View Full Version : Ukraine V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 14th June 2022 - 2022/23 UEFA Nations League

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

12/06/2022, 8:18 PM
Jimmy Dunne called up for Ukraine game. Duffy out through suspension and Egan withdrew for family reasons.

12/06/2022, 8:28 PM
O’Shea - Lenihan - Collins

Still not too bad.

12/06/2022, 8:29 PM
So does that leave us with 24?

One poor fecker missing out on the matchday squad if so. Hope it's not Manning or Ebosele. To not be needed for all four games would be a bit of a kick in the teeth

Jd2793
12/06/2022, 8:30 PM
assume manning in as backup lcb. would be very harsh on ebosele to miss 4 MD squads, would have him in over christie tbh but hard to see that happening given kenny sees him as a fwd

Eirambler
12/06/2022, 8:48 PM
Festy did make one match day squad, but was an unused sub.

It may be that Obafemi is the player that misses out unfortunately.

ColourfulPeanut
12/06/2022, 8:54 PM
assume manning in as backup lcb. would be very harsh on ebosele to miss 4 MD squads, would have him in over christie tbh but hard to see that happening given kenny sees him as a fwd
Festy was in the squad for the Ukraine home game. Apparently he had a knock on Saturday.

Bielsa´s irish
12/06/2022, 10:41 PM
What is so remarkable about the irish players is the passion that they exhibit in any international football match. Is the same passion that you find in any of the 10 national teams in Conmebol and not that easy to find elsewhere. Canada is now on the same attitude as Mexico too. Things may not go their way but they play with passion. Don't know any other uefa national team who the players play with this passion. England doesn't, Wales maybe yes, Scotland not much as it showed. From Belgium is hard because most of them are playing without passion but De Bruyne plays with passion and conflict and effort with Belgium.
Maybe Denmark, Germany is now returning too, Greece maybe with a southametrcan.

JR89
13/06/2022, 10:40 AM

Would Kenny call up Dunne if Manning was to come into the match day squad to cover LCB. He also referenced Stevens when talking about cover for LCB last year. Can see Manning missing out again.

Jd2793
13/06/2022, 10:45 AM
Would Kenny call up Dunne if Manning was to come into the match day squad to cover LCB. He also referenced Stevens when talking about cover for LCB last year. Can see Manning missing out again.

if that is the case then manning being in the squad at all is pointless.

JR89
13/06/2022, 10:50 AM
if that is the case then manning being in the squad at all is pointless.

Said it myself that he was only brought in because Stevens and McClean came into the camp with injuries. Have him in camp training incase one of them pulls out rather than letting him out but on standby and having to come in mid camp.

Didn't need someone to come in with Coleman carrying a knock reporting for camp because there was cover within the squad for RWB.

Diggs246
13/06/2022, 10:54 AM
Anyone else scared? Re tomorrow
I am, I have to say. Our players must be wrecked and ukraine will be at home( poland) with their fresh first team back.
This could get ugly.

13/06/2022, 11:04 AM
I was a bit worried before the Scotland performance. Now I can see that we're so utterly unpredictable that I can take some solace in the idea I've literally no idea what to expect from us. Could be a joy to watch; could be utter drivel again. Something more mundane would be nice - maybe a battling 2-1 defeat which is more like how the match might have panned out in previous years?

JR89
13/06/2022, 11:16 AM
Anyone else scared? Re tomorrow
I am, I have to say. Our players must be wrecked and ukraine will be at home( poland) with their fresh first team back.
This could get ugly.

Bit worried about having to play a back three that have never played together but if the rest of the team is the same and they put in the same effort could get a result or a battling 1-0, 2-1 loss.

Big worry for me is Cullen will likely start four games and he's one yellow away from being suspended. Would be our luck he gives away a sloppy free and ends up missing the Scotland away game.

joey B
13/06/2022, 1:03 PM
Kelleher

Browne Christie Collins O'Shea McClean

Molumby Cullen Knight

Robinson Parrott

Jd2793
13/06/2022, 1:09 PM
Kelleher
Browne OShea Collins Lenihan McClean
Cullen Molumby Knight
Parrott Obafemi

Eirambler
13/06/2022, 1:54 PM
Kelleher
Browne OShea Collins Lenihan McClean
Cullen Molumby Knight
Parrott Obafemi

Would expect that to be the team if Obafemi is fit.

Bielsa´s irish
13/06/2022, 3:39 PM
He is not gonna change nor after his win vs Scotland, team that wins doesnt change.

My team from The players around.

................Kelleher.............

Collins.......Lenihan........ OShea

Browne Cullen Molumby Manning/knight. McClean

Parrott. Obafemi

Bielsa´s irish
13/06/2022, 3:43 PM
I would play Manning for Knight to have more balance in Poland. I would also play Stevens for Oshea because we need some experience At The back. Wouldnt play. Collins and. OShea together in a back 3 .

Razors left peg
13/06/2022, 3:56 PM
Would we not expect Travers to be looked at in this game?

Diggs246
13/06/2022, 4:09 PM
Would we not expect Travers to be looked at in this game?

No chance
This is save my job territory for kenny
He rates kelleher ahead if him and thats it
Its a very serious game. We win this and we could easily be in a play off before we know it.
We lose and we are flying Ray Houghton out to Ghana to find Chris hughton

Real ale Madrid
13/06/2022, 4:14 PM
Would expect that to be the team if Obafemi is fit.

Obafemi out according to latest Presser.

Injuries scuppering any chance of a result out there imo

Diggs246
13/06/2022, 4:22 PM
Obafemi out according to latest Presser.

Injuries scuppering any chance of a result out there imo

Where did u see that?
Disaster

13/06/2022, 4:23 PM
Question now is do you stick with the two up top with Hogan (Keane seems to be down the pecking order now) and Parrott together or do you revert back to the 3 across the front… weird to say it but Obafemi seemingly a big loss after only one start for us!

I think I’d go with the following

—————Kelleher
O’Shea — Lenihan — Collins
Browne ————————McClean
————Cullen — Molumby ———
—————— Knight ——————
——— Parrott —— Hogan ———-

Ogbene for Browne if chasing.

13/06/2022, 4:23 PM
Where did u see that?
Disaster

Kenny’s Kids just announced it.

https://twitter.com/kennyskids/status/1536380633987129347?s=21&t=g1GF6lXG-0KfpnizTOtJLQ

Diggs246
13/06/2022, 4:27 PM
Kenny’s Kids just announced it.

https://twitter.com/kennyskids/status/1536380633987129347?s=21&t=g1GF6lXG-0KfpnizTOtJLQ

Ah t*ts

13/06/2022, 4:32 PM
Yup. That's a blow.

Hogan has looked lively in his two recent cameos; I'd start him ahead of Robinson. Agree on the logic for starting Kelleher over Travers too, much and all as I think he deserves a game. This is starting to be a cobbled-together team while Ukraine (for all the wrong reasons of course) are mostly quite fresh after a full month's pre-season and four competitive games, including one against us where they could change everyone around.

Not positive signs at the moment. But at least Manning will make the bench! :)

Razors left peg
13/06/2022, 4:52 PM
Obafemi did travel to Poland so there is still some hope he could do what Egan did on Saturday and unexpectedly recover.

If he missed out Id go with Hogan up front I think. I definitely dont want to see Ogbene through the middle again or we'll have same issues as 1st game against them

Predator
13/06/2022, 4:53 PM
Question now is do you stick with the two up top with Hogan (Keane seems to be down the pecking order now) and Parrott together or do you revert back to the 3 across the front… weird to say it but Obafemi seemingly a big loss after only one start for us!

—————Kelleher
Browne ————————McClean
————Cullen — Molumby ———
—————— Knight ——————

This feels like it could well be the XI.

Always a possibility that Kenny will go with experience at the back, with Collins playing in the middle of the three, O'Shea on the right and Stevens, who has played there before, on the left.

JR89
13/06/2022, 5:13 PM
Obafemi did travel to Poland so there is still some hope he could do what Egan did on Saturday and unexpectedly recover.

If he missed out Id go with Hogan up front I think. I definitely dont want to see Ogbene through the middle again or we'll have same issues as 1st game against them

Team are doing some training at the stadium. Ogbene do his own bits and Obafemi not involved. Can't see him doing an Egan. With his injury history would be a big risk and could well ruin the start of his season.

Razors left peg
13/06/2022, 5:24 PM
Team are doing some training at the stadium. Ogbene do his own bits and Obafemi not involved. Can't see him doing an Egan. With his injury history would be a big risk and could well ruin the start of his season.

Fair point. Glad to see he traveled with the squad anyway. Seems a good character to have in the dressing room

Jd2793
13/06/2022, 5:29 PM

—————Kelleher
Browne ————————McClean
————Cullen — Molumby ———
—————— Knight ——————

would guess lenihan and collins swap. would rather see collins as the ccb once duffy gets phased out. has all the makings of a top class player, great chance to get a look at him there.

13/06/2022, 6:39 PM
Fair point. Glad to see he traveled with the squad anyway. Seems a good character to have in the dressing room

He seems good craic alright but there's something I've seen in him that makes me think if he isn't getting his way or wasn't being selected he would throw a bit of a hissy fit.

Razors left peg
13/06/2022, 6:54 PM
He seems good craic alright but there's something I've seen in him that makes me think if he isn't getting his way or wasn't being selected he would throw a bit of a hissy fit.

Theres no harm in that either sometimes. Robbie and Roy were like that, but if you can back it up with what you do on the pitch Ive no problem with the arrogance

joey B
13/06/2022, 7:26 PM
Who do we reckon will captain the team tomorrow? Just seen McClean having a bit of laugh about getting it! Cullen or Collins maybe if McClean doesn’t get it….

Razors left peg
13/06/2022, 7:33 PM
Who do we reckon will captain the team tomorrow? Just seen McClean having a bit of laugh about getting it! Cullen or Collins maybe if McClean doesn’t get it….

I think Collins will be the long term captain after Seamie so I'd give it to him. The fact that he was captaining Stoke at the age of 18 shows hes more than capable.

It'll probably be McClean though

13/06/2022, 8:25 PM

A bigger worry for me is that he could turn into a bit of a sick note player, and we’ll be here in 3/4/5 years time still talking about his great potential, if only he could stay fit.

JR89
13/06/2022, 9:22 PM
Would like to think the run of games he played in the championship and it's a league with a tough schedule is an indication his injury woes could have been down to a lack of professionalism regarding fitness. Between April 2th and May 7th he played 9 games and completed 90mins in all bar one where he played 86mins.

Idah is the one that worries me most when thinking of lads in a few years and talking about if only he could have stayed fit. Has missed 48 games in the last two seasons because of injury and has had two long term knee injuries so far.

13/06/2022, 9:50 PM

You mean you actually noticed his disgraceful non-performances in the u21 games against Iceland and it came to your attention that he declined an invitation to join a subsequent squad :rolleyes:
A player would have to prove himself most worthy after that, almost priceless, seems like Ogbene is well into the process of doing just that.

13/06/2022, 10:25 PM
I think you're getting your O's mixed up.

CSAD
14/06/2022, 4:02 AM
Would like to think the run of games he played in the championship and it's a league with a tough schedule is an indication his injury woes could have been down to a lack of professionalism regarding fitness. Between April 2th and May 7th he played 9 games and completed 90mins in all bar one where he played 86mins.

Idah is the one that worries me most when thinking of lads in a few years and talking about if only he could have stayed fit. Has missed 48 games in the last two seasons because of injury and has had two long term knee injuries so far.

In most other countries I’d worry but given the injury record of Irish players he should be okay.

Eirambler
14/06/2022, 8:58 AM
Nobafemi tonight.

JR89
14/06/2022, 9:17 AM
Ryan Manning makes a match day squad. Jimmy Dunne is the one that misses the match day squad.

Eirambler
14/06/2022, 9:29 AM
Manning seen as centre back cover ahead of Dunne then?

Not sure about that. Wouldn't want to see one of our centre backs go off injured early on tonight.

JR89
14/06/2022, 9:39 AM
It's his birthday today, would have been harsh to drop him today. I thought Dunne would get in ahead of him but he's also talked about Stevens being able to cover LCB and somewhat certain Mick started him LCB away to Switzerland.

14/06/2022, 12:36 PM
I think you're getting your O's mixed up.

Indeed, probably just a Jack Charlton moment.

14/06/2022, 1:54 PM
Ah yer not there yet geysir :P

14/06/2022, 2:05 PM
Not sure what to expect with the team tonight. I've a feeling Cullen is going to get a rest and that might mean Houriahane starting. At the back he may try Stevens in the three just for his experience or Manning if he wants to be really adventurous. Hogan is probably the most like for like Obafemi replacement and he was unlucky not to score against Scotland. No guarantee it won't be a slight change in shape again though and that opens up the possibility of Ogbene returning.

I think most likely it'll be;
Kelleher
O'Shea
Collins
Lenihan (Stevens)

McClean
Hourihane (Cullen)
Molumby
Knight
Browne

Parrot
Hogan (Ogbene)

Not expecting any massive curveballs, although maybe a back 4 might be an option, the change in shape could catch Ukraine out. There's a few options with the midfield, could move Browne inside if resting Cullen, could play Hendrick with him or Molumby taking the Cullen role rather than Hourihane. Will Keane hasn't seen much time so could also be an option as the 10 with Parrot pushed up into the Obafemi role.

Razors left peg
14/06/2022, 3:35 PM
Hourihane starting would be nightmare. He has to go with same midfield as Scotland game

Olé Olé
14/06/2022, 5:25 PM
McClean confirmed on FAI's Twitter as captain so sure to start.

Trequartista20
14/06/2022, 5:31 PM
Team named. Hogan for Obafemi and Lenihan for Duffy.