View Full Version : Jason Knight (M Bristol City b.2001)

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

Olé Olé
15/07/2020, 5:36 AM
Scores again tonight against Cardiff in a one-all draw.Derby slipping away a bit from the playoff spots. I really think this kid is one to watch,I’d much prefer for him to get a shot in the senior squad than the likes of Arter.

He's a different players though. Arter is likely to be competing with McCarthy, Molumby and Cullen for his perch. A lot depends on the game then whether we go with 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3 so there could be 1 or 2 spots. A couple of these lads could probably play more advanced than the others. You could have Cullen or McCarthy at the base and Arter further forward, for example.

15/07/2020, 7:15 AM
Seems to have a good knack of getting into the box at the right time. A careless / underhit backpass is something he'll learn from.

Eirambler
15/07/2020, 7:36 AM
I don't think it's necessarily a bad thing that Derby won't be going up. It gives Knight another year to fully nail down a first team spot at Championship level and may also give one or two of the younger Irish lads at Derby a chance to break through, Ebosele seems the most likely.

seanfhear
15/07/2020, 8:08 AM
He's a different players though. Arter is likely to be competing with McCarthy, Molumby and Cullen for his perch. A lot depends on the game then whether we go with 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3 so there could be 1 or 2 spots. A couple of these lads could probably play more advanced than the others. You could have Cullen or McCarthy at the base and Arter further forward, for example.If ya have these three then ya hardly need Arter ! !

DeLorean
15/07/2020, 8:16 AM
I don't think it's necessarily a bad thing that Derby won't be going up. It gives Knight another year to fully nail down a first team spot at Championship level and may also give one or two of the younger Irish lads at Derby a chance to break through, Ebosele seems the most likely.

True. I think the had eight academy graduates on the pitch at one stage against West Brom last week.

youngirish
15/07/2020, 10:57 AM

This is spot on. Derby going up will most likely not be good for any of the young players who are trying to break into the first team and from what I've seen of Knight at present he is barely Championship level and not ready for Premiership football. Another season in the Championship will do him wonders. West Brom getting promoted may also not be great for O'Shea who has only started to nail down a place in the first team but I think he, at least, is more ready to step up than Knight.

Of all the teams fighting for promotion I'd prefer Preston to go up as they are unlikely to spend big and this would give a chance to Browne and Maguire to show what they can do at a higher level which they really need to do at this stage of their careers.

Olé Olé
19/07/2020, 6:37 AM
Absolutely agree on Knight, Browne and Maguire. You could throw Joe Rafferty in there too. Can't say I agree on O'Shea. Bilic absolutely loves him. He is versatile. And he has delivered some goals at the business end of the season. He's also a big older than Knight. I would be very surprised if Bilic doesn't give him opportunities at the next level after his faith has been repaid.

19/07/2020, 8:27 PM
Just turned 19 years old with 30 first team appearances for a team at the top end of the Championship, along with 6 goals and a few assists.

Just a reminder to all that he’s going to be a massive player for us.

Olé Olé
19/07/2020, 9:14 PM
He is. 6 goals at 19 in that league is huge. Hendrick got 6 goals in 45 leagues games in 12/13 for them ages 20 and 21.

20/07/2020, 1:30 AM
Just turned 19 years old with 30 first team appearances for a team at the top end of the Championship, along with 6 goals and a few assists.

Just a reminder to all that he’s going to be a massive player for us.
Mad that we've a player playing to that standard and Kenny had so many options he struggled to get into the 21s. I am always cautious about feteing players at underage level but we do seem to have a group who have taken to senior football at a good level with a lot of maturity.

youngirish
03/10/2020, 12:23 PM
Playing today against Norwich in a more central and unfamiliar holding midfielder role. It looks like he has been given the task to help protect the defence and has started in place of the highly rated Bird who is on the bench. He has looked good so far, solid but unspectacular I'd say.

He has shown an impressive turn of pace when he breaks on a few occasions which has drawn some fouls and helped relieve Derby when they've been under pressure.

Just an update. He's been very good second half. One of Derby's best players. He has a really good engine. Still making bursts forward with pace in the latter part of the game.

His lone 50 metre run forward earned the freekick from which Derby scored.

tommy_c12000
03/10/2020, 1:25 PM
Agree, looks much better in central role. Was good today. Don’t think holding role is overly unfamiliar to him, we know he’s a natural combative central midfielder. Today, he sat nicely, showed save range of passing, was disruptive, but was able to get forward with his surging runs including his game winning one that you described.

Has he being playing centrally all this season? He developed nicely last season on the wing, but is a central midfielder as we’ve agreed upon

Eirambler
03/10/2020, 1:55 PM
He was excellent today. We need to be patient with him because he's still only 19, but he seems to have everything you would want from a box to box midfielder, good tackler, passer, has pace, scores goals and gets assists too. Also seems to have a great attitude and drive to succeed based on interviews with him that I've seen.

Probably a year or more away from challenging for a place in the senior team but he has massive potential if he continues at his current rate of development.

Olé Olé
03/10/2020, 2:28 PM
I didn't see the match but have seen him a couple of times. One thing I like is that Cocu consistently starts him. He has started Jason the first four games of the season in the league. I know he got plenty games last year and, as Eirambler states, he has a broad skillset. It bodes very well for this lad.

tommy_c12000
06/12/2020, 1:04 AM
Closing in on 50 first team championship appearances now. And now established in centre midfield and still only 19. Amazing achievement. Here’s his finish today from rebound. Parrott cuts in and has a shot at 1:08

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rE5KCTUCmG0

elatedscum
06/12/2020, 1:59 AM
Closing in on 50 first team championship appearances now. And now established in centre midfield and still only 19. Amazing achievement. Here’s his finish today from rebound. Parrott cuts in and has a shot at 1:08

No surprise the only ‘highlight’ of that game isn’t in the video. The world moves on and Millwall remains stuck in the Middle Ages...

samhaydenjr
06/12/2020, 2:17 AM

And seven goals to go with that.

Diggs246
06/12/2020, 12:35 PM
What would you say jason knight thinks of this conversation guys!

samhaydenjr
30/12/2020, 12:40 AM
Third of the season for Knight against Birmingham: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/55406582

Colbert Report
03/01/2021, 5:16 PM
Linked with a move to Burnley according to the Sun, (03.01.21, pg. 57).

Eirambler
03/01/2021, 5:45 PM
Would rather he stayed at Derby and held out for a better move if the only option is Burnley - not a style of football that I'd want probably our best young midfielder to be playing. He's capable of going higher up the ladder than that.

irishfan86
03/01/2021, 8:11 PM
One thing I will say about Dyche is that he consistently seeks, signs and plays Irish players. Given how thin the squad is, Knight would surely get plenty of minutes.

Olé Olé
03/01/2021, 8:53 PM
Burnley could be an interesting option depending on the plans of the new owners. Dyche has definitely been pragmatic in his approach. I'm not sure how much of that has been informed by the necessity for them to be prudent in the transfer market. If there's cash there from the new owners then it isn't a bad move.

I had a look at the Derby fan's forum and a couple of posters have commented on the speculation and one states they could have a battle to hold onto him and another states Burnley is below him and that they would expect a scramble for him.

At 19 and with the side on an upward curve under a legend like Rooney, you would have to think that he would be better off riding out the January window and his 20th birthday and re-assessing in the summer.

Olé Olé
03/01/2021, 8:59 PM
I would say, however, that there are a few pressing sides in the Premiership that I could see him at. His high energy style, coupled with his qualities on the ball would surely suit Leeds and Southampton.

Eirambler
03/01/2021, 9:30 PM
Twitter full of comments linking him to Palace and West Ham as well. Fair play to him, he has done the business in the Championship and is looking at a Premier League move at 19 that is based as much on his performances as well as obviously his potential.

Burnley - like I posted above I wouldn't want this move for him just based on his they set up. I'm not sure it's the best place for a young midfielder to develop his game.

Palace - a decent established EPL team but one where he would be likely to get game time. Would probably be competing with the likes of 33 year old James McArthur for a first team place. James McCarthy there as well of course but may well be on the way out of the club anyway.

West Ham - potentially another decent option but maybe a more difficult team to get game time at initially with the likes of Rice, Noble and Soucek in midfield. Conor Coventry is there as well obviously but needs a loan move out anyway as he isn't that near the first team.

I do think he has obvious Premier League quality but I didn't expect a move to be on the cards as soon as this.

03/01/2021, 9:45 PM
Linked with a move to Burnley according to the Sun, (03.01.21, pg. 57).
I'm really interested to know, did you just copy and paste that or did you get hold of a hard copy in California?

03/01/2021, 9:48 PM
One thing I will say about Dyche is that he consistently seeks, signs and plays Irish players. Given how thin the squad is, Knight would surely get plenty of minutes.
I agree with you but I don't think any of our players have really got better under him. Remains to be seen with Jimmy Dunne but Long has never broken through (injuries played a part) and Hendrick and Brady (injuries again) plateaued. Ward is maybe the only one you could argue improved at Burnley but he was already towards the end.

Colbert Report
04/01/2021, 3:37 PM
I'm really interested to know, did you just copy and paste that or did you get hold of a hard copy in California?

Haha good question. Read it on a Burnley forum and just copied and pasted the info. I trust the poster though, he's their version of tets.

I'm a Liverpool supporter but I put a large (for me, anyway) bet on Burnley getting relegated from the Premier League in 2014/15. I ended up following them, originally hoping they'd lose every match and I'd win the bet. I did, in fact, win, as they were relegated, but now I've spent years following them for no good reason.

Eirambler
13/01/2021, 9:11 PM
Derby having significant financial issues at the moment. Players were only paid half their wages in December. Speculation that higher value players such as Knight might need to be swiftly sold to raise funds to avoid administration.

Olé Olé
16/01/2021, 1:37 PM
https://twitter.com/dcfcofficial/status/1350442686659129345?s=19

Big show of faith from Rooney. 19 year old Knight captains Derby today. I think Curtis Davies, David Marshall and Rooney himself have featured as captain this season. All three of those men are 35. 16 years older than Knight.

Exgrad
16/01/2021, 1:45 PM
Second 19 year old Irish player to captain a chamionship team this season after Nathan Collins. In the midst of so much gloom re Irish football at moment thats a pointer to the future.

Rooney really seems to rate him, and hes seen some decent players in his time...

Olé Olé
16/01/2021, 1:46 PM
Second 19 year old Irish player to captain a chamionship team this season after Nathan Collins. In the midst of so much gloom re Irish football at moment thats a pointer to the future.

Rooney really seems to rate him, and hes seen some decent players in his time...
Yeah, I'm sure he owns a mirror!

Colbert Report
16/01/2021, 6:44 PM
I'm starting to think that this guy is our best prospect. Incredibly good news.

kennedmc
16/01/2021, 8:37 PM
Not really a big fan of him being made captain at such a young age, especially by a highly inexperienced manager - unless it was just a once off.

It's a bit of a distraction for a young fella and I'd rather he just focused on himself and deveolping / improving his game.

Olé Olé
16/01/2021, 8:51 PM
Rooney hails 'fantastic' Knight after awarding Derby County captaincy to Irish youngster https://the42.ie/5327356

seanfhear
16/01/2021, 9:06 PM
Fairs do’s to the young man but it does not say much about the other experienced Derby Players if they were not getting the captaincy shout. Tis no wonder Derby are in the Doldrums if that is the quality of senior players they have. If Rooney does not get results soon he will probably be on his way in any case.

17/01/2021, 1:00 AM
Think he was only captain because David Marshall was injured, for those afraid of it being a permanent thing.

Exgrad
20/01/2021, 2:18 PM
Knight captained Derby to a big win over Bournemouth last night. Some engine on him, still box to box last 10 minutes. Some vital clearances too and was cajoling the team on to get over the line. He has something about him. Everything he does is an 8/10, with no obvious weak points, and great consistency for a 19 year old. His work rate and attitude are going to bring him far.

Exgrad
20/01/2021, 2:19 PM
Rooney continues to be v positive about him:

https://www.the42.ie/jason-knight-wayne-rooney-derby-county-championship-wrap-5329780-Jan2021/

elatedscum
25/07/2021, 8:58 PM
Suffered an injury that will keep him out for a few months... won’t be available for the internationals in September...

26/07/2021, 7:39 PM
Was it a tackle from Rooney in training?

Razors left peg
26/07/2021, 9:05 PM
Was it a tackle from Rooney in training?

https://twitter.com/JPercyTelegraph/status/1419727826593493005?s=20

Apparently so. Moron

CSAD
27/07/2021, 9:42 AM
https://twitter.com/JPercyTelegraph/status/1419727826593493005?s=20

Apparently so. Moron

Or a stroke of genius, it’s ensured Knight will stay for atleast half the season.

The only positive really as like you said in reality it was moronic.

seanfhear
27/07/2021, 11:10 AM
Rooney does seem to get in to trouble with his Tackle ! !

elatedscum
27/07/2021, 11:13 AM
Rooney does seem to get in to trouble with his Tackle ! !

Normally the recipient is double Rooney’s age, not half it like Knight...

DeLorean
10/09/2021, 8:51 PM
Back from injury tonight, off the bench against Birmingham. Scott Hogan scored the opener for the Brummies.

10/09/2021, 10:18 PM
Saw that. Nice finish.

third policeman
11/09/2021, 8:52 AM
Am I alone in thinking that at this stage Hogan is more likely to score or impact on an International game than Idah, Parrott or Connolly?

11/09/2021, 9:31 AM
He is but he's very unlikely to see any international game time :)

Diggs246
11/09/2021, 12:58 PM
Am I alone in thinking that at this stage Hogan is more likely to score or impact on an International game than Idah, Parrott or Connolly?

no your right, but its a formation thing. If we play a 10 ( jamie mcgrath/ gavin killkenny is another one for that role).
then yes in the 4-5-1.
But when its hold up play idah is the obviously choice