cover your flights. :)
Originally posted by Vetinari
No pete, I won't cover your flights. :)
:(
Prob ably best to pick a date for the rest of youse & i'll see what can do then.
GWA said he'd be up for the mods team as well :)
Ruairi
04/02/2003, 6:45 PM
Seriously. A tenner on the mods.
Backin the wrong horse there buddy!:D
Originally posted by Ruairi
Backin the wrong horse there buddy!:D
ha! Say that again when you take your ankles home in your kit bag :mad: :D :D :D
Ruairi
04/02/2003, 7:01 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
ha! Say that again when you take your ankles home in your kit bag :mad: :D :D :D
Whatever!:D
I'll tell ya what. when the game starts I'll make it easier for ya. I'll just open my back pocket, say "here ya go" and you can stay there for the game. It's just, ya know, you're a buddy and I don't want to embarass ya :D
Non Mods for the CUP!!!:D
By the way, we need a better name, any suggestions
How about FLF (Foot.ie Liberation Front)?
Im call playing in goal from the non-mods. My reasons for are two fold
1. I a lazy fat bast*rd
2. I feiced up my knee playing in the always dangerous Quarry Cup, for some reason those Arts boys didnt appreciate having to play a law team?
05/02/2003, 8:47 AM
I realise that I'm a Limerick fan which will count aginst me but I'm also a Moderator who might be interested in playing (unless it's this weekend!). And my girlfriend is a nominal Cork City fan (even if it took me to bring her to her first match...) so I have some link. I might even be able to rope in another couple of players. No bladed weapons though, I promise! ;)
Latest teams as of 5/2/03
The Mods v Rest of the World
Mods
1 Eanna
2 GWA
3 Pete
4 Colm
5 James
Rest of the World
1 Scotty
2 SEJ
3 Ruairi
4 SOCcfc
5 Pablo
IS EVERYBODY OK WITH FRIDAY 21ST @ 8PM?
OR WILL WE CHANGE TO SATURDAY 22ND?
Jerseys are needed too, btw. Anyone got any suggestions?
------
scotty, there'll be no anger treatment spilled out while i'm reffin' it!!
------
SOCcfc, problem with the quarry cup is that they don't use real refs.
Ruairi
05/02/2003, 8:45 PM
Originally posted by Ref
------
Friday's cool with me.
As regards jerseys, I'd suggest the non mods wear red City jerseys, the mods the green city jerseys. Or vice versa. We'll flip for it or something. I'm sure people who don't have one would have no prob getting a lend of one off someone who's playing.
Originally posted by Ref
Saturday would probably be better for most people I'd say. Best put it to a vote, I say saturday. Everyone else?
Jerseys? As Ruairi said, Red Jerseys -v- Green jerseys would be the best idea.
This lagner is out of retirement by the looks!
Friday would be waaaay better, as itll give the spectators a night on the beer.
Joe says he will be there with a bag of cans! possibly as the nut behind the goal.
besides, mods vs posters. easy, too easy, and im saying that in the full knowledge that we will have just 3 1/2 players as eanna not only doesnt count but he takes from others as well! two left feet etc.
:p :p :p
Ruairi
05/02/2003, 11:25 PM
Originally posted by GWA
besides, mods vs posters. easy, too easy, and im saying that in the full knowledge that we will have just 3 1/2 players as eanna not only doesnt count but he takes from others as well! two left feet etc.
:p :p :p
Don't worry, Shed End John more than evens things up!:D
05/02/2003, 11:39 PM
Originally posted by GWA
we will have just 3 1/2 players as eanna not only doesnt count but he takes from others as well! two left feet etc.
emmmmmm, 3 1/4 players really cos i'm not even as good as a half of your majestic talent GWA :)
Last game meself and James played in anyway was the city fans v lausanne fans (think shedite played in that too) - amazing away win for the city boys courtesy of a number of goals from former ilen rovers and skib dynamoes star james, but we threw it away at home as a result of heavy drinking the night before the game :eek: :D :D
06/02/2003, 7:43 AM
Friday would be waaaay better, as itll give the spectators a night on the beer.
Aren't you allowed out on Saturday nights or summat GWA? :)
As nobody has a problem with Saturday and Friday is a problem for some people, the match is now changed to
SATURDAY 22nd AT 8PM.
Providing there is a pitch available.
Can all the mods wear green and the other team wear red?
That ok?
Shed End John
06/02/2003, 10:27 AM
Friday's cool with me.
As regards jerseys, I'd suggest the non mods wear red City jerseys, the mods the green city jerseys. Or vice versa. We'll flip for it or something. I'm sure people who don't have one would have no prob getting a lend of one off someone who's playing.
Better be red seeing as I haven't got the green City jersey, unless someone wants to give me a dig-out.
I'd say try to "squads" of 7 players on either side i.e. wouldn't put anyone else off from turning up as everyone be knackered after around 10mins of 5-a-side...
Shed End John
06/02/2003, 10:31 AM
:eek: That sounds like a threat. You can talk the talk, but, can you walk the walk??;) :)
Shed End John
06/02/2003, 10:34 AM
Originally posted by pete
I'd say try to "squads" of 7 players on either side i.e. wouldn't put anyone else off from turning up as everyone be knackered after around 10mins of 5-a-side...
That's a five star idea, especially seeing as I could have a taekwondo competition in Dublin the next day.
COME ON THE NON MODS
Shed End John
06/02/2003, 10:37 AM
Don't worry, Shed End John more than evens things up!:D
Says you! Wait 'til I show off my silky skills a la Zidane.;) Failing that, it'll be a Vinny Jones impression!!:D :D
06/02/2003, 12:56 PM
mods in red
scum (non mods) in green ala rovers :D
methinks that might work better
Shed End John
06/02/2003, 2:07 PM
Originally posted by James
scum (non mods) in green ala rovers :D
Scum??:confused:
Speak for yourself!!:D :D :D
Right folks,
Providing theres a pitch available in Leisureworld, Bishopstown on Saturday 22nd at 8pm are we all agreed?
The Red Team
GWA
Eanna
Pete
The Green Team
Ruairi
SEJ
Scotty
SOCcfc
Kick Off is 8:05pm. 25 minutes a half.
Anyone who wants to come along and be a sub is welcome to.
Only one rule - no air horns or alcohol. Air horns not fair on people on other 3 pitches. Alcohol could get us all kicked out and we don't want that. Fair enough?
grand so ref
sounds good at the moment
Shed End John
06/02/2003, 3:27 PM
Originally posted by James
grand so ref
sounds good at the moment
Tisn't often I agree with James, but, yep for the moment that's fine.
Originally posted by Ref
[
Only one rule - no air horns or alcohol. Air horns not fair on people on other 3 pitches. Alcohol could get us all kicked out and we don't want that. Fair enough?
what about pitch invasions? theres a €500 fine dont you know :)
Shed End John
06/02/2003, 3:50 PM
Originally posted by Pablo
:p :p :D :D
Originally posted by Ref
[B]Right folks,
Providing theres a pitch available in Leisureworld, Bishopstown on Saturday 22nd at 8pm are we all agreed?
The Red Team
GWA
Eanna
Pete
The Green Team
Ruairi
SEJ
Scotty
SOCcfc
Kick Off is 8:05pm. 25 minutes a half.
Thats the job. Sounds grand to me.
All those 'non-mods' better be prepared for an absolute thrashing! :)
Originally posted by Shed End John
:eek: That sounds like a threat. You can talk the talk, but, can you walk the walk??;) :)
Come the end of the game, there'll only be 1 of us able to talk AND walk, and that'll be me :)
Originally posted by Pablo
flares of the non-clothing variety?
I'd say your going to be busy Ref at this game, should be mighty craic.
Ruraí- will you set-up our non-mods training sessions?
SEJ- You can bring the effigy of Éanna to trample on :):):)
I'll bring my arm chair and sit in goal
Shed End John
07/02/2003, 9:56 AM
Come the end of the game, there'll only be 1 of us able to talk AND walk, and that'll be me :)
Come on down if you think you're hard enough!!:)
You're going home in a St. John ambulance!!:D
07/02/2003, 10:24 AM
I'm going to post this as an announcement on the site, so are we settled on the details? Also, do we have captains? And finally, do we have a name? How about:
- The Foot.ie Challenge Cup
- The Foot.ie Grudge Match
???
07/02/2003, 11:33 AM
Based on the level of skill thats likely to be on show- "the hartigan cup" would be more appropriat IMO :D
07/02/2003, 11:42 AM
Based on the level of skill thats likely to be on show- "the hartigan cup" would be more appropriat IMO
LOL
07/02/2003, 12:05 PM
fine well i aint playing for no hartigan cup
:D lol
howbouts we play for 'The HOOF cup'
or possibly there could be an award for the biggest hoooof :D
Sounds good to me.
Probably be a Challenge Cup this time but a Grudge Cup the nest time ;)
Is it indoors or outdoors? What size the pitches?
Outdoors under floodlights.
Not massive pitches but fine for 5-a-side.
07/02/2003, 12:58 PM
crap i thought twas indoor
mod's team will have to change match tactics
we can discuss tactics tonight at training session in rochestown
Also, do we have captains?
I'd say SEJ and Éanna would make the perfect captains for the day. The two boys are known ar fud na tíre for their great friendship towards each other and the fact that they both always keep a cool head, never fly off the handle would make them the ideal captains.
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
I'd say SEJ and Éanna would make the perfect captains for the day.
NO THEY WOULDNT
aaaaaahhhhh it doesn't matter!
i'm going walking about 100 yards over to leaisureworld now to see if i can get us a pitch.
back later.
I'm back.
The woman said
1 - it's unlikely it'll be booked out.
2 - we can only book a week in advance
3 - 6:30pm is the latest we can start as they close at 7:30pm on a Saturday evening (bizarrely in my opinion)
SO KICK OFF IS CHANGED TO 6:30pm
Adam, announce that for us will ya please.
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
I'd say SEJ and Éanna would make the perfect captains for the day. I'd have to disagree with ya there I'm afraid!:)
Ref, 6.30 is a better time anyway imo.
Not wanting to start the debate over start time all over again but any reason why a saturday evening time was picked as opposed to an afternoon?
(maybe i missed that somewhere in the last few pages)
Originally posted by pete
Not wanting to start the debate over start time all over again but any reason why a saturday evening time was picked as opposed to an afternoon?
(maybe i missed that somewhere in the last few pages)
people might be working in the afternoon.
and i'm reffin' from 10am til 12noon and I'm in CIT for a Futsal tournament from 1:30pm til 6pm, then i'm going from CIT to Leisureworld for 6:30.
i'm organising it and nobody appears to have a problem with the time that is perfect for me so thats the time!
but isn't under floodlights better!!??!
:cool: