Pages :
[
6]
03/09/2021, 10:53 AM
game to be broadcast on RTE News and the RTE Player
MylesNotMiley
03/09/2021, 12:20 PM
RTE get a lot of criticism for their lack of soccer coverage, but fair dues to them for broadcasting this game live.
MylesNotMiley
03/09/2021, 1:56 PM
Starting line up.
03/09/2021, 2:10 PM
little disappointed with that starting XI, most of the players I wanted to start are on the bench
Lee O'Connor was starting for the senior team less than two years ago, now he's a sub for the U21s
03/09/2021, 2:12 PM
team named, theyve started with Wright wide right, and watson wide left with tierney just off Kayode.
---------------Maher,
Lyons, McEntee, jake O'Brien, Ferry,
------- Coventry, Kilkenny,
-------------- Tierney ---
----- Watson, ------------, Wright,
----------- ----- Kayode
03/09/2021, 2:16 PM
little disappointed with that starting XI, most of the players I wanted to start are on the bench
Lee O'Connor was starting for the senior team less than two years ago, now he's a sub for the U21s
Have you seen andy Lyons for Bohs this season? he's been outstanding, and fully deserves his start - without taking anything away from Lee O'Connor.
I was hoping to see Noss, Devoy and Johannson myself, but the alternative is that the bench is seriously strong, and I'd fully expect to see Evan Ferguson at the 60min mark.
Olé Olé
03/09/2021, 2:26 PM
Was excited to get a look at those lads you've referenced- Noss, Devoy, Johansson and Ferguson- so disappointing to see none of them start. Garcia-McNulty and Moran would have been nice to see but that's a stretch. Surprised Johansson and Devoy are not in there. If, however, it is Coventry and Kilkenny at the base of midfield then I can understand that choice a little.
03/09/2021, 2:30 PM
I'm going down to Dudelange on Tuesday to watch them, so maybe I'll get that privilege :o
03/09/2021, 2:51 PM
15 min in, bosnia almost score from corner. Kayode being ridden rock solid by the ref.
McEntee doesn't look comfortable, nor Ferry. game scrappy with Coventry and Kilkenny yet to get their foot on the ball in a meaningful manner.
03/09/2021, 2:57 PM
Pitch not doing either team any favours, very bobbly. Good to see an Irish team looking to control the game away to what would be traditionally considered a more "technical" nation. Kayode has been fairly poor.
03/09/2021, 3:19 PM
Have you seen andy Lyons for Bohs this season? he's been outstanding, and fully deserves his start - without taking anything away from Lee O'Connor.
I was hoping to see Noss, Devoy and Johannson myself, but the alternative is that the bench is seriously strong, and I'd fully expect to see Evan Ferguson at the 60min mark.
A few times, yeah, Lyons was one of the players I wanted to see. scored a cracking goal last weekend.
Was making a general point about the direction O'Connor's career has taken, nothing to do with Lyons starting ahead of him
03/09/2021, 3:24 PM
HT 0-0. We've been on top. Not sure we could say we've been better, maybe better to say we've been less shít. Bright spots are Kilkenny, Coventry, Wright (ish) and competence from Tierney and Lyons.
Ferry has been poor, McEntee poor, and Kayode isn't good enough at this level on this showing.
Jake O'Brien is curious. He looks very comfortable on the ball, and is eager through the field. He's not quick though, and a bit ponderous. Himself and McGuinness would be a big pairing.
Haven't really seen Watson involved. Pitch is rubbish as PI states. I'd expect to see Ferguson on - and will be a good test - their two cb's have been clever with Kayode.
You'd think we could do with Moran playing off Ferguson, but part of me would like to see devoy on at HT.
03/09/2021, 3:26 PM
A few times, yeah, Lyons was one of the players I wanted to see. scored a cracking goal last weekend.
Was making a general point about the direction O'Connor's career has taken, nothing to do with Lyons starting ahead of him
Conscious of that, and it's a valid point. And it's fair to say, that even if O'Connor's career progress had slowed, playing regular football at a relatively ok level would have ensured he would start. He's a tidy player.
03/09/2021, 3:39 PM
OBrien misses a great choice very soon after Bosnia butcher a great ball through over the top mostly thanks to the bad bounce from the crappy pitch.
03/09/2021, 3:40 PM
Penalty to Ireland, kayode fouled from a blunder from the keeper from kilkenny's free kick.
0-1 - Wright scores with a great penalty.
Free-kick was awarded after Tierney broke clear towards the Bosnian box and was clearly fouled on the edge. Nice free from Kilkenny on the less obvious side, keeper spills the shot around shin-high, and kayode follows up and is clearly fouled.
Ireland are really struggling on their left hand side with Ferry and Watson.
03/09/2021, 3:43 PM
Great penalty from Wright after Kayode was fouled in the box. Pointless penalty to give away too, Kayode was heading away from goal when he was tackled
elatedscum
03/09/2021, 3:43 PM
My battery died just as we lined up the freekick. Probably took 60 seconds and it was 1-0... Bosnia havent really created much
The Fly
03/09/2021, 4:03 PM
2-0. Conor Coventry scores from a well worked corner.
DeLorean
03/09/2021, 4:03 PM
Alan Cawley must have been an amazing player, because he's one critical gobsh!te.
Olé Olé
03/09/2021, 4:04 PM
Coventry makes it 2-0. There was an interview in the 42 today with him and he highlighted that he was attracted to Peterborough because Darren Ferguson told him he could add goals to his game and he was so impressed that the manager had independently formed that view, once which he concurred with and had been working on improving. His goal was a nice one. Corner from Kilkenny to Wright at the near post who knocks it onto an oncoming Coventry who makes a great late run and doesn't get a great connection but directs it where the keeper hadn't a hope.
EDIT: It was Watson I think that knocked it onto Coventry. Thought it was Wright.
Olé Olé
03/09/2021, 4:07 PM
Alan Cawley must have been an amazing player, because he's one critical gobsh!te.
He is in fairness.
He has, however, identified Gavin Kilkenny as a player having a good game. Which he is. I think this shows the benefit of him staying with the 21s. Not enough senior football under his belt so let him get a game here in the new role and see how he fares. Kenny will be willing to pull the trigger after this.
He looks so much better than he did during the friendlies in an advanced role. Great to see.
03/09/2021, 4:21 PM
Ferguson on for the closing stages. Interesting stat from the commentary team that the last 16 year old to play U21 football for Ireland was Terry Dixon.
Olé Olé
03/09/2021, 4:25 PM
Ferguson on for the closing stages. Interesting stat from the commentary team that the last 16 year old to play U21 football for Ireland was Terry Dixon.
My first time seeing him in a while. He's an intriguing proposition. Looks to be physically matured at 16 and can use it really well. Did some nice work with his back to goal. I'm excited to see more of him.
Definitely looks to have plenty about him. The Terry Dixon mention stopped me from getting too carried away though!
Razors left peg
03/09/2021, 4:50 PM
Definitely looks to have plenty about him. The Terry Dixon mention stopped me from getting too carried away though!
Dixon got destroyed by injuries unfortunately
03/09/2021, 9:51 PM
Second goal from today's game, well worked corner routine.
03/09/2021, 9:54 PM
Dixon got destroyed by injuries unfortunately
I saw him in what I think was his last appearance for Ireland, he came on for the U21s in Tallaght against Armenia.
Was carrying a few extra pounds but still managed to set up a goal.
His knee was in ribbons though. There was a post on YBIG from a friend of his saying he used to watch him training with the Spurs senior team, and tearing Ledley King apart.
What might have been .
liamoo11
04/09/2021, 7:48 AM
I saw him in what I think was his last appearance for Ireland, he came on for the U21s in Tallaght against Armenia.
Was carrying a few extra pounds but still managed to set up a goal.
His knee was in ribbons though. There was a post on YBIG from a friend of his saying he used to watch him training with the Spurs senior team, and tearing Ledley King apart.
What might have been .
Yeah he was a class player. I remember seeing him play for our under 16s maybe 17s and the 3 front players were Fagan from utd, Sheridan at celtic and himself. At the time it seemed like that one or two of that 3 would surely make a big impact at senior level
Olé Olé
04/09/2021, 7:58 AM
Yeah he was a class player. I remember seeing him play for our under 16s maybe 17s and the 3 front players were Fagan from utd, Sheridan at celtic and himself. At the time it seemed like that one or two of that 3 would surely make a big impact at senior level
Mad. You'd probably have said that Dixon and Fagan would have made it well before Sheridan? Yet he has carved out the only proper pro career of the three due to injuries for Dixon and Fagan.
liamoo11
04/09/2021, 8:21 AM
Mad. You'd probably have said that Dixon and Fagan would have made it well before Sheridan? Yet he has carved out the only proper pro career of the three due to injuries for Dixon and Fagan.
You know that's very true. I remember thinking Sheridan looked awkward . I think at that stage he was still in ireland but had signed for celtic and was waiting to go over. Fagan and Dixon were certainly the higher rated.
04/09/2021, 9:13 AM
Christy Fagan proved himself to be a decent footballer, albeit not a proper pro career ....
On the U21 game itself - good result, ok performance. No fan of Alan Cawley, but he called the game right imo. The players he "criticised" were all replaced. Ferry struggled at LB - the manner of the yellow card he received emphasised that. Watson had a couple of brief moments in the second half, but otherwise largely anonymous and play largely broke down with him when he did manage to get involved. Kayode's physicality is an asset but he made poor use of it.
On the plus side, Coventry and Kilkenny provided the anchor needed to win the game. And Ross Tierney caught the eye as well.
liamoo11
04/09/2021, 12:12 PM
Christy Fagan proved himself to be a decent footballer, albeit not a proper pro career ....
On the U21 game itself - good result, ok performance. No fan of Alan Cawley, but he called the game right imo. The players he "criticised" were all replaced. Ferry struggled at LB - the manner of the yellow card he received emphasised that. Watson had a couple of brief moments in the second half, but otherwise largely anonymous and play largely broke down with him when he did manage to get involved. Kayode's physicality is an asset but he made poor use of it.
On the plus side, Coventry and Kilkenny provided the anchor needed to win the game. And Ross Tierney caught the eye as well.
I missed this game are rte going to show all 21s games now?
elatedscum
04/09/2021, 2:51 PM
Never saw him play I don’t think but... I played against Cawley in a charity game about 3 years ago. He was playing alongside a few ex-internationals. Genuinely thought he must have been ex-GAA player, because their keeper was some famous GAA keeper. Anyway, he really didn’t look like someone who had played professionally at all, the touch everything. And he would have been about 36, so it’s not like he was ancient or anything.
Only worked out who he was after the game when he was talking about playing in Europe for an LOI side and I asked someone who it was. Seemed like a decent skin though.
pateen
05/09/2021, 4:10 PM
I missed this game are rte going to show all 21s games now?
Be great if they did but this is RTE
06/09/2021, 8:40 PM
The Faroese equaliser v France in an arctic monsoon was a comical sight to behold.
https://youtu.be/oxfFzQT2Ujc?t=186
Anyone know if the lux game is being broadcast anywhere?
DeLorean
07/09/2021, 2:17 PM
Doesn't appear to be. Scoreless after 16mins.
Full match from Friday here.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y45ExX8ucvQ
rough stream with a monotone beep as audio:
http://www.hesgoal.com/news/86334/Luxembourg_U21_vs_Ireland_U21.html
wright just missed a pen for us.
07/09/2021, 2:57 PM
Watching from the main stand here. Lux are awful. Pitch is worse than when Bohs played here and isn’t really suitable for running with the ball. Kilkenny and Coventry have dominated possession, but they’ve been hampered by the pitch to put moves together. Devoy came into it the last 10 mins. Ferguson has been pretty anonymous to be honest, but the hall hasn’t come anywhere near him really.
Bagan has been solid, but he’s very light.
Finn is out on the pitch at half time by the looks of it and has a squad number.
07/09/2021, 3:09 PM
Oh and it’s absolutely roasting here - 26 at least
elatedscum
07/09/2021, 3:18 PM
Did that stream die for anyone else? It’s like an watch a stream from 20 years ago
07/09/2021, 3:25 PM
Stream died but got it going again. Hard to make a lot out on the phone, but don't seem to be playing very well this half at least. Lucky to get away with a few cynical fouls to stop them breaking. One as a result of Kilkenny playing an awful pass into the middle.
07/09/2021, 3:32 PM
An absolute peach of a goal by Collie Whelan. We’ve really turned the screw second half
07/09/2021, 3:33 PM
Was wondering who that was. Looked a lovely well worked goal.
07/09/2021, 3:36 PM
These are a shower of *****. They’ve missed a sitter of their own
saw the goal too on the poor stream - i did wonder if the keeper could have done better as it didn't seem to be travelling that fast but hard to tell on the stream video.
07/09/2021, 3:40 PM
Go on Whelan!
UCD forwards back to rule Dudelange again :p
just gave away a pen with a clumsy and unnecessary challenge.
edit: maher went the wrong way, 1-1.
07/09/2021, 3:59 PM
That's a disappointing result. Looked to be a penalty shout every time the ball went into the box. Didn't look like a great performance in general, although I only had the second half dodgy phone stream and I was trying to work at the same time.
07/09/2021, 4:03 PM
Pretty blatant penalty, and no need for the player to be tackled that far from the goal.
Bosnia and Sweden currently drawing 1-1, with about 15 minutes remaining, which will be a good result for us if it stays that way