View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2025

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27]

ontheotherhand
06/11/2025, 8:00 PM
Probably hard to begrudge AEK the point in fairness. 30-1 the final shot count; I presume McGinty can be v thanked in large part

Still, a point's a point

A points more than a point in a game like that. Fantastic result. Considering we had to put Trevor Clarke on up front for a while, it's borderline miraculous. Very organised performance.

Dermobohs
06/11/2025, 8:02 PM
Terrific result that, always tough in Greece.
Good man Danny , stopping the win, clever play.

Kiki Balboa
06/11/2025, 8:16 PM
Shels can win this game.

Edit: Well, there is a red...

06/11/2025, 8:24 PM
What did I tell you about predicting football matches Kiki... :p

oriel
06/11/2025, 8:48 PM
Super result by Rovers to be fair, that had all the hallmarks of a Greek tragedy, I think Aberdeen got hammered there earlier in the campaign or in a qualifying game.

06/11/2025, 8:57 PM
6-0 in the last match

The guy who scored the penalty to equalise was signed by Real Madrid for €60m in 2019

ger121
06/11/2025, 9:30 PM
Shels campaign going from bad to worse. Missed chances, a sending off and sloppy goals conceded. You get punished at this level playing like this.

sbgawa
19/11/2025, 3:48 PM
Hearing that we are looking at a full house for nest week against Shaktar, a couple of weeks with no football and everyone is back enthusiastic again :)

Beating Besitkas home and away and drawing home and away with Panathanikos is a pretty impressive record this season and they are top of thier League , will be a tough match, on the other hand they only beat Briedablik 2 nil and Aberdeen 3 to 2 (in Aberdeen) so not impossible you would hope.

19/11/2025, 7:13 PM
How is the away allocation looking for that match, is it only for those fans actually travelling to the game? Presumably a lot of Ukrainians in Ireland would be very interested in attending, which will probably have them in the home sections.

sbgawa
19/11/2025, 10:50 PM
How is the away allocation looking for that match, is it only for those fans actually travelling to the game? Presumably a lot of Ukrainians in Ireland would be very interested in attending, which will probably have them in the home sections.

Looking at the ticket availability map id say 1t00 shaktar fans....has to be a lot of locals in that

ger121
27/11/2025, 8:18 PM
I see VAR was asleep for a clear handball by Shakhtar

28/11/2025, 8:29 AM
Two reasonable results from what was maybe the toughest match night last night - though the LoI sides now sit 30th and 31st, ahead of only Rapid Wine, strangely.

Challenge for Shels now is will they manage a goal, with Palace and Celje to come

Rovers need two wins to get through - they have their "easy" games now, but Breidablik drew against a Turkish side last night while Hamrun Spartans beat 10-man Lincoln Red Imps (who had themselves beaten Lech Poznan), so it'll be far from easy in reality. If Rovers lose in Iceland, they'll close to within 0.073 of us, and it'd go to the final day (when Breidablik go to Strasbourg) to confirm 31st spot for the LoI

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 8:52 AM
Other than for the normal reasons i really hope we win in Iceland as it would set up a brilient last game/night in Tallaght , other wise the season will limo to a close with a tiny crowd and a sense of anti climax on what has been a double winning year

ontheotherhand
28/11/2025, 11:24 AM
Other than for the normal reasons i really hope we win in Iceland as it would set up a brilient last game/night in Tallaght , other wise the season will limo to a close with a tiny crowd and a sense of anti climax on what has been a double winning year

One of the best seasons in the clubs history. A double. Qualified for Europe the hard way. Famous results in the Azores and Athens. Fabulous away trips. Great performance against a European giant last night. Highest attendances in the league.

Anti-climax. Try to enjoy it. It won't last forever.

Buckett
28/11/2025, 11:34 AM
Great performance against a European giant .
Steady on there man!

28/11/2025, 11:42 AM
One of the best seasons in the clubs history. A double. Qualified for Europe the hard way. Famous results in the Azores and Athens. Fabulous away trips. Great performance against a European giant last night. Highest attendances in the league.

Spot on, the bolded bit in particular can't be over-stated. My young lad is 13 and knows full well these are the good times - the best in a storied history full of good times. Fans who can't enjoy the good times baffle me, what is the point otherwise?

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 1:09 PM
Believe me im enjoying it , this as i said a "DOUBLE WINNING" year, i just dont want it to end with a whimper.

ontheotherhand
28/11/2025, 1:57 PM
Believe me im enjoying it , this as i said a "DOUBLE WINNING" year, i just dont want it to end with a whimper.

I suppose it's a good thing that the idea of not qualifying out of a European league phase now sounds like ending with a whimper? 😂

Honestly I can't wait for the last game. Feckin exhausting all this winning.

placid casual
28/11/2025, 2:28 PM

Couldn't agree more.
Some people in this life are determined to highlight looking through a dirty window at a beautiful sunset

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 6:49 PM
Jaysis lads im flippin lovin it but what would you rather finish the season with a full house night pushing for a place in europe or a nithing game with 3500 there? Wanting to finish on a high doeant diminish the season.

Are we not allowed hope for a good finish?

Soesnt seem controversial to me

28/11/2025, 6:54 PM
Shels are epitomising the key facet of Iirsh sport, plucky, moral victories, missed oppotunities, results not always reflecting effort. It is the most annoying thing for a club and fans, feels like bad luck but really its just lacking that ruthless streak especially at finishing chances when the do come like John Martin - not really up to it at that level when 1 good chance needs to be one goal in Europe really. Kilduffs miss in extra time v Rosenborg one of those should have been moments that haunts me. How Shels were fading in the league, I think they can be happy with the season in retrospect. The group stage experience will stand to them and Joey looks like a manager that is improving them in decent increments and they are suited to European football. If they can add a more lethal striker, not easy, but if they unearth one then next season they wont be far away from a title tilt and another (good) European run.

28/11/2025, 6:57 PM
Jaysis lads im flippin lovin it but what would you rather finish the season with a full house night pushing for a place in europe or a nithing game with 3500 there? Wanting to finish on a high doeant diminish the season.

Nothing wrong with having high standards, wanting to extend the season to knockout with a couple of game remaining that results are possible. Doesnt lack appreciation for the season as a whole when you know its not sbgawa's form.

ontheotherhand
28/11/2025, 8:23 PM

You said the worst game of the season was the night we lifted the league trophy in front of 7,200 fans. We've won a cup since then. I had a great night bouncing around with the mgmt and players that night. I do not care at all what happens in Europe. We already achieved something amazing in Europe. You can't say anything is an anticlimax when it's all a bonus. That's just me tho. You're a bit of a glass half full man and we need those too.

I'll see you in the Suite if the Hamrun game is meaningless and we only get a measly 3500 to it. We can drown our sorrows by drinking out of the league and cup trophies.

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 9:01 PM
Ill be there alright , i was one of the 1600 or so at the Longford and Wexford matches, ive been around long enough to know the good times.

ontheotherhand
28/11/2025, 9:41 PM
Ill be there alright , i was one of the 1600 or so at the Longford and Wexford matches, ive been around long enough to know the good times.

Mate. These are the good times. You don't need to have been around a long time. Enjoy them regardless of how many other people show up.

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 9:44 PM
you can be sure these are the good times, i was there for the last double in 87 and then went 23 years with one league and one relegation not to mention the homeless bit.

ontheotherhand
28/11/2025, 9:47 PM
you can be sure these are the good times, i was there for the last double in 87 and then went 23 years with one league and one relegation not to mention the homeless bit.

Then..... honestly, why are you so negative about everything?

28/11/2025, 10:27 PM
As it stands now, considering that this game is imo 50/50, Rovers have a better chance than Breidablik to reach the KO round by virtue of their last game at home being against a most beatable team who in all likelihood will have nowt to play for, whereas Breidablik have Strasbourg away. But what stands in Rovers' way obviously is Breidablik and also will Rovers have the mettle to play to form (as they will have to) in a December ice drenched windy night up north? :) In those Conf L games from 2023 I'd say Rovers played poorly and had no effective tactical plan, much below what I've seen of them this season. In Breidablik's favour is that their (winningiest) popular coach has just returned a few games ago, badly needed and to good effect, and Breidablik broke their bank to sign up 2 of the best young players in the league, one in particular August Orri (signed from Genoa) is the outstanding attacking skillful player that Rovers will have to manage. Rovers can't just repeat what they did to Vikingur and hope to win.

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 10:39 PM
Then..... honestly, why are you so negative about everything?

Maybe it comes accross as negative but i am really dissapointed with our supporters this season, our average attemdance is down, our cup ttendances have been poor, i just think that some of the newer supporters are taking it all for granted. This isnt normal
The sligo game for me was evidence of that we were lifting the trophy and the atmosphere was at best ok in a stadium that wasnt full.
You were obviously in the inner sanctum for the party afterwards but for me it didnt feel like it should have..........first world problems i know.

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 10:43 PM
As it stands now, considering that this game is imo 50/50, Rovers have a better chance than Breidablik to reach the KO round by virtue of their last game at home being against a most beatable team who in all likelihood will have nowt to play for, whereas Breidablik have Strasbourg away. But what stands in Rovers' way obviously is Breidablik and also will Rovers have the mettle to play to form (as they will have to) in a December ice drenched windy night up north? :) In those Conf L games from 2023 I'd say Rovers played poorly and had no effective tactical plan, much below what I've seen of them this season. In Breidablik's favour is that their (winningiest) popular coach has just returned a few games ago, badly needed and to good effect, and Breidablik broke their bank to sign up 2 of the best young players in the league, one in particular August Orri (signed from Genoa) is the outstanding attacking skillful player that Rovers will have to manage. Rovers can't just repeat what they did to Vikingur and hope to win.

I expect us to win we have faced 4 teams so far that are all in the top 10 of the league as things stand and all could qualify automatically.
Our problem might be that having faced 4 top teams our goal difference even with 7 points might see us out. we need a couple of goals from somewhere agaisnt one ot both

BigEars
28/11/2025, 10:52 PM
Maybe it comes accross as negative but i am really dissapointed with our supporters this season, our average attemdance is down, our cup ttendances have been poor, i just think that some of the newer supporters are taking it all for granted. This isnt normal
The sligo game for me was evidence of that we were lifting the trophy and the atmosphere was at best ok in a stadium that wasnt full.
You were obviously in the inner sanctum for the party afterwards but for me it didnt feel like it should have..........first world problems i know.

Familiarity breeds contempt, some Rovers supporters have gotten so used to winning now (bar the Shels blip) that anything other than winning the league seems like failure, and winning the league doesn't even seem like an achievement.

As a non Rovers fan I do have a concern that Rovers are going to ruin the league somewhat by dominating it. Like Ferencvaros or Dinamo Zagreb or Rosenborg used to, only the very odd season will somebody else win and most of their season will be gauged on performance in Europe.

No problem with Rovers maintaining being more successful than other sides over time but if the next 5 years repeat the 5 just gone, interest in the league will likely start to wane from lack of competition.

ontheotherhand
28/11/2025, 11:11 PM

Our average attendance is down by 50 or so over the last 3 years. We average 5990. No other club comes close. Even bohs when they include the Aviva crowd. As they do. Which is funny.

There were 7200 people in the stadium against Sligo. I know bradser wasn't happy with it. Which I understand. But any other club in the league would bite your hand off for a crowd that big.

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 11:14 PM
Things rarely last forever big ears when we won the double in 87 and 4 in a row i nevwr thought we wouls go best part of 25 yeara with one win. Livwrpooldominated the 80s ans went 30× years bwforw winning again. Man u
...⁰in 2014 it fwlt like they would keep on winning. Rangwrs went al.osr 10 in a row with gazza. Thats why u cant take stuff for granted........i apprecite uour worry although i would love it to happen but its far from guaranteed

sbgawa
28/11/2025, 11:18 PM
Our average attendance is down by 50 or so over the last 3 years. We average 5990. No other club comes close. Even bohs when they include the Aviva crowd. As they do. Which is funny.

There were 7200 people in the stadium against Sligo. I know bradser wasn't happy with it. Which I understand. But any other club in the league would bite your hand off for a crowd that big.
Bradser wasnt happy..............why is he being so negative ............or maybe he realises that people are taking stuff for granted ...like im saying.
Glad to know he agreed with me amyway

28/11/2025, 11:24 PM
I expect us to win we have faced 4 teams so far that are all in the top 10 of the league as things stand and all could qualify automatically.
Our problem might be that having faced 4 top teams our goal difference even with 7 points might see us out. we need a couple of goals from somewhere agaisnt one ot bothYour problem is first to beat Breidablik, the rest is fanciful, to be dealt with after that
fact, but regardless Breidablik loves a sucker.

ontheotherhand
29/11/2025, 9:33 AM
Bradser wasnt happy..............why is he being so negative ............or maybe he realises that people are taking stuff for granted ...like im saying.
Glad to know he agreed with me amyway

To be honest, you come across as if you're taking it for granted a bit yourself. If you can't enjoy a league win and you think the season will limp to a finish if we don't get out of the league phase.....then I don't know. The atmosphere might be a bit flat if everyone around you has the same outlook.

Bradley was talking about the crowd numbers specifically. I think he's wrong fwiw. 7200 is a good LoI crowd by any measure. We had a game on the Wednesday as well. 5200 at it. I think the club can and needs to do more to grow the fanbase but you're not really selling the experience yourself if it's all doom and gloom after a double. 😂

ger121
29/11/2025, 2:55 PM
Rovers haven’t had a lot of goals in them so far in the league stage. Granted they played 4 sides who are currently ranked, 3rd, 4th, 10th & 11th.
I just wonder even with 2 wins, is the GD going to be a bridge too far. Happened to Hearts last year. 7 may not even be enough this year. Some stattos are saying 8 points could be the bench mark this season. The competition is definitely stronger this season.
Myself, I think they draw in Iceland, who are good at home and beat Hamrun in Tallaght. 5 points would not be a bad return considering they got a much tougher draw this year. They’ll probably be back for another crack next season.

ger121
29/11/2025, 3:00 PM
Shels are epitomising the key facet of Iirsh sport, plucky, moral victories, missed oppotunities, results not always reflecting effort. It is the most annoying thing for a club and fans, feels like bad luck but really its just lacking that ruthless streak especially at finishing chances when the do come like John Martin - not really up to it at that level when 1 good chance needs to be one goal in Europe really. Kilduffs miss in extra time v Rosenborg one of those should have been moments that haunts me. How Shels were fading in the league, I think they can be happy with the season in retrospect. The group stage experience will stand to them and Joey looks like a manager that is improving them in decent increments and they are suited to European football. If they can add a more lethal striker, not easy, but if they unearth one then next season they wont be far away from a title tilt and another (good) European run.

For Shels this season, I think of Rovers in 2022. They got a couple points at home but scored once in 6 games. Big jump in class when you reach a group or league stage but the more times you participate, the better you become. If Shels were to make it back in the next 2-3 years, you would think they’ll learn from their mistakes and the performances would be improved. Be nice if they could score at least one goal.

29/11/2025, 3:32 PM
For Shels this season, I think of Rovers in 2022. They got a couple points at home but scored once in 6 games. Big jump in class when you reach a group or league stage but the more times you participate, the better you become. If Shels were to make it back in the next 2-3 years, you would think they’ll learn from their mistakes and the performances would be improved. Be nice if they could score at least one goal.

Didnt realise that Shels are the only time in that expanded league not to score a goal but think next year the european experience should stand to them a lot more !

sbgawa
29/11/2025, 4:47 PM
To be honest, you come across as if you're taking it for granted a bit yourself. If you can't enjoy a league win and you think the season will limp to a finish if we don't get out of the league phase.....then I don't know. The atmosphere might be a bit flat if everyone around you has the same outlook.

Bradley was talking about the crowd numbers specifically. I think he's wrong fwiw. 7200 is a good LoI crowd by any measure. We had a game on the Wednesday as well. 5200 at it. I think the club can and needs to do more to grow the fanbase but you're not really selling the experience yourself if it's all doom and gloom after a double.
Well your definitly picking me up wrong if u think im taking it for granted, 50 years following and never had a run like this but that doesnt meqn i cant hope for more. Bradser was right to be dissapointed by the crowd , if we cant fill the stadkum for a trophy lift it is dissapointing but that doesnt make him or me negative its just pointing out facts.
On a POSITIVE note i think enda coming back is a bigger deal than people apprecite, he will steoll around at the back for us and given we build from there he is a massive signing IMO.

ontheotherhand
29/11/2025, 5:24 PM
Well your definitly picking me up wrong if u think im taking it for granted, 50 years following and never had a run like this but that doesnt meqn i cant hope for more. Bradser was right to be dissapointed by the crowd , if we cant fill the stadkum for a trophy lift it is dissapointing but that doesnt make him or me negative its just pointing out facts.
On a POSITIVE note i think enda coming back is a bigger deal than people apprecite, he will steoll around at the back for us and given we build from there he is a massive signing IMO.

Agreed. Will be a great addition. Could see him playing more at LCB this time around. Will be great for Cory, who continues to go under the radar a bit but was my YPotY.

And we can all hope for more but we should appreciate what we've got, regardless of the size of the crowd imop. It really isn't that much of an issue. Wouldn't be an issue at all if Tallaght held 7k instead of 10k. We've come a long way from the Morton but it can't all happen at once. Hopefully the new CEO brings us the same kind of work he did at Aberdeen.

Dermobohs
29/11/2025, 7:42 PM

There were 7200 people in the stadium against Sligo. I know bradser wasn't happy with it. Which I understand. But any other club in rage are g

the league would bite your hand off for a crowd that big.
Your crowds most games and your average is impressive, if only around the country councils built similar to the sdcc!!
And why is it funny that we include the lansdowne rd fixture in our average?
The game was a home fixture and we sold it.
Also if we had the ten year delayed(sympathy to harps here) dcc promised capacity, I’d reckon our average would be up around 6 every game.
Already are 4400 roughly with a long waiting list, too few seats to offer the cheaper season ticket option.
I’m an oap and have to shell out full membership, you need 10 years consecutive to qualify for the senior so there will be a lot of older Bohs fans priced out atm.

EatYerGreens
29/11/2025, 11:19 PM
Familiarity breeds contempt, some Rovers supporters have gotten so used to winning now (bar the Shels blip) that anything other than winning the league seems like failure, and winning the league doesn't even seem like an achievement.

As a non Rovers fan I do have a concern that Rovers are going to ruin the league somewhat by dominating it. Like Ferencvaros or Dinamo Zagreb or Rosenborg used to, only the very odd season will somebody else win and most of their season will be gauged on performance in Europe.

No problem with Rovers maintaining being more successful than other sides over time but if the next 5 years repeat the 5 just gone, interest in the league will likely start to wane from lack of competition.

The reason why Ferencvaros dominate their league is because of money. They have a lot more than anyone else - due in part to having by-far the largest fanbase.

Dinamo Zagreb donlt dominate Croatian football, and haven't. Hajduk Split do. Again - because of money and support.

Rovers have more support than any other team in our league - but not by a large amount. And more importantly - they don't have more money than everyone else.

I suspect Bradley will leave Rovers in the first half of next season for a club in England or Scotland. And when he does, Rovers' current dominance will be at risk.

placid casual
30/11/2025, 9:59 AM
A number of good points made there, people.
Rovers marketing is frankly woeful for the success we've had and there's one glaring issue there at the club that needs to be pushed aside,but I'll leave it at that.
If/when Bradley goes it will result in Rovers being back in the pack again for sure as any manager will find it hard to replace the current mgmt team.
I wouldn't fancy Rovers to get more than 4 points against briedablik and hamrun,we may even have to settle for only 2.
That being said, this is best season by a LOI team ever and anyone who doesn't agree is kidding themselves.

ontheotherhand
30/11/2025, 1:13 PM
Your crowds most games and your average is impressive, if only around the country councils built similar to the sdcc!!
And why is it funny that we include the lansdowne rd fixture in our average?
The game was a home fixture and we sold it.
Also if we had the ten year delayed(sympathy to harps here) dcc promised capacity, I’d reckon our average would be up around 6 every game.
Already are 4400 roughly with a long waiting list, too few seats to offer the cheaper season ticket option.
I’m an oap and have to shell out full membership, you need 10 years consecutive to qualify for the senior so there will be a lot of older Bohs fans priced out atm.

Ah it's funny that when chippie posted your crowds, he posted that game as a home attendance with no asterix but didn't post our away attendance at all in his breakdown. Could've sworn we were there too. It's funny that bohs online fans are constantly pointing at empty seats in Tallaght when our average is higher even with the Aviva game included. I mean it's not THAT funny. Not on the level of the single use cup jersey. Or our "marketing" team posting a teaser vid of a new signing that turned out to be a horse TBF. Still gave me a giggle tho. As a lot of bohs things do.

And I'm sure you will fill your council stadium. The demand for tickets at bohs is certainly there and fair play to them. Bit odd about your season ticket tho. They make oaps pay full price for 10 years? That seems.....very harsh.

RealJohn91
30/11/2025, 1:18 PM
Ah it's funny that when chippie posted your crowds, he posted that game as a home attendance with no asterix but didn't post our away attendance at all in his breakdown. Could've sworn we were there too. It's funny that bohs online fans are constantly pointing at empty seats in Tallaght when our average is higher even with the Aviva game included. I mean it's not THAT funny. Not on the level of the single use cup jersey. Or our "marketing" team posting a teaser vid of a new signing that turned out to be a horse TBF. Still gave me a giggle tho. As a lot of bohs things do.

And I'm sure you will fill your council stadium. The demand for tickets at bohs is certainly there and fair play to them. Bit odd about your season ticket tho. They make oaps pay full price for 10 years? That seems.....very harsh.
Not nearly as funny as you saying Rovers don't have more money than anyone else. I guess the eight figures in European money you've made over the last few seasons doesn't exist.

ontheotherhand
30/11/2025, 8:00 PM
Not nearly as funny as you saying Rovers don't have more money than anyone else. I guess the eight figures in European money you've made over the last few seasons doesn't exist.

That wasn't me John. We've got more but we don't have wealthy backers willing to put money in for no return every year, unlike people seem to think. Sure you've made almost as much from jersey sales if some people are to be believed.

It's the prize money (of which a large chunk went to staff and players) and members club keeping us going at the moment. Desmond hasn't paid a penny since the 2m that went to the academy. Got himself a healthy chunk of the club for it and hasn't done a thing since. We'd be in trouble if not for Europe as was covered in the papers over the past few seasons. Something else for the new CEO to address imop. We should be taking a leaf out of your book tbh. Don't tell anyone I said that though ok?