View Full Version : Games Friday 10th to Saturday 18th September

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

13/09/2021, 11:16 PM
We gave it a go after we scored but we poor for most of it,rested 4 starters and it showed ,but hopefully we’ll be better for yourselves !!

Brazenly bragging about the excessive luxury of yer squad, just not nice joey... Football snobbery!

joey B
13/09/2021, 11:31 PM
Brazenly bragging about the excessive luxury of yer squad, just not nice joey... Football snobbery!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BfJ2sgCIEAAwzSv.jpg

13/09/2021, 11:51 PM
James Talbot probably man of the match tonight. Four or five big saves for Bohs. Doherty was probably the quieter of the two keepers.

Harps had a very poor first half but much better second half.

Of course, another refereeing masterclass tonight.

Great credit to the Bohs fans for roaring abuse at Harps players while Johnny Dunleavy was taken away by ambulance with a serious injury too. (Completely unrelated to previous injuries)

Dalymountrower
14/09/2021, 7:09 AM
James Talbot probably man of the match tonight. Four or five big saves for Bohs. Doherty was probably the quieter of the two keepers.

Harps had a very poor first half but much better second half.

Of course, another refereeing masterclass tonight.

Great credit to the Bohs fans for roaring abuse at Harps players while Johnny Dunleavy was taken away by ambulance with a serious injury too. (Completely unrelated to previous injuries)

I think your commentary team, who were very good, had a more accurate analysis of the game.
Unfortunately Nigel we have a group of knuckledraggers who are a disgrace home and away. Related I think to some Harps players prior links with Rovers, pathetic.
Hopefully requirements for a covid cert for entry to Dalymount for the rest of the season will thin their ranks a little.

sbgawa
14/09/2021, 7:47 AM
I think your commentary team, who were very good, had a more accurate analysis of the game.
Unfortunately Nigel we have a group of knuckledraggers who are a disgrace home and away. Related I think to some Harps players prior links with Rovers, pathetic.
Hopefully requirements for a covid cert for entry to Dalymount for the rest of the season will thin their ranks a little.

I didnt realise Bohs had gone for the 75% capacity with covid cert option.
I have a hat ready to eat if they actually go to the bother of scanning certs and checking id's on the way in.

Sympathies on the knuckle draggers we have our own who make you cringe

Dalymountrower
14/09/2021, 7:57 AM
I didnt realise Bohs had gone for the 75% capacity with covid cert option.
I have a hat ready to eat if they actually go to the bother of scanning certs and checking id's on the way in.

Sympathies on the knuckle draggers we have our own who make you cringe

AGM decision last week.
They will be in trouble if they dont check certs, so I would suspect that you will be dining on Hombug soon enough.

Calcio Jack
14/09/2021, 7:58 AM

I wasn’t aware aware that the Bohs match day stewards are now travelling to away matches

mcgonigle
14/09/2021, 8:05 AM
We gave it a go after we scored but we poor for most of it,rested 4 starters and it showed ,but hopefully we’ll be better for yourselves ��!!

You won't have to be

sbgawa
14/09/2021, 8:54 AM
AGM decision last week.
They will be in trouble if they dont check certs, so I would suspect that you will be dining on Hombug soon enough.

Glancing at a cert on a phone is not the same as checking is the cert legit and belonging to the person showing it to you.
Fair play to them if they do but i will wait to see an announcement from Bohs to bring Photo ID before i start salting the hat;)

14/09/2021, 9:06 AM
I think it was one of the big reasons why Holland had to go back on the lifting of restrictions in July - people were going to clubs and so on with any aul covid cert even if they weren't vaccinated, and of course they got infected, and cases went through the roof again.

Northsider
14/09/2021, 9:08 AM
Bohs should have been out of sight but got rattled when Harps pulled one back.A Devoy header off the line at 93 mins saved the three points.Entertaining game, hopefully none of the three injuries are too serious.

Great to leave with the 3 points, should have put the game to bed long before Harps scored. Hanging on for dear life at the end, and thought that effort was over the line at the end, but fair play to Devoy for saving the day.

14/09/2021, 9:58 AM
Glancing at a cert on a phone is not the same as checking is the cert legit and belonging to the person showing it to you.
Fair play to them if they do but i will wait to see an announcement from Bohs to bring Photo ID before i start salting the hat;)

There'll be some bit of hassle at every ground either way with the 75% option unless people have get to grounds very early and be patient with the queues. It'll be a glance for 'valid' vaccine certs, maybe with random spot checks with I.D. At this stage it's more about reducing the risk to ones self, if infected, by being vaccinated. It's inevitable that there will be covid contacts mixing in the crowds but if someone wants to take the risk unvaccinated its on themselves if they end up very ill. The risk before was that too many would take a chance but we're past that now.

sbgawa
14/09/2021, 10:16 AM
There'll be some bit of hassle at every ground either way with the 75% option unless people have get to grounds very early and be patient with the queues. It'll be a glance for 'valid' vaccine certs, maybe with random spot checks with I.D. At this stage it's more about reducing the risk to ones self, if infected, by being vaccinated. It's inevitable that there will be covid contacts mixing in the crowds but if someone wants to take the risk unvaccinated its on themselves if they end up very ill. The risk before was that too many would take a chance but we're past that now.

The low IQ anti vaxxers don't believe they or others are at risk.
Although as Dalymountrower said the requirement to show a cert (if administered properly) should reduce the knuckle draggers from every club so its a net positive

14/09/2021, 11:40 AM
The low IQ anti vaxxers don't believe they or others are at risk.
Although as Dalymountrower said the requirement to show a cert (if administered properly) should reduce the knuckle draggers from every club so its a net positive

Maybe Charlie Darwin has some thoughts on the matter - splitting hairs but I'm not sure they dont believe there is a risk as much as they dont care, same end result and agreed it could thin out a few of the embaressment to clubs though if stopped at a game they will just go and get vaccinated so double edged sword there.

Ollie Horgan's contribution to the LoI referee debate after the Bohs game was fair, his final comment gave a chuckle "Tonight's crew? They're not the worst, I'll put it that way to you." From Ollie that seems like high praise even after the criticism of the lino lol. The 'when you are up there those decisions go your way...' comment was also a good one with Bohs a point above before the game.

Northsider
14/09/2021, 11:59 AM
The ref let Harps take this throw in again, you wouldn't see it down the park at my son's under 12 game. The standard of the refs is shockingly low, something really needs to be done about it.

https://media.giphy.com/media/ptD5iU7NLczTZQ7vE5/giphy.gif

14/09/2021, 12:29 PM
The ref allowed Georgie Kelly to try and elbow the ball into his own net.

Northsider
14/09/2021, 12:49 PM
The ref allowed Georgie Kelly to try and elbow the ball into his own net.

An absolute melee in there Nigel, totally inconclusive.

14/09/2021, 1:00 PM
I agree that its inconclusive. Harps player arriving late looking like he was leading with the arm too and its not clear which diverted the ball goalward.

sbgawa
14/09/2021, 1:24 PM
Clear and obvious handball, penalty to Harps. :D

And it was definitely inside the box

14/09/2021, 2:14 PM
We need the (former) resident Rovers foul forensic expert to drop in and analyise player shadows and the like - Im sure he would be totally impartial!

2 Year Contract
14/09/2021, 7:07 PM
Dundalk score a great team goal at one end and follow it up by conceding a soft goal from a corner instantly

joey B
14/09/2021, 7:59 PM
Howler from Dundalks keeper again....

sbgawa
14/09/2021, 8:00 PM
The Dundalk players with their hands on their heads said it all

2 Year Contract
14/09/2021, 8:01 PM
Goalkeeping error #1246 this season from a Dundalk keeper. I admittedly haven’t watched every Dundalk game this season but I actually can’t remember the last game of theirs I’ve watched that their keeper hasn’t given up a stupid goal

Yossarian
14/09/2021, 8:03 PM
Goalkeeping error #1246 this season from a Dundalk keeper. I admittedly haven’t watched every Dundalk game this season but I actually can’t remember the last game of theirs I’ve watched that their keeper hasn’t given up a stupid goal

I’ve seen all our games this season and I can’t remember either.

sbgawa
14/09/2021, 8:48 PM
When you consider Abibi is probably on what Talbot and McGinty are on together its criminal whoever signed abibi for Dundalk.
Murphy at Waterford?

14/09/2021, 9:27 PM
Odumosu also, could have had a hefty jump in wages and formerly with Dundalk U19s, a keeper doing some of the basics well would be enough to have us out of this mess. Players looked spent last 15mins though whether that was throwing in the towel or tired due to lack of rotation options? Conceding after scoring has also been a common issue also but it has to be soul destroying knowing that any effort has a high risk of being undone. Some decent stuff attacking at times but calamitous at the back. Never fear though as the analytic gurus will save us https://www.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/former-dundalk-fc-chairman-mike-treacy-returns-to-club-as-consultant-40848208.html

mcgonigle
14/09/2021, 10:00 PM
Ah lads stop now, we have to focus on the positives

https://m.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/dundalk-chairman-bill-hulsizer-asks-fans-to-stop-looking-at-the-negatives-40848223.html

14/09/2021, 10:11 PM
Oh yes the soccer god argument obviously. Id be worried about anyone throwing out their hip walking never mind a footballer thats costing about 250k:confused: Also who is it thats from the Congo and how much is he costing?

15/09/2021, 6:46 AM
This guy isn't far off Tommy No Bobs for quality of bull****!

They also had a better goalie. Do you not think we’re trying to improve our goalie? We’ve already hired one.
You "hired" the two crap ones too. And where was Yates yesterday anyway? (Should I point out that there's a decent keeper with European experience playing for Laois GAA at the moment? A bit of forward planning and ye could be giving out about mid table instead :p)

I think all in all we’re still in the FAI Cup and we’re mathematically not eliminated from finishing third
Ha!

Did we get the best value? The season is not over so we don’t know although the season may be over for some and in those cases we definitely didn’t get the best value but there’s nothing we can do about that. That’s just luck.”
No, that's incompetent scouting and exactly what you had a Director of Football in place for, you flute. Oh, he left, did he? I wonder why that was?

Whatever about Dundalk fans, the rest of us will miss Wild Bill when he's gone

Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/09/2021, 7:28 AM
Odumosu also, could have had a hefty jump in wages and formerly with Dundalk U19s, a keeper doing some of the basics well would be enough to have us out of this mess. Players looked spent last 15mins though whether that was throwing in the towel or tired due to lack of rotation options? Conceding after scoring has also been a common issue also but it has to be soul destroying knowing that any effort has a high risk of being undone. Some decent stuff attacking at times but calamitous at the back. Never fear though as the analytic gurus will save us https://www.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/former-dundalk-fc-chairman-mike-treacy-returns-to-club-as-consultant-40848208.html

Fully deserved to go ahead but thought we controlled it pretty much after that. You’d nearly feel sorry for Hoban. He put in a hell of a shift.

From our side great to have McCourt and Bolger back in the last few games but Saturday is going to be very tough with Shams well rested but at least we’ll have caught with our fixture backlog and hopefully all the games Bohs have to catch up will play against them.

sbgawa
15/09/2021, 8:13 AM
All the wild Bill stuff is delusional on his part but he doesnt even know the basics of motivating players.
Everyone knows the goalkeeping situation at Dundalk but as the Chairman you cant be saying "we are trying to improve it" as that is just telling Abibi the Chairman agrees you are crap. Solve the problem first.

Rovers will be rested for the game against Sligo on Saturday but 5 days should be enough for Sligo to recover from last night.
Its a big one for both clubs, chance for Rovers to go 6 clear with a game in hand over Pats which makes the Pats game one we dont have to win but they do.
Also a chance for Sligo with a win to drag themselves back into the title race if Pats were to beat us next week.
The right or wrong combination of results could have Rovers 9 clear with a game in hand or level on points with Pats (with a game in hand) and two ahead of Sligo. ...with Bohs 7 off the pace with 9 games to go..........i'll be happy with the 9 ahead with a game in hand :)

15/09/2021, 12:51 PM
This guy isn't far off Tommy No Bobs for quality of bull****!

You "hired" the two crap ones too. And where was Yates yesterday anyway? (Should I point out that there's a decent keeper with European experience playing for Laois GAA at the moment? A bit of forward planning and ye could be giving out about mid table instead :p)

Yates is injured! Eh yeah lol. and yeah I'm sure the keepers will be full of confidence reading that comment. VP cant be happy with it as how do you do anything with Abibi if needed. I suspected sticking with Abibi so much was Bill's influence and trying to justify the signing but feck knows. Will be very strange if he is still played ahead of Cherrie if Yates is still out. Anyway Dundalk FC is still providing some entertainment if not currently for the swashbuckling football of the last 7 or 8 years.

ontheotherhand
15/09/2021, 5:36 PM
Ah lads stop now, we have to focus on the positives

https://m.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/dundalk-chairman-bill-hulsizer-asks-fans-to-stop-looking-at-the-negatives-40848223.html

Is he seriously blaming the people of Dundalk for poor recruitment because they are not creating a welcoming enough environment for his "Operation Brand Expansion" signings?

“Do I think the people have helped these kids we’ve brought in? Absolutely not. Think about it, these are kids who picked up their families or walked away from their families, gone to a strange country in which there has been nothing allowed. That’s not their fault, it’s not our fault and it’s not the Government’s fault but instead of trying to support them we’re berating them in the street.

“That makes no sense to me but I don’t see things the same way.”

15/09/2021, 6:25 PM
A worthy effort Dundalk but he's no Pat O'Sullivan still.

Briuk
16/09/2021, 9:48 AM
Abibi's signing is one of the most bizarre signings ever. I can understand Zahibo, Jurkovskis, Nattestad, even the korean lad or the american kids, all of them have reasosn behind.

But Abibi? he is a guy with barely any experience, 8 games in Italian 3d tier, so not even a starter.
Two seasons in Albania, one in the second division!!! and the second one a mid table finish in the premier after promoting.
And prior to that a season in Eldense in Spain, a club where agents could pay for their players to play and moreover with several fixed games and hence scandals, specially known their game vs Barcelona B which finished 12-0. Where he only played 8 games and after the team was cleaned from the players that had previously fixed 5 matches.

sbgawa
16/09/2021, 9:54 AM
Abibi's signing is one of the most bizarre signings ever. I can understand Zahibo, Jurkovskis, Nattestad, even the korean lad or the american kids, all of them have reasosn behind.

But Abibi? he is a guy with barely any experience, 8 games in Italian 3d tier, so not even a starter.
Two seasons in Albania, one in the second division!!! and the second one a mid table finish in the premier after promoting.
And prior to that a season in Eldense in Spain, a club where agents could pay for their players to play and moreover with several fixed games and hence scandals, specially known their game vs Barcelona B which finished 12-0. Where he only played 8 games and after the team was cleaned from the players that had previously fixed 5 matches.

I'm sure the Agents story to wild Bill was a little different to this account.

placid casual
16/09/2021, 10:23 PM
Apologies for jumping ahead in the fixtures, but any pats fans on here be able to enlighten us why tickets for the upcoming Rovers game in inchicore are not on general sale, but the 2 following games for pats are?
Are pats gonna sell out a game, for a change, or is it a case of just turning up on the night to get a ticket?
Thanks in advance.

2 Year Contract
16/09/2021, 11:56 PM
Apologies for jumping ahead in the fixtures, but any pats fans on here be able to enlighten us why tickets for the upcoming Rovers game in inchicore are not on general sale, but the 2 following games for pats are?
Are pats gonna sell out a game, for a change, or is it a case of just turning up on the night to get a ticket?
Thanks in advance.

Yes the game will sell out and it’s not going to general sale until as late as possible (if at all) to prevent away fans from buying tickets in the home end

placid casual
17/09/2021, 7:02 AM
Cheers for the info 2 Yr.

Dalymountrower
17/09/2021, 7:28 AM
Cheers for the info 2 Yr.
Was told by a Pat's guy that decision taken not to have away fan allocation for the Pat's v Rovers fixture., though difficult to prevent away fans if tickets go on public sale?
Is the old away area , where the shed was, completely closed?

2 Year Contract
17/09/2021, 8:08 AM
Was told by a Pat's guy that decision taken not to have away fan allocation for the Pat's v Rovers fixture., though difficult to prevent away fans if tickets go on public sale?
Is the old away area , where the shed was, completely closed?

No, the shed end is used by pats fans since crowds have come back after Covid because, as in most grounds, some parts of the main stand is blocked off for substitutes, and club officials

Dalymountrower
17/09/2021, 8:18 AM
No, the shed end is used by pats fans since crowds have come back after Covid because, as in most grounds, some parts of the main stand is blocked off for substitutes, and club officials

Thanks.
I wonder if banning away fans from high cost heavily policed fixtures is going to be cheaper and less hassle, while there is any reduced capacity?

placid casual
17/09/2021, 1:43 PM
Well I certainly wouldn't count on bohs getting any tickets for the next game in Tallaght anyway,although nothing to do with Covid restrictions.

Dalymountrower
17/09/2021, 1:48 PM
Well I certainly wouldn't count on bohs getting any tickets for the next game in Tallaght anyway,although nothing to do with Covid restrictions.

Probably makes sense, you dont want to be outsung again in your home venue I suppose.

joey B
17/09/2021, 1:51 PM
Mark McGinley and Joe Thompson both hit with 3 games bans from the game last Friday,exceptionally harsh considering some of the 1 game bans handed out recently….

sbgawa
17/09/2021, 2:25 PM
Mark McGinley and Joe Thompson both hit with 3 games bans from the game last Friday,exceptionally harsh considering some of the 1 game bans handed out recently….

That is absolute BS. How on earth do the FAI give a one game ban to Kelly for punching someone and then 3 game bans to these lads
The BS appeals process is part of the problem these days as it appears to be random and unfair.

sbgawa
17/09/2021, 2:38 PM
Probably makes sense, you dont want to be outsung again in your home venue I suppose.

I seem to remember you guys slinking away quietly after being battered 2 -1 ;)
I would be amazed if Rovers allow any Bohs fans in for the next game in Tallaght after the way the team and officials were treated in Dalymount.
That will lead to retaliation in Dalymount so it could be a long time before that match has away fans

Dalymountrower
17/09/2021, 2:59 PM
I seem to remember you guys slinking away quietly after being battered 2 -1 ;)
I would be amazed if Rovers allow any Bohs fans in for the next game in Tallaght after the way the team and officials were treated in Dalymount.
That will lead to retaliation in Dalymount so it could be a long time before that match has away fans

You can`t be referring to our 2-1 win, Leahy 99th minute? Let me thumb through the distant history books, the first game in Tallaght? Probably 50/60 got tickets that day. Happy that the Guards took pity and let us out first! Singing Build me up Buttercup to your PA trying to drown us out after a more recent 1 -0, is a clearer, more recent memory.

Do you actually believe any of Bradley`s two week delayed " revelations", banned for throwing chewing gum, ffs! spitting by stewards!!! If any steward spat at anyone I will be straight down to Mountjoy GS to report them and I would expect them to be charged with assault. I will just check first to see whether anything of the sort reported by the away team to the ref or fourth official or the copious FAI officials present on the day? , eh no , nothing.

Some of the behaviour that day, misogynistic chants, pitch invasion, which Bohs have been quite rightly sanctioned over, is bad enough without making stuff up a couple of weeks after the event.

Anyway, If Rovers are happy to lose €15 k in away fan gate money for the next game, or for every game, fair play to them. Bohs will fill Dalymount on their own anyway

Asterix
17/09/2021, 4:22 PM
Well it was mentioned by the bohs commentators on the stream that something was happening in the first half with stewards behind the Rovers bench.