View Full Version : Away Attendances 2025

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

2 Year Contract
08/03/2025, 3:18 PM
Shamrock Rovers cancelling over 200 tickets on suspicion of the buyer being a Pats fan was very petty stuff. There is also a case to be answered over GDPR on how they gained the information to make their determination. If someone try’s to enter the home end in away colours then refusal is fair enough but cancelling tickets this way indicates that someone in Tallaght has too much time on their hands. It was a cramped section of the ground for so many Pats fans to be stuffed into.

Had to laugh looking over at the north stand just at kickoff as a steward let easily over a hundred Pats fans in that stand leave it and go into the away section. Then what I’m assuming was a senior steward came over and told that steward off and he wouldn’t let through the next group that asked to be let in

sbgawa
08/03/2025, 8:23 PM
It's stupid. Why not just have a bigger away allocation. There were 2000 empty seats.

patsdad
08/03/2025, 9:33 PM
The home club is required to make 10% of capacity available. Rovers claim the usable capacity for Dublin derbies is 9500 so they give 950. Pats fans would buy double that if they were available, and there were well over 1000 empty seats last night, so Rovers chose to forfeit about €20k to keep the away support to the minimum allowed. If they think that gives them an advantage on the pitch they’re within their rights to do it.

08/03/2025, 10:56 PM
Well away goals were gotten rid of because evidence suggested that home advantage wasnt actually an advantage in Europe. If I were a professional player i'd want the best possible atmosphere, biggest possible crowd and would relish the big opposition support. If it is actually to try and keep away fan backing to a minimum well its a bit small club mentality - there should be enough belief in a side that expect to win the league no matter what crowd they play in front of. No matter how weathly a club has become with gates and European paydays no revenue should be considered as not needed - 30k and whatever would be accumulated over a season could well be important one day again! Yes its the club's perogative but we are a developing league where no people should be truned away unnecessarily.

redobit
09/03/2025, 10:19 AM
The Guards always have a big say too.

2 Year Contract
09/03/2025, 10:35 AM
The Guards always have a big say too.

Doesn’t really add up when there were much bigger away crowds last year with no trouble (even as high as 2,500 allocation for the presidents cup)

redobit
09/03/2025, 12:00 PM
Doesn’t really add up when there were much bigger away crowds last year with no trouble (even as high as 2,500 allocation for the presidents cup)

Of course it adds up. The Gardai and emergecy services have involvement in nearly all medium and large gatherings. From Paddys day, matches, concerts and horse meets. They get paid millions every year in policing events. And a lot can be based on their available resources and the opinion of individuals. Sure LOI matches have had time changes to suit the numbers they have on duty. I think Bohs Shams game had a time change before. And the Presidents cup is a different match altogether when it comes to allocation.

2 Year Contract
09/03/2025, 1:32 PM
Of course it adds up. The Gardai and emergecy services have involvement in nearly all medium and large gatherings. From Paddys day, matches, concerts and horse meets. They get paid millions every year in policing events. And a lot can be based on their available resources and the opinion of individuals. Sure LOI matches have had time changes to suit the numbers they have on duty. I think Bohs Shams game had a time change before. And the Presidents cup is a different match altogether when it comes to allocation.

Indeed it is, but most league games in Tallaght in recent years Pats have been given 1,200-1,800. Even to meet the additional 250 tickets to hit the lower end of that scale wouldn’t have used up many extra Garda resources if any. Would probably have been easier to police given there were more away fans than that in the home end anyways

redobit
09/03/2025, 5:38 PM
Indeed it is, but most league games in Tallaght in recent years Pats have been given 1,200-1,800. Even to meet the additional 250 tickets to hit the lower end of that scale wouldn’t have used up many extra Garda resources if any. Would probably have been easier to police given there were more away fans than that in the home end anyways

You're focusing too much on a few games in Tallaght. There is a bigger picture and it all depends on other things that I laid out in the first part of my post.

09/03/2025, 5:42 PM
I had forgotten about the Garda algorithm! They cap attendances often based on how many Gardaí they can put on duty or how many a club is willing to pay for (which is calculated not an informal arbitrary guesstimate like years ago), not an issue for Tallaght unless there are other things in the city that are taking up manpower. Having thousands of French visitors and keeping them safe would have meant a larger deployment to the city centre on Friday evening.

listowelceltic
09/03/2025, 11:33 PM
Approximately 30 Bray fans in Tralee.

nr637
10/03/2025, 9:19 AM
Premier League (Series 5)

Shamrock Rovers v St Pats 8093
Cork v Sligo 3543
Shelbourne v Drogheda 4742
Waterford v Bohemians 3218 ( around 450 Bohs 'trevy')
Derry v Galway 2990

First League (Series 4)

Cobh v Longford 1043
Wexford v Athlone 574
UCD v Finn Harps 307
Kerry v Bray 697
Dundalk v Treaty 2264 (60+ Treaty fans at Oriel 'Shearer')

nr637
10/03/2025, 9:22 AM

Cork v Sligo 3543
Shelbourne v Drogheda 4742
Waterford v Bohemians 3218 (around 450 Bohs 'trevy')
Derry v Galway 2990

First League (Series 4)

Cobh v Longford 1043
Wexford v Athlone 574
UCD v Finn Harps 307
Kerry v Bray 697 (30 Bray fans 'listowelceltic')
Dundalk v Treaty 2264 (60+ Treaty fans 'Shearer')

nr637
10/03/2025, 9:25 AM
PREMIER LEAGUE (Series 4)

Sligo v Shamrock Rovers 4023 (Shamrock brought good support, a few hundred 'redobit')
Galway v Shelbourne 3449 (300 or so Shels 'Olander')
Waterford v Cork 3017 (about 500 Cork fans 'trevy')
Bohemians v Drogheda 4393
St Pats v Derry 4476 (Around 100-120 Derry fans '2 Year Contract')

thebronze14
15/03/2025, 12:31 PM
About 20 Cobh fans at FP last night

pateen
15/03/2025, 1:51 PM
How many City fans at Tolka?

oriel
16/03/2025, 7:01 PM
How many City fans at Tolka?

Can I ask why Cork City fans continuously use the term 'City' - you do realise there is another single club city in LOI with that name, seems quite odd to almost want to franchise the term.

I get the 'Cork' thing as it may locally be more linked to GAA, but surely 'Cork City' works?

oriel
16/03/2025, 7:06 PM
Can any Bray Wanderers fans comment on the away numbers for Dundalk at the Carlisle on Friday, some are saying 500+, but that sounds a lot, then again a lot of Dundalk fans live in Dublin area.

https://x.com/LOI_UAA/status/1900948689692013021

17/03/2025, 10:47 AM
Can any Bray Wanderers fans comment on the away numbers for Dundalk at the Carlisle on Friday, some are saying 500+, but that sounds a lot, then again a lot of Dundalk fans live in Dublin area.

https://x.com/LOI_UAA/status/1900948689692013021

I know when longford packed that end for play offs in 2013 we would have had 300-400 there so 500 might be slightly over estimated but still a serious support none the less.

17/03/2025, 1:41 PM
About 60 Waterford fans in Edp

fionnsci
18/03/2025, 8:26 AM
Can I ask why Cork City fans continuously use the term 'City' - you do realise there is another single club city in LOI with that name, seems quite odd to almost want to franchise the term.

I get the 'Cork' thing as it may locally be more linked to GAA, but surely 'Cork City' works?

I think it's pretty reasonable for a Cork City fan to use the term for the club they generally use. You seem to have picked up from context that they were talking about Cork City.

seand
18/03/2025, 10:19 AM
One of the Bray staff told me Dundalk had over 600 there.

yurt
18/03/2025, 12:24 PM
That's pretty incredible to be fair for a first division away crowd. Potentially the novelty of getting to grounds a lot won't have been to in a long time will play a part in bigger travelling supports for Dundalk this year seeing as it looks like it'll be a brief stay in the first division. Either way the Dundalk fans are a credit to their club

18/03/2025, 1:37 PM
Probably has more to do with being given a rattle out of complacency. It's an unwanted novelty. Helps when yer winning, and a team looks fit and organised. I'd like to think a young squad will be cut extra slack during the inevitable ups and downs.

Buckett
18/03/2025, 3:08 PM
Roughly a quarter of your home support travelling away is phenomenal, regardless of the division. We (GUFC) just don't have that tradition in the club around away games. A couple of away games in Europe next year might improve that!

sbgawa
18/03/2025, 3:48 PM
Probably has more to do with being given a rattle out of complacency. It's an unwanted novelty. Helps when yer winning, and a team looks fit and organised. I'd like to think a young squad will be cut extra slack during the inevitable ups and downs.

Can you get a train direct from Dundalk to Bray? Certainly one of the handiest away trips for anyone living in Dublin

dundalkfc10
18/03/2025, 3:56 PM
Can you get a train direct from Dundalk to Bray? Certainly one of the handiest away trips for anyone living in Dublin

You need to change over to the Dart at Connolly but it's very handy (especially now that there are trains every hour to and from Connolly from Dundalk)

Got the train Friday myself and few mates. Shout out to the barman in Clearys beside Connolly station who kept bags with cans for the way home for at least 3 diff groups of lads

oriel
19/03/2025, 1:51 PM
Roughly a quarter of your home support travelling away is phenomenal, regardless of the division. We (GUFC) just don't have that tradition in the club around away games. A couple of away games in Europe next year might improve that!

The Shedside army lads have already booked their flights to the second Kerry away game in July, a good few of us looking at it too, but its hitting family holiday scene, avg age of the new wave of the regular fans is mid 20's - less commitments but they seem to be all over these away trips thats for sure.

Another novelty for any 'home' fans seeing a section of DFC away is, they use a Newry bus company called 'Frontier Coaches' not many yellow reg buses going to these far stretched placed away games, they call it 'The Bouncy Bus'.

A lot of this surge in away support is def the novelty factor.

19/03/2025, 3:15 PM

Similar for Rovers in our Discover Ireland season. Upwards of 1,000 away fans for big games (Cobh) and regularly took 6,7 or 800 away when our average home attendances were not much more. A combination of the fans takeover and the novelty of the First Division turned a grim time for the club into one of the most enjoyable seasons for fans.

dundalkfc10
19/03/2025, 6:08 PM
Another novelty for any 'home' fans seeing a section of DFC away is, they use a Newry bus company called 'Frontier Coaches' not many yellow reg buses going to these far stretched placed away games, they call it 'The Bouncy Bus'.

A lot of this surge in away support is def the novelty factor.

They only use Frontier as no bus company from town will take them to games. This is going back to the last 2010's but in fairness to the main lads in the group, they don't be acting the gob****e most of the time now
They had a few scumbags among them back in the day

19/03/2025, 6:36 PM
They only use Frontier as no bus company from town will take them to games. This is going back to the last 2010's but in fairness to the main lads in the group, they don't be acting the gob**** most of the time now
They had a few scumbags among them back in the day

That will totally fill people with confidence, If I were a bus company and the orgainiser behave most of the time it wouldnt at all have me refusing their business...

Pity the main lads didnt stop the scumbags or maybe some of the time they were scumbags themselves?

nr637
20/03/2025, 9:39 AM
Premier League (Series 6)

Drogheda v Shamrock Rovers 2475
Galway v Waterford 2828 (60 Waterford fans in Edp 'gufct')
St. Pat's v Bohs 5338
Shels v Cork 4241
Sligo v Derry 3712

First Division (Series 5)

Finn Harps v Cobh 1023 ( Cobh had 20 fans at FP 'thebronze14')
Athlone v UCD 486
Bray v Dundalk 1650 (Dundalk had over 600 'seand')
Treaty v Wexford 1436
Longford's v Kerry 806 (Kerry, 50 plus 'LTFC')

Slartibartfast
20/03/2025, 11:08 AM
Drogs away to bohs , away end was sold out 450 capacity I think
Drogs away to shels there was 450 sold 2 days before game so maybe 600 at ko ?

pateen
20/03/2025, 12:46 PM
Drogs away to bohs , away end was sold out 450 capacity I think
Drogs away to shels there was 450 sold 2 days before game so maybe 600 at ko ?

I know its not miles away from Dublin but thats super away support

dundalkfc10
20/03/2025, 2:01 PM
I know its not miles away from Dublin but thats super away support

We have had good/decent away support over the years for games in Dublin as it’s only up the road
Always surprised me Drogheda didn’t but it’s great to see the increase in support all across the board

I was in Drogheda a few weeks ago and the amount of kids with Drogheda Utd gear was unreal. I’ve only ever seen Dundalk like that, few years back you wouldn’t even have known Drogheda had a team walking about. Now every 2nd or 3rd person is in Drogheda gear

nr637
20/03/2025, 2:11 PM

Sligo v Shamrock Rovers 4023 (Shamrock brought good support, a few hundred 'redobit')
Bohemians v Drogheda 4393

Bohemians v Drogheda 4393 (Drogs away to bohs, 450 'Staribartfast')

nr637
20/03/2025, 2:14 PM

Cork v Sligo 3543
Shelbourne v Drogheda 4742 (Drogs away to shels, 600 'Staribartfast')
Derry v Galway 2990

oriel
20/03/2025, 8:18 PM
In my time watching LOI (1977 - ) there has never been and probably wont be before or after anything like the madness of Derry City away crowds in the inaugural LOI FD season of 1984/85, they took over a thousand to away games, some times multi 000's it was just phenonium.

Some of the grounds were tiny too, Abbeycarton (Longford), Newcastle West, EMFA, and still they packed them out, Mons even moved a league game to oriel park at least once, i was at it, to cash in.

Amazing times, and crazier they missed promotion that first season too.

shelsfan1
21/03/2025, 12:02 AM
Drogs brought 480 to Tolka. Cork had 220.

nr637
21/03/2025, 10:53 AM

Cork v Sligo 3543
Shelbourne v Drogheda 4742 (Drogs brought 480, 'shelsfan1)
Derry v Galway 2990

Premier League (Series 6)

Drogheda v Shamrock Rovers 2475
Galway v Waterford 2828 (60 Waterford fans in Edp 'gufct')
St. Pat's v Bohs 5338
Shels v Cork 4241 (Cork had 220, 'shelsfan1')
Sligo v Derry 3712

22/03/2025, 12:51 PM
We have had good/decent away support over the years for games in Dublin as it’s only up the road
Always surprised me Drogheda didn’t but it’s great to see the increase in support all across the board

I was in Drogheda a few weeks ago and the amount of kids with Drogheda Utd gear was unreal. I’ve only ever seen Dundalk like that, few years back you wouldn’t even have known Drogheda had a team walking about. Now every 2nd or 3rd person is in Drogheda gear

The occasional trophy win is a help to a clubs profile like Drogs in their town.

Does the support base reach in to the Meath side of the town just out of interest or is it still predominantly north side of the Boyne?

oriel
23/03/2025, 5:02 PM
Good Q on Drogs, would think more North side, but worked with a mate lived 'faaa side' and he was DUFC nuts, wouldn't think too much support for Drogs in the county as a whole mind.

Strange set up that town, they belong to the smallest county on the Island, yet almost everyone I worked with or social from the town has rarely been to the magestic Carlingford - they seem to only look south, go to Dub weekends, day trips etc, anyway each to their own.

23/03/2025, 6:12 PM
Oh they look north all right, with green eyes!

Ancient Rush
23/03/2025, 8:45 PM
In my time watching LOI (1977 - ) there has never been and probably wont be before or after anything like the madness of Derry City away crowds in the inaugural LOI FD season of 1984/85, they took over a thousand to away games, some times multi 000's it was just phenonium.

Some of the grounds were tiny too, Abbeycarton (Longford), Newcastle West, EMFA, and still they packed them out, ....

Amazing times, and crazier they missed promotion that first season too.

My first ever League of Ireland match was to see them in NCW in 85. In the dull grey West Limerick of the 1980s it was a moment of rare colour and excitement and considering the backdrop of war and struggle, there was a edgy frission as well

Programme up from that time up here (https://ncwoldentimes.com/league-of-ireland-programmes-1985-6/)

MeathDrog
24/03/2025, 8:10 AM
Good Q on Drogs, would think more North side, but worked with a mate lived 'faaa side' and he was DUFC nuts, wouldn't think too much support for Drogs in the county as a whole mind.

Strange set up that town, they belong to the smallest county on the Island, yet almost everyone I worked with or social from the town has rarely been to the magestic Carlingford - they seem to only look south, go to Dub weekends, day trips etc, anyway each to their own.
Drogheda have always had a small but considerable and loyal following from Meath (as my name suggests) in areas like Slane, Navan and Duleek. Even Balbriggan would be considered a catchment area for fans.

24/03/2025, 11:07 AM
About 20-30 Longford fans in dundalk on Friday

oriel
24/03/2025, 8:09 PM
My first ever League of Ireland match was to see them in NCW in 85. In the dull grey West Limerick of the 1980s it was a moment of rare colour and excitement and considering the backdrop of war and struggle, there was a edgy frission as well

Programme up from that time up here (https://ncwoldentimes.com/league-of-ireland-programmes-1985-6/)

The classic winter 80's ko time of 2.30 pm on a sunday, and clubs had to move back to 2.15 for Dec and Jan. I think only Dundalk and Bohs had lights back then, HF also until they left, Rovers were next around 86, that was about it until the early - mid 90's, Shels followed close after when they took over Tolka. (But Drumcondra had lights in the early 60's for a period at Tolka I remember reading once)

I remember Dundalk home games were 3.30 and by half time you would know the FT score of most of the other games, changed times !

Jamesie
24/03/2025, 9:00 PM
The classic winter 80's ko time of 2.30 pm on a sunday, and clubs had to move back to 2.15 for Dec and Jan. I think only Dundalk and Bohs had lights back then, HF also until they left, Rovers were next around 86, that was about it until the early - mid 90's, Shels followed close after when they took over Tolka. (But Drumcondra had lights in the early 60's for a period at Tolka I remember reading once)

I remember Dundalk home games were 3.30 and by half time you would know the FT score of most of the other games, changed times !
Rovers got them in 82..they left Milltown in 87...bit of a quirk but the Corks used to ko at 245 on account of the latitude and longitude

oriel
24/03/2025, 9:10 PM
Ah yes, I remember now, Milltown got upgraded lights around 86, so it was really the 3 of Dundalk (from 1967), Bohs (from 1960's ???) and Rovers (1982) having 3.30 KO and night time replays in the cup, and also night time Euro games, everyone else afternoons. Home Farm squeezed in there at some point too.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/03/2025, 9:51 PM
Clubs got money from Sky when the premier league started in England which most used to install floodlights rather then clashing with the live games that they would now be showing. Think it was 1.5m across all the clubs.