View Full Version : Embarrassment of riches: who is Ireland's best goalkeeper?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

Eirambler
20/03/2022, 6:26 PM
Suspect Kelleher might have covid. Lots of Liverpool players have had it recently: Konate just returned for the Arsenal game. Tsimikas just returned today.

explains why Alisson is playing and kelleher doesn’t make the bench

Alisson was going to play in any case, he's the FA Cup keeper. Kelleher was only down for the Carabao Cup this season (as well as being second choice when Alisson is unavailable).

JR89
20/03/2022, 7:07 PM
Yeah even Klopp said it mid week Alisson would be starting, though with him also starting the last FA Cup game there wasn't any doubt of him not starting again unless not fit.

Andy Robertson has covid, so chances are Kelleher could have been missing due to covid. Whether he has it or was a close contact.

elatedscum
20/03/2022, 7:27 PM
I think Alisson said it on Friday at his press conference but it’s very possible he already knew the covid situation at that point. He played Kelleher against Shrewsbury and Cardiff and you’d think Forest are in the same bracket of opposition. He didn’t play him against Norwich but at the time he said that was to give Kelleher a mental break after winning the final, three days earlier.

Anyway, who knows, just with Alisson jetting off with brazil now and given the opposition and lack of games for Kelleher, I don’t see Klopp starting Alisson if both were fit…

I know what he said but he’s been really conscious to skirt around confirming if players have covid in recent weeks

27/03/2022, 3:36 PM
Kelleher was fine yesterday as you’d expect given his obvious comfort at a high level in club football.

No chance with second goal and did well under a high ball where he collided with a teammate. Very composed receiving back passes which is important given how we play now.

Nitpicking, and genuinely not stirring given previous sensitivities on this thread, but I honestly think Bazunu saves Batshuayi’s shot! My real time reaction was to expect a fingertip to the ball and I was surprised to see it go in.

Last week a pal and I were discussing the recent Bazunu free kick save that was doing the rounds on Twitter. I said “good save”, he said “but you’d be asking questions if it went in” (it was well hit but fairly central). I felt both views were right. Yesterday was similar: it’d have been a very good save if he’d made it but I do just think Randolph or Bazunu would have saved it, with a bigger stretch of the lower arm. As said before but in a different context, Kelleher doesn’t look as big in the goal. I expect I’ll be told I’m being too harsh!

Razors left peg
27/03/2022, 4:03 PM
I agree completely, my instant reaction when I happened was I expected him to save it.

This is gonna sound harsh but there's something about Kelleher that turns me off him a bit. To me he just seems far too casual. When the 2nd goal went in he just stood there with his arms by his side. I'd like my keeper to bawl out the defenders or something for allowing a free header.

To be honest I can't even put my finger on why I just don't rate him and I hope I'm proven wrong. I'm also genuinely not trying to stir things. Better people than me like Klopp and Kenny think very highly of him so chances are I am wrong.... but I still think there's something about his attitude that will keep him from being a top goalkeeper

27/03/2022, 4:06 PM
The goal is here, for reference: https://www.reddit.com/r/soccermirrors/comments/toy5xk/ireland_0_1_belgium_michy_batshuayi_12/

I find it hard to judge, but it's certainly possible.

ontheotherhand
27/03/2022, 4:13 PM
The goal is here, for reference: https://www.reddit.com/r/soccermirrors/comments/toy5xk/ireland_0_1_belgium_michy_batshuayi_12/

To be fair to Kelleher the shot was taken really quickly. It was a lovely finish. I think he may have lined up a little too far to his near post if anything but I'd blame Coleman there I think. Michi turning inside him so easily was sad to see. If anyone had saved it we'd be raving. Of course Bazunu isnt just anyone.....

third policeman
27/03/2022, 4:23 PM

Interestingly the consensus from all the commentators / pundits on Sky was that he had no chance with that shot, but what do the likes of McCarthy, Holland and Morrison know. It’s not as if they are seasoned international footballers. I think speculation about whether Bazunu might have saved it, is as pointless as speculating whether Kelleher would have saved the goals against Portugal. That was an incredible strike, took it early after beating Coleman. He had no time to set himself. Sometimes shots are genuinely not saveable and that was pretty close to being in that category.

27/03/2022, 4:35 PM
I agree completely, my instant reaction when I happened was I expected him to save it.

This is gonna sound harsh but there's something about Kelleher that turns me off him a bit. To me he just seems far too casual. When the 2nd goal went in he just stood there with his arms by his side. I'd like my keeper to bawl out the defenders or something for allowing a free header.

To be honest I can't even put my finger on why I just don't rate him and I hope I'm proven wrong.

So now he's been blamed for something that wasn't his fault. What good will bawling at his defenders do? The damage has already been done by then.

On the other one, Alisson has conceded those goals before, yet he gets to play every week. Maybe because the keeper isn't at fault for every goal that goes past him.

Jd2793
27/03/2022, 4:37 PM
****ing myself at lads giving him stick for the 2nd goal. he moves to dive to his right and the deflection takes it to the opposite corner under the defender on the post. what in gods name is he ment to do? a fake dive to pretend hes gonna save it?

Jd2793
27/03/2022, 4:39 PM

if you pause just before he cuts in kelleher still isnt set. looks to me like he expected coleman to deal with it. im no expert on gk positioning so ill leave the rest of it to ye.

Razors left peg
27/03/2022, 4:39 PM
So now he's been blamed for something that wasn't his fault. What good will bawling at his defenders do? The damage has already been done by then.

On the other one, Alisson has conceded those goals before, yet he gets to play every week. Maybe because the keeper isn't at fault for every goal that goes past him.

I'm not blaming him for the 2nd goal. My criticism of him isn't particularly rational but to me he just seems too causal all the time, like he's just not bothered. It's more of a gut feeling, and I absolutely hope I'm proved wrong

27/03/2022, 4:49 PM
Interestingly the consensus from all the commentators / pundits on Sky was that he had no chance with that shot, but what do the likes of McCarthy, Holland and Morrison know. It’s not as if they are seasoned international footballers.Well, you clearly aren't keen on engaging in the spirit the original claim was made and very clearly made at that. Well done, pal. As a general rule too, listening to non-goalkeeper pundits talking about goalkeeping is a mixed bag at best.

third policeman
27/03/2022, 5:19 PM
Well, you clearly aren't keen on engaging in the spirit the original claim was made and very clearly made at that. Well done, pal. As a general rule too, listening to non-goalkeeper pundits talking about goalkeeping is a mixed bag at best.

I’d still respect their judgement above non-footballers (including myself).

Razors left peg
27/03/2022, 5:27 PM
I’d still respect their judgement above non-footballers (including myself).
Some I do, but I actually find the standards of most pundits awful. Most just spout tired old clichés and don't sound too intelligent. Micah Richard's is perfect example, just there for "banter"

27/03/2022, 5:39 PM
if you pause just before he cuts in kelleher still isnt set. looks to me like he expected coleman to deal with it. im no expert on gk positioning so ill leave the rest of it to ye.
That's what I saw too on the replay. His stance is that of a keeper when the ball's further up the pitch. I don't know if that's an error or just the way he's coached (and if the latter, I'd go with Liverpool coaches over me!)

I think it's harsh to criticise though. When your fullback lets the forward inside in the box so easily, and when the forward takes his shot so early, sometimes **** is going to happen

Agree with TP that "X would have saved it" is a bit pointless

27/03/2022, 5:43 PM
Shot from Batshuayi was excellent, and out of nothing, Coleman should have done better, but Kelleher was flat footed, even when Batshuayi turned inside, Kelleher isn't set for a shot, is caught on his heels, and totally unprepared for the shot.

For me, I don't think Bazunu gets caught out by it. It's definitely a case of Kelleher being a little too casual in his approach. That's something that comes with game time though, and a fairly damning reflection on his lack of game time, that he's not set for the shot there.

27/03/2022, 5:54 PM
Kelleher is flat footed and not fully anticipating it. I’d expect Bazunu to be more on his toes and set. That said, give credit to the striker – the quick feet and shot needs to be applauded. The cut back touch and subsequent shot is so quick it looks like it’s in the same movement.

Coleman didn't cover himself in glory but the problem I’d have with the goal from our perspective is Duffy. Terrible pass, to nobody in particular, and played under no pressure. Do not know who he is playing the ball to; Hendrick? Knight? Robinson? Over the top to Ogbene?

seanfhear
27/03/2022, 5:56 PM
Playing games would be great for Kelleher. Hard to beat it.

Eirambler
27/03/2022, 6:03 PM
I don't think you can blame Kelleher too much for that one. It's one that, if he had saved it, you'd be thinking that's an amazing save.

Impossible to say whether Bazunu would have got there, or whether Travers' bigger frame might have made it oss to touch it around. The only thing I'd maybe say is that Bazunu's wondersave against Luxembourg was probably even better than this save would have been, he wasn't set and had to deal with a deflection, but still got it around the post.

In terms of the starting jersey for June it's a moot point anyway, Kelleher just can't be considered ahead of Bazunu unless he's playing regular football. And unless Alisson gets injured, he won't be.

Jd2793
27/03/2022, 6:11 PM
kenny made it clear in one of the pressers before the game he was happy with kellehers playing time in the lc games. i dont think bazunu will be dethroned but equally i wouldnt be surprised if kenny decided to keep it with kelleher for some unlikely reason. CK is definitely Kennys preferred choice IMO but bazunu put down some of the best displays we've seen when he got his chance and its hard to drop anyone after that.

third policeman
27/03/2022, 6:55 PM
Shot from Batshuayi was excellent, and out of nothing, Coleman should have done better, but Kelleher was flat footed, even when Batshuayi turned inside, Kelleher isn't set for a shot, is caught on his heels, and totally unprepared for the shot.

For me, I don't think Bazunu gets caught out by it. It's definitely a case of Kelleher being a little too casual in his approach. That's something that comes with game time though, and a fairly damning reflection on his lack of game time, that he's not set for the shot there.

I think this is a very questionable piece of analysis and one that rehearses the usual anti-Kelleher/ pro-Bazunu tropes. A goalkeeper can’t be set for every eventuality, only the most likely one. It’s about judgement and anticipation. He didn’t expect Coleman to allow his man to pass him on the inside, when he did, and took the shot early, it was too late to reset. For people to continue to assert with magisterial confidence, that Bazunu would have saved it, is frankly

27/03/2022, 8:59 PM
Where do you get magisterial confidence from?

27/03/2022, 9:11 PM
I think this is a very questionable piece of analysis and one that rehearses the usual anti-Kelleher/ pro-Bazunu tropes. A goalkeeper can’t be set for every eventuality, only the most likely one. It’s about judgement and anticipation. He didn’t expect Coleman to allow his man to pass him on the inside, when he did, and took the shot early, it was too late to reset. For people to continue to assert with magisterial confidence, that Bazunu would have saved it, is frankly

I'm not sure what makes it questionable?

I'm speaking from a goalkeepers, and a goalkeeper coach, perspective. Being flat footed and not anticipating a shot when a player is turning inside the 18 yard box is poor as far as I'm concerned. I put it down to lack of match practice, and possible casual style of goalkeeping though, as opposed to just bad goalkeeping.

It is a goalkeepers job to be ready for any eventuality. That's what they are there for. When I'm working with goalkeepers at underage level, I'm constantly reminding them to be always on their toes. You just cannot be prepared for a shot while flat footed, and you should be prepared for the eventuality that your defender loses his individual battle.

I'm looking at Bazunu and Kelleher from an objective angle, no magisterial confidence as you put it, and how Bazunu sets himself up. He is constantly on his toes. I just don't see that from Kelleher to the same level. They're two different goalkeepers, with very different styles. Kelleher is far more casual in his approach, but Bazunu always looks switched on.

elatedscum
28/03/2022, 1:36 AM
As someone who’s a fan of Kelleher, I think he’d be a little disappointed with that goal. I think 7 or 8 times out of 10, he tips it round the post. It’s not an egregious error but generally in Liverpool games he’ll have a few saves like that which he makes, good saves, but ones he’d expect to save. It’s true batsuayi shoots quickly and with relatively little back lift, which probably made all the difference but it’s not in the very very corner.

For me, Coleman is the more culpable - it’s pretty obvious that Batsuayi wants to cut inside and he lets him do it. It was just far too easy. There was never an attempt of a tackle and he half tried to show down the left but not nearly enough for a player with no option but to cut back inside.

Duffy also shoulders a burden of blame. There were three of four bad passes in the first 10 mins like that. He underhit one to Cullen where cullen ended up sliding and playing a ball over the top but it was an absolute hospital pass. With that one for the goal, there was no need to hit it first time and if you do, you’ve got to be sure of it. Midfielders and wing backs, they’ve got to assume the ball won’t be given away there, in that manner. With that in mind, we’d left a 4 v 4 at the back with just our three centre halves and Cullen against their front 3 and their number 10. So when we did lose it and weren’t set, it put everyone in a **** position to begin with. From that point on, I thought duffy was excellent, the passes stopped going astray, he won everything in the air and made a key block.

Coleman got better later in the game, although I’m not entirely convinced with him in that position. That goal is a little too similar to the one at home to Azerbaijan, where Coleman just lets the player cut inside or drift inside and shoot. If O’Shea or Collins are on batsuayi, they’re probably defending it better. Seamus certainly gives you more on the ball but defensively I have my concerns in that slot.

Anyway, let’s see if Kelleher has a few saves to make against Lithuania… Or if he gives O’Leary 20 mins to make his case…

28/03/2022, 1:48 AM
The fault lies largest with Coleman, certainly. I guess what I and others have observed is here:

https://i.imgur.com/EI1fj6v.jpg

Kelleher has full view of a forward mid-shot, and yet his weight is evenly distributed. He doesn't start to dive until the ball is away. That's too late. It's a great shot, and few keepers would stop it. That doesn't mean speculation is unreasonable, or that this makes Kelleher a bad keeper or anything daft like that. Let's keep the bullshirt polarization for US politics.

28/03/2022, 1:52 AM
Even more damning:

https://i.imgur.com/Oyon3il.png

ontheotherhand
28/03/2022, 2:05 AM
I've watched it back a few times now and his footwork is pretty poor from when Batshuayi gets the ball to when he shoots. Worse than I had initially thought. As you say John, nothing there makes him a bad option at all and he will learn and grow but certainly he's no better than Bazunu or Travers based on what we've seen so far. They all have a bit of learning to do and a lot of time to do it. Again you just wish he was out playing games so he could see more scenarios like this.

CraftyToePoke
28/03/2022, 2:14 AM
Its an error, yes.
I also felt his punch v Chelsea landed in the one spot a punch cannot land. Both were incredible finishes, neither were ones he'd have routinely faced in other games but thats the level, the littlest things cost.

Just hope it calms the absolute one way or the other rhetoric on here as to who is best. They are all young, all will have character building moments and hopefully all will have good careers.

But no way looking at those stills should anyone argue his set / feet / positioning were all they might have been.

ontheotherhand
28/03/2022, 2:34 AM
Agreed. We could also post stills of Bazunu's footwork leading up to any of his multiple bad decisions.

They are all inexperienced. They will all hopefully get better.

Exgrad
28/03/2022, 9:06 AM
Its an error by Kelleher, but a minor error that was fully punished by an exceptional finish. I do agree he has issues with his footwork, and its caught up with him here. Soemthing i'm sure his coaches will be working with him on. His calmness on the ball on a couple of occasions is astonishing, not something used to seeing in an Irish keeper.

30/03/2022, 11:31 AM
Lads, what about Kelleher's tights? :)

ontheotherhand
30/03/2022, 3:26 PM

Maybe that's what the OP meant by "embarrassing" riches?

How do we think he did? Not much to do really which is a shame for this thread but a positive in general obviously. One bad clearance v Lithuania and suspect footwork for Belgium's first aside, I thought he was calm and composed. Don't think he got a chance to do enough to take the no1 spot but I wouldn't be worried if Bazunu was out again.

30/03/2022, 3:32 PM

He becomes so slight and frail when he steps between the posts that he needs a little more warmth and padding. :)

30/03/2022, 3:34 PM
Had to keep warm somehow. It was either that, or chase pitch invaders

Razors left peg
30/03/2022, 3:44 PM

He could have worn snow boots and it wouldnt have mattered last night

30/03/2022, 4:26 PM
How do we think he did? Not much to do really which is a shame for this thread but a positive in general obviously. Not really tested yesterday but the thread title says it all. We're well stocked for good keepers. I like them all. Bazunu and Kelleher more "modern" in style and I suspect that'll count for a lot in SJK's thinking.

30/03/2022, 5:59 PM
I felt his punch v Chelsea landed in the one spot a punch cannot land. Both were incredible finishes, neither were ones he'd have routinely faced in other games but thats the level, the littlest things cost.

Just hope it calms the absolute one way or the other rhetoric on here as to who is best. They are all young, all will have character building moments and hopefully all will have good careers.

But no way looking at those stills should anyone argue his set / feet / positioning were all they might have been.

If he doesn't punch the ball away, he is beaten to the ball by the forward. He can't be held responsible for what followed, and the only people who have suggested so, are Ireland fans who don't want him anywhere near the starting XI. Liverpool fans don't want him in the team's starting XI either, but that's a different discussion.

Eminence Grise
30/03/2022, 9:25 PM

Clearly they're embarrassing britches.

ontheotherhand
05/04/2022, 10:58 PM
Sad to see how much Bazunu has regressed in his older years. Couldn't keep out a Sadlier penalty tonight. He used to have no problems with them.

07/04/2022, 1:07 PM

He can't be held responsible for what followed, and the only people who have suggested so, are Ireland fans who don't want him anywhere near the starting XI.

This place! I don't think anyone has said they don't want any of our keepers anywhere near the first XI. Just ridiculous, and in reply to a call for calm too:)

29/04/2022, 8:39 PM
Harry Halwax named on the bench for QPR tonight

03/05/2022, 2:18 PM
Big game for Travers on TV tonight at 7pm. Bournemouth vs Forest, second vs third, second last game of the season.

Bazunu fan's POTY and players' POTY at Portsmouth

https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bazunu-man-city-portsmouth-award-23840590

03/05/2022, 6:32 PM
Big game for Travers on TV tonight at 7pm. Bournemouth vs Forest, second vs third, second last game of the season.

https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bazunu-man-city-portsmouth-award-23840590

That Forest shirt catches the eye.

03/05/2022, 7:03 PM
Harry Halwax named on the bench for QPR tonight

Murphy Mahoney??

Must be one of ours LOL

samhaydenjr
04/05/2022, 12:51 AM
Murphy Mahoney??

Must be one of ours LOL

Nah, that's the name of an Irish-American cop in a 1980s TV series, pronounced Ma-hone-ee

samhaydenjr
04/05/2022, 12:56 AM

Kept his 20th clean sheet in 45 appearances in all comps, but apparently was lucky to get away with a foul in the box, as an incorrect offside call overrode it: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/60342935

04/05/2022, 1:26 AM
Nah, that's the name of an Irish-American cop in a 1980s TV series, pronounced Ma-hone-ee

It’s funny, my first thought was this guy must be American :D

Police Academy, wasn’t it? :)

seanfhear
04/05/2022, 4:13 AM
Kept his 20th clean sheet in 45 appearances in all comps, but apparently was lucky to get away with a foul in the box, as an incorrect offside call overrode it: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/60342935
Everybody loves a lucky goalkeeper.

04/05/2022, 7:54 AM

Lucky boy indeed. I'm quite angry with him actually. Watching him made me miss the first half of Villarreal v Liverpool!

Bournemouth dominated the second half. He barely touched the ball. The "penalty" was one of those "don't foul him, don't foul him, don't foul him, oh, he fouled him" incidents. Attacker runs onto ball, keeper comes out, attacker gets a toe to the ball first...

If he was smarter he'd have been happy to force him wide and withdraw, but although on one angle it looked like he did just that, another seemed to show him tripping him, maybe also with his knee.