View Full Version : PCA League Proposal
05/01/2017, 7:08 AM
I would think the FAI will impose a 10 team division anyway.
NeverFeltBetter
05/01/2017, 8:17 AM
Yeah, I'm not sure what the recourse is here, now that the FAI have already confirmed their plan. I doubt the opposed clubs will threaten to walk.
Proper mess though. Stinks that Limerick and Drogs weren't consulted, because it would presumably have been tied in the initial vote then, and 7-5 against now.
Of course, the FD clubs should also have had a voice, and I'd imagine a good few, or maybe even all of them, would have been in favour of a 10/10 split.
05/01/2017, 8:31 AM
I doubt the FD clubs want 10/10?
Or is that a typo?
NeverFeltBetter
05/01/2017, 9:15 AM
Wouldn't many FD clubs appreciate a bigger division? More diversity in opponents, 8 more games a season.
Edit: Obviously, I'm sure they'd like it to be accomplished by getting more clubs into the LOI but within the confines of the 20 teams we have this is the only way to increase the size of the FD.
05/01/2017, 10:03 AM
Wouldn't many FD clubs appreciate a bigger division? More diversity in opponents, 8 more games a season.
Edit: Obviously, I'm sure they'd like it to be accomplished by getting more clubs into the LOI but within the confines of the 20 teams we have this is the only way to increase the size of the FD.
You must be living in La La Land!!!!!!!!!!!!
05/01/2017, 10:04 AM
Would have thought they'd all be in favour of a 12-team Premier so they can get out of the First Division myself.
Yeah, and at least the playoffs are relatively reachable. Whereas the sudden change and scrapping of playoffs leaves any club without a realistic chance of winning the division facing a lost season. Very hard to sell anything related to a club when there isn't even a distant shout of promotion.
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2017, 10:34 AM
All this talk of regionalised first division and all of this does my head in is there actually anything at all to suggest any club not currently in the LOI would be in any way more interested if that happened? The big plan is to get rid of the graveyard to be replaced by regional graveyards.
05/01/2017, 10:41 AM
But why can't the MSL/LSL/USL be the regional First Divisions?
Limerick get relegated from the Premier - into the MSL.
Tralee win the MSL and - licence permitting - they're promoted to the Premier.
Why can't that work? (Leaving out politics; if the FAI can't sort that, we may all go home)
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2017, 10:46 AM
But why can't the MSL/LSL/USL be the regional First Divisions?
Limerick get relegated from the Premier - into the MSL.
Tralee win the MSL and - licence permitting - they're promoted to the Premier.
Why can't that work? (Leaving out politics; if the FAI can't sort that, we may all go home)
Have any of the MSL LSL USL teams ever shown any interest in being part of the LOI? Have any of them actually got the facilities to ever step up or are we happy to just have the look of an open league when it isn't in reality? Would any of them have any kind of fan base?
The MSL is entirely teams from Cork I think at this stage not exactly ideal is it? How in any way would playing Avondale one week Douglas Hall the next be any better for a teams survival hopes than the current first division other than saving on travel?
It's fine asking why wouldn't it work but I haven't seen many asking how would it actually help anything?
05/01/2017, 11:03 AM
If it would help the lower first division clubs to reduce travel costs for starters.
It would mean any clubs who have ambitions to get promoted can do so without the huge change that now entails (leaving your league, changing season, high probability of going bust). If they're happy where they are, fine.
Why should the MSL/LSL/USL be asked to be part of the LoI? There shouldn't be a divide in the first place. It's daft. Get rid - but respect the MSL/LSL/USL's identity and history and make as few changes ax possible.
But new clubs need to be encouraged, and cost reduction for existing clubs would help too. The current format does neither.
NeverFeltBetter
05/01/2017, 11:04 AM
Are the play-offs gone for good though? Where does it say they've been permanently scrapped? I would have thought they'd make a return in 2018 when the split was finalized. Certainly, if the old format was kept 30% of FD clubs in a ten team league would be in the promotion picture at seasons end, which wouldn't be bad. I vaguely recall one of the reports mooting a group stage affair between PD's 8/9th and FD's 2/3rd to determine promotion.
And if the play-offs were still retained - beyond the coming season, the absence of which I've noted elsewhere is a bad idea - would the FD clubs still have the same level of objection to a ten/ten split?
In regards the objections to a regionalized First Division, I'd be happy with anything that would get new clubs involved in the LOI to be honest. They'll never get the chance to grow into top tier capable clubs without a baby steps approach.
ForzaHoop
05/01/2017, 11:47 AM
Won't lash up article from SUN as they are liars :)
http://www.donegaldaily.com/2017/01/05/could-league-of-irelands-ten-team-premier-move-be-scrapped/
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2017, 11:53 AM
Would imagine the playoffs will return- but even removing them for one year could be the straw that breaks the camels back for a division one club. With Waterford splashing the cash with the aim of getting up, the likes of Cobh and Wexford who have made great strides could find themselves adrift.
Between that and the failure to give D1 teams a vote, the complete lack of transparency and the general way this was done (late in the day when budgets etc are set) and presented make it one of the biggest betrayals I can recall in Irish football. It is an outright disgrace.
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2017, 11:55 AM
If it would help the lower first division clubs to reduce travel costs for starters.
It would mean any clubs who have ambitions to get promoted can do so without the huge change that now entails (leaving your league, changing season, high probability of going bust). If they're happy where they are, fine.
Why should the MSL/LSL/USL be asked to be part of the LoI? There shouldn't be a divide in the first place. It's daft. Get rid - but respect the MSL/LSL/USL's identity and history and make as few changes ax possible.
But new clubs need to be encouraged, and cost reduction for existing clubs would help too. The current format does neither.
If they were promoted they would still have to change leagues from lets say basically the MSL to the premier which then involves higher travelling costs. How is the possibility of going bust reduced for teams coming from MSL to premier than it is going from first to premier? To me it seems just changing season is what is different going from a regional first to prem than the current first to prem.
Why should they be asked? You are not suggesting we try and force teams to be part of LOI are you?
Below is a list of the current MSL teams according to the website I am not 100% sure but I think all of them are from Cork if not all then a vast majority? Of those teams listed the places I have been to don't have facilites anywhere near up to scratch so. Anyone in around Cork know if any of them actually do have decent facilites? Imagine the standard of one of the teams if we were to have 3 or 4 teams from Cork all in the regional first division and fine you can come back and say spread the clubs better across Munster but who do we force to join then if there is no interest still?
College Corinthians
Cobh Wanderers
Douglas Hall
Avondale United
St Marys
UCC
Ringmahon Rangers
Mayfield United
Castleview
Rockmount
05/01/2017, 12:42 PM
The pyramid leagues feeding into 16 team premier not a regionalised 1st division. Strict licensing criteria for all teams and no bypassing it .
El-Pietro
05/01/2017, 1:30 PM
Between that and the failure to give D1 teams a vote, the complete lack of transparency and the general way this was done (late in the day when budgets etc are set) and presented make it one of the biggest betrayals I can recall in Irish football. It is an outright disgrace.
All clubs are welcome to a vote, the fans can all have individual votes, I think we should ask Trump what he thinkgs too. Won't matter. The FAI decide.
Real ale Madrid
05/01/2017, 1:41 PM
Does anyone have a link to the actual PCA report?
sbgawa
05/01/2017, 2:33 PM
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,627 (1,724; 1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 957 (769; 718; 891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 2,533 (3,263; 3,777; 1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,563 (1,124; 1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Dundalk - 2,738 (3,158; 2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Galway - 1,169 (1,290; 975 FD)
Harps - 1,216 (784 FD; 449 FD; 479 FD; 429 FD; 433 FD; 644 FD; 480 FD) -
Longford - 488 (803; 567 FD; 379 FD; 365 FD; 315 FD; 230 FD; 260 FD)
Pat's - 1,088 (1,321; 1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 2,041 (2,890; 2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 1,750 (1,750; 1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
Wexford - 585 (553 FD; 331 FD; 227 FD; 302 FD; 216 FD; 343 FD; 494 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 156 (314; 653 PD; 754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Cabinteely - 352 (610)
Cobh - 403 (366; 223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Drogheda - 583 (813 PD; 1,064 PD; 817 PD; 977 PD; 811 PD; 859 PD; 1,106 PD)
Limerick - 1,131 (1,206 PD; 757 PD; 1,649 PD; 734; 569; 598; 429)
Shels - 554 (596; 713; 1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
UCD - 297 (216; 397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD; 272)
Waterford - 314 (460; 470; 478; 453; 466; 619; 434
With thanks to Nigel Harps for above...........
What ever about a 10 or 12 league does anyone seriously think a 16 team league is viable based on these attendances figures?
NeverFeltBetter
05/01/2017, 2:58 PM
If they were promoted they would still have to change leagues from lets say basically the MSL to the premier which then involves higher travelling costs. How is the possibility of going bust reduced for teams coming from MSL to premier than it is going from first to premier? To me it seems just changing season is what is different going from a regional first to prem than the current first to prem.
Why should they be asked? You are not suggesting we try and force teams to be part of LOI are you?
Below is a list of the current MSL teams according to the website I am not 100% sure but I think all of them are from Cork if not all then a vast majority? Of those teams listed the places I have been to don't have facilites anywhere near up to scratch so. Anyone in around Cork know if any of them actually do have decent facilites? Imagine the standard of one of the teams if we were to have 3 or 4 teams from Cork all in the regional first division and fine you can come back and say spread the clubs better across Munster but who do we force to join then if there is no interest still?
College Corinthians
Cobh Wanderers
Douglas Hall
Avondale United
St Marys
UCC
Ringmahon Rangers
Mayfield United
Castleview
Rockmount
I think this is a fair point. If you were instituting anything on the basis described it would have be from a new Munster League, to include the best of Cork, Limerick and then whoever else in the province would be capable/interested.
That's real pie in the sky though.
NeverFeltBetter
05/01/2017, 3:01 PM
Won't lash up article from SUN as they are liars :)
http://www.donegaldaily.com/2017/01/05/could-league-of-irelands-ten-team-premier-move-be-scrapped/
I realise now this means it would actually be 8-4 opposed as it stood. Still think the FAI will steamroller ahead, even if they realized that the objections of the clubs themselves are important, they wont back down now that it has been announced.
sbgawa
05/01/2017, 4:18 PM
I realise now this means it would actually be 8-4 opposed as it stood. Still think the FAI will steamroller ahead, even if they realized that the objections of the clubs themselves are important, they wont back down now that it has been announced.
The FAI would be right at this point to call the PCA a joke if they turn around now and say they want to change their mind.
What sort of bunch of amateurs vote for / then request a 10 team league / then change their minds when it is announced?
05/01/2017, 5:41 PM
Does anyone have a link to the actual PCA report?
There's a link on the previous page.
gufcfan
05/01/2017, 5:51 PM
The pyramid leagues feeding into 16 team premier not a regionalised 1st division. Strict licensing criteria for all teams and no bypassing it .
Going from a provincial league to playing the likes of Dundalk is far too big a step. Provincial leagues feeding a top-tier division is just going to kill the team that gets relegated and embarrass the one that gets promoted.
People giving out about travel costs in the FD need a kick up the arse as well. It's one among many different costs.
A regionalised First Division would make it even less attractive than it is already.
Rather than arranging the 20 deckchairs on the Titanic, the Premier Division should be left the f alone, and just as the juvenile structures at the top level in Ireland were reformed, do the same with senior football.
Feed the regional leagues into the First Division and let the clubs with the ambition to play at as high a level as possible, rise to it. Let the "big fish in a small pond" types stay where they are if they want.
Just as I see happening with schoolboy football, eventually people won't even remember it was done another way and some will laugh at how utterly ridiculous it was.
05/01/2017, 5:53 PM
I think that's what the suggestion is though. Try interfere with the non-league structure as little as possible, but merge the two so that FD clubs can join a regionalised league while non-league clubs have the chance to jump up to the LoI if they want to/are good enough/meet licencing. Because if, say, Athlone and Cabo drop out of the LoI, where are the replacements coming from?
But in fairness, there's a lot more in the report apart from a league format (and suggestions to improve the Cups too). There's a call for significantly increased investment from the FAI, with a kind of return on investment to properly buy the FAI into advancing the league and an indication of the link between domestic leagues and national team success (and how the LoI is vastly underperforming in that regard). That seems to me the most important part. But unfortunately, everyone always gets hooked up on league format.
05/01/2017, 6:11 PM
Going from a provincial league to playing the likes of Dundalk is far too big a step.
In fairness, going from the First Division to playing the likes of Dundalk is a huge step. There's non-league sides as good as First Division teams out there.
05/01/2017, 6:18 PM
In fairness, going from the First Division to playing the likes of Dundalk is a huge step. There's non-league sides as good as First Division teams out there.
There's non-league sides better than Harps out there.
buzzkill
05/01/2017, 6:31 PM
There's non-league sides better than Harps out there.
Didn't Avondale take Harps to a replay 2 years ago?
05/01/2017, 6:34 PM
I think Crumlin beat them this year, no?
I don't think there's any point worrying about promoted clubs being competitive with Dundalk tbh.
buzzkill
05/01/2017, 6:41 PM
I think Crumlin beat them this year, no?
I don't think there's any point worrying about promoted clubs being competitive with Dundalk tbh.
And Douglas Hall beat limerick in the Munster Senior Cup final too actually, and they wouldnt be in the top 3 munster senior league sides
05/01/2017, 6:42 PM
There's plenty of non-league sides capable of holding their own in the First Division. In one-off games they've shown they're capable of showing up plenty of LOI teams in cup games, Crumlin and Avondale two mentioned to have beaten or drawn with Harps being good examples yeah.
There's no point at all in worrying about how promoted clubs would do against Dundalk, and that's exactly the point I was trying to make.
Worrying about how clubs would do on the field with their current squads is nonsense. Looking at extending the league wherever possible should be high up on the list of priorities for the FAI but that requires too much effort.
05/01/2017, 9:47 PM
It doesnt have to be over complicated with league structuring, align the seasons, teams from the senior provincial leagues can be promoted if they wish and meet (or are helped meet whatever criteria). If no one is interested in promotion then the relegated team does a Bray and escapes the trap door. Aligning the seasons, among other things sorts out issues with cup comp scheduling and competativeness for sides out of season and also simply make practical sense. Junior sides could try a break away but should then be outside the FAI fold then. Some continuity is created and the likes of LSL/MSL sides might lose some of their rather odd contempt for the highest level of the game here. What was said above about the underage reform and the old structures and ridiculous agreements that LoI sides had, not to develop underage structures, being gone and forgotten is spot on and the same would happen with other levels of the game. The rolled out regular whining about summer holidays for players, travel expenses for clubs et al are not insurmountable obstacles either in the bigger picture.
The PCA document is far more extensive than getting bogged down in some of the specifics. If there is some way to incentivise financial investment from the FAI to get them to truly commit to the league tiers is the big ask. Maybe at the extreme end of things that the FAI in some way benefit from transfer fees in, or European progression - indicators of development/progress of the league in themselves - i dunno what really could be suggested here but something that the FAI may see return on is what I think will only properly get them on board - they need a vested interest in the leagues improvement beyond 'x' number of players in the senior international squad that are ex LoI. Overall this PCA document has the potential if properly engaged with to bring about at least meaningful discussion, not the BS external review of recent.
Maybe membership fees should be ringfenced in some way for the league( or 1st division) and obviously the whole issue of league sponsorship and whether the FAI plug gaps in their finances by using league income need transparency. The whole trust issue and finding/identifying the mutually beneficial aspects of the relationship between league and governing body have to be resolved before the real grit reform or FAI support happens. The FAI already know quantifiable benefits the league may provide but without league clubs knowing if or whether this is the case progress will be piecemeal, snail paced and frustrating as ever. For the first time the majority of clubs are not entirely self-serving on making changes, at least thats what it seems to me where previously the clubs were so divided the FAI had it easy. My tuppence worth anyways.
EatYerGreens
06/01/2017, 12:29 AM
. If there is some way to incentivise financial investment from the FAI to get them to truly commit to the league tiers is the big ask. Maybe at the extreme end of things that the FAI in some way benefit from transfer fees in, or European progression - indicators of development/progress of the league in themselves - i dunno what really could be suggested here but something that the FAI may see return on is what I think will only properly get them on board - they need a vested interest in the leagues improvement beyond 'x' number of players in the senior international squad that are ex LoI.
I understand where you're coming from here, but can't agree. It's the FAI's job and remit to help nourish and deliver a healthy senior league in Ireland. They shouldn't need a direct incentive to do this, and they don't exactly have a very broad range of responsibilities so you'd think they could make a half-decent stab at this important aspect of their remit.
Sure why not incentivise the government to have better results being achieved at schools whilst we're at it.
06/01/2017, 4:46 AM
I agree that it shouldnt be necessary but it is what it is and if something properly piques the interest of the governing body in what seems to motivate them most ie their bank balance then in the early stages in the building of some proper rapport then maybe? I am not advocating such a system really just considering what might be needed is to properly develop a symbiotic or equal link of importance between the 2 largest single entities in the senior domestic game. Didnt the government consider a graduate tax for a while or was that in the UK, it would have been vaugely an incentivisation for better results in an education system that is struggling financially and with infrastructure (UK or Ireland). I get the example but the example fits a potential model for a quid pro quo relationship until such a time that mutual beneficiaries of investment are evident directly to each and is the norm.
There was an article on RTE.IE about underage football a while back and many of the comments below were bemoaning the death knell of schoolboy football in Ireland with the introduction of the U15 league (and will probably become >U15 if even through an elite player programs of sorts). It was depressing to read comments on how LoI clubs know nothing about the development youth players. To me pitching the best of youth talent across a LoI system will benefit young players a lot more than lads that are superstars in their own local league and are not challanged by players of similar ability regularly. The introduction of the U15 - U19 leagues does indicate a change in mindset at the FAI where underage clubs seemed to have a had veto on these things in the past. This type of change needs to continue and pervade the thinking at all levels of football below LoI. It will take a generation of players to see any benefits of changes and new underage structures so it is a long term thing as we all know in the mean time the short sighted and short term focus on lower and lower English divisions players will continue as the backbone of the international team imo until the FAI have some carrot dangled in front and they accept the domestic league as essential to the international teams long term success. I am sure we would all like to feel that the FAI is not run in a vested interest way, maybe the league too. I cant see that happening until Irish players are totally limited in game time in a country like England that is alredy limited in the way that they think and coach football. European or other development systems may not suit us with how we want the RoI to play especially when the players we do have being developed are in the Coyle, Pulis ways where if an Irish player miraculously had the potential of a Messi, Silva, Iniesta, they could be overlooked. Ach this is a ridiculous ramble that is stating the sort of stiff that many LoI fans would suggest. All Irish football is caught up in the here and now results including the FAI so maybe I am thinking this short term cycle could be lifted a bit with LoI clubs coming up with some way that the FAI may invest additional money at least initially with the expectation of return that isnt all on the field until such a time that players are better after domestic development than exported for development at Swindon of the like. Saturate the place with coaches with badges up to youth cert free for 3 years across all levels with a wait and see approach. Jaysus I am talking ****e!!!
Those non-league clubs might have decent first teams and do OK in one off games- but do their players have the commitment to step up to senior level with the travel and extra training? Do the clubs have the admin capacity for licensing and running 4 teams in national leagues? How would some of them cope with the closer scrutiny that senior football would bring on their financial arrangements? (plenty of non senior clubs paying players and I would be sceptical as to the tax / PRSI arrangements are fully or even remotely legit). Being in senior football is tough- Mervue United and Salthill Devon are strong clubs who could not sustain it.
In a way this is the central issue- being in the LOI is so damn difficult we can't get clubs to do it, at least for long unless they're relatively well established already or have serious determination and drive like Wexford have shown. And yet the LOI is vital to Irish football in terms of producing international players- and the National team pays for everything. So we need the FAI to step up and help make being in the league sustainable, not producing report after report that urge the already stretched clubs to do more with less.
06/01/2017, 10:32 AM
And yet the LOI is vital to Irish football in terms of producing international players- and the National team pays for everything. So we need the FAI to step up and help make being in the league sustainable, not producing report after report that urge the already stretched clubs to do more with less.
This is key alright. Which I guess ties in with the report suggesting a huge increase in prize money, for all teams, and ultimately for the benefit of the FAI and the national team.
I think the underage league structure is a good idea - but if it costs clubs twenty grand per team and the FAI are only giving travel grants of 500 quid, then the u15s will actually hurt the LoI - the money has to come from somewhere. The FAI's view seems to put the responsibility for raising more funds entirely on the clubs - but they should want clubs to improve, and shouldn't be scoffing at theidea of funding clubs.
Look at the comparison to Iceland, where the national FA pays for referees for example.
EatYerGreens
06/01/2017, 11:34 AM
This is key alright. Which I guess ties in with the report suggesting a huge increase in prize money, for all teams, and ultimately for the benefit of the FAI and the national team.
I think the underage league structure is a good idea - but if it costs clubs twenty grand per team and the FAI are only giving travel grants of 500 quid, then the u15s will actually hurt the LoI - the money has to come from somewhere. The FAI's view seems to put the responsibility for raising more funds entirely on the clubs - but they should want clubs to improve, and shouldn't be scoffing at theidea of funding clubs.
Look at the comparison to Iceland, where the national FA pays for referees for example.
Surely the simple answer is for the FAI to greatly increase the prize money available for every place in the league ?
That's the equivalent of funding clubs, paying for refs etc etc without the unseemliness of actually doing so. It's in-line with the competitive ethos of a league, in that those who perform better get more. And it would make the step up into senior football less financially precarious for new entrants.
I may well be being too simplistic here, but it seems to me that this single move by the FAI would do a lot to help tackle various challenges the LOI faces.
06/01/2017, 11:39 AM
That's what the report suggests though.
Plus other things besides.
thomas72
06/01/2017, 11:53 AM
Interview with cobh manager Henderson on newspaper this morning and I think he is absolutely spot on saying only one team going up which will be Waterford and with no playoffs will put the other teams out of business nothing to play for 1/4 of the way through the season be lucky to get 100 people in the gate.
If Waterford do what limerick did last season and get out of sight very quickly what's the point of other teams even togging out nothing to play for.
Maybe Longford might stay with them for a while but you'd expect Waterford to pull away at one stage.
06/01/2017, 6:04 PM
It definitely is a concern. We probably have the one or two individuals with the necessary deep pockets to keep us afloat if it comes to it (and it must have last year since we don't appear to have had any other source of income) but it'd be a boring season and other clubs may not be so fortunate. I'll reserve judgment on just how strong Waterford will be until they take the field, any other year I'd be very confident of being in the play offs at the least.
oldyouth
06/01/2017, 7:47 PM
Players signing for Waterford are being sold the line that Premier football is assured for the following season. I hope it keeps fine for them.
gormacha
06/01/2017, 10:07 PM
Players signing for Waterford are being sold the line that Premier football is assured for the following season. I hope it keeps fine for them.
There is no way *any* manager would ever say that, and surely no player stupid enough to believe it even if it was said.
It's entirely likely they're being told "we're going all out for promotion - look at the players we're signing - we stand a great chance" which is not quite the same thing.
Trainee
06/01/2017, 10:09 PM
Interview with cobh manager Henderson on newspaper this morning and I think he is absolutely spot on saying only one team going up which will be Waterford and with no playoffs will put the other teams out of business nothing to play for 1/4 of the way through the season be lucky to get 100 people in the gate.
If Waterford do what limerick did last season and get out of sight very quickly what's the point of other teams even togging out nothing to play for.
Maybe Longford might stay with them for a while but you'd expect Waterford to pull away at one stage.
What is the answer? Can't keep 8 teams in the first div & no clubs will to join.
If FAI were having 1 league in 2018 clubs would have nothing to play for as next season & would struggle to attract people to games as there is nothing to play for.
gormacha
06/01/2017, 10:16 PM
I don't think Waterford will dominate to the extent that Limerick did last year, and I sense Longford, Cobh and UCD in particular will have something to say about this supposed stroll to the title, but irrespective, promoting only one team is a potentially disatrous idea. I'm baffled why the playoff structure wasn't retained. They could still do three down/one up *and* incorporate playoffs.
Trainee
06/01/2017, 10:19 PM
Surely the simple answer is for the FAI to greatly increase the prize money available for every place in the league ?
That's the equivalent of funding clubs, paying for refs etc etc without the unseemliness of actually doing so. It's in-line with the competitive ethos of a league, in that those who perform better get more. And it would make the step up into senior football less financially precarious for new entrants.
I may well be being too simplistic here, but it seems to me that this single move by the FAI would do a lot to help tackle various challenges the LOI faces.
The danger with increasing the prize money is a lot of clubs don't have long term plans & tend to season to season.
e.g. if league winners were to get a million, 2nd 750k 3rd 500k. etc We could have 4-5 clubs spending 500k plus meaning most clubs would be still making a loss . If clubs have more money it means that the PFAI will ensure players get paid more money so if a player get 500 today he might get 1000 next season as clubs will have more money so the clubs & league are not better off.
New invesment should be on stadiums, youth set ups etc as clubs will benefit from these long term.
06/01/2017, 10:38 PM
New invesment should be on stadiums, youth set ups etc as clubs will benefit from these long term.
The report covers that to an extent - obligatory minimum spend on ground improvements, and also continuous debt reduction. (Hard to rack up big losses while reducing debt)
sbgawa
10/01/2017, 8:17 PM
Anybody hear how the Pca meeting went last night.?
It was reported in the papers last week it was supposed to happen ?
10/01/2017, 8:56 PM
Anybody hear how the Pca meeting went last night.?
It was reported in the papers last week it was supposed to happen ?
It did happen. From what I was told, it lasted around 3 and a half hours and there was little productive about it.
Small bit in Sun about it. https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/414975/fai-to-hold-meeting-with-league-of-ireland-clubs-next-week-to-discuss-future-of-the-league/
'Crunch' meeting with FAI next Monday.