View Full Version : Dublin/Cork

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Eire06
26/04/2005, 8:36 AM
Its the simple stuck up their own ar$e people like eire06 that really annoys me, anyone else? Imagine labelling so many people with the knackery and trouble making stick.. who are you to sit in your pretty house in Galway and throw out remarks like that. Snob. And I was in Galway for a weekend 2 weeks ago with my Girlfriend and had a lovely time, still prefer my home though whether or not you think yours is better. :mad:
Well not everyone can be upper class, there has to be some commoners like yourself to make up the demographic, just lucky they’re all in Dublin, couldn’t handle that riff-raff here..
Thanks for calling my house pretty I have spent ever so much time trying to hire builders and landscapers to come in and do it and it is very hard to find good skivvies these days...
I'm off now for my daily manicure, pedicure (that is getting my nails filed, shaped and painted for both my hands and by feet) and facial.. Please do stay in touch, I do like to see how the lower classes live, oh and next time you save up enough of you wages to come on a holiday please contact me and I will let you stay in one of my costal houses... I do like to give to charity :rolleyes:

joey B
26/04/2005, 8:44 AM
Well not everyone can be upper class, there has to be some commoners like yourself to make up the demographic, just lucky they’re all in Dublin, couldn’t handle that riff-raff here..
Thanks for calling my house pretty I have spent ever so much time trying to hire builders and landscapers to come in and do it and it is very hard to find good skivvies these days...
I'm off now for my daily manicure, pedicure (that is getting my nails filed, shaped and painted for both my hands and by feet) and facial.. Please do stay in touch, I do like to see how the lower classes live, oh and next time you save up enough of you wages to come on a holiday please contact me and I will let you stay in one of my costal houses... I do like to give to charity :rolleyes:

Fecking snob :D

Eire06
26/04/2005, 8:47 AM
Fecking snob :D
Oh you Donegal ruffians do crack me up..ha ha ha ha ha :rolleyes:

joey B
26/04/2005, 9:01 AM
As do you Galway air-heads :rolleyes: :D

Eire06
26/04/2005, 10:28 AM
As do you Galway air-heads :rolleyes: :D
Ya like totally

ollie
26/04/2005, 10:31 AM
a walk along the lovely seafront.

a lovely radioactive sea front you mean. ;)

rebs23
26/04/2005, 10:43 AM
We don't hate Dubs! Just pity them!!
I suppose what irritates people from the rest of Ireland about Dublin (not the dubs) is the constant talk about Dublin. (Most of which are patethic trying too hard attempts to show Dublin as a trendy cosmopolitan city) RTE only ever put on Drama, Soaps, Comedy about Dublin or based in Dublin. The news always covers stories about Dublin before the rest of the country. I suppose it's understandable when most of the media is based in Dublin and therefore tend to write about what effects them personally but still please a bit of balance. They are supposed to be our National Broadcaster.

The newspapers and what I call the Dublin lobby always insist that all national institutions are based in Dublin unlike other European countries. The fact that the National Developmnent Plan listed the Govs priorities yet projects in Dublin can jump the list continuosly because they shout loudest and I still have to travel on what can only be described as a Boreen of a road between Cork and Limerick. The Gov wanting to waste our money on a metro for Dublin which by all international comparisons does not have the population density to justify one. Buses are far more efficient.

Dublin really is gridlocked but the solutions being proposed are the ones that are only going to continuosly gridlcok the city. Decentralisation and ensuring that national institutions and projects are located outside of Dublin is the way forward.
2 examples National Stadium why is it being located in Dublin. Surely somewhere in the middle of the country with ease of access to rail and road to the South, North and West and still only an hour awway from the airport.
Dublin Port Tunnell - Why build such an expensive tunnel for trucks using Dublin Port. Surely the more economical solution is to expand Drogheda, Dundalk, Waterford or Arklow ports?

Anyway A message for Everyone
COME TO CORK IN 2005!

26/04/2005, 10:57 AM
Yip, Letterkenny is a good laugh, not far from me either!

Letterkenny's hardly the most sophisticated night-out you'll ever have, but it's alright as a one-off for a laugh I guess.

But what is it with nightclubs in these country places playing the anthem at the end of the night ?!?! All a bit Hicksville USA/Communist China for my liking. Wouldn't be so bad if most of the people there actually knew the words.... :eek:

ollie
We don't hate Dubs! Just pity them!!
I suppose what irritates people from the rest of Ireland about Dublin (not the dubs) is the constant talk about Dublin. (Most of which are patethic trying too hard attempts to show Dublin as a trendy cosmopolitan city) RTE only ever put on Drama, Soaps, Comedy about Dublin or based in Dublin. The news always covers stories about Dublin before the rest of the country. I suppose it's understandable when most of the media is based in Dublin and therefore tend to write about what effects them personally but still please a bit of balance. They are supposed to be our National Broadcaster.

The newspapers and what I call the Dublin lobby always insist that all national institutions are based in Dublin unlike other European countries. The fact that the National Developmnent Plan listed the Govs priorities yet projects in Dublin can jump the list continuosly because they shout loudest and I still have to travel on what can only be described as a Boreen of a road between Cork and Limerick. The Gov wanting to waste our money on a metro for Dublin which by all international comparisons does not have the population density to justify one. Buses are far more efficient.

Dublin really is gridlocked but the solutions being proposed are the ones that are only going to continuosly gridlcok the city. Decentralisation and ensuring that national institutions and projects are located outside of Dublin is the way forward.
2 examples National Stadium why is it being located in Dublin. Surely somewhere in the middle of the country with ease of access to rail and road to the South, North and West and still only an hour awway from the airport.
Dublin Port Tunnell - Why build such an expensive tunnel for trucks using Dublin Port. Surely the more economical solution is to expand Drogheda, Dundalk, Waterford or Arklow ports?

Anyway A message for Everyone
COME TO CORK IN 2005!

good post.i suppose the luas was put up to ease traffic.regardless of the population density.agree with everything else.
its a real rat race.

Social policy of spreading scumbags around the city. Be better to just dump in 1 corner
Well pete, you should move to Wicklow - they dump all their scumbags in Bray...

I think deep down lots of people are just jealous of Bray... the whole Dub-Cork thing is just a smoke-screen. In the space of 20 mins you can have a walk along the lovely seafront, do a spot of shopping off Main Street, and then climb Bray Head for spectacular views of the coast up to Killiney and Dalkey. There are few towns in Ireland that have such a mix of things to do, and once they take the trollies out of the Dargle then it really will be top draw.

crc
26/04/2005, 11:10 AM
National Stadium... Surely somewhere in the middle of the country with ease of access to rail and road to the South, North and West and still only an hour awway from the airport.
I'm not part of the 'Dublin lobby' you mention, but where for the love of God are you going to find a location with the transport criteria you mention, that isn't Dublin??
In case you hadn't noticed, all (rail)roads lead to Dublin, as well as most of the best roads, not to mention an airport with flights to 5 or 6 regional airports.
Where would you suggest? Cork :rolleyes: , Galway :rolleyes: , Athlone :eek: ???

On the other hand, I do think that other places should get some international games. We could have played the Faroes in Cork :confused: !

26/04/2005, 11:22 AM

There was a similar point made in Slovenia by Slovenia's "Cork" Maribor. They always complained that the national football stadium was located in the capital Ljubljana and now the new stadium is at a town called Celje between the two cities and attendences have dropped massively.

rebs23
26/04/2005, 11:54 AM
I'm not part of the 'Dublin lobby' you mention, but where for the love of God are you going to find a location with the transport criteria you mention, that isn't Dublin??
In case you hadn't noticed, all (rail)roads lead to Dublin, as well as most of the best roads, not to mention an airport with flights to 5 or 6 regional airports.
Where would you suggest? Cork :rolleyes: , Galway :rolleyes: , Athlone :eek: ???

On the other hand, I do think that other places should get some international games. We could have played the Faroes in Cork :confused: !

I honestly would suggest somewhere in the Midlands with ease of access to the Galway-Dublin Road&Railline and the Cork-Dublin Road&Railline. Anyone from the Midlands help me out here! How about Portarlington. A bit of imagination please everyone.
As you have said all roads/railways currently lead to Dublin which is part of the problem. Lets give everyone in Ireland the same oppurtunities to take advantage of national institutions. Dublin is not the easiest place in Ireland to get in and out of at times and a location in the midlands would certainly be more accessible for the vast majority of people.
Part of the problem is continuosly basing national institutions in the capital.
Also part of the problem is that people like me just cannot convince Dubliners that for the sake of Dublin and Ireland we need to radically re-examine development centres in this country to ensure our current level of development is sustainable.
What is happening in Dublin at the moment is unsustainable and cannot last forever.

fosterdollar
26/04/2005, 12:00 PM
As far as i can make out Dublin gets completely shat on by everyone else. A few things.

It's funny that, while you don't tend to hear 'Dublin is great' rubbish being thrown around by Dubs, there is this urge to pick on the Dubs like they are asking for it. It's more likely that pro-'where-i'm-from' rants are intiated by the lads from the South from my experience.

Getting uptight about being called a culchie is wahey over the top especially given that almost everywhere else has names for places outside their own: j@ckeen, townie, l@nger, etc.

Dublin gets more media attention because it is the administrative/transport/educational/capital of Ireland. About 30% of the population live here. It's like the sports results on the radio. Unless an exceptional event is being reported, usually the most popular sport is reported first. That's the aim of the media - to satisfy the most amount of people as quickly as possible. (BTW, if you think traffic reports are inaccurate elsewhere in the country, you're experiencing the same problems as faced by Dublin road users and I don't know why you would assume that that just happens outside Dublin.)

Too many people not orignally from Dublin will p!ss and moan about it till the proverbial cows come. And it's always about the characteristics associated with any comparable city (house prices, traffic, crime, concrete jungle) but at the end of the day, culchies (ahem) as a group still insist on gravitating towards the place.

ollie
26/04/2005, 12:23 PM

well think of towns with big stadiums like thurles and killarney.it doesn't matter that the place is small or not near a city,just that it isn't a pain to get in and out of.they get full houses every year.
if it was a national stadium the traffic wouldn't be all coming from the same direction which wouldn't make the traffic that bad..?fair enough an airport might be a bit of a problem but not unmanagable

26/04/2005, 12:32 PM
The one stereotype true about dublin people is that most have little idea whats beypond the pale. When living in dublin there can be often little use for interaction with outsaide the pale. However these days they a lot more familiar with Wicklow, Kildare, Meath & Louth as all dubs living there.

Funniest thing for years was when dublin GAA folks made trip to Thurles to play Kerry & discovered motorway stopped at Naas (at the time) :D

26/04/2005, 12:34 PM
Getting uptight about being called a culchie is wahey over the top especially given that almost everywhere else has names for places outside their own: j@ckeen, townie, l@nger, etc.
jackeen is a name for Dubs. "Townie"- I thought that was in Missisippi or something?! As for l@nger- well thats our word, and it was stolen by the dubs :mad: another reason to hate them :eek: :p

Dublin12
26/04/2005, 12:41 PM
Face it lads,we have far more famous people from Dublin than yous have or ever will,how many Cork football players have worn the Irish shirt :D a small percentage compared to the Dubs :D

(runs for cover)

fosterdollar
26/04/2005, 12:45 PM
jackeen is a name for Dubs.

And Dublin 'is a place outside your own'

"Townie"- I thought that was in Missisippi or something?!

Now who doesn't get stuff from outside where they're from?

As for l@nger- well thats our word, and it was stolen by the dubs :mad: another reason to hate them :eek: :p

P!ssed off for not being included and p!ssed when included... l@nger :rolleyes: :D

Eire06
26/04/2005, 12:48 PM
COME TO CORK IN 2005!
I vote Cork to be our new capital :D

Corky
26/04/2005, 12:55 PM
(Most of which are patethic trying too hard attempts to show Dublin as a trendy cosmopolitan city)

cosmopolitan
/kozmpollit’n/

• adjective: consisting of people from many different countries and cultures: a cosmopolitan metropolis.

Theres a fairly diverse mix of nationalities and cultures in Dublin, including, god bless us all, the culture that promotes the wearing of county jersies to nightclubs. See 'trendy' below

trendy
informal

• adjective (trendier, trendiest) very fashionable or up to date.

Guess its a matter of opinion on this one but while Dublin isnt exactly Paris or New York, its a fairly up to date city in terms of shopping, eating, theatre, music etc. Thats not to say Cork isnt by the way...

The Gov wanting to waste our money on a metro for Dublin which by all international comparisons does not have the population density to justify one. Buses are far more efficient.

Have you ever used Dublin Bus?? I've found that most cities I've been to with a population of 1mil+ have indeed got metro/underground systems. Also when you say 'our money' I presume your referring to taxpayers money, a large proportion of which is collected from Dubs and those living here.

Excellent point.

Dublin has been and is, changing dramatically. Its a different city compared to what it was 20 years ago. Perhaps its lost some of its charm and people are in more of a rush and arent as courteous. Maybe too much money (or more to the point people with too much money) floating around these days has irreversibly changed what was always a generally poor city.
Either way, its my home and Iove it. Theres plenty of good here: Genuine Dubs have a great wit and sense of humour. There are a lot of honest, hard working people living here, both born here and moved here. Yeah, theres scumbags and crime and drugs but name me a city without that.

Ive only been to Cork a couple of times and thought it was a good spot. Its a nice City, smaller version of Dublin but with a more relaxed attitude. Has all the shops, restaraunts etc. you get in Dublin. But it lacks the openess to change, and the live and let live attitude of Dublin. Maybe i'm wrong but the impression I get when I speak to Cork people is that there still seem to be a lot of small minded people in Cork, who just wish things would never change. (Rule 42!!) As for this Peoples Republic of Cork stuff, go for it. Throw up the walls and ban the rest of us. We'd miss Roy Keane and Liam Miller but I think we'd survive........ :)

26/04/2005, 1:00 PM
There should be long-term decentralisation from Dublin,though it's still in the process of developing itself 'fully',so that's a long way off yet.
That only works if people want to go. Quite clearly they don't (the only locations that have the numbers are towns that are in the Dublin Commuter belt already). Decentralisation will achieve nothing bar splitting departments/agencies between 2 (or more) locations at a massive cost to the state.

It's clear that decentralisation is nothing but a political plaything for certain ministers.....

Start decentralisation with the Oireachtas....

26/04/2005, 1:20 PM
Start decentralisation with the Oireachtas....
It'll have the knock-n effect that rotests won't be Dublin anymore to hold up the traffic even more. :D

rebs23
26/04/2005, 1:26 PM
cosmopolitan
/kozmpollit’n/

• adjective: consisting of people from many different countries and cultures: a cosmopolitan metropolis.

Theres a fairly diverse mix of nationalities and cultures in Dublin, including, god bless us all, the culture that promotes the wearing of county jersies to nightclubs. See 'trendy' below

trendy
informal

• adjective (trendier, trendiest) very fashionable or up to date.

Guess its a matter of opinion on this one but while Dublin isnt exactly Paris or New York, its a fairly up to date city in terms of shopping, eating, theatre, music etc. Thats not to say Cork isnt by the way...

Have you ever used Dublin Bus?? I've found that most cities I've been to with a population of 1mil+ have indeed got metro/underground systems. Also when you say 'our money' I presume your referring to taxpayers money, a large proportion of which is collected from Dubs and those living here.

Excellent point.

Dublin has been and is, changing dramatically. Its a different city compared to what it was 20 years ago. Perhaps its lost some of its charm and people are in more of a rush and arent as courteous. Maybe too much money (or more to the point people with too much money) floating around these days has irreversibly changed what was always a generally poor city.
Either way, its my home and Iove it. Theres plenty of good here: Genuine Dubs have a great wit and sense of humour. There are a lot of honest, hard working people living here, both born here and moved here. Yeah, theres scumbags and crime and drugs but name me a city without that.

Ive only been to Cork a couple of times and thought it was a good spot. Its a nice City, smaller version of Dublin but with a more relaxed attitude. Has all the shops, restaraunts etc. you get in Dublin. But it lacks the openess to change, and the live and let live attitude of Dublin. Maybe i'm wrong but the impression I get when I speak to Cork people is that there still seem to be a lot of small minded people in Cork, who just wish things would never change. (Rule 42!!) As for this Peoples Republic of Cork stuff, go for it. Throw up the walls and ban the rest of us. We'd miss Roy Keane and Liam Miller but I think we'd survive........ :)

Corky some good points. By the way I and a lot of Cork people cannot stand all that Peoples Republic Rubbish.
While we have always had a lot of people from outside Ireland living in Cork due to trade links with Europe etc and currently 8% of the cities population was born outside Ireland, we are still a bit too parochial for our own good at times and don't promote ourselves as well nationally as say Galway does but that is changing and we are on a National charm offensive at the moment!!
So be warned!!

26/04/2005, 1:26 PM
Letterkenny's hardly the most sophisticated night-out you'll ever have, but it's alright as a one-off for a laugh I guess.

But what is it with nightclubs in these country places playing the anthem at the end of the night ?!?! All a bit Hicksville USA/Communist China for my liking. Wouldn't be so bad if most of the people there actually knew the words.... :eek:

I wouldn't go that often cos it is much further than other big towns, so it is ok, I wouldn't dream of putting Donegal and sophistication in the same sentence anyway :rolleyes: sorry joeyb :D

We always went out a lot in Monaghan cos it was the closest big town with a nightclub, they always played the anthem at the end, hilarious and weird! Don't know if they still do, haven't been out there for a few years, full of 17/18 year olds! :eek:

joey B
26/04/2005, 1:33 PM
In fairness there are'nt that many places in the whole of Ireland that are that sophisticated :D

26/04/2005, 1:37 PM
In fairness there are'nt that many places in the whole of Ireland that are that sophisticated :D

Fermanagh is in a word 'sophistication' (with wellies) :D

Closed Account 2
26/04/2005, 1:38 PM
a lovely radioactive sea front you mean. ;)

Sea is nice shade of off green, glows in the dark and is warm all year round - its Marbella without the Sangria :D

Well pete, you should move to Wicklow - they dump all their scumbags in Bray...

I think deep down lots of people are just jealous of Bray... the whole Dub-Cork thing is just a smoke-screen. In the space of 20 mins you can have a walk along the lovely seafront, do a spot of shopping off Main Street, and then climb Bray Head for spectacular views of the coast up to Killiney and Dalkey. There are few towns in Ireland that have such a mix of things to do, and once they take the trollies out of the Dargle then it really will be top draw.

Is your definition of scumbag someone who likes a likes a town they’ve visited many times :confused: ? In all seriousness I’m not really too bothered what people call me over an internet forum. However as an aside, does calling a member a scumbag, no matter how subtly its done, set a good example of attacking the post not the poster ?

joey B
26/04/2005, 1:38 PM
Sure most of Fermanagh is a fecking lake :D

26/04/2005, 1:47 PM
Sure most of Fermanagh is a fecking lake :D

Yeah, great way to secretly get rid of the mother-in-law! :eek: :D That's a terrible joke :o

ollie
26/04/2005, 2:23 PM
when I speak to Cork people is that there still seem to be a lot of small minded people in Cork, who just wish things would never change. (Rule 42!!) As for this Peoples Republic of Cork stuff, go for it.

:mad: Corky check your facts before you speak!!!!! :mad:

The rule 42 thing was a board decision (or a Frank Murphy decision).Almost all the clubs in the county wanted to change the rule but the board decided not to take a vote which was a joke,prob because the the lads at the top knew it would be defeated.thats only a handfull of small minded people. :)

Corky
26/04/2005, 2:41 PM
:mad: Corky check your facts before you speak!!!!! :mad:

The rule 42 thing was a board decision (or a Frank Murphy decision).Almost all the clubs in the county wanted to change the rule but the board decided not to take a vote which was a joke,prob because the the lads at the top knew it would be defeated.thats only a handfull of small minded people. :)

Ollie, point taken, it was the first example that came to mind and woe betide anyone on here without an example :o Suppose what i'm getting at is the whole Peoples Republic thing and that attitude which I agree is probably a minority, but a large enough one as far as I can gather. I find it strange that one place in the whole of Ireland pertains to be so unique and different (better??) than the rest of us that it should be a republic. But from what i'm reading here that attitude probably p155e5 of a lot of Cork people as well.

26/04/2005, 2:50 PM
Is your definition of scumbag someone who likes a likes a town they’ve visited many times :confused: ? In all seriousness I’m not really too bothered what people call me over an internet forum. However as an aside, does calling a member a scumbag, no matter how subtly its done, set a good example of attacking the post not the poster ?
Easy... it was a dig at Bray, not you. Pretty much like a lot of the thread has been a dig at some area or other. I'll stick to slagging it for being South County Dublin instead to avoid offence... :cool:

Closed Account 2
26/04/2005, 2:53 PM
ok fair enough ;)

ollie
26/04/2005, 3:05 PM
Ollie, point taken, it was the first example that came to mind and woe betide anyone on here without an example :o Suppose what i'm getting at is the whole Peoples Republic thing and that attitude which I agree is probably a minority, but a large enough one as far as I can gather. I find it strange that one place in the whole of Ireland pertains to be so unique and different (better??) than the rest of us that it should be a republic. But from what i'm reading here that attitude probably p155e5 of a lot of Cork people as well.

The same thing is in Spain with cataluna and the basque region.they look at themselves as a different country.
the whole peoples republic of cork(proc) thing is just a bit of fun for most of us any way.(as the tayto ad says there is always one)
If you look at the proc website its just havin a laugh.

26/04/2005, 3:06 PM
I wouldn't go that often cos it is much further than other big towns, so it is ok...

Jaysus KT - Letterkenny is not a big town !! Not even in Irish terms !

Sligo - now that's a big town. So too Athlone, Omagh, Enniskillen,Tralee etc. Letterkenny is just a main street, with a looping weird one-way by-pass type thing round the side of it and a load of naff housing on a hill to the other side ! :eek: :) It's barely the size of Strabane....!

Eire06
26/04/2005, 3:12 PM

Sligo - now that's a big town. So too Athlone, Omagh, Enniskillen,Tralee etc. Letterkenny is just a main street, with a looping weord opne-way by-pass type thing round the side of it and a load of naff housing on a hill to the other side ! :eek: :) It's barely the size of Strabane....!

It has the atmosphere of a big town cause all the Derry muckers come in for the night out and the good exchange reate on the sterling ;) ...

Rare huures the lot of them

26/04/2005, 3:14 PM

Sligo - now that's a big town. So too Athlone, Omagh, Enniskillen,Tralee etc. Letterkenny is just a main street, with a looping weord opne-way by-pass type thing round the side of it and a load of naff housing on a hill to the other side ! :eek: :) It's barely the size of Strabane....!

I meant that there are big towns close to me so i would not go beyond them(to letterkenny) that often. I did not mean that it was a town on a scale of Omagh, Enniskillen, Monaghan, no way! :eek: :D

26/04/2005, 3:16 PM
It has the atmosphere of a big town cause all the Derry muckers come in for the night out and the good exchange reate on the sterling ;) ...

Rare huures the lot of them

It does get very busy for a small place that is why it can be good. A lot of the Fermanagh gang invade also.

joey B
26/04/2005, 3:23 PM
Ah Donegal actually has a city Raphoe :eek:

Raphoe city (http://www.raphoe.com/volthouse/raphoe.htm)

Eire06
26/04/2005, 3:28 PM
Ah Donegal actually has a city Raphoe :eek:

Raphoe city (http://www.raphoe.com/volthouse/raphoe.htm)

Full of planters though ;)

joey B
26/04/2005, 3:31 PM
Also the famous Frank Mc Bearty's home city :) :D

Eire06
26/04/2005, 3:34 PM
Also the famous Frank Mc Bearty's home city :) :D
and Frankies night club :rolleyes:

joey B
26/04/2005, 3:40 PM
and Frankies night club :rolleyes:
Fecking kip :D

Eire06
26/04/2005, 3:46 PM
Fecking kip :D
yep just like the town its in..

joey B
26/04/2005, 3:48 PM
I cannae argue with that Eire06.

PS. Its a city ;) :D

26/04/2005, 3:54 PM

Joey B - the person who told you that had a speech impediment.

They were actually saying "it's sh!tty".... :D

26/04/2005, 3:55 PM

Raphoe for European city of culture! :D :rolleyes:

26/04/2005, 3:55 PM

Boom boom! :D

joey B
26/04/2005, 3:58 PM

Feck your original steve :rolleyes:
Raphoe is a city FACT! :D :D ;)