View Full Version : Paul McShane
29/08/2005, 5:26 PM
ALBION loan star Paul McShane could be on a collision course with Manchester United, paving the way for a possible permanent move to the Seagulls.
McShane does not want to return to a diet of more reserve team football at Old Trafford once his loan with Albion expires just before Christmas.
The 19-year-old Republic of Ireland international centre half, outstanding again in Saturday's goalless draw at Preston, signed a new two-year contract with United at the end of last season.
He is due to return to Old Trafford on December 21, but McShane revealed: "I wouldn't want to go back to play in the reserves.
"I'll have to sit down with my parents and the club and see what the future holds for me.
"I don't want to play in the reserves again, because I would see that as a step backwards. I want to just keep progressing. I want to make a name for myself.
"The first team squad is so big and it's quite frustrating. I think I'm better than some of the players in the first team but they have got a name, they are experienced and they are on ten grand a week."
Albion manager Mark McGhee said: "I don't know United's thoughts but Paul has been excellent for us and he has got a future, there is no doubt about that. It could be here, who knows?"
Gary Hart is on standby for his first start of the campaign at rightback against Plymouth at Withdean today as Jason Dodd is a doubt with a foot injury.
----
I'm not sure how he did today (Brighton kept a clean sheet) but if you ask any Brighton fan they will tell you he has been their best player in every single match so far this season.
29/08/2005, 6:33 PM
I'm not sure how he did today (Brighton kept a clean sheet) but if you ask any Brighton fan they will tell you he has been their best player in every single match so far this season.
I saw him in the Milk Cup a few years ago, and he was really good. It's so hard to say what the right move is though. O'Shea was a good bit older than McShane is now when he got his chance with United.
30/08/2005, 8:49 AM
At 19, he's hardly in a position to demand first team football off Fergie. Good as he is, would he be able to dislodge either Ferdinand or Silvestre, given that O'Shea hasn't either? Or even Brown on the bench?
On the one hand it's impressive to see him want to take control of his career, but is still too young for these kind of demands?
zinedineontour
30/08/2005, 9:21 AM
fair play to the lad ... even if he was to get a year loan deal ... he needs to playing week in week out .. sure look at the liam miller situation ?
30/08/2005, 9:43 AM
What sticks out in his comments if true, is that he has a fair bit of bottle about him. How many 19yr-olds would state openly that they are better than some of the current first team squad? Not many. Seems a lot more sure of himself than JOS
30/08/2005, 3:01 PM
At 19, he's hardly in a position to demand first team football off Fergie. Good as he is, would he be able to dislodge either Ferdinand or Silvestre, given that O'Shea hasn't either? Or even Brown on the bench?
On the one hand it's impressive to see him want to take control of his career, but is still too young for these kind of demands?
I dont think he is demanding first team football at MU. However, now that he has played first team football regularly, even though in a lower division, he is sensible enough to realise that he will need to be extremely lucky to make the breakthrough at MU and he is probably aware that his career could pass him by, as it has others, by waiting.
When his loan spell is over and assuming he continues to play regularly and well, there are bound to be EPL teams who can offer him a better chance of playing regularly in premiership. Everton or Villa could offer him opportunities.
26/09/2005, 8:41 AM
He scored a goal on the weekend.
Brighton's defending looked fairly suspect, but he didn't seem to be at fault for any of that.
silentbob
18/10/2005, 8:38 PM
See he scored the winner for Brighton against Crystal Palace tonight in the championship. Two in two games, not bad for a centre-half. He could be one of the ones to get a call-up for the endless amount of frendlies we will have in the next eleven months, whoever it will be whose picking the squad
18/10/2005, 8:43 PM
Brighton keeping Palace scoreless and McShane has just put them ahead. 0-1 atm.
18/10/2005, 8:43 PM
See he scored the winner for Brighton against Crystal Palace tonight in the championship. Two in two games, not bad for a centre-half. He could be one of the ones to get a call-up for the endless amount of frendlies we will have in the next eleven months, whoever it will be whose picking the squad
He would want to play a lot better than he did in the U-21 game in Larnaca. He was woeful, especially in the first half and game away the goal.
18/10/2005, 8:54 PM
He was top notch in th U-21 game against Switzerland in Tolka, seemed to be the only one in defence who cared
The Legend
18/10/2005, 9:48 PM
Ha, according to Sporting life, he's Australian... maybe he'd be irish if it was an OG
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/live/reports/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/05/10/18/SOCCER_Palace.html
18/10/2005, 10:21 PM
Just seen this quote on a Brighton forum:
"They said on the radio he made the best tackle they have seen for years!!"
and some people are going OTT:
"Paul McShane, officially an Albion Legend!"
"What a night, McShane will be a Brighton Legend no matter what he does for the rest of his career."
and someone got a bit lucky:
http://northstandchat.biz/showthread.php?threadid=57841&highlight=mcshane
18/10/2005, 10:36 PM
Seems a lot more sure of himself than JOS
I like to think that John O'Shea is 100% sure of himself but is trying to make a decent living anyway.
Beavis
18/10/2005, 11:11 PM
He would want to play a lot better than he did in the U-21 game in Larnaca. He was woeful, especially in the first half and game away the goal.
I noticed in this game that because he made the early mistake that everyone was thinking he was a poor player for the remainder of the game.With the exception of the shaky start, he probably was our best player after the two wingers.
19/10/2005, 8:07 AM
Agree with Tets. McShane was outstanding against Switzerland. This guy is the real deal. Glenn Whelan too.
His goal for Albion wasn't much to shout about though, a bundle-in from about a foot!
19/10/2005, 8:48 AM
Sorry - I was referring to his goal on Saturday. I just read that his goal last night was really good!
against Cyprus for the full 90 mins and gave away one of the worst goals ive ever seen and that other great white hope McGeady was dreadful as well.
19/10/2005, 9:19 AM
McGeady has been poor for months now. Against the Swiss he showed off a lot of his tricks but his final ball is brutal. He always takes the ball standing, he's never moving forward onto a pass.
I got this e-mail from a Brighton mate of mine - I had asked him if he was at the Palace game:
I didn't go as couldn't afford the 35 quid (!) ticket, however whatever
McShane does in the rest of his career, he will always be a hero on the
south coast - Palace are our 'bitter rivals' and we haven't beaten them for
17 years. I think he's generally considered too good for us, but it would
be great if we could keep him for the whole season. I wonder what plans
Ferguson has for him
Henderson isn't too bad.
19/10/2005, 9:32 AM
Brighton v Crystal Palace is one of the big rivalries in club football in England. He will be a legend for scoring the winner.
Saw him in both U21 games in Larnaca and Tolka. Dreadful in Larnaca as was claimed above. I was hugely disappointed. Did well in Tolka and looked a good player. He has apparently been playing well for Albion too so definitely one for the future. Hopefully Larnaca was an abherration.
Good young player with a very bright future ahead of him, needs a season or two more of 1st team football thou i reckon, no where near ready for a full call up yet (His brother plays with Bray btw)
19/10/2005, 10:22 AM
Fair play to him, at least he has a bit of ambition compared to the likes of Miller.
Hopefully he will get another loan deal maybe to a English PL club. Im sure there are lots of clubs that would take him on.
livehead1
19/10/2005, 10:24 AM
united will not let mcshane go
19/10/2005, 12:42 PM
united will not let mcshane go
They may not have a choice if they don't let him into the first team
mchurl
19/10/2005, 12:57 PM
i know maccer and he will fight for his place at man u and he will get it as well!
He is loving the first team football atm and he may go on loan for the rest of the season in january but he will be back to fight for his place come the end of the season.
Ferguson has high hopes for him and he is defo a star of the future:cool:
TheBoss
19/10/2005, 10:56 PM
The way that he is going he could be a good player for the future for Utd and Ireland hopefully. As he seems to have the right abilites to become a decent CB.
20/10/2005, 8:44 AM
Brighton v Crystal Palace is one of the big rivalries in club football in England.
:confused: Why??
concanta
20/10/2005, 9:06 AM
Dunno exactly why but i think its to do with some relegation issue from years ago. All I know is that I have cousins in Brighton and they really really hate ALL Palace fans
20/10/2005, 9:07 AM
It's a bit of an odd one alright, there's 60-odd miles between the 2 grounds, it'd be like Limerick claiming Cork City or Galway as their "local" rivals
20/10/2005, 10:46 AM
It's a bit of an odd one alright, there's 60-odd miles between the 2 grounds, it'd be like Limerick claiming Cork City or Galway as their "local" rivals
Absolutely far too close when Cobh are 75 miles away. :D :D
No idea exactly where the rivalry came from. there was a controversial cup tie back in the 70's that went to 3 games which may have been the cause. I used to know a Palace season ticket holder quite well but lost touch and think he said this was the reason. Both clubs fans anyway hate each other and see each other as their main rivals.
20/10/2005, 10:55 AM
yes gspain it was due to the fa cup tie, and its carried over ever since then. i will get the full detail from a mate of mine who is a palace holder and let ye all know!!!
20/10/2005, 2:58 PM
here is what i have now been told from a season ticket holder of palace ( so maybe the albion hated them before they hated the albion ):
"stems from alan mullery when he was manager of those idiots. After a televised defeat by palace, when he was interviewed he threw a pound note on the floor and said thats all palace are worth. Jealous from the start. And it just escalated from there".
Beavis
21/10/2005, 1:08 PM
against Cyprus for the full 90 mins and gave away one of the worst goals ive ever seen and that other great white hope McGeady was dreadful as well.
We obviously have very different interpretations of the game. I'll grant not everything McGeady tried came off but himself and Willo Flood were the only players who looked in any way threatening in attack. All good things we did came from these sources.The two strikers were poor and the centre mids didnt look to get forward. I would go as far to say I would have used McGeady to bring on against Swiss. At least he would have been direct and look to make things happen. McGeady is going through a lull at the moment, which is common for players who hit the big stage so young. I think he will definitely be a future regular on our team sheet.
21/10/2005, 2:24 PM
I thought Tabb looked good, showed good control when he had the ball and a willingness to fight for it, although himself and Ward were feeding off scraps so the touches he did have were few and far between
21/10/2005, 2:37 PM
I really like Tabb. Very lively player with a lot of skill. Not exactly Niall Quinn-esque in stature though. Ward actually looked good too I thought. Nice touch for a big guy. But you hit the nail on the head - they were both feeding off scraps against the Swiss.
23/10/2005, 8:33 PM
Sheffield Wednesday v Brighton is on Sky Sports 1 tomorrow night. Chance to see McShane aswell as Whelan, Henderson, Coughlan and maybe forgotten man Richie Partridge.
mchurl
24/10/2005, 1:15 PM
mcshane is a quality player and i think is a definite for ireland in the future. unfortunatly he is a another centre-half.
We really need to produce a few strikers and soon as well!:)
24/10/2005, 4:04 PM
mcshane is a quality player and i think is a definite for ireland in the future. unfortunatly he is a another centre-half.
I thought we weren't producing enough defenders.
24/10/2005, 4:33 PM
same as that.
24/10/2005, 7:06 PM
Sheffield Wednesday v Brighton is on Sky Sports 1 tomorrow night. Chance to see McShane aswell as Whelan, Henderson, Coughlan and maybe forgotten man Richie Partridge.
I'm watching this match at the moment. The commentator is raving about Whelan after just 20 minutes. :) He's captaining them again.
25/10/2005, 9:00 AM
Saw bits and pieces of the game, Whelan was unlucky not to score with a cracking header from a corner early on
25/10/2005, 9:02 AM
sorry how did mcshane play?
25/10/2005, 9:08 AM
sorry how did mcshane play?
Nothing wrong, nothing outstanding. A solid display. Henderson pulled off a few good saves but was slow off his line on one occasion that could have lead to a goal.
blobbyblob
02/11/2005, 8:29 AM
He is due to return to Old Trafford on December 21, but McShane revealed: "I wouldn't want to go back to play in the reserves.
"I'll have to sit down with my parents and the club and see what the future holds for me.
"I don't want to play in the reserves again, because I would see that as a step backwards. I want to just keep progressing. I want to make a name for myself.
"The first team squad is so big and it's quite frustrating. I think I'm better than some of the players in the first team but they have got a name, they are experienced and they are on ten grand a week."
A bit prophetic in light of Keanes comments
livehead1
24/11/2005, 9:22 AM
Brighton defender Paul McShane could be out for three months after damaging ankle ligaments in the draw with Cardiff City.
McShane, presently on-loan from Manchester United, landed awkwardly after contesting a high ball with Cameron Jerome.
"It's a massive blow to us and the lad," said Seagulls boss Mark McGhee
"He has showed commitment to our cause and our team that's way above the call of duty.
"We want him here in the long term - hopefully we can do that - but it's a setback for us"
what does he mean bout showing commitment way above the call of duty?!
soccerc
10/08/2006, 10:21 AM
EXCLUSIVE Paul McShane signed a three year deal with WBA yesterday. Details to follow............
colster
10/08/2006, 10:26 AM
EXCLUSIVE Paul McShane signed a three year deal with WBA yesterday. Details to follow............
I think that's a very good move for him. Curtis Davies may still go to Arsenal and West Brom could be back in the Premiership next season. Good news for Ireland too with another center half getting 1st team football hopefully.
10/08/2006, 10:44 AM
Davies is going nowhere - unless someone is stupid enough to offer £10m and if they do McShane is the replacement.
The McShane deal is part of the PIG (Pole in Goal) move to MUFC. Anyone know anything about the McShane lad? Unlike Niall Quinn, I don't slavishly follow Irish players in England. ;)
10/08/2006, 10:48 AM
The McShane deal is part of the PIG (Pole in Goal) move to MUFC. Anyone know anything about the McShane lad? Unlike Niall Quinn, I don't slavishly follow Irish players in England. ;)
I saw him play in the Milk Cup a few years ago, and was very impressed.
To nick some info from around the web:
Republic of Ireland Under-19 international who joined the Red Devils in July 2002. The defender was part of the United youth team which beat Middlesbrough in the two-legged FA Youth Cup final in 2003. Strong in the tackle, McShane went on United's pre-season tour of America in July 2004 before going on to help United win the Barclays Premiership Reserve League North. Also enjoyed a loan spell with Walsall in the 2004/05 season.
Paul McShane (born January 6, 1986 in Wicklow) is an Irish football player who plays as a central defender.
McShane started his football career playing first for his local club Greystones F.C., and soon thereafter at St Joseph's Boys. In the summer of 2002 He signed for Manchester United. Later in 2002, he was loaned to Walsall for the campaign. He played in the final of the 2003 FA Youth Cup in which they defeated Middlesbrough by the score 3-1.
He played in pre-season friendly matches and has been given the squad number 34, but has yet to make his debut for Manchester United. He spent the 2005-6 season on loan to Brighton & Hove Albion F.C. where he was voted Player of the Season by the supporters, as well as the away supporters Player of the Season.
He scored the only goal in the 1-0 victory for Brighton over arch rivals Crystal Palace in October 2005, one of four goals for the club.
CraftyToePoke
10/08/2006, 10:52 AM
Davies is going nowhere
for someone who doesnt slavishly follow players in england, you seem very sure of that, unless of course you just follow the english players.;)
seen McShane play for brighton last season, looked good, threat in the opposition box as well from setpieces.