View Full Version : Winding Up Order Against Company Behind Limerick
NeverFeltBetter
04/09/2019, 6:40 AM
Back on RTE! https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/0904/1073668-match-fixing/
04/09/2019, 6:58 AM
This occurred in a number of games and suspicions arose that the matches had been fixed and that those placing the bets knew beforehand what the score would be.
They must mean 'result' instead of 'score' because I cannot imagine anybody fixing a 6-2 scoreline.
Also, I wonder what evidence they were looking for. There would be nothing other than phone messages I suppose (and pretty stupid to even have those).
redarmyfaction
04/09/2019, 8:39 AM
BIG money doesn't necessarily always go to the MS bookies & "trends" might not be visible.
Easy these days to gamble with private bookies in Hong Kong,Macau,Dark web etc... and actually get paid with no questions asked.
Dark web gambling sites are mostly scams and the shadowy Chinese bookies who take Limerick kitbags full of cash on LOI games are a figment of the tabloid imagination.
Where is the money? No money no fix.
blueblood
04/09/2019, 9:18 AM
Jezus even by Limerick standards this has been a mad season and not over yet.
04/09/2019, 5:42 PM
Watch the highlights of the sligo cup game ffs.
There hasn't been a more obvious rigging since that time I rigged up some rigging on am oil rig in Riga.
I can't understand people cribbing about it either.
Professionals owed three and four months money is the issue there.
You would want to have something seriously wrong with you to be still turning up togging out for nothing.
Money is money at the end of the day.
marinobohs
04/09/2019, 6:06 PM
Really really hope this isn't true or at the very least can't be proven.
Honestly think it might be time for Limerick to take a break from LOI altogether. Nothing against Limerick or it's fans but the never ending soap opera is beyond funny.
04/09/2019, 6:17 PM
Really really hope this isn't true or at the very least can't be proven.
Honestly think...
Let me stop you there ffs. :D
04/09/2019, 7:24 PM
I can see how the player circumstances could influence them but it is criminal activity - could follow them after their Limerick days unless retiring. Could results be expunged as it could throw a spanner in the works for side vying for promotion - have Limerick gotten any results v top 5 or 6?
Shearer
04/09/2019, 7:42 PM
I can see how the player circumstances could influence them but it is criminal activity - could follow them after their Limerick days unless retiring. Could results be expunged as it could throw a spanner in the works for side vying for promotion - have Limerick gotten any results v top 5 or 6?
Obviously I don't agree with match-fixing, but it's kind of a "is it wrong to steal to feed your family" kind of debate.
Is it wrong to fix games when your club isn't paying you? In my view yes, but there are people who will say otherwise.
With regards to results, Limerick have gotten a draw against Drogs, a win and draw over Longford, two wins over Cabo and one over Bray.
marinobohs
05/09/2019, 7:06 AM
Obviously I don't agree with match-fixing, but it's kind of a "is it wrong to steal to feed your family" kind of debate.
Is it wrong to fix games when your club isn't paying you? In my view yes, but there are people who will say otherwise.
y
Let me stop you there -It is illegal to fix games and a major blight on ANY sport. There is no “justification “ for it ever. Only in the insane world of Limerick FC would anyone think there is any justification,
Real ale Madrid
05/09/2019, 7:26 AM
People shouldn't be relying on Limerick to feed their families - playing Division 1 football is a part time / amateur pursuit - a top up to what you already do for a living, not your primary living.
NeverFeltBetter
05/09/2019, 9:04 AM
I would tend to agree (on match-fixing not being justifiable). It isn't a victimless crime, since it will effect an entire league or, in this case, a cup competition (if the allegations are true).
Looking at the highlights of that Sligo tie I would be perfectly satisifed to put the goals conceded by Limerick down to ****poor defending from a team that was only half arsed because they aren't getting paid. I saw some claiming the keeper was abnormally out of position for the free kick goal, but he also saved a penalty that night. I thought Limerick's second goal was odd, but if no-one has shouted "Fix" I wouldn't have given it much more consideration
The red cards were strange though, and the last was crazy. But I'm not convinced about fixing on highlights alone. Maybe the Guards have something more than that.
Shearer
05/09/2019, 9:57 AM
Let me stop you there -It is illegal to fix games and a major blight on ANY sport. There is no “justification “ for it ever. Only in the insane world of Limerick FC would anyone think there is any justification,
People shouldn't be relying on Limerick to feed their families - playing Division 1 football is a part time / amateur pursuit - a top up to what you already do for a living, not your primary living.
🤦🏼*♂️ I never said I justified it, I said that it's one of things I've had people say to me.
Reading is good for you lads.
Real ale Madrid
05/09/2019, 10:08 AM
*♂️ I never said I justified it, I said that it's one of things I've had people say to me.
I'm not having a go off you - merely countering the argument you put forward - even it was from others.
marinobohs
05/09/2019, 10:19 AM
I would tend to agree (on match-fixing not being justifiable). It isn't a victimless crime, since it will effect an entire league or, in this case, a cup competition (if the allegations are true).
Looking at the highlights of that Sligo tie I would be perfectly satisifed to put the goals conceded by Limerick down to ****poor defending from a team that was only half arsed because they aren't getting paid. I saw some claiming the keeper was abnormally out of position for the free kick goal, but he also saved a penalty that night. I thought Limerick's second goal was odd, but if no-one has shouted "Fix" I wouldn't have given it much more consideration
The red cards were strange though, and the last was crazy. But I'm not convinced about fixing on highlights alone. Maybe the Guards have something more than that.
Very difficult to prove fixing based on match action, players are often ****e and regularly made schoolboy errors- without any “fixing”.
We have had a number of such allegations and in an era of online betting (and huge wagers) I think the LOI/FAI need to increase the penalty for any player caught. As potential gain from fixing increases so must the penalty for anyone caught.
Minimum 10 year ban with FIFA reinforcing the ban.
Need to stamp this out.
marinobohs
05/09/2019, 10:23 AM
🤦🏼*♂️ I never said I justified it, I said that it's one of things I've had people say to me.
It is never right and anyone suggesting it is ever right is wrong - full stop. End of. The “hungry family” argument is a stupid attempt to justify the unjustifiable.
Jd2793
05/09/2019, 10:55 AM
That game was as blatant a fix as you'll see along with the Shels game. Hopefully culprits reprimanded and legal action taken.
NeverFeltBetter
05/09/2019, 12:39 PM
Haven't heard of any action taken against the player involved for the steward push, by club or Garda.
The Lilywhites
05/09/2019, 12:45 PM
Haven't heard of any action taken against the player involved for the steward push, by club or Garda.
Probably because the steward had kicked the Limerick player first which provoked the push. Received a 4 game ban while Sligo's Leverock got 5 games for his red card so the steward incident was hardly the attempted murder Sligo fans made it out to be.
05/09/2019, 6:10 PM
The GK in question for Limerick is Jack Brady who signed for them from us last season. I know him and his dad personally from his spell with us and theres no way he was involved as he is a super shottopper and works hard for the team and was disappointed that he didnt stay with us as he was unlucky to lose his first team spot. The only reason he left was it suited him cos his dad is living in South Tipperary not far from Limerick City.
redarmyfaction
05/09/2019, 10:27 PM
Probably because the steward had kicked the Limerick player first
Did you see this happen?
The Lilywhites
05/09/2019, 11:43 PM
Did you see this happen?
No but the linesman did so obviously was included in the report of the referee, who didn't see the incident, hence the leniency of the ban. If he had actually struck the steward unprovoked I'm sure he would have been looking at a 6-12 month ban.
ToberonaTornado
06/09/2019, 8:28 AM
Dark web gambling sites are mostly scams and the shadowy Chinese bookies who take Limerick kitbags full of cash on LOI games are a figment of the tabloid imagination.
Where is the money? No money no fix.
I get all my information from the tabloids?:rolleyes: If you're naive enough to believe that every bet struck go's through an ms bookie a\c such as PP or Bet365 then you'd need to wake up.
Ezeikial
07/09/2019, 10:23 AM
Examiner is appointed to Limerick FC to ensure club's futurehttps://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/examiner-is-appointed-to-limerick-fc-to-ensure-clubs-future-38475565.html
redarmyfaction
07/09/2019, 12:05 PM
I get all my information from the tabloids?:rolleyes: If you're naive enough to believe that every bet struck go's through an ms bookie a\c such as PP or Bet365 then you'd need to wake up.
You are living in a dream world if you think it is possible to get a substantial amount on and get paid on a fixed LOI game, to so so
assumes naiveity on the part of bookmakers a commodity that in my experience is short supply.
ToberonaTornado
07/09/2019, 12:20 PM
You are living in a dream world if you think it is possible to get a substantial amount on and get paid on a fixed LOI game, to so so
assumes naiveity on the part of bookmakers a commodity that in my experience is short supply.
NB.
__________________________________________________ ____________________
redarmyfaction
07/09/2019, 4:40 PM
No but the linesman did so obviously was included in the report of the referee, who didn't see the incident, hence the leniency of the ban. If he had actually struck the steward unprovoked I'm sure he would have been looking at a 6-12 month ban.
It is a big leap of logic to say that because the Limerick player got a lesser punishment than Parkes it automatically follows the steward hit the Limerick player. If the steward hit the Limerick player without provocation we would be facing a massive fine and it would be all over the press.
07/09/2019, 5:35 PM
with limerick fc in examinership right now and potentially going into new ownership once this period is over of examinership will they move out of markets field again?
Shearer
07/09/2019, 6:10 PM
with limerick fc in examinership right now and potentially going into new ownership once this period is over of examinership will they move out of markets field again?
Again? As in the second time in thirty or forty years?
07/09/2019, 6:13 PM
Not so for Asian gamblers and Asian bookkeepers.
Jesus its not like it has never happened in Irish football before.....................athlone town, ffs!
redarmyfaction
07/09/2019, 8:06 PM
Not so for Asian gamblers and Asian bookkeepers.
Jesus its not like it has never happened in Irish football before.....................athlone town, ffs!
iIRC the guards investigated alleged match fixing inviting involving both Bray and Athlone, both investigations went nowhere. Two Athlone players were find guilty by the FAI of match fixing solely on the basis of the opinion of a "panel of experts" appointed by the FAI for that purpose who viewed video footage of the game in question. Many who seen said footage thought the players only guilty of been poor players.
Many thought including people on here that they were stitched up by the FAI in order to divert attention from their failure to do due diligence on the owners of Athlone at the time.
I do not deny that that LOI match fixing is not attempted, I state that it is difficult to do successfully and profitably. LOI is not a popular betting sport, non league English football (NL) has volumes 3 to 5 times the amount wagered in LOI making it very easy to detect unusual betting patterns which brings us to the shadowy Oriental types who allegedly bet small fortunes in Bitcoin on darknet sites so that can have an interest in a shaky stream without commentary from an obscure country thousands of KM away down the local opium den. FFS.
NeverFeltBetter
07/09/2019, 9:50 PM
To be honest I'm not sure why we're in the Market's Field right now, unless the deal they worked out for rent was a significant improvement on previous seasons. We should have gone back to Jackman (if they'd have taken us), for financial reasons if nothing else. There's really not all that much different between the two grounds as far as I can see, bar sentimentality.
Shearer
07/09/2019, 10:42 PM
To be honest I'm not sure why we're in the Market's Field right now, unless the deal they worked out for rent was a significant improvement on previous seasons. We should have gone back to Jackman (if they'd have taken us), for financial reasons if nothing else. There's really not all that much different between the two grounds as far as I can see, bar sentimentality.
You're giving Jackman Park a lot of credit. Markets Field might not be up to much but it's umpteen times better than the dreary Jackman Park which happens to be located in the most miserable part of Limerick too.
NeverFeltBetter
07/09/2019, 11:34 PM
I guess its just a matter of perspective. The Market's Field's location isn't stellar by comparison really, the pitch has been in as bad a state or worse as Jackman frequently. They both have stands, with MF having a bigger one, but that has rarely been filled. In MF you don't have to scale a hill to reach the far side and there is a corporate facility. The away facilities are a bit better I suppose? There's not much else between them. And that's before you consider cost. If you're consistently getting 500 or less, renting out MF is a waste of money if there is a cheaper option that will still fulfill First Division requirements.
If they do move, or if there is no more Limerick, I wonder how the Market's Field will get on. Schools rugby won't keep the place going on its own.