View Full Version : Dublin/Cork
The same thing is in Spain with cataluna and the basque region.they look at themselves as a different country.
the whole peoples republic of cork(proc) thing is just a bit of fun for most of us any way.(as the tayto ad says there is always one)
If you look at the proc website its just havin a laugh.
I know its only a bit of craic, good site. :)
Not so sure about comparing the proc struggle to that of the Basques in Spain though!!! think the only offensive the rest of us should be worried about is the one Rebs23 warned us about earlier... :p
we are on a National charm offensive at the moment!!
So be warned!!
26/04/2005, 4:49 PM
The rule 42 thing was a board decision (or a Frank Murphy decision).Almost all the clubs in the county wanted to change the rule but the board decided not to take a vote which was a joke,prob because the the lads at the top knew it would be defeated.thats only a handfull of small minded people. :)
Doesnt sound like a Peoples Republic to me, sounds more like a dictatorship!
that would sum Frank Murphy up alrite.
Not so sure about comparing the proc struggle to that of the Basques in Spain though!!!
watch this space ;)
Ruairi
26/04/2005, 5:07 PM
not entirely correct about the rule42/cork thing ollie
when delegates went at the county board meeting a fortnight ago (the majority of them prepared to vote yes to opening up croker, according to the evening echo) they were told by county board chairman Jim Forbes that such a decision COULD NOT be made at the county board meeting. Forbes went on to say that such a decision could only be made at county convention level, and as there was no motion on it in 2004, they would have to go with the decisionmade at the 2003 convention, when the majority of delegates voted in favour of keeping the rule.
apparantly forbes was entirely correct, however delegates arent entirely happy about it, and the issue will come up for debate at tonights meeting in pairc ui chaoimh
not entirely correct about the rule42/cork thing ollie
when delegates went at the county board meeting a fortnight ago (the majority of them prepared to vote yes to opening up croker, according to the evening echo) they were told by county board chairman Jim Forbes that such a decision COULD NOT be made at the county board meeting. Forbes went on to say that such a decision could only be made at county convention level, and as there was no motion on it in 2004, they would have to go with the decisionmade at the 2003 convention, when the majority of delegates voted in favour of keeping the rule.
apparantly forbes was entirely correct, however delegates arent entirely happy about it, and the issue will come up for debate at tonights meeting in pairc ui chaoimh
:o
just a few questions then.
why did the echo ask every club how they were voting?surely micheal clifford and co. would have known of this rule before doing this?
why did they take a vote at a lot of clubs as how the club delegate would vote.surely they werent guesing that there would be vote??
i thought they just decided not to have a vote because of what i said above( well loosely around what i said ;) ) and found some rule(which you mentioned above) so as they wouldn't have a vote.
M@ttitude
26/04/2005, 7:47 PM
Well not everyone can be upper class, there has to be some commoners like yourself to make up the demographic, just lucky they’re all in Dublin, couldn’t handle that riff-raff here..
You are the cream of Ireland, Irish Royalty.. Us peasants bow to you, your majesty. :(
Eire06
26/04/2005, 7:51 PM
You are the cream of Ireland, Irish Royalty.. Us peasants bow to you your majesty. :(
Glad you've noticed :D
Don't like royalty actually, prefer a free state :D
you need not bow to me, just never make eye contact and a simple tilt of the head will do... ;)
Now go run me a bath.. :rolleyes:
M@ttitude
26/04/2005, 7:57 PM
Now go run me a bath.. :rolleyes:
Yeah jump in ill be up soon with the Champagne and Strawberries ;) No eye contact I swear..
26/04/2005, 9:35 PM
Feck your original steve :rolleyes:
Raphoe is a city FACT!
Joey B - ok, ok : you've mentioned it 4 times now, so I'll do you the favour of tackling this 'Raphoe is a city' nonesense.... :D
City status is something that is granted upon a town through official political channels within that country. I hardly think a letter between a couple of clerics way back in 1600 constitutes concrete proof of Raphoe's supposed city status, let alone conference of city status. Even the official website link you put up there constantly uses the word "town" to describe Raphoe ! If it is indeed a city, why does its own website insist on describing it as a town ?
Back in the days of British rule, the monarch was the person who granted City status within the Republic (as the Queen does currently, e.g. Newry and Lisburn) - not the local vicar and/or the Pope. I don't believe a charter for City status was ever granted to Raphoe in those days, nor in the days since independence under whatever the new process for granting city status is in the Republic (someone from Waterford might know). Therefore, Raphoe is NOT a city - regardless of what a Pope who died 450+ years ago and an English TV quiz might think. It's not their decision.
The key quote on that website is the description of the town as "The Eclesiastical City of Raphoe". Given that it wasn't given official city status, I'm guessing they used the 'Eclesiastical city' bit to highlight it in a different way. Again - the Brian of Britain bit hardly confers City status. It may be linked to the popular misconception in Britain that having a Cathedral and a University are requirements for city status, and that anywhere with a Cathedral is automatically a city.
But nice try.... :D :p
26/04/2005, 11:56 PM
Yeah jump in ill be up soon with the Champagne and Strawberries ;) No eye contact I swear..
Aaaaah, they've kissed and made up, how sweet! At last! :D :D :D
Bath, Champagne, Strawberries, oh aye! ;)
joey B
27/04/2005, 8:36 AM
Joey B - ok, ok : you've mentioned it 4 times now, so I'll do you the favour of tackling this 'Raphoe is a city' nonesense.... :D
City status is something that is granted upon a town through official political channels within that country. I hardly think a letter between a couple of clerics way back in 1600 constitutes concrete proof of Raphoe's supposed city status, let alone conference of city status. Even the official website link you put up there constantly uses the word "town" to describe Raphoe ! If it is indeed a city, why does its own website insist on describing it as a town ?
Back in the days of British rule, the monarch was the person who granted City status within the Republic (as the Queen does currently, e.g. Newry and Lisburn) - not the local vicar and/or the Pope. I don't believe a charter for City status was ever granted to Raphoe in those days, nor in the days since independence under whatever the new process for granting city status is in the Republic (someone from Waterford might know). Therefore, Raphoe is NOT a city - regardless of what a Pope who died 450+ years ago and an English TV quiz might think. It's not their decision.
The key quote on that website is the description of the town as "The Eclesiastical City of Raphoe". Given that it wasn't given official city status, I'm guessing they used the 'Eclesiastical city' bit to highlight it in a different way. Again - the Brian of Britain bit hardly confers City status. It may be linked to the popular misconception in Britain that having a Cathedral and a University are requirements for city status, and that anywhere with a Cathedral is automatically a city.
But nice try.... :D :p
Thanks steve but it was a fecking joke,ya know ha ha. :rolleyes: :D
Ok Steve you seem like an a pretty intelligent guy but is there any need to post overly long posts every time?
30/04/2005, 2:39 PM
Thanks steve but it was a fecking joke,ya know ha ha. :rolleyes: :D
Ok Steve you seem like an a pretty intelligent guy but is there any need to post overly long posts every time?
Yes :D :p