View Full Version : EA Sports cup 2018

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Dalymountrower
25/04/2018, 8:52 AM
Brief highlights here if anyone is interested. Nice finish from Danny O’Reilly for the goal.

https://youtu.be/VHwFPspf_DY
Rovers really lift their game when they see those red and black stripes.

25/04/2018, 11:49 AM
Bradley at most has surely to get a win this weekend or he is gone if the decision hasnt been made already!?

Away in Derry? Bit harsh to judge him on that, if you consider the we got a draw away to the league leaders last week.
Mind you, their next home match is against Cork. Not a great one to have either.

25/04/2018, 1:51 PM
Its what has happened up until the match in Derry that will have made minds up though. Derry are main rivals for EL spot for Rovers on paper too. Lose to Derry and then Cork up after well if it does go 8 games (or whatever it would be) without a win including the EA Cup game if Barcelona were the opposition things must be wearing very thin.

ToberonaTornado
08/05/2018, 9:29 PM
Facile win for Dundalk tonight against Bohs who lined out with a reserve/19's side.
Dundalk started a few u-19's and a mix of fringe and experienced players.
Dundalk in full control 1st half.Scrappy 2nd half but Bohs never looked likely but plugged away in fairness.
Mountney got injured 1st half and was hauled off,hopefully precautionary move by Dundalk.

Fair play to Cobh who have had a rocky week or two but have also made it through along with Sligo and Derry.

Anyone know when the draw for the semi is on?

El-Pietro
09/05/2018, 8:44 AM
The draw is on Greatest League in The World. I love a podcast and this is a particularly good one but its not the right format for a cup draw.

dundalkfc10
09/05/2018, 8:50 AM
The draw is on Greatest League in The World. I love a podcast and this is a particularly good one but its not the right format for a cup draw.

I dont get this? is the podcast live?

Ezeikial
09/05/2018, 9:29 AM
For sure. It's just strange that two of the top teams in the league have four poor keepers between them. Cork and Waterford have better keepers on the bench - Cherrie and Corbet - than Dundalk or Rovers have starting, it seems.

Matthew Connor was in goals for Waterford last night away to Sligo

It must be devastating for Niall Corbet to have learned from the internet that he is better than the goalkeeper with the best league record this season, yet only third choice for Waterford.

redobit
09/05/2018, 7:55 PM

He played well. Made 3 or 4 excellent saves. Would have been a bigger scoreline only for him, although we have no finishers.

Ezeikial
12/05/2018, 8:42 AM
Originally Posted by pineapple stu
For sure. It's just strange that two of the top teams in the league have four poor keepers between them. Cork and Waterford have better keepers on the bench - Cherrie and Corbet - than Dundalk or Rovers have starting, it seems.

It must be devastating for Niall Corbet to have learned from the internet that he is better than the goalkeeper with the best league record this season, yet only third choice for Waterford.

Anxious Corbet watchers will be relieved that, despite Matthew Connor's good midweek EA Cup performance, Niall Corbet has been restored to the Waterford bench for last nights league match

Although turning 24 this year, he probably still has ambitions of adding to his handful of premier division appearances this season. 16 year old Gavin Bazunu was his opposite number on the Rovers bench

13/05/2018, 12:56 PM
Cobh v Dundalk
Sligo v Derry

Apparently..

patrickccfc
13/05/2018, 6:28 PM
Hopefully that gets the people of Cobh to come out. Think I'll go over for it myself.

mcgonigle
14/05/2018, 2:00 PM
Hopefully that gets the people of Cobh to come out. Think I'll go over for it myself.

Obsessed.....

14/05/2018, 2:47 PM
Obsessed.....

Clueless.

Cobh would be seen as a 'second' team to many City fans, and when they're doing well or have games they'll always have a chunk of city fans pop down. They have a lot of our former youth players and it's a lovely spot to watch a game. I'd pop down myself for a semi final if I was around.

Obviously dundalk are a bigger draw than most first division teams would be. And god knows they need the money.

Olander
14/05/2018, 2:56 PM
Clueless.

Cobh would be seen as a 'second' team to many City fans, and when they're doing well or have games they'll always have a chunk of city fans pop down. They have a lot of our former youth players and it's a lovely spot to watch a game. I'd pop down myself for a semi final if I was around.

Obviously dundalk are a bigger draw than most first division teams would be. And god knows they need the money.
Was it not fairly obvious that he was joking there?

ToberonaTornado
14/05/2018, 3:11 PM
Was it not fairly obvious that he was joking there?
:rolleyes: Scunderd for him!! :cow:

patrickccfc
14/05/2018, 4:34 PM
Obsessed.....
I know yeah. Cobh is a nice town, I should try not go there so much

14/05/2018, 6:31 PM
:rolleyes: Scunderd for him!! :cow:

Translation?

White Horse
14/05/2018, 8:06 PM
Its like embarassed, a popular word "up the north".

mcgonigle
14/05/2018, 9:04 PM
Clueless.

I know yeah. Cobh is a nice town, I should try not go there so much

Oh dear. Sorry lads, I'll stick a smiley or winking emoji on it next time for ya's 😉

ToberonaTornado
15/05/2018, 1:18 AM
Translation?

Its like embarassed, a popular word "up the north".

👍No harm meant by it.
You dived in far to fast,have been often guilty doing the same.

historynut
15/05/2018, 7:31 AM
Over the years met 2 Cobh fans, one a butcher on the front between monument square and heritage centre, the other a taxi driver in Dublin.

nr637
16/05/2018, 8:54 AM

The club will need to push this one and convince the Cobh public that it really is a Semi-Final of a National Cup and a one off that could entice the casual interest!
Anywhere around 1,500 would be a figure to aim for in realistic terms.

16/05/2018, 4:08 PM
I can’t see the people of Cobh turning out tbh

18/05/2018, 11:46 AM
I can’t see the people of Cobh turning out tbh

Whaaat? Not even to see the mighty Lilywhites in the flesh?? Seriously though if a club that has had little silverware, has been on the edge of going out of business and now has a chance at getting to a final doesnt lift even a once off attendance it is depressing for anyone involved at Ramblers. A good few Cork City fans are bound to go to the game and there could be a reasonable crowd that will travel from Dundalk though might struggle to get near 100 depending on what day the game is played and what league/EL(?) fixtures are before and after. Even if local interest is poor curiosity might get people out unless there is a serious detatchment between the club and community ala Athlone currently. If there is why is that? as while the club has had its financial troubles of recent it survived, has a decent history, and will be representing the town of Cobh on a national level. If this semi final doesnt generate any additional local interest maybe its time to look at some sort of merger with Wanderers if they have the better goodwill locally and see if a new LoI entity is better supported while keeping a MSL possibly also as a developmental team. Ok it didnt work out so well in Galway when there was a new 'United' club in the city but maybe it would be less fractious in Cobh, less egoes.....is that possible in Irish football anywhere!?

18/05/2018, 1:19 PM
Whaaat? Not even to see the mighty Lilywhites in the flesh?? Seriously though if a club that has had little silverware, has been on the edge of going out of business and now has a chance at getting to a final doesnt lift even a once off attendance it is depressing for anyone involved at Ramblers. A good few Cork City fans are bound to go to the game and there could be a reasonable crowd that will travel from Dundalk though might struggle to get near 100 depending on what day the game is played and what league/EL(?) fixtures are before and after. Even if local interest is poor curiosity might get people out unless there is a serious detatchment between the club and community ala Athlone currently. If there is why is that? as while the club has had its financial troubles of recent it survived, has a decent history, and will be representing the town of Cobh on a national level. If this semi final doesnt generate any additional local interest maybe its time to look at some sort of merger with Wanderers if they have the better goodwill locally and see if a new LoI entity is better supported while keeping a MSL possibly also as a developmental team. Ok it didnt work out so well in Galway when there was a new 'United' club in the city but maybe it would be less fractious in Cobh, less egoes.....is that possible in Irish football anywhere!?

From speaking to people down there there’s a total distain from the town towards the club due to stuff that went on in the past. You’d be surprised how damaging that kind of thing can be and how hard it is for a club to shake it. For a long time Longford had a very bad reputation in town due to busineess being burned in the bad old days and it has taken years to heal those wounds. Even when we won the FD in 14 you’d be shocked by the amount of begrudgers out there. Thankfully with Fenn (a Dundalk legend of course) actually getting out into the community and the club making huge strides with social media etc we seem to finally be turning a corner and crowds are slowly improving. Cobh have a long way to go before they can say the same and I’m not sure even a cup semi final is enough to get the locals out.

Comic Book Guy
18/05/2018, 3:56 PM
Outspoken, at a guess were you in a certain establishment in the town before the game a couple of weeks ago? If so, some of the patrons there seem to have a major grudge against the club, you're right in that quite a number of people were turned against the club due to the antics of a few who now have nothing to do with the club and all that hassle was 10 years ago.
I was involved in helping the club a few years ago and some of the stuff I encountered from people within the town was shocking; for example I used to put up match posters around the town in pubs and shops only for them to be torn down shortly after. Rumours used to be spread discouraging people from taking out season tickets saying that they'd be liable for the debts of the club, that type of thing. Some of the stuff spread was appalling.
As I've said before I suspect the people behind it had their own agenda, what that is I don't know but it must gall them to see that the club is still there.
I know that if the club were to have a few successful season's on the pitch then the support would come back, after all 90% of the "sporting public" are unbelievably fickle.
I know quite a number of football people have thrown their support behind Cobh wanderers but that team like all others will go through a barren spell given the cyclical nature of football. The irony being that Ramblers developed nearly all those players.
That all said I'd expect a big crowd in for the EA sports Cup semi final.

18/05/2018, 9:29 PM
Outspoken, at a guess were you in a certain establishment in the town before the game a couple of weeks ago? If so, some of the patrons there seem to have a major grudge against the club, you're right in that quite a number of people were turned against the club due to the antics of a few who now have nothing to do with the club and all that hassle was 10 years ago.
I was involved in helping the club a few years ago and some of the stuff I encountered from people within the town was shocking; for example I used to put up match posters around the town in pubs and shops only for them to be torn down shortly after. Rumours used to be spread discouraging people from taking out season tickets saying that they'd be liable for the debts of the club, that type of thing. Some of the stuff spread was appalling.
As I've said before I suspect the people behind it had their own agenda, what that is I don't know but it must gall them to see that the club is still there.
I know that if the club were to have a few successful season's on the pitch then the support would come back, after all 90% of the "sporting public" are unbelievably fickle.
I know quite a number of football people have thrown their support behind Cobh wanderers but that team like all others will go through a barren spell given the cyclical nature of football. The irony being that Ramblers developed nearly all those players.
That all said I'd expect a big crowd in for the EA sports Cup semi final.

Nope I wasn’t in JD’s and I must stress I really would love to see Cobh turn a corner as the club were so welcoming to us a few weeks back. Pizza and chips put on for the fans and drink deals in the bar. Absolutely touch of class.

24/05/2018, 11:21 AM
Sligo-Derry fixed for 17:00 on 6th August.

Pretty disappointing for us, considering it's not a bank holiday in the north. I'd be surprised if we have more than 100 at it now.

sbgawa
24/05/2018, 11:34 AM
seems daft why not make it 8pm?
IS it possible Sligo or the FAI forgot its not a bank holiday in Derry ??

oriel
24/05/2018, 12:32 PM
Ridiculous time for a kick off given it’s not a BH both North and South, and no consideration given to Derry. This would be the same if the game was on in Derry at 5pm next Monday, BH in the North.

24/05/2018, 2:46 PM
Sligo were aware, but said it was to suit their own fans. It's their home game and thus their prerogative, but just seems like an odd decision.

ToberonaTornado
04/08/2018, 7:07 PM
You cant beat a semi;)

Cobh v Dundalk
Sligo v Derry
Both at 5pm on Monday

Any daycent pubs anyone can recommend in Cobh for a pre-match beer?

Comic Book Guy
04/08/2018, 10:00 PM
You cant beat a semi;)

Cobh v Dundalk
Sligo v Derry
Both at 5pm on Monday

Any daycent pubs anyone can recommend in Cobh for a pre-match beer?
Pubs down on the waterfront in Cobh such as Kelly's, quays bar would be fine, especially if the weather's good you might think you're back in Cyprus 😉😂.
The bar in the clubhouse would be open beforehand of course.

ToberonaTornado
04/08/2018, 11:11 PM
Pubs down on the waterfront in Cobh such as Kelly's, quays bar would be fine, especially if the weather's good you might think you're back in Cyprus 😉😂.
The bar in the clubhouse would be open beforehand of course.

GRMA for the pub advice Comic Book Guy.
I knew yous had a bar there but was never in before,will be in on Monday.

05/08/2018, 10:58 AM
Bar in the clubhouse is great. The pints of Murphy's kept us well watered on Paddy's Day down there.

05/08/2018, 8:19 PM
Bar in the clubhouse is great. The pints of Murphy's kept us well watered on Paddy's Day down there.

yeah its superb the last time we were up there they opened up at five and cobh treated us like kings! we even got chipper food on the house from them!

06/08/2018, 9:15 AM
Thoroughly unenthused about our game in Sligo today. The early kick off makes it awkward (not a bank holiday in the north), and our current style of play does nothing to encourage me to go.

There's, supposedly, only seven first team players available for us. There's certainly seven out at least; four suspensions, two injuries, one cup-tied.

We all know how we're going to play, so we'll concede one or two goals at least. We're not really capable of scoring more than two, so should be a win for Sligo.

We were discussing our hopes for the rest of the season after Friday night, the main one being that no-one wins the treble. We also agreed that Sligo have a better chance of beating Dundalk, who we assume will beat Cobh. The logical conclusion of that is that we don't actually want Derry to win today. Difficult realisation.

I don't bet on matches involving my own teams, but it's surely worth firing a few quid on Sligo at 4/5.

tedthered
06/08/2018, 9:45 AM
Thoroughly unenthused about our game in Sligo today. The early kick off makes it awkward (not a bank holiday in the north), and our current style of play does nothing to encourage me to go.

There's, supposedly, only seven first team players available for us. There's certainly seven out at least; four suspensions, two injuries, one cup-tied.

We all know how we're going to play, so we'll concede one or two goals at least. We're not really capable of scoring more than two, so should be a win for Sligo.

We were discussing our hopes for the rest of the season after Friday night, the main one being that no-one wins the treble. We also agreed that Sligo have a better chance of beating Dundalk, who we assume will beat Cobh. The logical conclusion of that is that we don't actually want Derry to win today. Difficult realisation.

I don't bet on matches involving my own teams, but it's surely worth firing a few quid on Sligo at 4/5.

Considering we played Bray after they hadn't trained all week and they beat us 2-1, and our home record this season, I wouldn't be as confident that we will win

EnzoScifo10
06/08/2018, 11:18 AM
The logical conclusion of that is that we don't actually want Derry to win today.

Wow, you don't want Derry to win as they can't beat a team that is not even in the final yet.....

sbgawa
06/08/2018, 5:42 PM
And I thought rovers fans were the manic depressive tital winners

06/08/2018, 5:46 PM
Cobh 1 up. Would be absolutely enormous in they could hold on it would be their first ever national final.

MattB11
06/08/2018, 5:53 PM
Well done the Ramblers

sbgawa
06/08/2018, 5:56 PM
Fair play cobh. Fantastic result for them. Derry in the final........unbelievable stuff.how did the match go?

06/08/2018, 5:57 PM
Hopefully Cobh now distracted ahead of next week :)

DFCForever
06/08/2018, 6:01 PM
Fair play cobh. Fantastic result for them. Derry in the final........unbelievable stuff.how did the match go?
Cobh were gutsy and give it their all, despite not being the best technical side. Dundalk were fairly poor all around. I'm disappointed that more of the fringe players didn't try and make their mark to show why they should be in the first team. The goal was horrendous, Massey gifted them the ball in our half and the Cobh player was able to slide it through to the striker Hull who put it past Sava.

El-Pietro
06/08/2018, 6:11 PM
So Dundalk will destroy Cobh on Friday now in the second leg right?

06/08/2018, 6:15 PM
Looked to be a really poor crowd at it. Amazing that even in a national semi final the people of Cobh still don't come out to support the side.

06/08/2018, 6:26 PM
A friend who was there said it was a good crowd there.

oriel
06/08/2018, 6:41 PM
Only got vague updates, but from those I got it sounded like a well deserved win for Cobh.

Derry must be a on record final appearance at this stage, but it would be great for Cobh if they got to host it now, or at least use TC if there is a seating capacity limit.

06/08/2018, 6:46 PM
It's Derry's 13th final - but remarkably, their first since 2011. It ends their longest spell without a League Cup final. Dundalk and Rovers have the next best records with ten finals each.

It'll be Cobh's first appearance in the final.