View Full Version : Cork AUL Premier & Premier A 2020/21

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

daveymac89
06/10/2020, 11:44 AM
Were gonna try and keep training anyway and see how long this lasts for.

Dr. football
06/10/2020, 1:10 PM

Hopefully works out, hopefully games be back in 3/4 weeks.

goal-achio
06/10/2020, 8:27 PM
Ya we had 28 eager beavers tonight after their week off for freshers. We will keep going, sure what else will we do

JaketheSnake
08/10/2020, 2:36 PM

I thought training was banned also unless its not contact? I don't think we will see another AUL game until March of next year. Can't see this virus slowing down anytime soon

08/10/2020, 3:24 PM
I thought training was banned also unless its not contact? I don't think we will see another AUL game until March of next year. Can't see this virus slowing down anytime soon

Training allowed in pods of no more than 15 with no game allowed at the end.

Beansontoast
08/10/2020, 3:46 PM
Spot on 12th man, 14 players and 1 coach at adult level. Large squads are to split into 2 pods

JaketheSnake
09/10/2020, 12:13 PM
Training allowed in pods of no more than 15 with no game allowed at the end.

So it is just non contact training? I think players will get sick of that soon enough

09/10/2020, 6:15 PM
So it is just non contact training? I think players will get sick of that soon enough

Afraid so,no contact stuff allowed.

Play it out
11/10/2020, 10:46 AM
Going to be a rough few months for lads.

All the hard running out the window. Jogs, 5KM and 10KM runs may happen but can't replace the match fitness, pre season training and overall craic.

Str8fromthebeek
11/10/2020, 11:49 AM
It could be a lot longer break than the 3 weeks the way things are going .

fruice
11/10/2020, 1:19 PM
From what I’m hearing Cork is going to take an awful turn for the worst over the next week.
So we will be doing well to be back before Christmas

goal-achio
11/10/2020, 2:45 PM
Lads my two pence worth
The government cant close the country for christmas
The government cant have the country turn on them
And most importantly the government cant continue to pay over half the country to stay at home.
We will be back in December
We just have to try our best to keep fellas interested and I think the game of ball might be what fellas need to get through the winter weeks. We will be fine

Play it out
11/10/2020, 7:29 PM
Quite a difficult time ahead.

What are people doing with bibs in training and after?

SteveSilvermint
11/10/2020, 7:46 PM
Lads my two pence worth
And most importantly the government cant continue to pay over half the country to stay at home.
We just have to try our best to keep fellas interested and I think the game of ball might be what fellas need to get through the winter weeks. We will be fine

If your waiting on guidence and confidence going forward on the aul I'm afraid you will be waiting ...covid is only top of the agenda when it suits the aul and Ted.

goal-achio
11/10/2020, 8:13 PM
Agh sure he is back from the abyss.. steve behave now or you will find yourself out by the wall again😂😂😂😂😂you gotta just wash the bibs after training. I heard the management roundabout is in full swing again. Did anyone else hear anything

Beansontoast
11/10/2020, 8:57 PM
Oh Man, 1st post back and he's having a go at someone again. :shut:. Anyhow, what do ye think of Kennys start lads? imo he has at least got rid of the big hoof up the field and is trying to play. Both performances were promising but you'd still worry where the goals will come from.

SteveSilvermint
11/10/2020, 9:13 PM
Oh Man, 1st post back and he's having a go at someone again. :shut:. Anyhow, what do ye think of Kennys start lads? imo he has at least got rid of the big hoof up the field and is trying to play. Both performances were promising but you'd still worry where the goals will come from.

I agree with you on Kenny great football being played to be fair but it's a results game I hope they stick with him and it dispelled all the experts saying the players wernt there ..they are but need a goal scorer .on the aul they haven't covered themselves in glory over the years some of us do have an opinion.

SteveSilvermint
11/10/2020, 9:21 PM
Agh sure he is back from the abyss.. steve behave now or you will find yourself out by the wall again����������you gotta just wash the bibs after training. I heard the management roundabout is in full swing again. Did anyone else hear anything

Well worth the ban .

latte2012
12/10/2020, 9:42 AM

It was great to see them holding on to the ball and trying to play a bit. I think there actually is goals in the team with the likes of Connolly and Robinson. Will take a few more games for it all to come together. I’d be optimistic for the future.

latte2012
12/10/2020, 9:46 AM
Lads my two pence worth

December is ambitious but I hope you’re right! Hard to see it the way things are at the moment. I hope that lad in China that ate the bat is happy with himself 😂

Str8fromthebeek
12/10/2020, 1:31 PM
Lads we will be lucky to see any football for rest of year if numbers don't drop.They are worse now than last lock down.as reguards criticism of aul and governing leagues I think its a bit harsh to be honest..all these people do this on a voluntary basis and they do their best.

SteveSilvermint
12/10/2020, 2:13 PM
Lads we will be lucky to see any football for rest of year if numbers don't drop.They are worse now than last lock down.as reguards criticism of aul and governing leagues I think its a bit harsh to be honest..all these people do this on a voluntary basis and they do their best.

The only people making money in aul footbal are the aul and refs.. AHH they love the game sure.just an opinion lets just call it expenses.

Dr. football
12/10/2020, 8:46 PM
It’s a shame that no match’s been payed the weather Is brilliant for this time of the year not much rain! Would of got loads played!

Beansontoast
12/10/2020, 9:26 PM
Weather will be grand until 1st weekend back. Murphy's law! ����

SteveSilvermint
14/10/2020, 11:49 AM
Weather will be grand until 1st weekend back. Murphy's law! ����

No football this side of Xmas I say .

Dr. football
14/10/2020, 1:19 PM
No football this side of Xmas I say .

For once i agree with you! think they should scrap FAI and Munster junior cup now.

most clubs have around 15 league games left, 1 or 2 of the aul cups will surely be scrapped too? Maybe just play AOH?

SteveSilvermint
14/10/2020, 2:33 PM
For once i agree with you! think they should scrap FAI and Munster junior cup now.

most clubs have around 15 league games left, 1 or 2 of the aul cups will surely be scrapped too? Maybe just play AOH?

The one they all want to win and win most is the aoh...that's the big one personally the league is the one to me .

fruice
15/10/2020, 5:12 PM
They will
Play divisional cups also

latte2012
15/10/2020, 6:06 PM

all teams outside of the premier will want to play their league cups and rightly so.

goal-achio
15/10/2020, 9:17 PM
Well I want the local cups to go ahead anyway lads. Any team that isn’t in the running for their league is only going to keep fellas interested by cup runs otherwise come February they will field 9 or 10 players cos fellas will be gone back gaa when they have nothing to play for

Dr. football
20/10/2020, 12:54 PM
With the new restrictions been put in place and a time line in place be nice if the AUL gave a update on the plans based off the information to hand at the moment. I know it can change but it looks like level 5 for 4/6 weeks and back to level 3/2 for December/ January.

SteveSilvermint
20/10/2020, 1:03 PM
With the new restrictions been put in place and a time line in place be nice if the AUL gave a update on the plans based off the information to hand at the moment. I know it can change but it looks like level 5 for 4/6 weeks and back to level 3/2 for December/ January.
It will go to level 5 again by end of January...open back up march.

CBL20
20/10/2020, 5:02 PM

Give them a chance! The FAI haven't given any guidance yet. Way too soon to make a judgement call.

SteveSilvermint
20/10/2020, 5:42 PM
Give them a chance! The FAI haven't given any guidance yet. Way too soon to make a judgement call.

Give them a chance ...they have dragged on most things covid .. acting way to slow on beeches in particular .

latte2012
20/10/2020, 6:13 PM

The announcement was only made last night. There’s no rush with any guidance for a few weeks anyway, there is absolutely nothing happening for at least 6 weeks!

Dr. football
20/10/2020, 8:23 PM

FAI is a joke that it’s not till Wednesday evening.

Dr. football
20/10/2020, 8:24 PM
The announcement was only made last night. There’s no rush with any guidance for a few weeks anyway, there is absolutely nothing happening for at least 6 weeks!

I know that I’m not calling for announcement now but it be nice to fellas to work towards and stay motivated if they had any idea what was come ahead.

fruice
20/10/2020, 9:00 PM
Seriously lads there is nothing they can do so what if it takes a n extra day or 2 we are in level 5 for 6 weeks.

There was a mention today if things stabilise we will go to level 3 in early to December so as things stand no games only training then.

Will be 2021 before we see a game as things stand

Dr. football
24/10/2020, 9:53 AM
Seriously lads there is nothing they can do so what if it takes a n extra day or 2 we are in level 5 for 6 weeks.

There was a mention today if things stabilise we will go to level 3 in early to December so as things stand no games only training then.

Will be 2021 before we see a game as things stand

Gaa and cork count board came out and said (the day of the announcement) that all remaining games will not be played until February.

But as you said non contact training in December will basically be a pre-season again just without all the games!

SteveSilvermint
24/10/2020, 1:30 PM
Gaa and cork count board came out and said (the day of the announcement) that all remaining games will not be played until February.

But as you said non contact training in December will basically be a pre-season again just without all the games!

Lads not many can see games in Feb ..I say go for complete of all divisional cups and see after there complete and if so start new season in a summer league.

Play it out
24/10/2020, 7:17 PM
Can't see the motivation for lads to be running a pre season in December for 2-3 weeks. Fair play to those who do. If it was possible to have a set date on return then yes but without it, it's tough.

fruice
24/10/2020, 7:52 PM
If we get going early in 2021 and you scrap the National Cups you won’t be too far behind once you get to the long nights you will fly threw games.

Steve’s idea of going threw the divisional cups is good in so far as you would see completions finished and silverware won.

The only thing is some teams are already out of these competitions so I would imagine the aul wouldn’t be in favour of going back and not having sone clubs being able to play games

SteveSilvermint
24/10/2020, 9:15 PM
If we get going early in 2021 and you scrap the National Cups you won’t be too far behind once you get to the long nights you will fly threw games.

Steve’s idea of going threw the divisional cups is good in so far as you would see completions finished and silverware won.

The only thing is some teams are already out of these competitions so I would imagine the aul wouldn’t be in favour of going back and not having sone clubs being able to play games
But teams not in the hunt for league title would struggle to field teams ..so the integrity of the league would be a question.

Dr. football
25/10/2020, 12:50 PM
Could play champions league style cup games with groups and later rounds been knockout.

I agree with the December and lack of motivation for hard running.

I know fellas say the standard is lower then before but you’d miss it all the same 🤣

fruice
25/10/2020, 5:11 PM
But teams not in the hunt for league title would struggle to field teams ..so the integrity of the league would be a question.

I suppose ultimately you are correct ,but surely at this stage every club still has something to play for be it promotion or relegation.

And to be fair most years towards the end of the season the teams that aren’t going well struggle to field teams

I just don’t think the AUL can go back to their clubs and say sorry your season is over because you got knocked out in the first round of your cup they would be opening an awful can of worms not to mind all the transfers that would follow.

goal-achio
25/10/2020, 8:36 PM
The season will finish, fellas give out about the aul committee there is no way they wont get them leagues played even if every team has to play three times a week in april. There were often teams going into February with less league games played as they have now. Have some faith lads Ted didnt get a big job for his looks alone, the man knows how to get things done

latte2012
26/10/2020, 9:30 AM
Let’s all just hope that we are fortunate enough to get back playing early next year, I’m sure all cups and leagues can be completed if we do. If the weather stayed ok from January-March we would fly through the games. That’s a big if I suppose!

Beansontoast
26/10/2020, 11:30 AM
Lads, All those clubs outside prem/prem A losing divisional cups in first round go into the draw for the Corinthians cup, so still a trophy to chase.

SteveSilvermint
26/10/2020, 1:10 PM
Lads, All those clubs outside prem/prem A losing divisional cups in first round go into the draw for the Corinthians cup, so still a trophy to chase.
What going on in sports is stupid look at gaa clare v Limerick common sense you play in one of those countries ..gas gaa sends both in to tipp to semple stadium .

Play it out
06/11/2020, 3:48 PM
Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly said may go into Level II at the start of December which includes matches and spectators.

Should there be a fixture list immediately for the first weekend?

It may also coincide with peoples first weekend of socializing! Thoughts?