View Full Version : 2023 UEFA Under-21 Championship

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

ColourfulPeanut
26/03/2021, 3:50 PM
Goals are at 1:52:00. Second goal follows on immediately from the equaliser. Looks like the Welsh defender curled the ball around his keeper with a backpass. Pretty impressive actually.
I was told years ago to always aim a pass to your goalkeeper wide of the goals, for pretty much this reason.
Yeah you're always to taught to make your backpasses off-target so even if the keeper ballses it up, it's only ever a corner. Very funny error!

Impressive win today. Thought Noss was very good, wouldn't be against getting him involved for the Qatar game if possible.

Olé Olé
26/03/2021, 4:12 PM
Just watched the goals there. Tyreik Wright looks like he has grown a foot.

26/03/2021, 4:37 PM
Just watched the goals there. Tyreik Wright looks like he has grown a foot.
A foot high, and a foot wide.

Impressive win today. Thought Noss was very good, wouldn't be against getting him involved for the Qatar game if possible.

Agreed - himself, Watson and Connell really turned the screw in the 2nd half, while he did a lot of good work in the first half to actually make sure that we saw some of the ball when it came back to us.

Would agree with a lot of the above, apart from saying McGuinness is similar to Duffy, he is tall, great in the air, but also very good on the ball, he is on loan at Ipswich and doing good by all accounts.

He did look really good on the ball, didn't he? Himself and Omobamidele were very happy to knock it wide or central.

Thought McGuinness was probably man of the match. His father is from Derry and he's very much in the Shane Duffy win everything in the air mould. Difficult conditions to play football and a bit fortunate to win but were comfortably the better side in the second half. Good for Afolabi to get a goal.

Thought the midfield of Watson, Connell and Noss were pretty good. Maher was impressive in goal, just his presence and command of his area. Wingers didn't really get involved and were a bit disappointing. Meanwhile, Tyriek Wright coming off the bench seems to have gained a yard of pace - definitely positions open there, along with left back.
Considering you've also got the following lads eligible: Bazunu, Rose, Collins, Coventry, Knight Hodge, Smallbone, Finn, Connolly, Idah, Parrott, Obafemi - it's certainly still a very decent squad going forward...

Wouldn't disagree totally, for a change, Will Ferry set the tone early in the second half by attacking them from wide. I though Afolabi was poor in the second half to be honest, but the goal was definitely a positive for him.
I probably would have given motm to Watson. He certainly gets around the pitch and absolutely demands the ball. He balled O'Malley out of it early in the 2nd half for playing back to Omobamidele instead of inside to him, and then reversed the balling to Omaba when the same thing happened 10 secs later. You can see why Derby have him playing first team ball. Agree re Maher - very composed.

Was disappointing not to see Shane Flynn involved at some point.
Yeah, but once he didn't make a few changes at half-time, he looked like he was treating it like a qualifier almost, which is probably not a bad thing considering 7 starting debuts there.

Special shout out to Lee O'Connor - 62nd underage cap for Ireland. Outstanding achievement.

Live stream of the game on Wales' YouTube channel here
Thanks for the link Tets, watched the whole lot, enjoyable in the main.

26/03/2021, 4:45 PM
Yeah you're always to taught to make your backpasses off-target so even if the keeper ballses it up, it's only ever a corner. Very funny error!

We need to temper our enthusiasm Mr. Nut. Be less colourful, more dull.
Conditions looked awful today, with the wind really affecting passes of any significant distance. I was a touch worried in the first half as we didn't seem to be coping too well, but then in the second half we really stepped up, and they didn't cope anywhere near as well as we did.

Olé Olé
26/03/2021, 8:19 PM
Was Omaba impressive overall, Kingdom? Have been really impressed with him every time I have seen him at 17s and 19s level. He's 18, a centre half and making the Norwich bench. I have high hopes for him.

26/03/2021, 8:36 PM
I know it's harder to spell than Bazunu, and I'm not even going to attempt to pronounce it, but could you look up the spelling before posting?
It's Omobamidele

Olé Olé
26/03/2021, 9:04 PM
I know it's harder to spell than Bazunu, and I'm not even going to attempt to pronounce it, but could you look up the spelling before posting?
It's Omobamidele

Ridiculous behaviour. Apologies on our behalf.

26/03/2021, 10:36 PM
I was told years ago to always aim a pass to your goalkeeper wide of the goals, for pretty much this reason.
Someone hadn't impressed that one sufficiently onto Shay Given, as evidenced in the comedy of errors from the fabled 2001 WC qual v Holland, re the backpass from Stan.

26/03/2021, 10:42 PM
Was Omobamidele impressive overall, Kingdom? Have been really impressed with him every time I have seen him at 17s and 19s level. He's 18, a centre half and making the Norwich bench. I have high hopes for him.

Hard to say, because McGuinness beside him definitely shone. What I'd say was in the first half they targetted the channell between him and O'Malley, but that was more down to meteorology than scouting I reckon.
Second half he was very good, and made one excellent goal-saving tackle, and made one very strategic foul as they broke when one up. Not sure if it was his man or O'Malley's, but the forward from his side missed an absolute sitter just before we equalised.

elatedscum
27/03/2021, 2:49 AM
Would agree with a lot of the above, apart from saying McGuinness is similar to Duffy, he is tall, great in the air, but also very good on the ball, he is on loan at Ipswich and doing good by all accounts.

Fwiw I probably wasn’t that clear in what I said but I didn’t really mean to compare anything more than his aerial ability. I initially wrote something more general comparing them based on the aerial ability, size and the uncompromising tackles, but I edited myself before posting, cause I thought to myself, he’s probably a better footballer than Duffy. Saying that, as he moves up the levels, the first touch will probably look a little heavier than it does now and his pace on the turn will probably start to look a weakness... Very good young player though. Pretty sure if you look through the archives, you can find me praising him strongly on his debut for the 19s in Russia a few years ago.

Wouldn't disagree totally, for a change.

I don’t think we really disagree that much. Different sides of the same coin perhaps.

Was Omaba impressive overall, Kingdom? Have been really impressed with him every time I have seen him at 17s and 19s level. He's 18, a centre half and making the Norwich bench. I have high hopes for him.

Thought Omobamidele came out of the game with a lot of credit. He’s young for the level and although he didn’t have the game McGuinness had, he had 3 or 4 moments when he was tested and he very much passed those tests...

Eirambler
27/03/2021, 7:17 AM
Good to get the win, I'm not sure any of our players actually touched the ball between us scoring our first goal and scoring our second, which I don't think I've ever seen before in a game.

Obviously a lot of players missing but at the same time quite a few of them - the likes of Parrott, Idah, Knight, Connolly - possibly won't play at this level again. Others like Collins and Bazunu might come back in for a short while but longer term they will be with the seniors also.

So it will be mostly these lads, plus possibly Rose, Coventry, Hodge, Smallbone, Finn, Kayode and Obafemi for the campaign. And Odubeko if he wants to play.

The lack of depth among the older players in the senior squad is going to hamper this group's qualification chances I think - especially with Kenny clearly keen to give youth a chance at senior level. But that should at least mean opportunities for other lads to come in and play games, even if our qualification hopes will take. a hit as a result.

Eirambler
31/03/2021, 9:13 PM
Not sure where best to post this as the thread for the Euro 2021 qualifiers has been archived but I noticed that Iceland, who beat us to qualification for the finals, performed very poorly at the finals tournament - 3 games, 3 losses, 1 goal scored but in a 4-1 defeat.

I don't know the details but, as a small nation with a small pick, they may well have lost quite a few players to the senior squad for the tournament. Given how many under 21 players we had with the seniors, as well as a few more out injured, it's probably safe to say we would have struggled badly at the finals had we qualified.

Under 21 really is a difficult age group for the smaller nations. It was a bit galling to hear Aidy Boothroyd describing the English Under 21 job as "impossible", given their depth of resources relative to most other countries. England were also knocked out in the group stages today.

Edit - just thinking about it again, we might have been down as many as 18 players who would have been eligible and likely to be selected for the finals tournament - Kelleher, Travers, Bazunu, O'Shea, Masterson, Collins, Knight, Molumby, Coventry, Taylor, Hodge, Smallbone, Patrick, Obafemi, Parrott, Idah, Connolly and Kayode. One or two of those might have made it - for instance Coventry might not have been called up to the seniors - but it still would have been a disappointingly weakened squad to take to a finals tournament.

01/04/2021, 8:03 AM
Under 21 really is a difficult age group for the smaller nations. It was a bit galling to hear Aidy Boothroyd describing the English Under 21 job as "impossible", given their depth of resources relative to most other countries. England were also knocked out in the group stages today.

It doesn't have to be though.

Edit - just thinking about it again, we might have been down as many as 18 players who would have been eligible and likely to be selected for the finals tournament - Kelleher, Travers, Bazunu, O'Shea, Masterson, Collins, Knight, Molumby, Coventry, Taylor, Hodge, Smallbone, Patrick, Obafemi, Parrott, Idah, Connolly and Kayode. One or two of those might have made it - for instance Coventry might not have been called up to the seniors - but it still would have been a disappointingly weakened squad to take to a finals tournament.

This comes back to the development thread. all of these issues really are linked. If you take it that this new emerging group of players - whether you, I or anyone else rates them, leave that aside for now - and assume that they and the next batch will become the senior squad with a couple of exceptions, it means that bar perhaps an exceptional player that each underage squad from 21s down to 16s, will be composed of the best players from each year, and not lost to a grade ahead our of necessity, so that for example in 6 yrs time, the next group that has a collective such as Collins, Molumby and Parrot will have them for the duration of the campaign and develop as groups, rather than chopping and changing constantly.
With the 21s going to 16 finalists recently, we need to be making the finals as regularly as possible.

11/05/2021, 12:12 PM
Friendlies against Switzerland, Australia, and Denmark in Spain confirmed for the end of the month
https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/under-21s-to-play-switzerland-australia-and-denmark

Eirambler
11/05/2021, 12:38 PM
Would be good to see Finn involved, though I haven't heard much about him recently. Is he still injured or did he just fall out of the first team picture at Getafe?

I wonder if Odubeko will show up this time or if there will be another issue.

ColourfulPeanut
11/05/2021, 3:52 PM
I wonder if Odubeko will show up this time or if there will be another issue.
Was saying it for months, lad has 0 interest and should really be forgotten about. Won't even be named this time and the FAI will probably cite "fatigue" or a non-existent injury again to cover for him for a while longer.

Olé Olé
11/05/2021, 4:25 PM
Was saying it for months, lad has 0 interest and should really be forgotten about. Won't even be named this time and the FAI will probably cite "fatigue" or a non-existent injury again to cover for him for a while longer.

You say it with such certainty that it could only have been gleaned from direct discussion with the lad. What else did he say to you?

Eirambler
11/05/2021, 8:30 PM
Ryan Johansson is apparently Irish again, according to Paul Nealon on twitter. Good to see him back involved, thought that ship might have sailed.

Would be interesting to see him lining out against both Luxembourg and Sweden for our Under 21s.

liamoo11
11/05/2021, 8:32 PM
Ryan Johansson is apparently Irish again, according to Paul Nealon on twitter. Good to see him back involved, thought that ship might have sailed.

Would be interesting to see him lining out against both Luxembourg and Sweden for our Under 21s.

Thank you great news

ColourfulPeanut
12/05/2021, 12:05 AM
I'll happily be proved wrong and hope to be wrong.

Every indication under the sun that he doesn't have interest so we'll wait and see.

zero
12/05/2021, 8:58 AM

nice one. bit more detail from the independent:

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/sevilla-midfielderryan-johansson-wins-battle-to-declare-for-ireland-40417713.html

17/05/2021, 1:39 AM
I see Paul O'Shea has procreated.

17/05/2021, 7:29 PM
I see Paul O'Shea has procreated.

Mutant strain?

18/05/2021, 4:26 AM
Mutant strain?
He's finished.

Eminence Grise
18/05/2021, 12:15 PM
Screen Age Mutant Moaning Mytle.

OMTY
25/05/2021, 8:31 AM
https://forum.ybig.ie/uploads/13052/u21_may21.PNG

Squad announced for friendlies v Switzerland, Australia and Denmark in Marbella 30th May, 2nd June and 5th June.

No Odubeko is interesting.

25/05/2021, 9:35 AM
Kenny is now in the same position as his predecessor - there's more interesting and exciting players included in the U21 squad

25/05/2021, 10:02 AM
Kenny is now in the same position as his predecessor - there's more interesting and exciting players included in the U21 squad

True, players nobody has seen play are more interesting and exciting.

25/05/2021, 10:05 AM
No Obafemi either, he was born in June 2000, so is still eligible, and six months younger than Noss

25/05/2021, 10:25 AM
True, players nobody has seen play are more interesting and exciting.
I think there's an exoticism there as well - players with Sevilla and Getafe and Dortmund, which we've hardly ever seen at 21s level before.

Doesn't mean they'll be any good though!

Shout-out to Colm Whelan though; good to see UCD represented in the 21s squad again.

Exgrad
25/05/2021, 10:28 AM
That looks like another talented squad...5 or 6 players to come through to senior squad over next couple of years hopefully. And another batch in the U 19s, someone is going to have a decent talent pool to manage in a few years. That Kenny will manage to survive until then is fairly doubtful.

25/05/2021, 10:39 AM
No Mipo? He's ours to lose. : D

25/05/2021, 10:45 AM

Called it.

He identifies as Nigerian I think, fair play if thats what he wants to do he didnt flirt with the lads and got them sucked in. He's made his decision and you have to respect that.

ColourfulPeanut
25/05/2021, 11:20 AM
Called it.

He identifies as Nigerian I think, fair play if thats what he wants to do he didnt flirt with the lads and got them sucked in. He's made his decision and you have to respect that.
Good on the lad if he declares for Nigeria. I was just pointing this out because there's every indication he has 0 affinity to Ireland and he's still discussed. I'm sure he could play for us down the road, but he shouldn't even be considered now.

On Obafemi. Kenny said he's on a special training program since returning from injury. He said there's a strong possibility he gets called to the senior team for this round of fixtures if he's deemed fit.

Eirambler
25/05/2021, 11:52 AM
Interesting squad. Goalkeeper is going to be a weak spot I think for this group now that Bazunu is third pick for the seniors. One or two notable absentees that I haven't seen explained anywhere.

Odubeko obviously - would be useful to get an updated position on him, even if it's just to bring a bit of closure to the matter for the foreseeable future. No doubt he'll be back when he most likely turns out to not be as good as he thinks he is.

Mason O'Malley was in the last squad but not named here. Probably just injury, as reports on his club form have been good.

Alex Hunt is another. Does he actually qualify for us? Played some friendly games previously I think. Has been in and around the Sheffield Wednesday first team. If Brennan is in it would have made sense to call him up also if he's eligible.

Having players from Getafe, Seville, Monchengladbach and Schalke in the squad is a nice novelty, but obviously it's the quality of the player that counts.

25/05/2021, 1:10 PM
Great sensible, matter-of-factly post there Eirambler.

25/05/2021, 1:44 PM
Mason O'Malley was in the last squad but not named here. Probably just injury, as reports on his club form have been good.

Thought he was quite poor against the Welsh. Didn't see anything there to warrant another look. Maybe that's the reason he's not included if not injured?

Diggs246
25/05/2021, 1:53 PM
I think there's an exoticism there as well - players with Sevilla and Getafe and Dortmund, which we've hardly ever seen at 21s level before.

Shout-out to Colm Whelan though; good to see UCD represented in the 21s squad again.

That's true but too be fair ryan has played for Bayern Munich and JJ Finn has played in la liga. That's senior football and we need to get them involved in some format

elatedscum
25/05/2021, 2:02 PM

Scouting report on Whelan, Stu?

25/05/2021, 2:08 PM
That's true but too be fair ryan has played for Bayern Munich and JJ Finn has played in la liga. That's senior football and we need to get them involved in some format
Absolutely great to have them in there alright. And yeah, they've played a few first-team games, but that's not unique for this level. I'll still count them when they hatch. :)

Scouting report on Whelan, Stu?
Very hard to tell given he's playing at LoI First Division level.

But generally a very clinical forward - 23 goals in 28 league games so far. Was prolific for Waterford's U19s the season before that and more or less single-handedly won them the 19s league afaik. Can run with the ball too and causes defences a lot of problems when he gets going. Though again - and I can't emphasise this enough! - they're First Division defences, so this will be a step up.

Eirambler
25/05/2021, 2:38 PM
Thought he was quite poor against the Welsh. Didn't see anything there to warrant another look. Maybe that's the reason he's not included if not injured?

You might be right. I was only half watching that Welsh game because I found the low camera angle tough going. Scunthorpe supporters rate him, but obviously that has to be taken in the context of how bad Scunthorpe are at the moment. No shortage of left back options with Roughan, Flynn and Richards in the squad. James Furlong is another that didn't get the call but has a good reputation. Roughan is a year younger than him but seems to have jumped ahead of him for now.

Razors left peg
25/05/2021, 3:49 PM
Good squad of Midfielders, bit weak up front I think. Kayode is an interesting one, Ive seen him a couple of times and I think he has something about him. Might be one that will go up through the divisions and be a good player at decent level when he gets older.

Eirambler
25/05/2021, 6:09 PM
An awful lot of forwards missing for a variety of reasons - Idah, Connolly, Parrott with the seniors, Obafemi may be in the seniors also by the time they go. Most of those lads won't play under 21 again though. Cassidy and Ferguson injured and Odubeko seemingly not interested.

Kayode looks like he will be the man to lead the line for this campaign. Afolabi has struggled badly at club level, but his physicality probably still gives him an advantage at Under 21. Ferguson might come through but he'll only he 16 when the campaign starts. Andrew Moran maybe, or Reghba at Leicester might do a job if needed.

The Fly
25/05/2021, 11:53 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e7h9MGrwg40

26/05/2021, 3:33 AM
He identifies as Nigerian I think
You think or you just made up? I'm going to go with the latter since I'm 100% sure you will not be able to back it up.

26/05/2021, 4:29 PM
Bosun Lawal added to the squad

ColourfulPeanut
26/05/2021, 5:17 PM
Excited to see this lad play. He's very highly rated and won their youth player of the year.

He's only 17 too and Deeney compared him to Doucoure!

26/05/2021, 5:33 PM
Not sure if it was posted in the thread, the games are going to be broadcast on Premier Sports

Eirambler
26/05/2021, 7:24 PM
Looking forward to seeing these games. Will be good to get a look at the likes of Lawal, the only thing I'd note with him is that, for all the positive stuff from Troy Deeney, he was only given a one year contract by Watford this week, you'd expect they'd want to tie him down for longer if he's that good.

Diggs246
26/05/2021, 10:41 PM
World jim Crawfords u21s beat Stephen Kenny's senior team?