Its not just Cork people taht hate ye its the whole country![]()
What is it with Cork people hating Dubs (more than the usual country person)? I cant understand this at all, because it seems the only thing Dubs have a problem with is the fact that you hate us. Until the internet I never could have imagined that most Cork people put Dubs in they're top ten most hated things.
You continually say we are west brits, again I dont know how this is! Maybe television or something is making you think likethis. I work in Ireland, All my friends and family are Irish, I have an Irish accent, I support everything Irish! But im a west brit? Wats going on down there lads??Is this just humerous banter or does it run deeper?
Its not just Cork people taht hate ye its the whole country![]()
Yeah, shut up and get your union flags out for the queen..... again.Originally Posted by Eire06
The initial gripes I think stem from them claiming they should be the Capital. After that, I don't know, I have to agree, since a few years ago I had no problem with Cork people until I started to experience their utter contempt for all things Dublin. Its very strange cos as you say the people Dubs usually consider would be Meath or if your in gaa terms Kerry. Cork never featured as slighty relavent to dislike at all!! But hey the West Brit comment is daft!!![]()
Its not just a new phenomenon either. Was chattin to my buddies father in law a while back who is a Dub but has lived in Cork for 35 years. He met his Cork wife in London in the late 60's around the time of "No Blacks, No Irish, No Dogs", when the Irish were hated in England.
He said when he moved back to Cork around 1970 he got a worse time in Cork cos he was a Dub than he did in London.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
Originally Posted by Gareth
Lighten up chaps. For most of us it's just a bit of banter.
I get a fair amount of abuse in Dublin and just laugh it off.
If I had €1 for every time I've been called a "Cork cnut", I'd be a wealthy man. That's the Dublin sense of humour and I accept that it's not as spohisticated or developed as the rest of Ireland so I take it on the chin.
I have seen Cork people near foam at the mouth with eagerness to insult Dublin. Eyes roll and everything!!
Its very silly cos Cork is pretty much a smaller version of Dublin in that you have plenty of knackers and your town is filthy too, only on a smaller scale and you have less tourists!!!
lolOriginally Posted by Gareth
i for one dont hate dublin, or its citizens.
In fact I pity dubs cause they have to live in such a fcuking horrible depressing sh!t hole where everyone's called anto and everyone looks like brendan o'carroll (even the women), where the definition of a good day is when you heard your neighbour on Joe Duffy complaining something no-one gives a sh!t about and the highlight of a good saturday night is a leather belt, a spoon, a lighter and a syringe...
but other than that, nah, dubs are grand
Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?
Corks is a lovely county, would go there before I'd go to Dublin any day...Originally Posted by Gareth
I hate to see Dubs coming because they cause trouble and have this thing that they are better that you cause they are from the capital... Wish they'd just stay inside the Pail and keep us all happy![]()
I think you'd be surprised how many visitors the West Cork/Kerry region get every year. The difference between Cork and Dublin is that our visitors actually come back.Originally Posted by Gareth
Originally Posted by Eire06
In fairness, I'd build a wall around my city too if it was bordered by Meath, Louth and Kildare.![]()
Cork's alright,has it's fair share of ar5eholes just like Dublin and everywhere else.Pity though Murphy's is not as nice as Guinness,I don't think the majority of Dubs have a problem with Cork,it's just a bit of friendly banter.
MOT
I think the Cork people who hate Dubs have an inferiority complex. Morons on this website actually have names like Anti-Dub and such like. Says a lot about their mentality. Dublin people are well used to this, and its not just Cork. All you have to do is go to Croke Park and witness it when Dublin are playing. These people need to have somebody to hate, its part of the make-up. Sad really.
Always look on the bright side of life
I'm originally from Derry, and its not just a Cork thing. I think "HATE" is too strong, but there is a strong Dublin v non-Dublin rivalry. I think its related to the contempt that some/most Dubs hold for all cultchies generally.
The reason it may seem that Corconians are more at fault than others is because a) there are more of them, and b) they generally have an inflated sense of their own importance![]()
(I can tell I'm going to get some stick for this). On Foot.ie there are more fans of Cork City than any club except Sligo (bizarrely).
Personally, though, I do think that people living in Dublin have an almost imperial attitude to the rest of the country. Take, for example, the ridiculous non-Dublin traffic reports on RTÉ or Today FM, which must have there basis in dried tea-leaves or something!
When I was talking about Tourists I was talking about Dublin City vs Cork CityNot the surrounding countryside
. Anyways its strange, a galway lad was saying he worries when he sees the Dubs coming. I find myself worried walking down any street in any of Ireland's cities, for the very reason you might bump into someone with the hate shown on here for Dubs coupled with a will to exercise the hate on my face
Awh to be honest, I sit in an office with guys from Cork, Tipp, Mayo, Kerry, Roscommon and Wicklow and they only have two things in common, they all hate league of ireland and they all support Liverpool/Man U!! So maybe I have more in common with the Corkies here!! Lesast ye like the league![]()
I'm going to sell my soul to the Devil here but, I think that the Cork/Dublin banter can be great because most Dubs I know, have a good sense of humour. It was funny when I was in college and the Dubs felt they needed to look after me because I was "from the country." They soon realised that I knew Dublin better than most of them.
There are a lot of decent people in the place but most of them have parents from the country.
My first choice would be to live in West Cork but if I had to live in an Irish city, I'd pick Dublin over Cork.
There are still too many small minded people in Cork city.
Duh! Eire06 is not a ladOriginally Posted by Gareth
Don't you read Totty Watch/Hair Products/pay attention at all on Foot.ie??
ha ha h ahahhaha
She is going to bitchslap you![]()
I thought only men could "bitch slap"?Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
Originally Posted by Peadar
Who has kidnapped Peadar? Who is writing in his place!?
As a neutral, i think the Dub/Cork banter funny, but I can appreciate what both sides are saying, get over it, same country! But then you get similar things in most countries Glasgow/Edinburgh Barcelona/Madrid etc
Only in DublinOriginally Posted by Peadar
Maybe Gareth is a woman?![]()