Limerick's representatives for the 'out of town' stages are:
1.Ballynanty Rovers/Pike Rovers
2.Carew Park
3.ULAA
4.Mungret Reg
5.Star Rovers (Div 1A)
tralee_dynamo
05/12/2005, 7:13 AM
How about Killarney Celtic, we are playing them on Sunday?
Papa-j, apolgies but didn't log onto the website until this morning, so it would be a bit too late to inform about Killarney Celtic...
Bad Bob
05/12/2005, 9:20 AM
Waterford Crystal equalised in the last minute against Tramore before winning 5-3 on penalties yesterday. Gamed ended 2-2 all
Carrick, Crystal and Dungarvan all advance from Waterford area
tralee_dynamo
05/12/2005, 9:28 AM
Tralee Dynamos 3 Avenue United 0
Killarney Celtic 4 Newtown 1
Clifford
05/12/2005, 9:41 AM
Tralee Dynamos 3 Avenue United 0
Killarney Celtic 4 Newtown 1
tralee men 3 avenue boys 0
very frustrating to travel down to tralee in bleak conditions and save your worst performance of the season for last 64 of fai. bad enough the elements but to gift a strong well organised team like tralee a soft opener on 7 mins, shocking. the first half was up and down for both teams but tralee had cleaner passing and looked more in control. the start of the second half (and introduction on sean o'meara {late cause of clare gaa training}) avenue had tralee on the back foot for first 10 to 15 mins. only some brillant defending and wayward shooting stopped avenue equalising. then what can only be described as a moment of brillance. tralee forward against the run of play buried a shot from outside box, top corner. quality. (bit like ray wilkins utd v brighton fa cup 2-2 game, more direct). avenue huffed and puffed but that goal knocked the wind out of us. with 15 mins left and avenue chasing the game tralee knocked in a 3rd. in fairness it was like a training game for tralee in the last 15. knocking the ball around left back keeper right back and they could have had 1 r 2 more goals. they have a great set up pitch wise (never knew brendans park are so close to them, like cusack park to aldi away floodlights the whole works) the ref was the best ref i have encountered for a long while. **** even the pub we went back to was quality (the huddle) with an away fixture in last 32 v rathkeale i would fancy tralee to progress and who knows.........watch this space.
so from a well ****ed off avenue diehard i'm off to ask santa for a bit of backbone and maybe even rudolph, a leader.
05/12/2005, 10:48 AM
The whole team is virtually ex galway united players. Brendan O'Connor is the player/manager, Gary Fitz club captain and david smith, martin o'connor etc..
Top of the table this year in the galway league and going very strong.
Up E200 this morning !! WOO HOO
to answer some questions. The players didnt all play first team, they were reserves and under age players as well, which wouldnt make them ex-LOI players.
Thunderblaster
05/12/2005, 1:09 PM
Waterford Crystal, lucky,lucky boys. Phew!!!! And they have a tough one coming up.
Den Perry
05/12/2005, 3:47 PM
a tough one? I wouldn't say that.
abbeyvale
05/12/2005, 4:21 PM
1. Hibernians Fc/carrick Utd. V Maymount Celtic
2. Killarney Celtic/lisselton/newtown Fc V Portmarnock Fc
3. Arrow Harps V Glen Celtic
4. Ballymote Cel. V Kilmacow Fc/dungarvan Fc
5. Mullingar Town V Valley Park Utd/mellowes B.d.s.
6. East End Utd. V Evergreen Fc/st. Kevins Boys
7. Sheriff Y.c. V Castlebar Cel.
8. Manulla Fc V Dynamo Blues Fc/athenry Fc
9. Carew Park Fc V Coachford Fc/carrigaline Utd.
10. Loughlinstown Cel. V Galway Hibs.
11. Workmans/dunleary V Deen Cel.
12. College Corths/strand Utd. V Wilton Utd.
13. Glenview Fc V Dublin Bus
14. Star Rovers/st. Patricks Fc V Bridge Celtic
15. Trinity Corths. V Everton Fc
16. Corrib Rgs. V Westport United
17. Ballybunnion/rathkeale Fc V Tralee Dyns./avenue Utd.
18. Lismore Fc/peakvilla Fc V Waterford Crystal/tramore Fc
19. Mungret Regional V Pike Rvs./ballynanty Rvs.
20. Northend Utd. V Corduff Fc
21. Salthill Devon V Landsdowne Rgs.
22. Passage Utd/albert Rvs/ballincollig V Old Bridge Fc
23. Villa Utd. V Illes Celtic/dunkineely Celtic
24. Cappry Rvs./ballybofey Utd. V Clonmel Town
25. Killester Utd V Dunree Utd/clonmany Shamrocks
26. Rearcross Fc V Milford Utd/drumoghill Celtic
27. Cahir Park V Sheriff Utd.
28. Ul Annacotty V St. Patricks Utd/cherryfield Utd/malahide Utd
29. Neilstown Rgs. V Shangan Athletic/clondalkin Celtic
30. Rush Athletic V Ballyheane Fc
31. Abbey Utd. V Ballymun Utd.
32. St. Peters Fc V Middleton Fc/kinsale Fc
I'd put money on ULAA to get to next round...
Lads
Can anyone update the above after yesterday's games.
I know Star, Lismore & Waterford Crystal won, but anything after that??
1. Hibernians/Carrick Utd V Maymount Celtic
2. Killarney Celtic V Portmarnock
4. Ballymote Celtic V Kilmacow FC/Dungarvan
5. Mullingar Town V Valley Park Utd/Mellowes B.d.s.
6. East End Utd V Evergreen /St. Kevins Boys
7. Sheriff Y.C. V Castlebar Celtic
8. Manulla V Dynamo Blues /Athenry
9. Carew Park V Coachford /Carrigaline Utd
10. Loughlinstown Celtic V Galway Hibs
11. Workmans/Dunleary V Deen Celtic
12. College Corths/Strand Utd V Wilton Utd
13. Glenview FC V Dublin Bus
14. Star Rovers V Bridge Celtic
15. Trinity Corths V Everton FC
16. Corrib Rgs V Westport United
17. Ballybunnion/Rathkeale V Tralee Dynamos
18. Lismore V Waterford Crystal
19. Mungret Regional V Pike Rvs/Ballynanty Rvs
20. Northend Utd V Corduff
21. Salthill Devon V Landsdowne Rgs
22. Passage Utd/Albert Rvs/Ballincollig V Old Bridge FC
23. Villa Utd V Illes Celtic/Dunkineely Celtic
24. Cappry Rvs/Ballybofey Utd V Clonmel Town
25. Killester Utd V Dunree Utd/Clonmany Shamrocks
26. Rearcross V Milford Utd/Drumoghill Celtic
27. Cahir Park V Sheriff Utd.
28. UL Aisling Annacotty V St. Patricks Utd/Cherryfield/Malahide Utd
29. Neilstown Rgs. V Shangan Athletic/Clondalkin Celtic
30. Rush Athletic V Ballyheane
31. Abbey Utd V Ballymun Utd
32. St.Peters V Middleton /Kinsale
the only 1
05/12/2005, 6:08 PM
who won the coachford v carrigaline match?
Dr Mad
05/12/2005, 10:47 PM
Right lads any Newtown boys there want to give us (Porto) a run-down of what to expect this weekend when we leave the Pale to travel down to lovely Kerry? We heard you were a strong side with a number of the Clare Oscar Traynor Squad in your team, and thought ye might have came through. No closing ranks against the Dubs now, spill!
C.T.F.C
06/12/2005, 12:34 AM
Anyone got any info on Ballybofey United? Not looking forward to the journey. :eek:
papa-j
06/12/2005, 8:49 AM
Right lads any Newtown boys there want to give us (Porto) a run-down of what to expect this weekend when we leave the Pale to travel down to lovely Kerry? We heard you were a strong side with a number of the Clare Oscar Traynor Squad in your team, and thought ye might have came through. No closing ranks against the Dubs now, spill!
well Dr Mad, we thought we were a strong side too but were very poor on the day & Killarney deserved the win. They have a nice enough set up but the pitch was very poor due to the conditions. Scrappy game 0-0 at half time. Killarney got a scrappy first goal & caught us on the break each time after that while we were chasing the game. They are a decent side that try to pass it. Keeper is good, defence is ok but a bit slow if you can turn them. Full backs push on. Lots of runners in midfield but dont like it when they are tackled, very decent player in the centre runs all day. Strikers are ok, hard working but nothing special. The danger comes from the overlapping wide men. I have to say their finishing was clinical. Decent side overall. Final note dont hold your breath for any major hospitality in the pub after.
HuRya
06/12/2005, 11:08 AM
Statoil FAI Junior Cup, Sun Dec 11th-
Limerick Section
4th Rnd-
Pike Rvs vs Ballynanty Rvs (2pm)
5th Rnd-
Star Rvs vs Bridge Celtic (2pm)
summervilleman
06/12/2005, 11:57 AM
I'll go with pike win and star to get a draw!!!
widow
06/12/2005, 12:16 PM
pike v balla tie of the round
gazza2
06/12/2005, 1:09 PM
Tie of the round has to be:
Corrib Rangers(league leaders in Galway) vs Westport Utd(current holders)
Bad Bob
06/12/2005, 1:57 PM
Waterford Crystal, lucky,lucky boys. Phew!!!! And they have a tough one coming up.
You need a bit of luck Thunderblaster if your going to win this competition. Tramore are a class team, reached the last 16 last season and would have been capable of winning the competition out!
It was an excellent result for Crystal albeit a bit fortunate
tralee_dynamo
06/12/2005, 3:08 PM
dr mad. i don't think you have anything to worry about as killarney are an average team who beat a very poor newtown team on the day...i'd say 3 or 4 nil to porto....is dougie dolan,barry flynn and paul omeara still playing for porto and is stan still in goal
Tommy, Killarney were an average team up to last year but have improved this year and I reckon 3-4 nil to Portmarnock away from home is too kind of a prediction!
Obviously Portmarnock are favourites but Killarney will be good at home, and with a poor enough pitch, local support and a fired up team, they will put it up to porto!
abbeyvale
06/12/2005, 3:37 PM
I'll go with pike win and star to get a draw!!!
Pike & Star to win
shelbourne1904
06/12/2005, 4:30 PM
Have a look at clareleague.com.there is a report on it.Pitch is soggy even though it is sand based.We were crap and still nil all at half time.Dont think you should worry much.They work hard but dont have any outstanding players.Their red haired cfoward is busy but not that good
Dr Mad
06/12/2005, 5:50 PM
Thanks for the feedback lads. we are expecting a tough tough game down in Killarney. Tommy the 4 lads you mentioned are all still involved and will play this weekend except for Austin the Keeper who is coming back from injury. His Deputy Mick "the Shroud" Dowd will be standing in (and then terrorising every Supermacs in a 10 mile radius).
Statoil FAI Junior Cup 5th Round (revised draw)
1. Carrick Utd V Maymount Celtic
2. Killarney Celtic V Portmarnock
4. Ballymote Celtic V Dungarvan
5. Mullingar Town V Valley Park Utd/Mellowes B.D.S.
6. East End Utd V Evergreen/St. Kevins Boys
7. Sheriff Y.C. V Castlebar Celtic
8. Manulla V Dynamo Blues/Athenry
9. Carew Park V Coachford/Carrigaline Utd
10. Loughlinstown Celtic V Galway Hibs
11. Workmans Dunleary FC V Deen Celtic
12. College Corths V Wilton Utd
13. Glenview FC V Dublin Bus
14. Star Rovers V Bridge Celtic
15. Trinity Corths V Everton FC
16. Corrib Rgs V Westport Utd
17. Rathkeale V Tralee Dynamos
18. Lismore V Waterford Crystal
19. Mungret Regional V Pike Rvs/Ballynanty Rvs
20. Northend Utd V Corduff
21. Salthill Devon V Landsdowne Rgs
22. Passage Utd/Albert Rvs/Ballincollig V Old Bridge FC
23. Villa Utd V Dunkineely Celtic
24. Ballybofey Utd V Clonmel Town
25. Killester Utd V Dunree Utd
26. Rearcross V Milford Utd
27. Cahir Park V Sheriff Utd
28. UL Aisling Annacotty V St. Patricks Utd/Cherryfield/Malahide Utd
29. Neilstown Rgs. V Shangan Athletic/Clondalkin Celtic
30. Rush Athletic V Ballyheane
31. Abbey Utd V Ballymun Utd
32. St.Peters V Kinsale
The Don
07/12/2005, 9:46 AM
Abbey Utd could cause a real upset against Ballymun.
Rafalution
07/12/2005, 10:14 AM
Hey guys, anyone got any info on Ballyheane? We have them this week and I hear they are a decent enough side
swinfordfc
07/12/2005, 10:44 AM
Hey guys, anyone got any info on Ballyheane? We have them this week and I hear they are a decent enough side
Ballyheane play football good technical side and will be close game, home advantage i think just might swing it your way ...but it will close, well should be :D
Rafalution
07/12/2005, 10:46 AM
Cheers Swinford, appreciate that. Hope you're right though :D
swinfordfc
07/12/2005, 10:47 AM
We soon find out wont we :)
Rafalution
07/12/2005, 11:15 AM
Can you shed any light on the rumours we've been hearin 'round here that Mayo GAA footballer plays for them???? :eek:
Rafalution
07/12/2005, 11:16 AM
Kieran Macdonald I think
The Don
07/12/2005, 11:44 AM
Kieran Macdonald I think
More a novelty than a dedicated player. Where is the pitch in rush.
mossy
07/12/2005, 12:00 PM
Never mind where the pitch is the question is where is the local in relation to the pitch ie can they walk from pub to pitch
By the way make sure you have plenty of food cause they have one or two scavengers their particularly the Sec and Chair !!
Rafalution
07/12/2005, 12:01 PM
It's on the way out of the town, on the way into Skerries, hopefully it'll be in decent condition come Sunday. So Macdonald won't be making an appearance then? I heard it's a rarity to see him in the Ballyheane colours- Other commitments and all that!
Rafalution
07/12/2005, 12:02 PM
Ah the local's a ten minute walk away, plenty of food, drink and craic awaiting ye
texas ranger
07/12/2005, 12:40 PM
anybody know anything about Dunree Utd who killester are playing this weekend??? also good luck to at Porto and the mun this weekend
The Don
07/12/2005, 1:25 PM
Ah the local's a ten minute walk away, plenty of food, drink and craic awaiting ye
Sounds like heaven!!!
Murphman
08/12/2005, 1:04 PM
Limerick Section
4th Rnd-
Pike Rvs vs Ballynanty Rvs (2pm)
5th Rnd-
Star Rvs vs Bridge Celtic (2pm)
Star Rovers Vs Bridge Celtic in FAI is off until th 18th.
Athenryboy
08/12/2005, 5:47 PM
Ballyheane play football good technical side and will be close game, home advantage i think just might swing it your way ...but it will close, well should be :D
Athenry fc beat Ballyheane in Ballyheane 1-4 last weekend with relative ease, good football will kill them im afraid.
swinfordfc
09/12/2005, 9:29 AM
Athenry fc beat Ballyheane in Ballyheane 1-4 last weekend with relative ease, good football will kill them im afraid.
yes ye did and with relative ease i might add from what i heard but thats a pretty outfit ye have there second in galway? ye playing the blues this weekend? :D
The Don
09/12/2005, 10:39 AM
Dont remember this kind of bravado 2 years ago when we beat ye in Athenry.
Having said that we were well beaten on the day, but remember it was the worst performance I have seen from this team in many a year.
swinfordfc
09/12/2005, 11:13 AM
Dont remember this kind of bravado 2 years ago when we beat ye in Athenry.
Having said that we were well beaten on the day, but remember it was the worst performance I have seen from this team in many a year.
The Don have ye full panel for Sunday match in Dublin?
The Don
09/12/2005, 11:18 AM
Missing two. Otherwise full squad
tipp man
11/12/2005, 2:38 PM
Clonmel Town come behind to beat Ballybofey 7-1 in Donegal this afternoon.
Limerick Section
4th Rnd
Pike Rvs 2-1 Ballynanty Rvs
5th Rnd
Star Rvs - Bridge Celtic
soccerc
11/12/2005, 5:28 PM
4th Round Dublin
Shangan 2-1 Clondalkin Celtic
Shangan to play Neilstown Rangers in 5th Round
tipp man
11/12/2005, 5:56 PM
Cahir Park beaten on penalties by Sherrif Utd after game ended 2-2 aet.
irisheagle
11/12/2005, 9:43 PM
Carrick Utd 2 Maymount Celtic 0
Lismore 0 Waterford Crystal 3
Rearcross lost to Milford Utd pens
Cahir Park lost to Sheriff Utd. pens
Ballymote Cel. 0 Dungarvan 1, Dungarvan finished with 9 men
Dr Mad
11/12/2005, 10:50 PM
Just about scraped through without playing well, how come nobody warned us about the hometown referee? Thought that was a thing of the past, embarrasing bias, in fairness even the Killarney lads were laughing at some of the outrageous decisions he made. Who else is in the last 32?
irisheagle
11/12/2005, 11:18 PM
All Mayo teams won Westport (Pens), Castlebar (Extra time) and Ballyheane