View Full Version : Dublin/Cork

M@ttitude
25/04/2005, 12:36 AM
What is it with Cork people hating Dubs (more than the usual country person)? I cant understand this at all, because it seems the only thing Dubs have a problem with is the fact that you hate us. Until the internet I never could have imagined that most Cork people put Dubs in they're top ten most hated things.

You continually say we are west brits, again I dont know how this is! Maybe television or something is making you think like
this. I work in Ireland, All my friends and family are Irish, I have an Irish accent, I support everything Irish! But im a west brit? Wats going on down there lads?? :confused: Is this just humerous banter or does it run deeper?

Eire06
25/04/2005, 8:05 AM
Its not just Cork people taht hate ye its the whole country ;)

25/04/2005, 8:16 AM
Its not just Cork people taht hate ye its the whole country ;)
Yeah, shut up and get your union flags out for the queen..... again. :)

Gareth
25/04/2005, 8:25 AM
The initial gripes I think stem from them claiming they should be the Capital. After that, I don't know, I have to agree, since a few years ago I had no problem with Cork people until I started to experience their utter contempt for all things Dublin. Its very strange cos as you say the people Dubs usually consider would be Meath or if your in gaa terms Kerry. Cork never featured as slighty relavent to dislike at all!! But hey the West Brit comment is daft!! :)

25/04/2005, 8:32 AM
Its not just a new phenomenon either. Was chattin to my buddies father in law a while back who is a Dub but has lived in Cork for 35 years. He met his Cork wife in London in the late 60's around the time of "No Blacks, No Irish, No Dogs", when the Irish were hated in England.
He said when he moved back to Cork around 1970 he got a worse time in Cork cos he was a Dub than he did in London.

25/04/2005, 8:53 AM
I had no problem with Cork people until I started to experience their utter contempt for all things Dublin.

Lighten up chaps. For most of us it's just a bit of banter.
I get a fair amount of abuse in Dublin and just laugh it off.
If I had €1 for every time I've been called a "Cork cnut", I'd be a wealthy man. That's the Dublin sense of humour and I accept that it's not as spohisticated or developed as the rest of Ireland so I take it on the chin.

Gareth
25/04/2005, 9:10 AM
:) I have seen Cork people near foam at the mouth with eagerness to insult Dublin. Eyes roll and everything!! :) Its very silly cos Cork is pretty much a smaller version of Dublin in that you have plenty of knackers and your town is filthy too, only on a smaller scale and you have less tourists!!! :)

Ruairi
25/04/2005, 9:34 AM
:) I have seen Cork people near foam at the mouth with eagerness to insult Dublin. Eyes roll and everything!! :) Its very silly cos Cork is pretty much a smaller version of Dublin in that you have plenty of knackers and your town is filthy too, only on a smaller scale and you have less tourists!!! :)

lol

i for one dont hate dublin, or its citizens.

In fact I pity dubs cause they have to live in such a fcuking horrible depressing sh!t hole where everyone's called anto and everyone looks like brendan o'carroll (even the women), where the definition of a good day is when you heard your neighbour on Joe Duffy complaining something no-one gives a sh!t about and the highlight of a good saturday night is a leather belt, a spoon, a lighter and a syringe...

but other than that, nah, dubs are grand

Eire06
25/04/2005, 9:34 AM
Corks is a lovely county, would go there before I'd go to Dublin any day... :D

I hate to see Dubs coming because they cause trouble and have this thing that they are better that you cause they are from the capital... Wish they'd just stay inside the Pail and keep us all happy :rolleyes:

25/04/2005, 9:35 AM
you have less tourists!!! :)

I think you'd be surprised how many visitors the West Cork/Kerry region get every year. The difference between Cork and Dublin is that our visitors actually come back. :p

25/04/2005, 9:37 AM
Wish they'd just stay inside the Pail and keep us all happy :rolleyes:

In fairness, I'd build a wall around my city too if it was bordered by Meath, Louth and Kildare. :D

Dublin12
25/04/2005, 9:44 AM
Cork's alright,has it's fair share of ar5eholes just like Dublin and everywhere else.Pity though Murphy's is not as nice as Guinness :D ,I don't think the majority of Dubs have a problem with Cork,it's just a bit of friendly banter.

25/04/2005, 9:52 AM
I think the Cork people who hate Dubs have an inferiority complex. Morons on this website actually have names like Anti-Dub and such like. Says a lot about their mentality. Dublin people are well used to this, and its not just Cork. All you have to do is go to Croke Park and witness it when Dublin are playing. These people need to have somebody to hate, its part of the make-up. Sad really.

crc
25/04/2005, 10:08 AM
I'm originally from Derry, and its not just a Cork thing. I think "HATE" is too strong, but there is a strong Dublin v non-Dublin rivalry. I think its related to the contempt that some/most Dubs hold for all cultchies generally.

The reason it may seem that Corconians are more at fault than others is because a) there are more of them, and b) they generally have an inflated sense of their own importance :eek: :D (I can tell I'm going to get some stick for this). On Foot.ie (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=23941) there are more fans of Cork City than any club except Sligo (bizarrely).

Personally, though, I do think that people living in Dublin have an almost imperial attitude to the rest of the country. Take, for example, the ridiculous non-Dublin traffic reports on RTÉ or Today FM, which must have there basis in dried tea-leaves or something!

Gareth
25/04/2005, 10:10 AM
When I was talking about Tourists I was talking about Dublin City vs Cork City :) Not the surrounding countryside :). Anyways its strange, a galway lad was saying he worries when he sees the Dubs coming. I find myself worried walking down any street in any of Ireland's cities, for the very reason you might bump into someone with the hate shown on here for Dubs coupled with a will to exercise the hate on my face :)

Awh to be honest, I sit in an office with guys from Cork, Tipp, Mayo, Kerry, Roscommon and Wicklow and they only have two things in common, they all hate league of ireland and they all support Liverpool/Man U!! So maybe I have more in common with the Corkies here!! Lesast ye like the league :)

25/04/2005, 10:18 AM
I'm going to sell my soul to the Devil here but, I think that the Cork/Dublin banter can be great because most Dubs I know, have a good sense of humour. It was funny when I was in college and the Dubs felt they needed to look after me because I was "from the country." They soon realised that I knew Dublin better than most of them.
There are a lot of decent people in the place but most of them have parents from the country. ;)
My first choice would be to live in West Cork but if I had to live in an Irish city, I'd pick Dublin over Cork.
There are still too many small minded people in Cork city.

25/04/2005, 10:21 AM
When I was talking about Tourists I was talking about Dublin City vs Cork City Not the surrounding countryside . Anyways its strange, a galway lad was saying he worries when he sees the Dubs coming. I find myself worried walking down any street in any of Ireland's cities, for the very reason you might bump into someone with the hate shown on here for Dubs coupled with a will to exercise the hate on my face

Awh to be honest, I sit in an office with guys from Cork, Tipp, Mayo, Kerry, Roscommon and Wicklow and they only have two things in common, they all hate league of ireland and they all support Liverpool/Man U!! So maybe I have more in common with the Corkies here!! Lesast ye like the league

Duh! Eire06 is not a lad :D :D Don't you read Totty Watch/Hair Products/pay attention at all on Foot.ie?? :rolleyes: :D ha ha h ahahhaha

She is going to bitchslap you :D

25/04/2005, 10:24 AM
She is going to bitchslap you :D

I thought only men could "bitch slap"?

25/04/2005, 10:26 AM
I'm going to sell my soul to the Devil here but, I think that the Cork/Dublin banter can be great because most Dubs I know, have a good sense of humour. It was funny when I was in college and the Dubs felt they needed to look after me because I was "from the country." They soon realised that I knew Dublin better than most of them.
There are a lot of decent people in the place but most of them have parents from the country. ;)
My first choice would be to live in West Cork but if I had to live in an Irish city, I'd pick Dublin over Cork.

:confused: :D Who has kidnapped Peadar? Who is writing in his place!? :D

As a neutral, i think the Dub/Cork banter funny, but I can appreciate what both sides are saying, get over it, same country! But then you get similar things in most countries Glasgow/Edinburgh Barcelona/Madrid etc

25/04/2005, 10:27 AM
I thought only men could "bitch slap"?

Only in Dublin ;) :D :D

Maybe Gareth is a woman? :confused: :D

Eire06
25/04/2005, 10:31 AM
Come to Galway you'll love it promise ;)
Much better that cork and Dublin put together :cool:

aido_b
25/04/2005, 10:32 AM
I think Cork people presume Dubs are ignorant because we can't understand ye, Im in college with a lad from Cork and it took me about 2 months to understand everything he was saying!Also I think that Cork people are more mannerly and get ****ed off because we say, "what" to nearly everything!thats just the way we speak to one another so don't be offended by it!

Other than that I don't know why everyone hates Dublin, its a lovely place really!

As for the "west brits" comments, whats in Dublin that makes us so British thats not in Cork????

25/04/2005, 10:34 AM
I think Dublin people that lump all Cork people into one category are stupid.

Dublin12
25/04/2005, 10:41 AM
:D ,That statement is straight out of the playground :D

25/04/2005, 11:03 AM
Come to Galway you'll love it promise ;)

I've been there many times.
Went to the GPO one night a few years ago and I kid you not, there were women hanging off me and my mate.
They were nearly as forward as the women in Tel Aviv! :D

Eire06
25/04/2005, 11:05 AM
I've been there many times.
Went to the GPO one night a few years ago and I kid you not, there were women hanging off me and my mate.
They were nearly as forward as the women in Tel Aviv! :D
they were the knackery Dubs down for the weekend :D..
The GPO is a hole... Wouldn't go there if you paid me..

25/04/2005, 11:09 AM
Wouldn't go there if you paid me..

Perhaps it's the norm in Galway, but I'm not into paying women! :eek: :D

Eire06
25/04/2005, 11:13 AM
Your so funny... :rolleyes:

Gareth
25/04/2005, 11:18 AM
My sister lives in Galway and I do enjoy going out down there. Use to love watching a band called Tightrope? Problem was, I loved the pubs but I couldn't find a decent nightclub. I want a club that play indie/alt rock akin to Whelans but I always ended up in a Coppers like dishco or Cuba when it was either rave night or Spanish Night :)

Any help Eire06? And sorry I called you a fella, and I am not a woman to answer an earlier post :) I'm pretty sure of that.

25/04/2005, 11:22 AM

He only pays the old ones :D

Making it a threesome :D , Galway/Dublin/Cork especially up North, Galway has the best reputation as a city to visit, go out for a weekend etc I suppose in fairness Cork is far and Dublin is expensive

PS Gareth, glad to know you are sure of what you are :D

25/04/2005, 11:34 AM
especially up North, Galway has the best reputation as a city to visit, go out for a weekend etc

That's partly due to the distance between Cork and Ulster.
I can assure you that Cork has everything Galway has to offer, and more.
Cork isn't much more expensive than Galway either.
I'm amazed at the amount of Irish people who've never been to Cork.
People need to open their minds a small bit.

Gareth
25/04/2005, 11:49 AM
All bias aside and being totally honest, I prefer Galway for a weekend. I would rank Killarney, Westport and Kilkenny after that. Down on the list would be Cork City, Waterford and Limerick. I can't really judge Dublin for a weekend because I am from Dublin and see it as a normal place to go out in. One thing Dublin does have is possibly the most variety due to its size. One thing Dublin lacks greatly however is bands in pubs in the Centre. Unless its a pay in gig!!

exile
25/04/2005, 11:57 AM
im living in dublin years and the only problem i have with dublin is junkies and thats not exactly the fault of the dubs. its always as a great nitelife and that dosent mean temple bar as thats for tourists

25/04/2005, 12:22 PM
That's partly due to the distance between Cork and Ulster.
I can assure you that Cork has everything Galway has to offer, and more.
Cork isn't much more expensive than Galway either.
I'm amazed at the amount of Irish people who've never been to Cork.
People need to open their minds a small bit.

I said that in my last post, in fairness cork is far and dublin is expensive, if cork was closer then things might be different.

You'd be surprised also the amount of people who have never been North ever!

Eire06
25/04/2005, 12:33 PM
Any help Eire06? And sorry I called you a fella, and I am not a woman to answer an earlier post :) I'm pretty sure of that.

You see the thing about Galway is its pubs.. And most of them stay open late
No really good nightclubs..
The Warrick is good craic if you have a crowd cause it has its band and DJ, but its out in Salthill...
Galway has a great pub culture and most* people are out for a bit of craic and to have a laugh... thats what I love about it

*Avoid Supermacs on a Sat night..

Dublin lovin Peadar... Its nothing to do with distance everyone loves Galway because its good craic, you can have a laugh and most people are easy going... Thats just the way it is... :D

Just wish they'd get a move on with Eyre Square.. still a disaster zone :mad:

Eire06
25/04/2005, 12:34 PM
You'd be surprised also the amount of people who have never been North ever!
I was and loved it..
Love Derry and Belfast :D

Babysis
25/04/2005, 12:39 PM
I was and loved it..

Same as that, really liked Derry. Galway is great (but them Im slightly biased). To be fair I cant pass judgement on Cork. Ive never been, so it wouldnt be fair. I like Dublin, but Id rather go elsewhere for a vist as its just like being in London really.

Eire06
25/04/2005, 12:40 PM
Same as that, really liked Derry. Galway is great (but them Im slightly biased). To be fair I cant pass judgement on Cork. Ive never been, so it wouldnt be fair. I like Dublin, but Id rather go elsewhere for a vist as its just like being in London really.
Letterkenny in Donegal is great craic too :D

Babysis
25/04/2005, 12:43 PM
Letterkenny in Donegal is great craic too :D

Yeah, I had a good night out there a long time ago. :)

25/04/2005, 1:34 PM
I was and loved it..

Derry is my favourite, the people are so friendly and their wit and humour is first class. Love going there. Enniskillen, nearest 'big' town to me is really nice in the summer with the lakes, islands etc, really popular with Germans and Swedes.

25/04/2005, 1:35 PM
Yeah, I had a good night out there a long time ago. :)

Yip, Letterkenny is a good laugh, not far from me either!

25/04/2005, 5:48 PM
Personally speaking, I hate Dublin. I have friends from there, its not a case of hating someone the minute I realise they're from Dublin or anything, but I just don't like the place. The attitude of "everywhere outside of here is the country", words like "bogger" or "culchie" are just plain irritating and show a condescending attitude that I have found quite prevalent in many Dublin people.

I just don't like the place. I was in Murcia once, didn't like that city either- does that mean I have a chip on my shoulder about Murcia too :rolleyes:

M@ttitude
25/04/2005, 8:45 PM
Thanks for all the replys, it seems that the majority of the Cork people are just having a laugh coz we have so much in common, like two brothers slagging each other..

Its the simple stuck up their own ar$e people like eire06 that really annoys me, anyone else? Imagine labelling so many people with the knackery and trouble making stick.. who are you to sit in your pretty house in Galway and throw out remarks like that. Snob. And I was in Galway for a weekend 2 weeks ago with my Girlfriend and had a lovely time, still prefer my home though whether or not you think yours is better. :mad:

25/04/2005, 10:45 PM
I've been living in dublin for more years than i care to remember as they say. I obviously don't hate dublin or wouldn't still be here.

The one thing i've noticed is how few dubs actually left. Supposed to be 50k chinese, must be same again of other nationalities so we at 100k foreigners fro starters. In my office around 50% of people are non-dubs & was at least the same in last job. I'm sure would be similar numbers when meet friends of friends & such. I'd say give it another 5-10 years & dubs will be out numbered in dublin city as they continue to colonise the rest of Leinster.

Worst things about Dublin
- Traffic gridlock (i live close enough to town but i work with someone with 2.5 morning commute :eek: )
- Everythings expensive
- Social policy of spreading scumbags around the city. Be better to just dump in 1 corner. :)
- Snobs

Good things about Dublin
- Non Dubs :D (only joking)

aido_b
25/04/2005, 10:51 PM
Social policy of spreading scumbags around the city. Be better to just dump

Agree with you there ...

I've lived my whole life in the Dublin 7 area Pete and if you think its bad now you had want to have seen it 10 years ago. Having said that the way things are going now it won't be too long before we'll surrounded by scum again.

Also seeing as your from Dublin 7 why haven't you defected to Bohs yet???

25/04/2005, 11:24 PM
Agree with you there ...

I've lived my whole life in the Dublin 7 area Pete and if you think its bad now you had want to have seen it 10 years ago. Having said that the way things are going now it won't be too long before we'll surrounded by scum again.

Also seeing as your from Dublin 7 why haven't you defected to Bohs yet???

I wasn't referring to D7 specifically. Not bad where i am but law says can't put barbed wire on walls anymore :( However i did take the wrong bus on way back from Dalymount & had to get off in the heart of Cabra - walked quicker than usual that night :eek:

Bohs could do with all the support they get from what i see. I usually go to most of your european games if around something ilve stopped doing for shel$.

26/04/2005, 12:56 AM
Thanks for all the replys, it seems that the majority of the Cork people are just having a laugh coz we have so much in common, like two brothers slagging each other..

Its the simple stuck up their own ar$e people like eire06 that really annoys me, anyone else? Imagine labelling so many people with the knackery and trouble making stick.. who are you to sit in your pretty house in Galway and throw out remarks like that. Snob. And I was in Galway for a weekend 2 weeks ago with my Girlfriend and had a lovely time, still prefer my home though whether or not you think yours is better. :mad:

:eek: Miaow!! Miaow! :D

Hilarious!!! M@ttitude, that was hilarious, but it is all false i'm afraid. Eire06 was not being nasty. Some people said things that you did not react to, so i assume you are just trying to wind the poor girl up, naughty boy, I hope you don't succeed! :D

Closed Account 2
26/04/2005, 1:20 AM
I think deep down lots of people are just jealous of Bray... the whole Dub-Cork thing is just a smoke-screen. In the space of 20 mins you can have a walk along the lovely seafront, do a spot of shopping off Main Street, and then climb Bray Head for spectacular views of the coast up to Killiney and Dalkey. There are few towns in Ireland that have such a mix of things to do, and once they take the trollies out of the Dargle then it really will be top draw.

M@ttitude
26/04/2005, 1:26 AM
I think deep down lots of people are just jealous of Bray....

Yeah that must be it, I reckon the world would be a better place if everyone just admitted that they are jealous of Bray! :confused: :rolleyes:
p.s Bray head 101 is the newest member at the moment! Coincidence or not?

onenilgameover
26/04/2005, 3:48 AM
I might be quite an insular person being from Dublin and all but as far as knew people from Cork were all carnival folk that had small hands and smelled like cabbage.