View Full Version : Republic of Ireland v England - Saturday, 7th September 2024 - UEFA Nations League

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

JR89
29/08/2024, 11:50 AM
Travers, Kelleher, OLearly

Coleman, Doherty, O'Shea, Collins, Omobamidele, Scales, O'Brien, Brady, O'Dowda.

Knight, Molumby, Smallbone, Browne, McAteer.

Idah, Robinson, Ferguson, Szmodics, Parrott, Ogbene.

Very light in midfield. Very surprised to see no Jamie McGrath given his form.

John O'Shea's influence likely not that strong, even though HH said he'd be leaning on O'Shea and McCarthy in this window for squad selection when there's no Duffy and no talk whatsoever about McClean.

29/08/2024, 11:59 AM
Squad stats

29/08/2024, 12:10 PM
One minor thing, in the official squad announcement, Callum O'Dowda is listed as a midfielder at the end of the video below, and as a defender in the squad list.

29/08/2024, 12:14 PM
No Johnston? Is he injured? He'd been making squads for Celtic.

No Manning either - or indeed anything interesting at wingback other than the suggestion O'Dowda might be it. Stevens misses out but Doherty, Coleman and Brady keep their places. Azaz also out which is a surprise (again assuming there's not an injury I don't know about, which is entirely possible)

No Duffy either; may be reaching the end of the international road.

Robinson back - meh. McAteer at least brings new signing freshness; hopefully it works out.

But it is what it is I guess. We just have a very poor squad. Still more interested to see how we play as I'm hoping that'll be the bigger change from Kenny

JR89
29/08/2024, 12:15 PM
Would assume he'll be covering LB, LWB, and LW anyway.

elatedscum
29/08/2024, 12:17 PM
Wouldn’t really see Kasey as a midfielder, so that’s basically 4 midfielders, which is worrying…

Injuries to Cullen and Azaz but surprised that McGrath and Taylor didn’t make it. I’d have had Connell and maybe Ronan as well but no shock they didn’t get picked.

No Mikey Johnston is interesting. He hasn’t played but still, feel like he’s done enough at international level to be included. Marcus Harness also maybe harshly done by, thought he did well off the bench for Ipswich so far this season…

JR89
29/08/2024, 12:20 PM
Mikey Johnston passed his medical for WBA today anyway. Though assuming if he had a knock that wouldn't affect a medical as long as there's no major issues.

Eirambler
29/08/2024, 12:20 PM
Squad seems light on numbers for no particular reason. Feels like either McGrath, Taylor or Sykes would have been a useful addition in midfield, as well as Johnston and Cannon further forward. With only 23 players, any drop offs will need to be replaced, and there will likely be a couple of dropoffs.

29/08/2024, 12:24 PM
Half thought there'd be an outside shot for Neil Farrugia in that LWB role too, but O'Shea stuck with the tried and tested really.

Eirambler
29/08/2024, 12:28 PM
I think the lack of Azaz, Moran, McGrath or any kind of creative attacking central midfielder gives a strong early indication of what would have been suspected based on HH's management history - creative attacking midfielders and playing through the thirds is out, strong runners and creating chances with wingers is in.

Not good news for the types on twitter that start creaming themselves whenever Andy Moran or Dan Crowley do something of note down the divisions!

29/08/2024, 12:40 PM
Travers, Kelleher, OLearly

Coleman, Doherty, O'Shea, Collins, Omobamidele, Scales, O'Brien, Brady, O'Dowda.

Knight, Molumby, Smallbone, Browne, McAteer.

Idah, Robinson, Ferguson, Szmodics, Parrott, Ogbene.

Very light in midfield. Very surprised to see no Jamie McGrath given his form.

John O'Shea's influence likely not that strong, even though HH said he'd be leaning on O'Shea and McCarthy in this window for squad selection when there's no Duffy and no talk whatsoever about McClean.

On McGrath, I think he got 0 minutes in the 4 matches under O'Shea. I know I've said before that long term I think he'll end up being a fringe player for us at best, but given he's probably got the most minutes in his legs of anyone in the squad, and playing well I figured he could be a starter in the short term, to not be in the squad at all is weird.

JR89
29/08/2024, 12:47 PM
I think the lack of Azaz, Moran, McGrath or any kind of creative attacking central midfielder gives a strong early indication of what would have been suspected based on HH's management history - creative attacking midfielders and playing through the thirds is out, strong runners and creating chances with wingers is in.

Not good news for the types on twitter that start creaming themselves whenever Andy Moran or Dan Crowley do something of note down the divisions!

McGrath though has been playing as a winger and while it's not Azaz's best position he's a strong runner and not a small lad. Would have him out wide before Callum Robinson. Would also see McGrath as more of a worker than a creative attacking midfielder.

Not surprised to see no Moran. HH talked about not calling up U21 players for the sake of it. Said playing games is more important than training. U21s have a make or break game away to Turkey this window and Moran has only played the one game so far this season.

HH is pragmatic and hasn't had time to work with players before a competitive game so not surprised with the squad bar McGrath and Azaz. Think JOS even played Azaz as part of a midfield two back in June.

Eirambler
29/08/2024, 12:56 PM
A whole press conference there without a single question digging down to any extent into the squad selection, other than an inevitable one about Evan Ferguson.

Why only 23 players? No idea, it wasn't asked.

Is that it for Duffy, and is McClean now completely gone? No idea, it wasn't asked.

Were Cannon and Johnston's omissions to do with injury, ongoing transfers, or purely a selection decision? No idea, it wasn't asked.

Just generic questions that led to obvious generic answers. Hopefully the print journalists can do a bit better.

One other thing to note is that Azaz and Cannon are two players who are not tied to Ireland who could be tied through a single Nations League appearance, but neither are in the squad for the Nations League games.

29/08/2024, 1:30 PM
Carsley is quoted as saying he doesn’t know how we’ll play but that squad telegraphs a 3-4-3 formation and more of the same. Difficult to follow on the press stream but feels a bit blurry the hierarchy between HH and O’Shea, and didn’t sound like HH himself believes he’ll have much input for the England/ Greece games. Interesting that O’Shea mentioned he knew what was going on in the background (prior to HH’s appointment) - does that mean O'Shea was chosen by the FAI as assistant?

Deckydee
29/08/2024, 1:36 PM
England squad announced...Decky & Jackie back in Ireland.

Eirambler
29/08/2024, 2:01 PM
They also have Liveramento, who is eligible for Portugal and Scotland, in their squad. He's 21 now, so they can cap him in the Nations League and tie him. That particular one doesn't affect Ireland, but shows how smart England (and other countries) are when it comes to this kind of thing.

elatedscum
01/09/2024, 1:07 AM
Update on the midfielders:

Smallbone hooked after 45 mins losing 1-0. Not sure if it was tactical or injury related, presumably tactical.

Molumby scored and came off with a head injury after 65 mins.

Browne started his first game of the season and scored.

Knight played 90 minutes for Bristol in a loss to Derby

As for the lads who weren’t called up:

Azaz started and got an assist (corner) and almost scored a good goal, so no injury issues I guess, which some people online were saying was the reason he was left out.

Cullen still injured - which was likely but his manager gave a quote when he was initially injured which left a little hope.

McGrath came off injured after 35 mins against Ross County.

Taylor didn't make the Ipswich squad, having played in the games against Liverpool and City. Might need an injury to a midfielder before he's back in the squad for them

Olé Olé
01/09/2024, 5:46 AM
That wasn't Browne's first start of the season. He started the first league game against Cardiff. He was injured for their second league game. Came on in the third. Started the fourth, as you say.

It appears that Knight is playing in the deepest two of a 4-2-3-1 which is good in my view. For all his qualities I just don't think he's ever shown a goalscoring or creative knack that will see him progress in that three behind the striker.

Eirambler
01/09/2024, 9:02 AM
Update on the midfielders:

Smallbone hooked after 45 mins losing 1-0. Not sure if it was tactical or injury related, presumably tactical.

Molumby scored and came off with a head injury after 65 mins.

Browne started his first game of the season and scored.

Knight played 90 minutes for Bristol in a loss to Derby

As for the lads who weren’t called up:

Azaz started and got an assist (corner) and almost scored a good goal, so no injury issues I guess, which some people online were saying was the reason he was left out.

Cullen still injured - which was likely but his manager gave a quote when he was initially injured which left a little hope.

McGrath came off injured after 35 mins against Ross County.

Taylor didn't make the Ipswich squad, having played in the games against Liverpool and City. Might need an injury to a midfielder before he's back in the squad for them

Smallbone was tactical I think. Didn't have a good half. A very good Championship player but probably not quite Premier League quality, not at the moment anyway.

The thing is you could say that about loads of them. Smallbone/Browne/Knight/Molumby, probably Azaz as well. Cullen much the same though he did at least have some good moments for Burnley last season, but he was out of the team at times as well.

I think what Heimir will do in midfield when he gets his head around our full squad is he will pick three workhorses in there and compensate for a lack of quality by filling the space with hard working players to give the defence more protection than Kenny's setup gave them. Then attack with pace down the wings. All of Smallbone, Knight, Molumby, Browne and Cullen are honest, hard working players so we have the numbers to do it. Probably Lawal in time as well.

I don't really see what else he can do really that could work. We're strong at the back, potentially strong up front and there's plenty of pace out wide now in Ogbene, McAteer, Johnston and maybe Ebosele. There's no top class midfielder coming through that will be a gamechanger for us that I can see. But there are other ways to be successful without one, at least in the context of what we would consider success.

liamoo11
01/09/2024, 9:22 AM
Smallbone was tactical I think. Didn't have a good half. A very good Championship player but probably not quite Premier League quality, not at the moment anyway.

The thing is you could say that about loads of them. Smallbone/Browne/Knight/Molumby, probably Azaz as well. Cullen much the same though he did at least have some good moments for Burnley last season, but he was out of the team at times as well.

I think what Heimir will do in midfield when he gets his head around our full squad is he will pick three workhorses in there and compensate for a lack of quality by filling the space with hard working players to give the defence more protection than Kenny's setup gave them. Then attack with pace down the wings. All of Smallbone, Knight, Molumby, Browne and Cullen are honest, hard working players so we have the numbers to do it. Probably Lawal in time as well.

I don't really see what else he can do really that could work. We're strong at the back, potentially strong up front and there's plenty of pace out wide now in Ogbene, McAteer, Johnston and maybe Ebosele. There's no top class midfielder coming through that will be a gamechanger for us that I can see. But there are other ways to be successful without one, at least in the context of what we would consider success.

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/lee-carsley-reveals-fai-talks-took-place-in-july-before-hallgrimsson-appointment/a238729444.html this is likely a new low for the indo.

Predator
01/09/2024, 10:22 AM
Omobamidele not even in the Forest squad yesterday, while O'Brien was on the bench for Everton, whereas Duffy shone for Norwich in his fifth appearance of the season.
Good to see Coleman playing the whole game for Everton. Suggests he'll start against England.

ColourfulPeanut
01/09/2024, 12:28 PM
Seamus looked a bit shaky from what I've seen. Especially when his legs went near the end. Was being beaten regularly down his side. Also missed a sitter after a lovely bit of attacking play though.

I don't want him playing 180 minutes in 5 days again like JOS elected to do back in June.

texidub
01/09/2024, 12:30 PM
Was just going to say the same CP - apparently he played OK but legs were gone in the last ten. I read that Bournemouth made 5 substitutions towards the end and Everton made one, which is inexplicable from the Everton manager. Pickford had a mare apparently, so there's some good news.

JR89
01/09/2024, 3:49 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/lee-carsley-reveals-fai-talks-took-place-in-july-before-hallgrimsson-appointment/a238729444.html this is likely a new low for the indo.

Am I reading it wrong but they're saying "talks" happened in July 2024, but Carsley is talking about they spoke in July 2023.

Eirambler
01/09/2024, 4:27 PM
A very poor headline.

liamoo11
01/09/2024, 10:33 PM
Am I reading it wrong but they're saying "talks" happened in July 2024, but Carsley is talking about they spoke in July 2023.

That's exactly how I read it. Carsley says he met them.after the 21s euro s which is july 2023 obviously but the article seems to think that was juky 2024 which is idiotic and woeful journalism

Olé Olé
02/09/2024, 9:06 PM
Our issues in the squad with midfield are summed up by trying to pick a side of Premiership players - which is something we haven't always been able to do the last couple of years.

You can fill a 4-2-3-1 side like Kelleher, Coleman, O'Shea, Collins, Doherty as your back 5 and put Ogbene, McAteer, Ferguson and Szmodics in the front somewhere but aside from Smallbone the midfielders are all Championship.

And I have left out O'Brien, Parrott, Idah, Scales who are in the top tier of England, Netherlands and Scotland.

A lot will depend on what Halgrimsson goes for with formation. I hope he abandons the wing backs. That made O'Shea look really silly I think.

Even if it's 4-4-2 he might have to sacrifice Smallbone and go with Browne and Molumby for some hard workers in there, maybe Knight. You could see Szmodics partner Ferguson or more likely Idah or maybe Parrott would make more sense?

What are the odds on:

Kelleher,
Coleman/Collins/O'Shea/Doherty,
Ogbene/Browne/Molumby/Szmodics,
Parrott/Idah

Razors left peg
02/09/2024, 9:34 PM
Omobamidele not even in the Forest squad yesterday, while O'Brien was on the bench for Everton, whereas Duffy shone for Norwich in his fifth appearance of the season.
Good to see Coleman playing the whole game for Everton. Suggests he'll start against England.
You do remember Duffys last appearance for Ireland where he was hooked at half time having spent the 1st half doing his best impression of a pub player, but slower. Good servant, his day has passed. Others like McGuinness and Dunne should even move ahead of him in pecking order

Predator
03/09/2024, 6:30 AM
You do remember Duffys last appearance for Ireland where he was hooked at half time having spent the 1st half doing his best impression of a pub player, but slower. Good servant, his day has passed. Others like McGuinness and Dunne should even move ahead of him in pecking order
Yeah I do remember that game and Matt Doherty, who is in the squad, was also hooked at half-time having played poorly. As the example of Doherty shows, then, one sub-par performance doesn't define a player. Fancy that. Plus, time is linear (or is it a flat circle, who the féck knows?) and, it may not fit the narrative, but it is a fair observation to make that two of the CBs in HH's squad haven't been playing while Duffy has been ever-present in a high-pressing, passing Norwich side under Johannes Hoff Thorup. Match fitness is going to be crucial at this point in the season, simple as. Incidentally, his CB partner at Norwich, Callum Doyle, looks the real deal btw, so if he's eligible for us, he should definitely be sounded out too.

Anyway, it is ultimately moot as the form CBs at the moment are Collins, O'Shea and Scales. They will probably form the back three if we persist with that tactical approach and I think it should be Collins and O'Shea if HH goes with four at the back. They are the best CBs in the squad. I'd probably go:
----------------Kelleher
Coleman, Collins, O'Shea, Brady
----------Molumby, Browne
Ogbene, Smallbone, Szmodics
----------Ferguson

Couple of issues with the above are Szmodics on the left (ideally he'd be through the middle) and Ferguson's fitness. Adam Idah's match fitness could give him an edge, though Ferguson's undoubted quality can't be discounted. I also forgot Parrott, whose form suggests he is in with a good shout of starting up top.

Fixer82
03/09/2024, 7:57 AM
Nice team. Wouldn't mind seeing Johnstone in there either

03/09/2024, 8:13 AM
Lille's Angel Gomes likely to start against us acc to Irish Times. I've never even heard of him.

Eirambler
03/09/2024, 8:36 AM
A quick Wiki search tells me he's eligible for three countries at international level. Can see England using their stint in League B as an opportunity to do some serious cap-tying. If Delap knocks in a couple more for Ipswich it wouldn't surprise me if they throw him a few minutes off the bench before the year is out.

JR89
03/09/2024, 9:04 AM
Gomes was quality at times for the U21s. A ball playing number 6 under Carsley so not surprised he got called up.

On the team selection, we brought four CMs so can't see us starting three of them in the starting XI. Think only two of Smallbone, Browne, Knight, and Molumby start.

ColourfulPeanut
03/09/2024, 9:05 AM
I think it's a case of Carsley calling up players he's familiar with and worked with. Quite clever on his side. Has all the stalwarts but has a core group of lads who he's worked with at U21 level and already buy into him.

A competent manager should breeze through these 6 Nations League games with the quality they have. Bring in the players you know will back you, win comfortably and you'll have to be in contention for the job then. He's called up 12 players he's capped at U21s by my count and 4 of those are uncapped. Wouldn't be surprised to see uncapped Livramento start at left back too.

Diggs246
03/09/2024, 9:53 AM
Gomes was quality at times for the U21s. A ball playing number 6 under Carsley so not surprised he got called up.

On the team selection, we brought four CMs so can't see us starting three of them in the starting XI. Think only two of Smallbone, Browne, Knight, and Molumby start.

I would say its Smallbone anyway ( he did well under JOS) so he will be recommending him. then its between knight and molumby for the work horse role. I would go with Knight he is a smarter player and not a complete lunatic

I really hope he doesn't waste Sammie Sz by playing him anywhere else apart from through the middle

03/09/2024, 11:48 AM
We have good (or good enough) options in the forward / wide / creative roles.

Szmodics, Parrott, Ogbene, Ferguson, Idah, Robinson with Cannon, Johnston, Obafemi, Keane etc. not picked/available.

It’s difficult to have 4 of these on the pitch at any time or even 3 of them without causing a weakness somewhere or playing at least 1 out of position.

Of these I think Szmodics and Ogbene have to start.

Parrott is one that I’d also like to see start.

I have about a dozen credible selections in mind, 3 or 4 possible formations, 2 roles for Coleman, 3 roles for Ogbene….

I’m not happy with our left back options – I’m veering towards picking Dara O’Shea there. I like Scales but not as LB. I don’t like Doc there anymore.

I hate playing Ogbene as wing back, but I think I’m forced to do it.

Doherty might be playing but he’s had a critical error in him in recent Ireland games. O’Brien may not be fit, so maybe Coleman as RCB.

Browne deputised well at RB against Belgium(?)

My head is hurting! But I think something like this (with about 50% conviction):

------------Kelleher----------

------O’Brien-Collins-Scales

Ogbene-Knight-Molumby-O’Shea

----------Smallbone-------

------Szmodics – Parrott-------

If 4 at the back:

-------Kelleher

Coleman – Collins - O’Shea—Doherty (and pray)

---Browne--- Molumby ----Knight

----Ogbene-- Szmodics –Parrott

elatedscum
03/09/2024, 12:24 PM
If I was betting, I’d say it’ll be a 5-2-3, just given the lack of midfielders in the squad. I just can’t see 1 player on the bench to cover three slots.

Kelleher

Coleman
O’Shea
Collins
Scales (O’Brien?)
Brady

Molumby
Smallbone

Ogbene
Idah/Parrott?
Szmodics

Not the team I would play, but it’s what I think the squad suggests.

Diggs246
03/09/2024, 1:09 PM
It could be 4-4-2 / 4-5-1
One reserve CM, doesn't rule that out

Olé Olé
03/09/2024, 1:59 PM
It could be 4-4-2 / 4-5-1
One reserve CM, doesn't rule that out

If you start Szmodics off the front man and have two behind him you should have two in reserve? Start Smallbone and Molumby behind Szmodics, for example, and then Browne and Knight are in reserve?

Diggs246
03/09/2024, 3:54 PM
If you start Szmodics off the front man and have two behind him you should have two in reserve? Start Smallbone and Molumby behind Szmodics, for example, and then Browne and Knight are in reserve?

But we can only use 5 subs regardless per game.

I think 3 CMs is ok per game ( 2 starting and one on the bench)

JR89
03/09/2024, 3:55 PM
We have good (or good enough) options in the forward / wide / creative roles.

Szmodics, Parrott, Ogbene, Ferguson, Idah, Robinson with Cannon, Johnston, Obafemi, Keane etc. not picked/available.

It’s difficult to have 4 of these on the pitch at any time or even 3 of them without causing a weakness somewhere or playing at least 1 out of position.

Of these I think Szmodics and Ogbene have to start.

Parrott is one that I’d also like to see start.

I have about a dozen credible selections in mind, 3 or 4 possible formations, 2 roles for Coleman, 3 roles for Ogbene….

I’m not happy with our left back options – I’m veering towards picking Dara O’Shea there. I like Scales but not as LB. I don’t like Doc there anymore.

I hate playing Ogbene as wing back, but I think I’m forced to do it.

Doherty might be playing but he’s had a critical error in him in recent Ireland games. O’Brien may not be fit, so maybe Coleman as RCB.

Browne deputised well at RB against Belgium(?)

My head is hurting! But I think something like this (with about 50% conviction):

------------Kelleher----------

------O’Brien-Collins-Scales

Ogbene-Knight-Molumby-O’Shea

----------Smallbone-------

------Szmodics – Parrott-------

If 4 at the back:

-------Kelleher

Coleman – Collins - O’Shea—Doherty (and pray)

---Browne--- Molumby ----Knight

----Ogbene-- Szmodics –Parrott

Don't think you'd get away with O'Shea at LWB. You'd have one really defensive WB whose likely gonna offer nothing going forward.

Would probably end up being a 442 with O'Shea staying deep and Ogbene supporting midfield. Wouldn't mind Browne RWB and Ogbene LWB but that means having all four of your CMs on the pitch unless you go 5-2-3.

See Kasey McAteer talking in the press conference about all the positions he's played and WB was one of them. Says he's played CM too but talk he's been training as a winger and 10 during camp.

JR89
03/09/2024, 6:47 PM
Going by James McCleans Instagram story either he's on his way to Dublin as a late call up, has a day or two off and visiting, or just trolling and actually isn't flying into Dublin tonight. Wrexham have a game on Saturday also.

JR89
03/09/2024, 7:21 PM
Foden, Palmer, and Watkins have withdrawn from the England squad.

03/09/2024, 7:29 PM
Don't think you'd get away with O'Shea at LWB. You'd have one really defensive WB whose likely gonna offer nothing going forward.

Would probably end up being a 442 with O'Shea staying deep and Ogbene supporting midfield. Wouldn't mind Browne RWB and Ogbene LWB but that means having all four of your CMs on the pitch unless you go 5-2-3.

See Kasey McAteer talking in the press conference about all the positions he's played and WB was one of them. Says he's played CM too but talk he's been training as a winger and 10 during camp.I’d prefer O’Shea to be marking Saka though.

Razors left peg
03/09/2024, 7:29 PM
Going by James McCleans Instagram story either he's on his way to Dublin as a late call up, has a day or two off and visiting, or just trolling and actually isn't flying into Dublin tonight. Wrexham have a game on Saturday also.

He could be on tv duty if he's injured, but it'd be a bit early to fly in for that

texidub
03/09/2024, 8:01 PM
I know formations are flexible, but do we not need at least four in midfield for this one to avoid being overpowered in that area? Quite like the look of Stuttgart's first team. realistically, I'm expecting a 2-0 defeat and will be looking more at the performance than anything. Hope Molumby brings his pepper spray.

elatedscum
03/09/2024, 11:35 PM
Jimmy Mac against the English, what could go wrong…

I see Palmer, Watkins and Foden have pulled out. Glad that we won’t have to play Foden or Palmer… still a pretty strong team to pick from:

Pickford

Trent
Stones
Guehi
Livramento

Rice
Mainoo

Saka
Grealish
Gordon

Kane

-

It’s not a bad side anyway…

elatedscum
03/09/2024, 11:41 PM
Not convinced Grealish will start but that No.10 slot would normally be Bellingham and Foden is the obvious choice to replace him and Palmer the next in line. So it’s probably Grealish or maybe Eze

Maybe he gives a debut to Angel Gomes or Gibbs-White - or plays Conor Gallagher - but that would seem like a needlessly conservative midfield for a team who should dominate possession and perhaps need a degree of creativity that Grealish could provide when there’s 11 men behind the ball…

Razors left peg
04/09/2024, 12:41 AM
Jimmy Mac against the English, what could go wrong…

I see Palmer, Watkins and Foden have pulled out. Glad that we won’t have to play Foden or Palmer… still a pretty strong team to pick from:

Pickford

Trent
Stones
Guehi
Livramento

Rice
Mainoo

Saka
Grealish
Gordon

Kane

-

It’s not a bad side anyway…

Thats a very good team, but I dont think its a terrifying team either. Palmer and Foden are the type of playmakers that always give us problems so Im delighted they are missing.

I've no clue what to expect from us on Saturday. Im hoping its not a carbon copy of the O'Shea teams, but even if it is I hope that our in game adjustments will be far better. O'Shea set us up in a 3 4 3 formation but in McAteers presser today he said he had been training in the 10 position as well as out on the wings. O'Sheas shape didnt have room for a 10 so hopefully thats a sign that things will be a bit different.

Usually by the time game day comes around I convince myself we will get a result, I dont think that will happen this time but a little of the dread is starting to lessen.

elatedscum
04/09/2024, 4:18 AM
Thats a very good team, but I dont think its a terrifying team either. Palmer and Foden are the type of playmakers that always give us problems so Im delighted they are missing.

I’m also pleased that Watkins won’t be involved - there’s a lack of a genuine No.9 apart from Kane and as good as he is, at times it doesn’t really work with England. The lessening of his physical attributes and his propensity to drop deep - he has games where he’s very playable.

Watkins or Toney would offer a really threatening alternative. Right now they have Gordon, Saka, Grealish, Eze, Madueke and Bowden - I don’t see another natural striker there to replace Kane.

Perhaps a bit of unique moment where Toney hasn’t played due to his transfer, Nketiah too, Watkins and Solanke are injured. So probably the next up is someone like Dominic Calvert Lewin or Callum Wilson who is behind Isak and doesn’t really play. Rashford could probably do a job there but ****ing hell, he’s out of form…