View Full Version : LOI In Europe 2025

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14

placid casual
24/07/2025, 5:42 PM
Rovers have a squad that takes the "finishers" concept familiar in rugby and applied it all season.
Players who are good enough to start, and know they're good enough to start ,come on after 60/70 minutes and always make an impact against tiring teams.
Comfortable enough but bigger and better teams await.

sbgawa
24/07/2025, 5:45 PM
Best thing about this is we can prioritise the Derry match on Sunday by playing a second string team on Thursday with a loaded bench

24/07/2025, 5:48 PM
Keeping up the Andorran segues of this thread, FC Santa Coloma take a 2-1 lead away to Ukrainian side Polissya Zhotomyr in Slovakia

That'd lift them up to seventh in the standings this year. Irrelevantly early, yet fun for all that

total hoofball
24/07/2025, 5:51 PM
3-0 now. Puts Shels and Derry's struggles in Gibraltar last year into context. Or maybe Rovers just don't have the runway as a distraction :p

Edit - 4-0. Must be getting on for a record LoI away win? I think there's been a couple of 4-0s. Derry v Aberystwth and maybe Rovers v Fram back in the day? Anything bigger?

I make it 6 out of the 11 St. Joseph's players starting today who played in the corresponding game against Shels last season so hard to know if their lineup a year on is weaker, they also don't have Gibraltar all-time record cap holder/top goalscorer Liam Walker starting today who was definitely one of their standout threats in the matches against Shels

ger121
24/07/2025, 6:08 PM
What Rovers did to Joseph’s is what seasoned european teams do to our sides from time to time. Just clinical when it matters and twist the knife when a couple of goals up. Tie done and dusted and half way to the League Phase.

24/07/2025, 6:11 PM
Shakhtar take an early lead away to Besiktas. Loser faces Pats or Nomme next. Two big clubs to be meeting at this early stage in things, but you'd imagine Shakhtar would be favourites (so Besiktas for Pats). More so now

Dermobohs
24/07/2025, 6:16 PM
Just to answer my own question - how could I forget about Gretna 1-5 Derry, and the foot.ie legend that w SuperGretna, who vanished shortly after :D

Derry beat Aberystwyth 4-0 at home but 5-0 away so that's the record. Rovers did beat Fram 4-0 away, and Sligo beat Banga 4-0 away in 2015. They're back in Europe for the first time since then tonight, 4-0 and a man down in Trondheim
Bohs had a 5-1 v Rhyl back in 08, 9-3 aggregate.

Tomas
24/07/2025, 6:23 PM
Great win for Shamrock Rovers. Now its Pats turn. Hopefully an early goal to settle the tie.

Sparta Prague with a shocking defeat, my local club Spartak Trnava a bit lucky to beat a semi-pro Malta outfit 2:1 away from home.

24/07/2025, 6:40 PM
I see Austria Wien after kicking off against FC Spaeri, a second division Georgian side who are the team of the Special State Protection Service. Was at a game of theirs a couple of years ago and about 50 uniformed soldiers marched in in file shortly before kickoff to watch. Want to be careful with that lot! But one of the fun random ties early European rounds can throw up

Edit - Dungannon go 1-0 up in Vaduz, which would be a great result if they can hold it

I'm off to check now they got into Europe in the first place now

24/07/2025, 6:49 PM
Viking 6-0 Koper sees a mental season for Icelandic clubs continue - 8-0, 1-7, 6-0 and 5-0 so far.

The Georgian State Protection side a goal down already. That could easily hit double figures over two legs

Linfield drew in Lithuania tonight which they'll probably be happy enough with

And the Andorrans still winning against the Ukrainians into injury time

Edit - Viking make it 7-0 and all

vinnie
24/07/2025, 6:54 PM
any links to Pats match

ger121
24/07/2025, 7:23 PM
Viking 6-0 Koper sees a mental season for Icelandic clubs continue - 8-0, 1-7, 6-0 and 5-0 so far.

The Georgian State Protection side a goal down already. That could easily hit double figures over two legs

Linfield drew in Lithuania tonight which they'll probably be happy enough with

And the Andorrans still winning against the Ukrainians into injury time

Edit - Viking make it 7-0 and all

They are the Norwegian version. They beat Sligo in 2021 or was it 2022? Caught me out too when I saw it earlier. Fecking Vikings.

24/07/2025, 7:26 PM
any links to Pats match

It's on Solidsport live.

https://solidsport.com/stpatricksathletic/games/g/vau68uze

ger121
24/07/2025, 7:26 PM
A good night so far for the Nordies.

Sabah won away 2 nil against Petrocub who made the league stages last season. It really was an excellent result by Pat’s last year.

Santa Coloma won again. The Andorran sides have been crazy good this season and I have no idea why.

Not watching Pat’s but it seems from UEFA to be a fairly dominant performance so far?

24/07/2025, 7:29 PM
They are the Norwegian version. They beat Sligo in 2021 or was it 2022? Caught me out too when I saw it earlier. Fecking Vikings.

I was wondering why geysir hadn't been on about it :p

(And I had noticed the names ended in sen rather than son but presumed they just had loads of foreigners)

24/07/2025, 7:32 PM
Must say I got a lot of joy out of watching Rovers hammer that shower. Absolutely hateful little club. Good enough for them.

ger121
24/07/2025, 7:38 PM
I was wondering why geysir hadn't been on about it :p

(And I had noticed the names ended in sen rather than son but presumed they just had loads of foreigners)

Oh he’ll be on at some stage!!

24/07/2025, 8:13 PM
Nomme down to ten now - Pat's really need to take advantage here you feel. 25 to go

Rommi Siht sent off - which of course auto-correct corrected...

ger121
24/07/2025, 8:15 PM
Nomme down to ten now - Pat's really need to take advantage here you feel. 25 to go

Rommi Siht sent off - which of course auto-correct corrected...

Pat’s seem wasteful yet again in a European game.

ger121
24/07/2025, 8:17 PM
Down to 9 now according to UEFA

sbgawa
24/07/2025, 8:22 PM
Come on pats FFS. Have to get at least 1

ger121
24/07/2025, 8:25 PM
Be brutal if they don’t finish them off from here but you could see them holding on.

24/07/2025, 8:28 PM
Besiktas 2-4 Shakhtar in the end

Besiktas won't be fearing either Pat's or Nomme I would say

ger121
24/07/2025, 8:31 PM
Besiktas 2-4 Shakhtar in the end

Besiktas won't be fearing either Pat's or Nomme I would say

51 pass goal for Shaktar’s 3rd goal.

https://x.com/zoryalondonsk/status/1948472608837525726?s=46

sbgawa
24/07/2025, 8:36 PM
If pats finish nil all here they have onlybthemselves to blame if they go out here

ger121
24/07/2025, 8:37 PM
Boom! Go get a 2nd.

sbgawa
About time. Good man Git. Now a second to give a good shout over there

Last minute winner - but questions still to be asked

You'd imagine this would force the Estonians to open up a bit next week which will help

24/07/2025, 8:38 PM
51 pass goal for Shaktar’s 3rd goal.

https://x.com/zoryalondonsk/status/1948472608837525726?s=46
Pat's could do that and miss the tap in tbf :D

ger121
24/07/2025, 8:39 PM
Pat's could do that and miss the tap in tbf :D

Lol, love it!

ger121
24/07/2025, 8:45 PM
Pat’s with just the 31 attempts on goal. Prolific they are not. Could have buried that lot tonight.

24/07/2025, 8:49 PM
It might be the least convincing 12-0 on agg, 4 game winning run you'll see, but I am just pleased they got it over the line, much like the first round I imagine they'll do better away.

There's definitely a real systemic issue with Pat's be it tactics or personnel, they are good enough to control games but not good enough to dominate and pick off chances at the rate you think they should. A win away in the 2nd leg, and then they're in to some league games they have to win, it is so similar to last season but they're running out of road to figure out the problem. They've not conceded in 6 at least :D

Git getting fit just at the right time might be the solution to be fair. How much longer is Palmer out?

24/07/2025, 9:19 PM
Pat's decision making is cat.

yurt
24/07/2025, 9:27 PM
Pat's will be relieved to have gotten the goal and the win but christ, there were so wasteful. Pretty similar game to the Hegelmann one, huffed and puffed for ages and eventually got a break of the ball near the end of the game.

They'll be hoping the away leg is simiar to Hegelmann as well. An early goal would all but kill the tie.

2 Year Contract
24/07/2025, 9:28 PM
Thank Jaysus for that! Should really have absolutely buried them considering some of the sitters missed but 1 goal is better than none. Even before the red cards Kalju offered absolutely nothing going forward and neither of their 2 shots in the game were on target, loads of poor passes giving possession back to Pats cheaply too. They’re a defensively organised side that came for a draw and quite nearly got it. As others have said, that goal will make them come out and attack in the second leg so hopefully Pats can kill them off on the counter but a major improvement in finishing and decision making in the final third will be needed for that

2 Year Contract
24/07/2025, 9:33 PM
How much longer is Palmer out?

Last update I heard was that it won’t be until September or October. In my opinion the likelihood is he’ll at best make a handful of substitute appearances in the last couple of games of the season and won’t be fully back at it until pre-season unfortunately. Brilliant player that would’ve had a huge impact this season but for the injury

Tomas
24/07/2025, 9:40 PM
Win is a win :) Well done Pats.

24/07/2025, 10:09 PM
Pat's will be relieved to have gotten the goal and the win but christ, there were so wasteful. Pretty similar game to the Hegelmann one, huffed and puffed for ages and eventually got a break of the ball near the end of the game.

They'll be hoping the away leg is simiar to Hegelmann as well. An early goal would all but kill the tie.

We were even more dominant tonight than against Hengelman. In fairness we played well and totally dominated the game, but just weren't clinical enough. Story of the season really. I'd still be optimistic for the away leg, unless they have a whole lot more that they didn't show tonight.

sbgawa
24/07/2025, 10:31 PM
Likely out come post two rounds is two wins for rovers a win and a draw for sheks and.....hopefully 2 wins for pats
..gotta be good for yhe coefficient

placid casual
24/07/2025, 10:38 PM
Pats will need to be clever and structured in defense to make sure all those missed chances don't come back to bite them, the Estonians only need 1 to get back in the game. I'd still presume they'll go through tho.
The Rovers game is thankfully done and dusted but it's still an awful long way before the group stages come into view.

2 Year Contract
24/07/2025, 10:40 PM
Likely out come post two rounds is two wins for rovers a win and a draw for sheks and.....hopefully 2 wins for pats
..gotta be good for yhe coefficient

Thats 3 wins for Pats now, hopefully get a 4th one or even a draw will do next week.
Might’ve been an even better year if Drogheda hadn’t thrown in the towel ;)

Jack B
24/07/2025, 10:45 PM
2025 Pats in a nutshell, that game. A whole gang of players bizarrely devoid of confidence in front of goal for almost the entirety of the season. Fortunately that chance fell to Git who would be the one you'd trust to show some composure.

They aren't up to much and we should be going through, though we should have made it a much easier task after tonight.

patsdad
24/07/2025, 10:54 PM
Pats have played their best football of the season in the 3 European games but both home games have seen poor finishing and woeful shots from distance. Still it’s 3 wins and 3 clean sheets. A fortnight ago I was happy with the 1-0 as I saw nothing to suggest Hegelmann could beat us in their place and so it proved. The feeling tonight is much the same. They had 2 shots, none on target, and two of their better players will now be suspended. I’ll be very surprised if we’re not going back to Istanbul.

Also happy to see that Mulraney is gradually getting his form back.

EatYerGreens
24/07/2025, 11:36 PM
Pats have played their best football of the season in the 3 European games but both home games have seen poor finishing and woeful shots from distance. Still it’s 3 wins and 3 clean sheets. A fortnight ago I was happy with the 1-0 as I saw nothing to suggest Hegelmann could beat us in their place and so it proved. The feeling tonight is much the same. They had 2 shots, none on target, and two of their better players will now be suspended. I’ll be very surprised if we’re not going back to Istanbul.

Also happy to see that Mulraney is gradually getting his form back.

Even though they lost at home tonight, I'd be pretty confident that Besiktas will slaughter that Pats team.

25/07/2025, 7:18 AM
They will, but Pat's getting there with 4 wins would still be a solid achievement. I'd imagine they're very close to having a ranking high enough to guarantee being ranked in ECL rnd 2 every year soon, as long as they continue to qualify for Europe that is :D

2 Year Contract
25/07/2025, 8:04 AM
Even though they lost at home tonight, I'd be pretty confident that Besiktas will slaughter that Pats team.
Fair play, nothing gets by you does it ;) Among a whole host of Turkish and near full squad of full internationals, they’ve got England internationals Tammy Abraham and Oxlade Chamberlain, João Mario who started in Portugal’s Euro 2016 win, former Arsenal and Villarreal centre back Gabriel Paulista, 2 more senior Portugal internationals in Rafa Silva and Gedson Fernandes, and this summer are linked with buying ex Spurs fullback Emerson Royal from AC Milan for €10 million and Arsenal’s Leandro Trossard for €25 million. I think your post is probably the most obvious one I’ve read on here in a long time. They’d slaughter any league of Ireland side, let alone the one in 6th place in the league

25/07/2025, 8:31 AM
Oxlade Chamberlain left at the end of last season btw. Ye've nothing to be worried about!

Solskjaer is manager now and seems to be doing a proper rebuild as you say

(On that note, I don't agree with the earlier comments about wanting to avoid sides like Besiktas. It's not defeatist to want to test yourself against a side like that and get the experience of playing in a ground like theirs. You have to get knocked out of Europe at some stage - better it be by Besiktas than Nomme Kalju or Ballkani. Or even Qarabag.)

2 Year Contract
25/07/2025, 8:44 AM
Oxlade Chamberlain left at the end of last season btw. Ye've nothing to be worried about!

Solskjaer is manager now and seems to be doing a proper rebuild as you say

(On that note, I don't agree with the earlier comments about wanting to avoid sides like Besiktas. It's not defeatist to want to test yourself against a side like that and get the experience of playing in a ground like theirs. You have to get knocked out of Europe at some stage - better it be by Besiktas than Nomme Kalju or Ballkani. Or even Qarabag.)

Sure Oxlade Chamberlain’s past his best anyway, no way he’d have got the better of Jamie Lennon ;) I think the comments from others on not wanting to play them were based around wanting to get through the third round. I’d rather have drawn Sabah in the third round again this year than Besiktas from a progression point of view but now that they’ve drawn Besiktas though of course I want Pats to advance past Nomme Kalju and play away to a massive club like that

25/07/2025, 9:21 AM
Yeah, that's fair. Especially with the groups being vaguely attainable now, I can imagine wanting to try scam an easy route there. (And then do a Rovers and scam an easy group draw!)

But as round 3 draws go, there's a lot worse. Even if it has only been 12 months since Pat's were last in Istanbul of course

EatYerGreens
25/07/2025, 1:16 PM
Fair play, nothing gets by you does it ;) Among a whole host of Turkish and near full squad of full internationals, they’ve got England internationals Tammy Abraham and Oxlade Chamberlain, João Mario who started in Portugal’s Euro 2016 win, former Arsenal and Villarreal centre back Gabriel Paulista, 2 more senior Portugal internationals in Rafa Silva and Gedson Fernandes, and this summer are linked with buying ex Spurs fullback Emerson Royal from AC Milan for €10 million and Arsenal’s Leandro Trossard for €25 million. I think your post is probably the most obvious one I’ve read on here in a long time. They’d slaughter any league of Ireland side, let alone the one in 6th place in the league

Someone's a bit touchy today.... ;)