View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2005/06
lim abroad
12/12/2005, 1:41 AM
Just about scraped through without playing well, how come nobody warned us about the hometown referee? Thought that was a thing of the past, embarrasing bias, in fairness even the Killarney lads were laughing at some of the outrageous decisions he made. Who else is in the last 32?
is barry flynn still playing for ye?
the only 1
12/12/2005, 6:22 AM
pike beat balla easy 2-1 balla only had 1 shot all match great goal from dunphy but he was made look stupid after roaring at the pike dugout after scoring when pike scored again
leather
12/12/2005, 8:35 AM
Has anybody a report on the big match..missed match......thanks
the only 1
12/12/2005, 10:13 AM
Has anybody a report on the big match..missed match......thanks
as said easy win for pike balla had 1shot on goal all day pike had all the play constent attacking even the balla lads said pike were the better team:)
Clifford
12/12/2005, 10:25 AM
Just about scraped through without playing well, how come nobody warned us about the hometown referee? Thought that was a thing of the past, embarrasing bias, in fairness even the Killarney lads were laughing at some of the outrageous decisions he made. Who else is in the last 32?
in fairness avenue had a cop from kilarney i think ref there game v tralee and i thought he was one of the best refs i've seen, for both sides. is there many of the portmarnock side that beat avenue in 97 semi still playing?
Spongey
12/12/2005, 11:46 AM
results for sligo teams
abbey united 1-2 ballymun united
arrow harps 2-0 glen celtic
ballymote celtic 0-1 dungarvan
tralee_dynamo
12/12/2005, 3:43 PM
Killarney Celtic 0 Portmarnock 1
Rathkeale 1 Tralee Dynamos 3
Does anyone know when the draw for the 6th round being made ?
Also, what date are the 6th round games scheduled for ?
tipp man
12/12/2005, 4:59 PM
The draw is on live next Sunday morning on 2FM's Sportsbag show between 10 and 11 am. That twit Robbie Irwin presents it.
Dr Mad
12/12/2005, 8:26 PM
For Lim Abroad, yes Bar Flynn is still going strong and as keen as ever. He was excellent yesterday, gets better with age, Smith is begging the lad not to retire from the International Team.
Clifford I think we're talking the same ref, tall guy who's an Inspector in the Gards, did our match yesterday. Less said the better, just remembered the tax on my car is out! Re the team of 97 the only survivor is Craig Bolton (midfield) although most of the other lads are still involved with the club in some capacity and a few even still playing 2nd/3rd team. I seem to remember you had a lot of young lads that day, any survivors still in the team?
lim abroad
13/12/2005, 1:17 AM
For Lim Abroad, yes Bar Flynn is still going strong and as keen as ever. He was excellent yesterday, gets better with age, Smith is begging the lad not to retire from the International Team.
Clifford I think we're talking the same ref, tall guy who's an Inspector in the Gards, did our match yesterday. Less said the better, just remembered the tax on my car is out! Re the team of 97 the only survivor is Craig Bolton (midfield) although most of the other lads are still involved with the club in some capacity and a few even still playing 2nd/3rd team. I seem to remember you had a lot of young lads that day, any survivors still in the team?
how's about austin hannon,dougie dolan and anto canavan?
headerball
13/12/2005, 10:52 AM
as said easy win for pike balla had 1shot on goal all day pike had all the play constent attacking even the balla lads said pike were the better team:)
there will be serious post mortems in the balla camp after their absymal performance last sunday.
pike were deserving winners.
balla management got it all wrong last sunday.
they persisted with a few players even though they were woefully off form.
they also took off a centre forward and replaced him with one when a defender should have been swapped.
these are basic manager errors !
the only 1
13/12/2005, 11:37 AM
there will be serious post mortems in the balla camp after their absymal performance last sunday.
pike were deserving winners.
balla management got it all wrong last sunday.
they persisted with a few players even though they were woefully off form.
they also took off a centre forward and replaced him with one when a defender should have been swapped.
these are basic manager errors !
as i told you last week pike would win easy+they did enough said:) :) pikes defence is the best in town even without droog they put sniffer in himself+enright won every ball easy earls,lee+sully got no ball all day
Dirk Diggler
13/12/2005, 12:09 PM
Are pike playing mungret in the FAI sunday?
Clifford
13/12/2005, 1:28 PM
maybe it had something to do with him been stationed in killarney then. probably didn't want the air let out of his bike tyres.
2 r 3 retired but all more or less playing with social b team. (guy that missed the penalty was thrown off cliffs of moher)
Statoil FAI Junior Cup, Sun Dec 18th-
Limerick Section
5th Rnd
Mungret Reg vs Pike Rvs 10.30am
Star Rvs vs Bridge Celtic 2.00pm
Statoil FAI Junior Cup 6th Round (revised)
1. Carrick Utd
2. Portmarnock
3. Arrow Harps
4. Dungarvan
5. Mullingar Town/Valley Park Utd
6. East End Utd/St. Kevins Boys
7. Castlebar Celtic
8. Manulla/Athenry
9. Carew Park V Coachford/Carrigaline Utd
10. Galway Hibs
11. Deen Celtic
12. Wilton Utd
13. Dublin Bus
14. Star Rovers/Bridge Celtic
15. Trinity Corths
16. Westport Utd
17. Tralee Dynamos
18. Waterford Crystal
19. Mungret Regional/Pike Rvs
20. Corduff
21. Salthill Devon
22. Passage Utd/Ballincollig V Old Bridge FC
23. Villa Utd
24. Clonmel Town
25. Killester Utd
26. Milford Utd
27. Sheriff Utd
28. UL Aisling Annacotty V Cherryfield/Malahide Utd
29. Neilstown Rgs/Shangan Athletic
30. Ballyheane
31. Ballymun Utd
32. St.Peters
Draw to take place on RTE Radio 2FM on Sunday December 18th at 10am on the Robbie Irwin sports Show.
kingpin
13/12/2005, 3:16 PM
Just looking at the teams left, there's a lot of good teams left in it. Who do yee think are the favourites???
C.T.F.C
13/12/2005, 3:24 PM
Just a slight correction on the last 32. Clonmel town beat Ballyboffey Utd 7-1.
Should have been double figures. Ignore them at your peril.:D
tralee_dynamo
13/12/2005, 3:33 PM
Just looking at the teams left, there's a lot of good teams left in it. Who do yee think are the favourites???
I'd be surprised if the winners were not either Clonmel Town, Westport, Carrick or Pike Rvrs...
If I had to call the winner I would stick with my original prediction i.e. Clonmel Town
irisheagle
13/12/2005, 10:57 PM
Impossible to pick a winner at present a lot of good teams still standing. The draw on Sunday and future draws are as important as the games themselves. Those getting home draws have a huge advantage particularly when the teams look so even. Should be some cracking games up coming.
The big four from Dublin are still standing also.
tipp man
14/12/2005, 9:48 AM
It was great to see Clonmel Town beat Cobh Ramblers in the Munster Senior Cup last year, thought they would beat St. Michaels in the Munster Junior Cup final but it wasn't to be. From the results above Clonmel Town must be even stronger this year!
Clonmel are definately in with a genuine chance. I would be very surprised if the FAI Junior Cup champions 2005-2006 doesn't come from either Limerick (Fairview,Balla,Pike,Carew Park),South Tipp (St. Michaels, Clonmel Town) or Waterford (Waterford Crystal, Carrick United)
Tralee Dynamo, you posted this in September and now you are claiming that Clonmel Town were your original choice. Come on- your just messing. Its like predicting that either Chelsea, Arsenal, Man Utd or Liverpool will win the premiership. No one had mentioned Clonmel Town until i brought them up two pages into this thread. I bet your very very wise. Honest!
headerball
14/12/2005, 10:25 AM
i think they winners may come from the following,
westport
killester
pike
carew
carrick
portmanock
outside bet
athenry
kingpin
14/12/2005, 10:49 AM
Tralee Dynamo, you posted this in September and now you are claiming that Clonmel Town were your original choice. Come on- your just messing. Its like predicting that either Chelsea, Arsenal, Man Utd or Liverpool will win the premiership. No one had mentioned Clonmel Town until i brought them up two pages into this thread. I bet your very very wise. Honest!
Who do predict tipp man, I know you obviously favour clonmel. Who else would be in yoour top three
tralee_dynamo
14/12/2005, 2:01 PM
Tipp man, they were one of my original 7/8 teams I tipped to win it at the start! In a competition of around 700+ teams, and where we are talking about junior football (not the premiership!), there are many potential winners of the competition.
For example, who would have bet on Westport to win the comp out last year?, bet if you had named your top 8 teams at the start of last years comp, you wouldn't have mentioned them???
This years competition is wide open - all eyes on the draw on Sunday, theres bound to be some cracking games!
tipp man
14/12/2005, 3:12 PM
Who do predict tipp man, I know you obviously favour clonmel. Who else would be in yoour top three
I actually don't 'favour' anyone but my top three would be Clonmel Town, Carrick United and Carew providing they avoid each other. That would be quite a semi-final line up with perhaps Portmarnock or Westport?
Van The Man
14/12/2005, 3:30 PM
I actually don't 'favour' anyone but my top three would be Clonmel Town, Carrick United and Carew providing they avoid each other. That would be quite a semi-final line up with perhaps Portmarnock or Westport?
I can see Westport regaining the Title, they found if very hard in the last round and were very lucky to come through.
Clonmel Town seem to look good this year in TSDL. 9 P 9 W.....could very much be one to watch.
swinfordfc
14/12/2005, 3:47 PM
I can see Westport regaining the Title, they found if very hard in the last round and were very lucky to come through.
Clonmel Town seem to look good this year in TSDL. 9 P 9 W.....could very much be one to watch.
Yes but Corrib Rangers is one of the best team in Galway at present. Westport are still there Van the Man, will take a good team to beat them. Carew Park is another team to watch.
l.f.c......
14/12/2005, 8:58 PM
i can see it now lads carew park v westport its in the stars the ywould want to put a over 18s sign on the gate :D
soccerc
14/12/2005, 11:02 PM
Apart from the obvious favs and having seen 2 games per round in the Dublin area Iwould not discount Corduff, Dublin Bus or even previous winners Neilstown Rangers who still to overcome Shangan in the 5th as outside bets. It all depends on the draw at this stage of the competition. Over the years a number of favs have departed to one of the otehr favs in this round leaving the way open for the weaker sides and I include a few of of Fairviews wins in that.
lim abroad
15/12/2005, 2:48 AM
which ones?
texas ranger
15/12/2005, 12:51 PM
killester portmarnock and ballymun will take some beaten, from someone who watched the killester v westport game last year any of the dublin teams would fancy taking them on, clonmel town great win in the last round and seem to be doing great but serioulsy how strong is the tipp league, all this talk of limerick teams and wateford teams, the fact is there are 8 teams from the AUL still left in the draw, so a 1/4 of the teams are coming from one league organisation. add to that another 4 teams also coming from Dublin..... Great chance for the trophy to come back Dublin and the aul.
gnasher
15/12/2005, 2:48 PM
It must be years since there were that many teams from the AUL left at this stage, it spices up the draw even more. Tuning in to 2fm on a sunday is not something i'd normally do but this is a very eagerly awaited draw, let's wait and see who gets who.
We in the 'port would love an away game and we don't fear any team at this stage. There's only good teams left so you have to get on with it. Experience may count for a lot in the later rounds and most teams left have that 'pressure cooker' game experience so it'll be some weekend of matches.
When are the next set of ties scheduled to be played?
Experience may count for a lot in the later rounds and most teams left have that 'pressure cooker' game experience so it'll be some weekend of matches.
When are the next set of ties scheduled to be played?
im nearly sure there on the wkend of January 21st and 22nd
cupsgalore
15/12/2005, 9:30 PM
dont rule out tralee dynamos. goin thru a transition period at min but have signed quality goalkeeper, two former league of ireland players and also have four sixteen yr olds in squad with also half last years team currently out injured.
Thunderblaster
15/12/2005, 10:16 PM
i can see it now lads carew park v westport its in the stars the ywould want to put a over 18s sign on the gate :D
I'm sure that the bouncers will be looking for identification and all punters must wear trousers, shoes and shirt. Sounds like a brilliant nightclub. Are there going to be strippers or lapdancers at this event??:D
Thunderblaster
15/12/2005, 10:48 PM
Statoil FAI Junior Cup 6th Round (revised)
1. Carrick Utd
2. Portmarnock
3. Arrow Harps
4. Dungarvan
5. Mullingar Town/Valley Park Utd
6. East End Utd/St. Kevins Boys
7. Castlebar Celtic
8. Manulla/Athenry
9. Carew Park V Coachford/Carrigaline Utd
10. Galway Hibs
11. Deen Celtic
12. Wilton Utd
13. Dublin Bus
14. Star Rovers/Bridge Celtic
15. Trinity Corths
16. Westport Utd
17. Tralee Dynamos
18. Waterford Crystal
19. Mungret Regional/Pike Rvs
20. Corduff
21. Salthill Devon
22. Passage Utd/Ballincollig V Old Bridge FC
23. Villa Utd
24. Clonmel Town
25. Killester Utd
26. Milford Utd
27. Sheriff Utd
28. UL Aisling Annacotty V Cherryfield/Malahide Utd
29. Neilstown Rgs/Shangan Athletic
30. Ballyheane
31. Ballymun Utd
32. St.Peters
Draw to take place on RTE Radio 2FM on Sunday December 18th at 10am on the Robbie Irwin sports Show.
My draw prediction is as follows:
Galway Hibs V St.Peters
Mullingar Town/Valley Park Utd V Deen Celtic
Ballymun Utd V Milford Utd
Passage Utd/Ballincollig or Old Bridge FC V Star Rovers/Bridge Celtic
Westport Utd V Portmarnock
Carrick Utd V Corduff
Carew Park V Castlebar Celtic
Neilstown Rgs/Shangan Athletic V Arrow Harps
Dungarvan V Dublin Bus
UL Aisling Annacotty or Cherryfield/Malahide Utd V East End Utd/St. Kevins Boys
Wilton Utd V Ballyheane
Sheriff Utd V Manulla/Athenry
Trinity Corths V Tralee Dynamos
Clonmel Town V Salthill Devon
Waterford Crystal V Villa Utd
Killester Utd V Mungret Regional/Pike Rvs
Teams in bold would be tips to advance into Round 7 on the basis of my draw.
garykelly
16/12/2005, 3:20 PM
how can u predict the draw. is it not an open draw now.
also just to mention Arrow Harps. we've done exceptionally well so far in this competition and we'd fancy anyone at home on our day. we'll be back in the top tier in sligo next season and it's excellent to have gone on a long run in this comp. G'luck to all teams in the next round. roll on sunday.
Thunderblaster
17/12/2005, 8:05 PM
Of course it is an open draw, but I didn't run to the bookies to place €50 on it.:D
HuRya
18/12/2005, 11:01 AM
Statoil FAI Junior Cup 6th Round Draw
1. Dungarvan vs Star Rvs
2. Sheriff Utd vs Manulla/Athenry
3. Pike Rvs vs Ballymun Utd
4. Clonmel Town vs Tralee Dynamos
5. UL Aisling Annacotty/Cherryfield vs Galway Hibs
6. Milford Utd vs Portmarnock
7. Salthill Devon vs Mullingar Town/Valley Park Utd
8. Neilstown Rgs/Shangan Ath vs Arrow Harps
9. Wilton Utd vs Dublin Bus
10.Villa Utd vs Carrick Utd
11.St.Peters vs Westport Utd
12.Passage Utd/Ballincollig/Old Bridge vs East End Utd/St Kevins Boys
13.Castlebar Celtic vs Carew Park/Coachford/Carrigaline Utd
14.Waterford Crystal vs Deen Celtic
15.Ballyheane vs Trinity Corths
16.Corduff vs Killester Utd
Ties to take place on the weekend of the 21st/22nd January 2006.
Dr Mad
18/12/2005, 11:40 AM
Some interesting ties there. Anyone got a private plane we can borrow to get up to Lifford :confused:
lim abroad
18/12/2005, 2:58 PM
mungret/pike v ballymun,massive game.will pike let ballymun train at the pike field the night before if they beat mungret
abbeyvale
18/12/2005, 5:11 PM
mungret/pike v ballymun,massive game.will pike let ballymun train at the pike field the night before if they beat mungret
Star 3-2 Bridge, Star away to Dungarvan in last 32.
abbeyvale
18/12/2005, 5:11 PM
Updated.....Statoil FAI Junior Cup 6th Round Draw
1. Dungarvan vs Star Rvs
2. Sheriff Utd vs Manulla/Athenr
3. Mungret Reg/Pike Rvs vs Ballymun Utd
Dirk Diggler
18/12/2005, 6:33 PM
mungret 0-3 pike.
Pike will play ballymun at home in the tie of the round.
Lim abroad your obviously a bitter fairview man.......pike obliged a teams request to train on their pitch before an fai semi final, so what! get over it.
Dirk Diggler
18/12/2005, 6:34 PM
congrats to star on reachin the last 32
lim abroad
18/12/2005, 6:43 PM
Lim abroad your obviously a bitter fairview man.......pike obliged a teams request to train on their pitch before an fai semi final, so what! get over it.
:D :D
Thunderblaster
18/12/2005, 7:44 PM
1. Dungarvan vs Star Rvs
They are my predictions. Teams in bold to advance.
renovater
18/12/2005, 8:53 PM
Statoil FAI Junior Cup 6th Round Draw
1. Dungarvan vs Star Rvs/Bridge Celtic
Ties to take place on the weekend of the 21st/22nd January 2006.
I THOUGHT TIES WAS 15/ 16 JAN
Battery Rover
18/12/2005, 9:02 PM
St Peters are not an easy team beat. Plenty of ex league of Ireland players in there team.
swinfordfc
19/12/2005, 8:54 AM
1. Dungarvan vs Star Rvs
2. Sheriff Utd vs Athenry
3. Pike Rovers vs Ballymun Utd