View Full Version : Contract Renewals & Squad Lists 2016
Pages :
[
6]
El-Pietro
10/12/2015, 10:35 AM
Dan Murray has retired. A legend in a world where that word is overused on a regular basis. I'm genuinely gutted.
GCdfc
10/12/2015, 10:44 AM
Dan Murray has retired. A legend in a world where that word is overused on a regular basis. I'm genuinely gutted.
If Wiki is correct (which I doubt) he had 299 appearances for Cork.
10/12/2015, 11:00 AM
That's a real pity. Despite his flaws, he was right at the top of the Irish game for quite some time now. Mildly surprised he didn't feel like giving Cobh and the First Division a year or two before going out. He can't be much more than 33 or 34 is he?
El-Pietro
10/12/2015, 12:38 PM
Hes 33.
10/12/2015, 1:53 PM
That's a real pity. Mildly surprised he didn't feel like giving Cobh and the First Division a year or two before going out.
After all that travelling with Cork? Sure his hamstrings would be shot by all those hours sitting. Then to go to Cobh sure that'd banjax his back on top!!
10/12/2015, 1:59 PM
After all that travelling with Cork? Sure his hamstrings would be shot by all those hours sitting. Then to go to Cobh sure that'd banjax his back on top!!
Surely there'd be an awful lot less travel with Cobh this season than he'd have done in the past number of years with Cork.
10/12/2015, 2:28 PM
I wouldnt know, I havent been able to bring myself to look at the 1st Division for years - enough time hasnt gone by for the ptsd to have passed!
El-Pietro
10/12/2015, 3:24 PM
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2015/12/10/gearoid-morrissey-signs/
Not all bad news for us today. Our midfield is looking very strong for 2016 now. We missed Gearoid last year. He drove us on in 2014. Just worried about the massive holes in our defence.
strikeforce
10/12/2015, 5:12 PM
Don't be worried. Jc will have a good solid defence by mid January. We looking good enough so far though we also need the left side sorted. As regards the travelling city have to do..... don't let it bother yous.
I'm confused now. Was it the squad and not Caulfields tactics that were an issue with Cork fans over the last 2 seasons?
10/12/2015, 7:13 PM
Matt Crossan latest to sign back with Harps for 2016.
10/12/2015, 8:41 PM
Young Daniel Murray will always be welcome in Tallaght. An outstanding pro despite, ironically, being semi-pro when with us.
10/12/2015, 9:00 PM
As regards the travelling city have to do..... don't let it bother yous.
Thats the best irony post in a while!
strikeforce
10/12/2015, 10:15 PM
Some right ********s here.
patrickccfc
10/12/2015, 10:23 PM
Young Daniel Murray will always be welcome in Tallaght. An outstanding pro despite, ironically, being semi-pro when with us.
So you've forgiven him for celebrating in towards your fans after scoring a 93rd minute winner in 2014?
Seriously though, a top guy and a brilliant leader he has been for us, been through some good and bad times. Tough to see him go.
10/12/2015, 10:37 PM
So you've forgiven him for celebrating in towards your fans after scoring a 93rd minute winner in 2014?
Seriously though, a top guy and a brilliant leader he has been for us, been through some good and bad times. Tough to see him go.
Of course, he can celebrate wherever he wants. He was a great role model, gave 100% and helped us make Irish football history.
Ezeikial
11/12/2015, 8:44 AM
It is an interesting one and we await the pre-season friendlies with particular interest. In the interim Stephen Kenny interviews might shed some light on his thinking.
If Georgie Poynton, the current U-19 international can force himself into the mix, potentially there are 9 players competing for 5 starting spots in midfield:
Shields, O'Donnell
Benson, Mountney
McEleney, Finn
Horgan, Meenan
Stephen Kenny sheds some light on his thinking
http://www.dundalkfc.com/kenny-hails-genuinely-gifted-pair/
and I think I can safely speak for all Shamrock Rovers fans when I say
Of course, he can celebrate wherever he wants.
11/12/2015, 10:26 PM
http://www.donegalsporthub.com/11368-2/
James Gallagher steps down as Finn Harps assistant manager.
13/12/2015, 1:19 PM
http://www.donegalsporthub.com/11368-2/
James Gallagher steps down as Finn Harps assistant manager.
Makes you wonder how much these ''amateur'' GAA coaches get?
Bohs squad at the mo. Wouldn't mind another decent defender in there tbh.
D Delaney
L Stacey
D Pender
D Prendergast
S Best
D Mulchay
Dan Byrne
Anto Murphy
L Fitzgerald
J Caffrey
R Lopes
K Bucko
E Wearen
P Kavanagh
Jake Kelly
A Molloy
I Akinade
Ben Mohammed
A Evans
M Quigley
K Byrne
13/12/2015, 3:55 PM
Makes you wonder how much these ''amateur'' GAA coaches get?
He has 3 young children, is working full time and if working with the Donegal county squad is matching the wages at Harps then it makes sense for him on a personal level. Much less travel, similar commitment and less pressure as GK coach.
Although, he hasn't confirmed whether he's going to continue in that role either.
gufc2000
13/12/2015, 9:00 PM
Galway United Squad Update:
Goalkeepers
Conor Winn
Kevin Horgan
Defenders
Stephen Folan
Colm Horgan
Cormac Raftery
Marc Ludden
Stephen Walsh
Killian Cantwell
Midfielders
Ryan Connolly ©
Paul Sinnott
Conor Melody
John Sullivan
Forwards
Vinny Faherty
Padraic Cunningham
13/12/2015, 9:43 PM
D Delaney
L Stacey
D Pender
D Prendergast
S Best
D Mulchay
Dan Byrne
Anto Murphy
L Fitzgerald
J Caffrey
R Lopes
K Bucko
E Wearen
P Kavanagh
Jake Kelly
A Molloy
I Akinade
Ben Mohammed
A Evans
M Quigley
K Byrne
wots happenin with Jason Byrne has he quit or what?
He has "retired" Marty. But from what I've heard he'd be open to still play.
14/12/2015, 6:55 AM
He has "retired" Marty. But from what I've heard he'd be open to still play.
Dont tell Pat Morley that!
Dalymountrower
14/12/2015, 8:43 AM
D Delaney
L Stacey
D Pender
D Prendergast
S Best
D Mulchay
Dan Byrne
Anto Murphy
L Fitzgerald
J Caffrey
R Lopes
K Bucko
E Wearen
P Kavanagh
Jake Kelly
A Molloy
I Akinade
Ben Mohammed
A Evans
M Quigley
K Byrne
When/why did that happen. ?
Amazed that Long would take the risk and Quigley would re join a club where he was, to put it mildly, not a fans favourite. Clearly an alternative to KM Waters who obviously wont be signing.
Anyway no accounting for footballers deluded sense of the esteem they were held in at a former club, Quigley to Bohs and now Killian Breennan's astonishing return to Rovers being prime examples
End of last week apparently d'rower. Has been reported as confirmed by a few itk posters on the mb but nothing official from the club.
14/12/2015, 3:49 PM
Not sure why people keep talking about KB to Rovers as if it's a done deal.
D24Saint
14/12/2015, 3:57 PM
Not sure why people keep talking about KB to Rovers as if it's a done deal.
thought that myself seems very presumptuous when there has been no official announcement.
Ezeikial
14/12/2015, 7:36 PM
Shams and Killian Brennan were made for each other
14/12/2015, 7:40 PM
Yeah, we got on really well the last time. Precious memories.
wonder88
14/12/2015, 11:42 PM
M Quigley to Bohs a bit of a surprise. Cantwell re-signing at Galway is news(good) to me, and any info on John Sullivan?
gufcfan
15/12/2015, 12:27 AM
Cantwell re-signing at Galway is news(good) to me
Cantwell signs new deal (http://galwayunitedfc.ie/cantwell-signs-new-deal/)
He didn't get 90 minutes until the end of July, so you would be hoping to see what he's capable of next season.
PartySaint
15/12/2015, 11:51 AM
Ger O'Brien and Conan Byrne re-sign for Pats, we have also signed Dylan McGlade from our feeder club.
Squad:
Keepers
O'Malley,
Clarkie
Defenders
O'Brien
Hoare,
Desmond,
McGuinness,
Bermo,
McEleaney,
D Dennehy,
Barker
Midfielders
Conan,
Timlin,
Treacy,
Kelly,
Cawley,
McGrath,
B Dennehy,
McGlade,
Markey,
Bayly,
Verdon
Strikers
Fagan,
Corcoran
15/12/2015, 12:23 PM
Another striker and Pat's are looking fairly good for 2016.
PartySaint
15/12/2015, 1:07 PM
Another striker and Pat's are looking fairly good for 2016.
I reckon we're done now, 2 strikers already and then we have McGrath as cover if needed.
I would like a defensive centre midfielder but as I said I think we're done.
That looks to be a solid enough squad from Pats, but would your really only go with 2 strikers?
PS, you're never going to update that signature are you :-)
McGrath played up front for most of last season.
PartySaint
15/12/2015, 3:35 PM
That looks to be a solid enough squad from Pats, but would your really only go with 2 strikers?
PS, you're never going to update that signature are you :-)
Sure we're the league Cup Champions now :-)
Ezeikial
15/12/2015, 5:13 PM
McGrath played up front for most of last season.
Jamie McGrath was outstanding as a striker in any game that I saw him play last season. Interesting to see that extratime.ie and stpatsfc.com both list him as a midfielder
Mark Timlin has also played up-front for Derry
Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/12/2015, 9:17 PM
Outstanding as a striker? I remember him scoring against us but don't remember him scoring a lot of other goals.
15/12/2015, 9:29 PM
He's a great young talent.
15/12/2015, 10:18 PM
Outstanding as a striker? I remember him scoring against us but don't remember him scoring a lot of other goals.
He didn't score a lot but he's a terrific talent. Played mostly for Pats u19s as a No 10 and was played wide with Ireland u19s
He's definitely an attacking player, and was excellent up front for Pats before tiring late in the season
15/12/2015, 10:22 PM
I saw him a couple of times for Pats U19s and he seemed to play as a sort of deep-lying forward. Buckley seemed to try and make him a striker after Kilduff left and Greene showed he wasn't really suited.
Philosophizer
16/12/2015, 9:21 AM
Jamie McGrath was outstanding as a striker in any game that I saw him play last season. Interesting to see that extratime.ie and stpatsfc.com both list him as a midfielder
McGrath is from my home town so i know a fair bit about him. He's usually been a no 10 right through his underage years with club and Irish development squads etc. That's his best position imho. Buckley played him up front for most of last season, but that's not his natural position, however Buckley still felt that he was a better option up there than Kilduff or Langley when Fagan was injured. Given how Pats play i think he was actually a decent option up front and probably was able to link up better with the other attackers than either Langley or Kilduff would do.
But with Fagan and Corcoran signed up for next season i'd expect McGrath to be challenging for the no10 position and will probably only play up front in an injury crisis...
16/12/2015, 12:47 PM
I saw him a couple of times for Pats U19s and he seemed to play as a sort of deep-lying forward. Buckley seemed to try and make him a striker after Kilduff left and Greene showed he wasn't really suited.
To be fair McGrath was picked ahead of Kilduff, and his form kept him out of the team (before he left). He was definitely out second striker last year but Fagan's injuries meant he played a lot more than he was supposed to
vinnie
16/12/2015, 1:58 PM
Is Fagan staying with yiz this year Dodge ?
16/12/2015, 6:26 PM
Has Aaron Greene signed somewhere and I missed it?