View Full Version : 2023 UEFA Under-21 Championship

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15

Eirambler
12/06/2022, 7:22 PM
They were both kind of hounded into those picks by the media though, if I remember rightly. I seem to remember McCarthy being almost gleeful back to the media later on when Connolly went off the boil a bit (you're not calling for him now etc.).

Having said that I think something similar would have happened this time, we'd have had a few bad results and whoever the manager was would have been forced to call a few younger players in to keep the press off his back.

We'd have also reached the knockout stages of the 2021 Under 21 Euros I reckon!

12/06/2022, 10:29 PM
Uefa (https://www.uefa.com/under21/news/0266-11954974fa68-bfcaa51b3939-1000--2023-under-21-euro-qualifying-latest-france-netherlands-england/), (https://www.uefa.com/under21/news/0266-11954974fa68-bfcaa51b3939-1000--2023-under-21-euro-qualifying-latest-france-netherlands-england/) damning with faint praise, "Republic of Ireland remain in contention to emulate Georgia in taking part in a debut final tournament. Ireland have at least reached the play-offs for the first time"

and to rub it in, Georgia are only there because they're part hosting the tournament.

Eirambler
13/06/2022, 7:22 PM
I see UEFA have confirmed that these playoffs will be unseeded, so a draw is of no benefit to us tomorrow.

JR89
13/06/2022, 8:01 PM
Go 3-5-2, put 'em under pressure and light a candle we can nick a win.

Though I would actually like to see him switch the formation like he did in the Sweden away game. That was a must win or our campaign was over. Treat this game tomorrow like that and it's also good preparation for the play offs.

13/06/2022, 8:30 PM
Go 3-5-2, put 'em under pressure and light a candle we can nick a win.

Though I would actually like to see him switch the formation like he did in the Sweden away game. That was a must win or our campaign was over. Treat this game tomorrow like that and it's also good preparation for the play offs.

It’s a great position to be in really. It’s a shot to nothing in a way, and they can afford to go out and have a real go, in the knowledge that the play off place is secured.

CSAD
13/06/2022, 9:23 PM
It’s great to hear it’s a random draw for the play offs, it means there is now no excuse to sit back!

13/06/2022, 9:40 PM
I see UEFA have confirmed that these playoffs will be unseeded, so a draw is of no benefit to us tomorrow.

That just means the top 4 big teams will be drawn away to the bottom 4. 128/1 if I remember rightly.

Eirambler
13/06/2022, 9:48 PM
I think it means Ireland are going to draw Iceland again. And then get blown away in an 80 mile an hour gale on the side of a hill somewhere outside Kirkjubæjarklausturdottir just like last time.

13/06/2022, 10:06 PM
Nevermind football, Ireland probably couldn't even beat Iceland at cricket in the Volcanic Ashes tournament.

sbgawa
14/06/2022, 8:58 AM
Qualifying for an under 21s tournament would be a massive step and a good indication we have something to hope for going forward

CSAD
14/06/2022, 9:19 AM
Either way we do, we must remember we are kissing 11 or so players, to be kissing that and still qualify from a tough enough group is a good indication of what to come.

JR89
14/06/2022, 9:25 AM
Either way we do, we must remember we are kissing 11 or so players, to be kissing that and still qualify from a tough enough group is a good indication of what to come.

Whatever floats your boat pal, but I think you'll be on your own there.

Eirambler
14/06/2022, 9:27 AM

This is starting to sound a bit like Richie Sadlier's story about the competitions they held to pass the time in Ireland underage camps back in his day...

seanfhear
14/06/2022, 9:59 AM
Is this some new training / tactic system ? ?

14/06/2022, 1:31 PM
It’s just Pride month.

elatedscum
14/06/2022, 1:50 PM
This is starting to sound a bit like Richie Sadlier's story about the competitions they held to pass the time in Ireland underage camps back in his day...

Do I need to read his book to find out what your talking about?

Insidetherock
14/06/2022, 2:40 PM

14/06/2022, 2:42 PM
That's a strong team. No major surprises. Kerrigan keeping his place maybe the biggest surprise considering he had little involvement up to the last game, but to be fair his performance probably merited keeping his place. Good options off the bench too.

Jd2793
14/06/2022, 2:45 PM
think italy are a level above would be a big surprise if we won this one

Trequartista20
14/06/2022, 3:20 PM
I've liked what I've seen of Kerrigan in previous games - quick with good close control and dribbling ability. A well-built fella too, with good upper-body strength.

Says a lot that he got the nod for this one. Can easily see him carving out a very decent career for himself.

Interesting that Ferguson starts this one.

Eirambler
14/06/2022, 3:24 PM
Do I need to read his book to find out what your talking about?

No, it was a second captains podcast that he told the story in. Without going into too much detail, speed was everything if you wanted to win...

tommy_c12000
14/06/2022, 3:37 PM
I wasn’t overly impressed with Kerrigan, my one and only time seeing him play admittedly apart from the twitter highlights of his goals/assists. Let’s see how he gets on against a higher quality opposition, but would have preferred odubeko partnering Ferguson in a change of formation, vs Noss in his place.

JR89
14/06/2022, 3:42 PM
think italy are a level above would be a big surprise if we won this one

Would only be their third lose in nine years if it were to happen.

14/06/2022, 3:45 PM
Good end to end game so far. Both sides look like they could score. Couple of poor decisions in the final third from Ireland!

liamoo11
14/06/2022, 3:50 PM
Rightly awarded peno .

14/06/2022, 3:51 PM
That's a soft penalty

14/06/2022, 3:52 PM
€22.5mil player stepping up to take that peno...phew!!

14/06/2022, 3:52 PM
Rightly awarded peno .

That's a soft penalty

Ah, football!

14/06/2022, 3:53 PM
Silly penalty to give away. Makes it very hard now.

Eirambler
14/06/2022, 3:54 PM
So then, the playoff draw is next week.

Probably just as well that we didn't need anything from this to stay ahead of Sweden in the group.

Strongbow10
14/06/2022, 3:58 PM
Lads where is Okoflex

14/06/2022, 4:01 PM
Tis early yet, showing more since the goal. Up against it but ye never know and the play-off was always the target. The pressure is all on Italy so should go at them.

Strongbow10
14/06/2022, 4:06 PM
Desperate goal keeping there, game over.

14/06/2022, 4:07 PM
This is poor enough, brutal keeping

14/06/2022, 4:07 PM
That’s a really poor goal. Maher will have to be disappointed not to save it. The injury may well have impeded him a bit, looked like he had very little spring off his foot when diving for the save.

tommy_c12000
14/06/2022, 4:08 PM
I’ve been wholly unimpressed with Maher, distribution poor. Should have saved that shot. Do we not have anyone better cross channel?

tommy_c12000
14/06/2022, 4:09 PM
Lads where is Okoflex

Playing PL2 football wasting the best years of his development, why?

14/06/2022, 4:13 PM
I’ve been wholly unimpressed with Maher, distribution poor. Should have saved that shot. Do we not have anyone better cross channel?

He was very good the last few games. He’s not always convincing and was very poor for the goal today.

We still look capable of scoring but Italy look like they’ve got more in them too.

Overall a frustrating half. Two bad goals to give away and some poor decisions and touches proving costly at the other end.

Cashin has looked shaky at the back and I think Ferguson has struggled a bit up top. He floats wide a bit too often for my liking too. There was a few times we had it in wide positions and Ferguson wasn’t in the box, which is where he was needed.

Wright has been poor by his standards. Couple of really bad decisions on the counter and faded out of the game. Kerrigan got more involved as it went on but also didn’t find a killer ball. Smallbone had probably the best chance but miscontrolled, still some moments of quality but looks a bit tired.

sbgawa
14/06/2022, 4:20 PM
Lucky now that Sweden didn't pull off a win over Italy

Eirambler
14/06/2022, 4:22 PM

There's a lad at Man City that's meant to be decent, couple of other Premier League clubs meant to be interested in him as well...

But apart from him there's nobody really. GK always looked like it would be a problem position with this group so, to be fair to Maher, he's been decent enough through the campaign.

14/06/2022, 4:37 PM
Absolute shocker. They’ve really self destructed under the expectations so far.

MylesNotMiley
14/06/2022, 4:39 PM
Shocking from Maher again. Bazunu should be brought in for the playoffs.

tommy_c12000
14/06/2022, 4:42 PM
Top guns who are available and willing to drop down to this level need to be drafted in without question for playoff. Enough of the “loyalty” “sentiment” argument, time to move beyond this as a nation and maximize chances of success

Insidetherock
14/06/2022, 4:44 PM
Cruel as it might sound.. the more senior players should be playing in the play offif available

14/06/2022, 4:49 PM
Would like to see Odubeko, Noss and Tierney, probably for Wright, Kerrigan and Kilkenny. Just to see if it can liven things up in attack. A lot of moves dying with Wright in particular.

As I say that he plays a lovely ball to Smallbone to win the pen!

14/06/2022, 4:51 PM
We are still quite naïve on the dark arts. The ref has been duped a few times by a squeal after a tackle yet we could have bought a few more set pieces ourselves. Nobody wants to see more of that side of the game but if the ref is soft needs must. As I say this Smallbone 'helps' get a peno.

14/06/2022, 4:59 PM
I think this is probably a good indicator of where we think we are in terms of underage coming through. You want to be standing out in these games to be making a name for yourself and giving yourself a chance in the big leagues. The only one who stands out is Maher and not for the right reasons. I'd be worried if this is what we're hoping to fill up the senior ranks in the next few years.

JR89
14/06/2022, 5:12 PM
Shocking from Maher again. Bazunu should be brought in for the playoffs.

Why drop a guy that should be starting for the seniors down to the 21s. None of the eligibile lads in the seniors will be dropping down because they're needed for the seniors.

JR89
14/06/2022, 5:14 PM
I think this is probably a good indicator of where we think we are in terms of underage coming through. You want to be standing out in these games to be making a name for yourself and giving yourself a chance in the big leagues. The only one who stands out is Maher and not for the right reasons. I'd be worried if this is what we're hoping to fill up the senior ranks in the next few years.

This is our B team at that level. We've already taken the best players at this level to to fill up the senior ranks.

Eirambler
14/06/2022, 5:31 PM
There won't be anyone dropping down from the seniors unless they're not seen as being in the best 26 or 27 players available to the seniors.

So we can forget about seeing Bazunu, Omobamidele, Collins, Knight, Idah, Parrott or Obafemi in the playoffs. A very small chance we might see Festy or Connolly, but we could as easily lose someone like Smallbone to the seniors and actually be weaker by the time the playoff comes around.