View Full Version : Games Friday 10th to Saturday 18th September
That is absolute BS. How on earth do the FAI give a one game ban to Kelly for punching someone and then 3 game bans to these lads
The BS appeals process is part of the problem these days as it appears to be random and unfair.
Tbf McGinlay threw a punch toward someone so the intent was the same. Ban hars none the less and still can’t see any reaaon for Thompson even being red carded never mind a 3 game ban on top.
Calcio Jack
17/09/2021, 5:33 PM
You can`t be referring to our 2-1 win, Leahy 99th minute? Let me thumb through the distant history books, the first game in Tallaght? Probably 50/60 got tickets that day. Happy that the Guards took pity and let us out first! Singing Build me up Buttercup to your PA trying to drown us out after a more recent 1 -0, is a clearer, more recent memory.
Do you actually believe any of Bradley`s two week delayed " revelations", banned for throwing chewing gum, ffs! spitting by stewards!!! If any steward spat at anyone I will be straight down to Mountjoy GS to report them and I would expect them to be charged with assault. I will just check first to see whether anything of the sort reported by the away team to the ref or fourth official or the copious FAI officials present on the day? , eh no , nothing.
Some of the behaviour that day, misogynistic chants, pitch invasion, which Bohs have been quite rightly sanctioned over, is bad enough without making stuff up a couple of weeks after the event.
Anyway, If Rovers are happy to lose €15 k in away fan gate money for the next game, or for every game, fair play to them. Bohs will fill Dalymount on their own anyway
So are you calling Bradley a liar ? Assume like that Sinn Fein td who cowardly hid behind Dail privilage to make a unsubstantiated claim against Simon Harris you’ll do the same…. Albeit no legal privilege applies here so be careful how you reply
Ps I hope both clubs allow away supporters into future games… not doing so takes away from the atmosphere and as you say hits the pocket
sbgawa
17/09/2021, 7:23 PM
Actually i wasnt talking about Bradsers comments just the abuse of Mandroiu and his partner , the pitch invasion of the eejit with the stick and the general abuse/stuff thrown at players both verbal abuse and actual stuff thrown at players and officials in attendance.
I know two of the Rovers officials that were there and they wouldnt be shrinking violets but they said the differentiation between stewards and fans was hard to see and it was an intimidating experience, that's just not right.
If Bradser says he was spat at i believe him but without video evidence he shouldnt have brought it up as its too easy to deny and just say bad loser.
sbgawa
17/09/2021, 7:35 PM
wrong thread
17/09/2021, 10:42 PM
Tbf McGinlay threw a punch toward someone so the intent was the same. Ban hars none the less and still can’t see any reaaon for Thompson even being red carded never mind a 3 game ban on top.
Threw a punch towards who?
No idea, watch the footage widely circulated on twitter he swings from the ground up at a Derry player.
As I have said multiple times to me it’s a booking and a “wise up” but if comparing like for like he clearly swings a punch.
Thomson I can’t even see a cardable offence at all, it’s basically carding for the sake of carding because he was involved. McGinlay a booking and a quick word.
Tomas
18/09/2021, 10:27 AM
Sligo picking up a bit of form recently. Going to be a dificult journey from Tallaght to the west. Home win will make the league very interesting. 3/1 on Sligo Rovers to win, you gotta take it.
As an asside, last night Martin Škrtel played his first game after a year suffering with torn achilles. At 36, he still looks a player. Working so hard to get back ("I dont want to finish my career on crutches") he put in a masterclass for Spartak Trnava in 2:0 win over Sereď. Spartak now on top of the league above Slovan Bratislava. If not for possible covid restrictions, I´d reccomend a trip to Bratislava to watch the biggest slovakian derby Slovan v Trnava in 4 weeks time.
redarmyfaction
18/09/2021, 1:20 PM
Sligo picking up a bit of form recently. Going to be a dificult journey from Tallaght to the west. Home win will make the league very interesting. 3/1 on Sligo Rovers to win, you gotta take it.
As an asside, last night Martin Škrtel played his first game after a year suffering with torn achilles. At 36, he still looks a player. Working so hard to get back ("I dont want to finish my career on crutches") he put in a masterclass for Spartak Trnava in 2:0 win over Sereď. Spartak now on top of the league above Slovan Bratislava. If not for possible covid restrictions, I´d reccomend a trip to Bratislava to watch the biggest slovakian derby Slovan v Trnava in 4 weeks time.
Bratislava is a great town, really friendly people if you are not on a stag, had my fav breakfast of all time in Trnava which due to language difficulties consisted of half a chicken, two beers and a loaf of bread.
18/09/2021, 1:57 PM
Bratislava is a great town, really friendly people if you are not on a stag, had my fav breakfast of all time in Trnava which due to language difficulties consisted of half a chicken, two beers and a loaf of bread.
Pure curiosity what were actually trying to order, Cornflakes? Bit of a surprise id say.
Dalymountrower
18/09/2021, 2:45 PM
[QUOTE=Calcio Jack;2089023]So are you calling Bradley a liar ? Assume like that Sinn Fein td who cowardly hid behind Dail privilage to make a unsubstantiated claim against Simon Harris you’ll do the same…. Albeit no legal privilege applies here so be careful how you reply
/QUOTE]
The unsubstantiated claims have been made by Bradley, no? Doubt he will be repeating those allegations again.
I am simply saying that he lied about those allegations, which he made two weeks after the event.He certainly knows his audience , if you and others believe that it happened and that he did not react on the day, or report it on the day.
The other valid complaints by Rovers referred to by Sbgawa in this thread were completely out of order on Bohs part.
Calcio Jack
18/09/2021, 4:14 PM
[QUOTE=Calcio Jack;2089023]So are you calling Bradley a liar ? Assume like that Sinn Fein td who cowardly hid behind Dail privilage to make a unsubstantiated claim against Simon Harris you’ll do the same…. Albeit no legal privilege applies here so be careful how you reply
/QUOTE]
The unsubstantiated claims have been made by Bradley, no? Doubt he will be repeating those allegations again.
I am simply saying that he lied about those allegations, which he made two weeks after the event.He certainly knows his audience , if you and others believe that it happened and that he did not react on the day, or report it on the day.
The other valid complaints by Rovers referred to by Sbgawa in this thread were completely out of order on Bohs part.
So question answered and you’ve confirmed that you are accusing Bradley of lying
For what’s it’s worth I don’t know whether the spitting occurred - however on the day during the LoiTv commentary the commentators made reference during the first half and also at HT to the Rovers bench having issues with the stewards so something untoward happened
Dalymountrower
18/09/2021, 7:41 PM
[QUOTE=Dalymountrower;2089115]
So question answered and you’ve confirmed that you are accusing Bradley of lying
For what’s it’s worth I don’t know whether the spitting occurred - however on the day during the LoiTv commentary the commentators made reference during the first half and also at HT to the Rovers bench having issues with the stewards so something untoward happened
Listen CJ , if that happened as Bradley blurted out a fortnight later , he would have been fully justified in decking the steward. I
know that there was a contretemps between Bradley/ Cronin and the ball boys which required the stewards to intervene, that was all the talk after the game, but no reference to any spitting allegation.
Anyway, no need to add here to some of the poisonous stuff at the moment between the two clubs, this forum is a model of decorum in comparison.
Calcio Jack
18/09/2021, 7:49 PM
[QUOTE=Calcio Jack;2089118]
Listen CJ , if that happened as Bradley blurted out a fortnight later , he would have been fully justified in decking the steward. I
know that there was a contretemps between Bradley/ Cronin and the ball boys which required the stewards to intervene, that was all the talk after the game, but no reference to any spitting allegation.
Anyway, no need to add here to some of the poisonous stuff at the moment between the two clubs, this forum is a model of decorum in comparison.
Fair enough … tbh my own view is that be it Bradley, Long, Horgan or any other manager I don’t believe any of them would make up such a thing …. We’re all rivals etc but by and large my experience of watching the league for over 50 years is that 99% of those associated with it are decent hard working professionals
placid casual
18/09/2021, 8:16 PM
Rovers playing well and deserve to lead, but playing with 10 men & towell could cost us in the end of this game.
Joey Ndo is highly entertaining, and very knowledgeable, as you'd expect.
Calcio Jack
18/09/2021, 8:43 PM
Great win should of been at least 3-0 - Rory Gaffney was motm - as N’Do put it “… he’s playing like it’s personal …” such was his desire and effort
sbgawa
18/09/2021, 8:44 PM
Great win for rovers.
Follow this up with a win in in hicore next week and even a confirmed worrier like myself will start to relax
placid casual
18/09/2021, 8:46 PM
Yep, great win in the end, tho they had to dig it out the last 10 mins. our conversion rate from chances is not where it should be , but we had control in the 1st half , and defended stoutly in the 2nd.
I'm assuming burkey is injured, as he was not even on the bench.
onto inchicore next week , and put the title to bed for another season
Calcio Jack
18/09/2021, 8:51 PM
Yep, great win in the end, tho they had to dig it out the last 10 mins. our conversion rate from chances is not where it should be , but we had control in the 1st half , and defended stoutly in the 2nd.
I'm assuming burkey is injured, as he was not even on the bench.
onto inchicore next week , and put the title to bed for another season
In fairness missing Burke and Greene reduced our finishing power - granted your mate Towell should of scored at least one
Tomas
19/09/2021, 12:58 AM
Huge win for Shamrock Rovers. Very close to take the league now.
D24Saint
19/09/2021, 8:33 AM
Huge win for Shamrock Rovers. Very close to take the league now.
Yeah they are close now. We would have to beat them next week to keep any slim chance alive. A defeat for us or a draw and it’s champagne time for Rovers.
PartySaint
19/09/2021, 2:01 PM
Yeah they are close now. We would have to beat them next week to keep any slim chance alive. A defeat for us or a draw and it’s champagne time for Rovers.
Even a win on Friday won’t make a difference, they’ll be 3 clear with a game in hand, they won’t drop enough points and we won’t get enough to overturn that. The result last night done us a favour, a Sligo win and we could have been struggling to hold onto second, should be ok now. It’s all about the cup from here on in.
placid casual
19/09/2021, 7:19 PM
You'd have to assume that's not the mindset of the pats dressingroom unset SOD giving up on the title just yet.
It's that very inferiority mindset that mountney outlined to the rest of the pats squad, about how they were perceived by the main teams in the league, in the last number of years anyway.
sbgawa
19/09/2021, 7:24 PM
How can you give up on a title if you are only 3 points behind....our game in hand is against Bohs btw.
I couldnt imagine giving up if the situation was reversed.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/09/2021, 8:16 PM
Gaffney was super last night. Toughest game Mahon and Buckley have had all season. Huffed and puffed a bit in the second half without creating a huge pile. Still having problems creating chances. Great atmosphere there last night.
sbgawa
19/09/2021, 9:19 PM
Gaffney was super last night. Toughest game Mahon and Buckley have had all season. Huffed and puffed a bit in the second half without creating a huge pile. Still having problems creating chances. Great atmosphere there last night.
Gaffney would be my player of the season if i was voting now
Calcio Jack
19/09/2021, 9:38 PM
Agree doesn’t always get the recognition he deserves but from the off he’s been brilliant and last night was one of the best displays I’ve seen in a long time- not a big guy but has a fantastic ability to play with his back to goal win most balls played into him and then orchestrate the play- plus his finishing is top drawer
Bucket
19/09/2021, 9:39 PM
Is Gaffney under contract for next year? Would love to see him come home and play for Utd before he retires. A superb footballer
PartySaint
19/09/2021, 10:08 PM
How can you give up on a title if you are only 3 points behind....our game in hand is against Bohs btw.
I couldnt imagine giving up if the situation was reversed.
If you believe you’re going to throw the title away from this position you definitely would be giving up on any hopes of the title if the tables were turned.
He was absolutely brilliant when coming on as a half time sub in the 2-4 game in the Brandywell. Destroyed Derry.
sbgawa
19/09/2021, 10:43 PM
If you believe you’re going to throw the title away from this position you definitely would be giving up on any hopes of the title if the tables were turned.
I don't think we are going to throw it away (if you could call 3 points clear with 9 games to go a "throw away" plus a game in hand against bohs) but equally i wouldn't quit if we were 3 points behind. Mountney was right about the spirit in Pats.
I think SOD has changed the dressing room , the support needs to follow suit
PartySaint
19/09/2021, 11:31 PM
I don't think we are going to throw it away (if you could call 3 points clear with 9 games to go a "throw away" plus a game in hand against bohs) but equally i wouldn't quit if we were 3 points behind. Mountney was right about the spirit in Pats.
I think SOD has changed the dressing room , the support needs to follow suit
You’re 6 clear and with a game in hand.
ontheotherhand
20/09/2021, 1:05 AM
If Rovers keep up the same level they hit in Sligo, against Waterford and against Pats, Dundalk and Derry pre Europe then the league is over. If they play like they did outside those games then Pats and even Sligo have every chance of catching up.
Gaffney is quality. Towell makes us a lot better when he stops obsessing about scoring and puts in a proper midfielder's shift. Cotter looks like a very able replacement for Scales and the team generally looks like it is driving to the title. Europe and the cup may have been a distraction for what was a team in a small transition.
Great game in Sligo. Tackles flying in and some lovely passages of play too. Joey Ndo enjoyed every minute and I enjoyed every minute of Joey Ndo. Mahon is a real talent.
sbgawa
20/09/2021, 7:52 AM
You’re 6 clear and with a game in hand.
I was responding to your post to D24 Saint that even a win on Saturday wouldn't make any difference.
If you win you are 3 points behind and we have a game in hand against Bohs.
If you think that is an unassailable position or one we would have to throw away with a full round of fixtures to go Mountney was right about Pats being soft.
Its a comfortable place to put yourself "ah sure we;ve no chance"
Hopefully we make it irrelevant by going to inchicore and winning.
2 Year Contract
20/09/2021, 9:14 AM
I was responding to your post to D24 Saint that even a win on Saturday wouldn't make any difference.
If you win you are 3 points behind and we have a game in hand against Bohs.
If you think that is an unassailable position or one we would have to throw away with a full round of fixtures to go Mountney was right about Pats being soft.
Its a comfortable place to put yourself "ah sure we;ve no chance"
Hopefully we make it irrelevant by going to inchicore and winning.
You’re aware that Mountney was talking about the pats teams of the past number of years and D24 Saint was to the best of my knowledge not playing for pats in the last few years…
sbgawa
20/09/2021, 10:04 AM
You’re aware that Mountney was talking about the pats teams of the past number of years and D24 Saint was to the best of my knowledge not playing for pats in the last few years…
I'm not sure what you are saying here.
I was pointing out to Party Saint that we would be 3 points ahead with a game in hand if Pats beat us.
It was this scenario that he said wouldn't make any difference while D24 Saint said they would still have a chance (slim in his words) with a win.
Equally I'm not sure what your point is about D24 Saint not playing for Pats or Mountney referring to previous PAts teams, i specifically said SOD has changed the dressing room and the support need to follow and not be looking for the easy way out "ah sure we've no chance"
The match on Friday will be a huge one
2 Year Contract
20/09/2021, 10:46 AM
I'm not sure what you are saying here.
I was pointing out to Party Saint that we would be 3 points ahead with a game in hand if Pats beat us.
It was this scenario that he said wouldn't make any difference while D24 Saint said they would still have a chance (slim in his words) with a win.
Equally I'm not sure what your point is about D24 Saint not playing for Pats or Mountney referring to previous PAts teams, i specifically said SOD has changed the dressing room and the support need to follow and not be looking for the easy way out "ah sure we've no chance"
The match on Friday will be a huge one
Yes I agree that if pats win on Friday they’re still right in the title race.
Whether every single pats fan believes we'll win the league this year or not is irrelevant to whether the players actually win it or not. Regardless of if fans 'believe' we'll win it or not, the players will receive the full backing of the fans in every game either way. Winning is done on the pitch and you’re putting far to much emphasis on the 'belief' of fans playing a role in success.
What exactly is this the 'easy way out' of? The difference between Pats and rovers this year is, there’s no pressure on pats to win the title. By all accounts at the start of the season nobody would’ve had pats down to be where they are now given the very small squad. There'll be no uproar in Inchicore if we finish second or third as its clear the current squad are overachieving. Hopefully Europe at the minimum will be secured and then more squad depth and quality can be added next year so we don’t have to for example, make do with makeshift defences for large parts of the season. Depending on those additions you might see a lot more belief early on about winning a league but it’s still very very early to be looking that far ahead
sbgawa
20/09/2021, 11:00 AM
Yes I agree that if pats win on Friday they’re still right in the title race.
Whether every single pats fan believes we'll win the league this year or not is irrelevant to whether the players actually win it or not. Regardless of if fans 'believe' we'll win it or not, the players will receive the full backing of the fans in every game either way. Winning is done on the pitch and you’re putting far to much emphasis on the 'belief' of fans playing a role in success.
What exactly is this the 'easy way out' of? The difference between Pats and rovers this year is, there’s no pressure on pats to win the title. By all accounts at the start of the season nobody would’ve had pats down to be where they are now given the very small squad. There'll be no uproar in Inchicore if we finish second or third as its clear the current squad are overachieving. Hopefully Europe at the minimum will be secured and then more squad depth and quality can be added next year so we don’t have to for example, make do with makeshift defences for large parts of the season. Depending on those additions you might see a lot more belief early on about winning a league but it’s still very very early to be looking that far ahead
I dont think fans belief has any significant role i just thought it odd that a Pats fan off the (theoretical defeat of Rovers on Friday) would see the title as over.
The easy way out part was just my way of saying that when fans (as opposed to teams) say we have no chance the league is over it is taking the easy way out / deflecting as if they win the league then its great but if they don't its a case of "well i said it was all over".
I agree Pats have been a surprise this year and a year further of SOD plus European money will improve them further.
Rovers will improve also i believe without the kick this year (hopefully anyway) of losing our two best players (byrne and McEneff) but instead adding a few.
Rovers points haul this year has been relatively poor off the back of two mini injury crises and with Derry the new Man City and other clubs developing i think we will need to strengthen to win the league next year. Scales is already a loss but hopefully Kavanagh can get himself fit
2 Year Contract
20/09/2021, 11:35 AM
I see Farrugia came on against Sligo, would he not be seen as the more likely replacement for Scales? Although having said that his injury record isn’t much better than Kavanagh's
sbgawa
20/09/2021, 12:44 PM
yes to both i'm afraid.
Farrugia was brought in as a winger to convert into a wingback and hasn't really had a chance.
Kavanagh is the finished article.....just to be clear i mean finished article as in he is a brilliant left wingback, Farrugia has to learn the role
placid casual
20/09/2021, 1:57 PM
To me Kavanagh is finished as an article. But harsh I know, but it looks that way to me all season.
Hopefully Farrugia can sty fit and fulfil his massive potential.
We badly need some pace in this slow, plodding team, and it's something I hope the Rovers management team are looking at.
Barry Cotter has been a revelation in the few games he's played in-delighted we knicked him off dundalk.
ontheotherhand
20/09/2021, 4:09 PM
To me Kavanagh is finished as an article. But harsh I know, but it looks that way to me all season.
Hopefully Farrugia can sty fit and fulfil his massive potential.
We badly need some pace in this slow, plodding team, and it's something I hope the Rovers management team are looking at.
Barry Cotter has been a revelation in the few games he's played in-delighted we knicked him off dundalk.
Sadly I agree with you there. Kavanagh looked like he could be a standout player in the league when he arrived but the injuries have taken their toll and even when fit this season he looked slower and less assured of himself. I hope I'm wrong but I think he's in the same boat as Joey and likely done at this level. If Farrugia has sorted out his hamstring issues and we have Cotter as an option at LWB we are in OK shape there until the end of the season. As you say, Cotter has been fantastic.
20/09/2021, 7:56 PM
Is Gaffney under contract for next year? Would love to see him come home and play for Utd before he retires. A superb footballer
Had forgotten completely that RG was with ye. How long ago was that Bucket?
2 Year Contract
20/09/2021, 8:25 PM
Just stuck on the Bohs Derry game at 1-1. That second derry goal was an absolutely fantastic goal. Brilliant defending followed by a flowing attacking move, a better move than any Champions League game I watched last week
21/09/2021, 6:08 AM
Had forgotten completely that RG was with ye. How long ago was that Bucket?
He played with Mervue rather than Galway IIRC. Then came to Limerick and went to England from there.
Bucket
21/09/2021, 2:12 PM
Ya that's right Sadloserkid. He was with Tuam Celtic before Mervue