View Full Version : Euro 2016 Play-Offs - November 13th and 16th

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11

18/10/2015, 11:11 PM
Horrible draw. Only comfort is we're at home second leg.

Begovic, Pjancic, Besic, Ibisevic, Dzeko, Lulic, Salihovic, Visca. These are all extremely skillful competent footballers.
The new boy Hodzic is also well regarded even though he's not played competitively.

Littlest Hobo
19/10/2015, 1:20 AM
Interesting draw! not too sure what to make of Bosnia. Their ranking is pretty good, despite some poor results in their qualifying group.

On paper they look pretty good. Going on recent games, here's an eleven they might go with for first leg;

Begovic (Chelsea ENGLAND)

Spahic (HSV GERMANY)
Mujdza (Freiburg GERMANY)
Sunjic (Stuttgart GERMANY)
Vranjej (Gaziantepspor TURKEY)

Pranjic (Roma ITALY)
Lulic (Lazio ITALY)
VISCA (Istanbul Basaksehir TURKEY)
MEDUNJANIN (Deportivo SPAIN)

Dzeko (Roma ITALY)
Ibisevic (Hertha Berlin GERMANY)

On paper just as good as Poland. Reckon Poland would just shade it with Lewandowski being the only difference between the sides.

Missing O'Shea and Walters in the first leg will be crucial and Long is also looking unlikely. A first leg draw would be a good result!

I don't have the same warm fuzzy feeling like some others on here and in the media. It'll be tough going and too close to call.

TheBoss
19/10/2015, 1:37 AM
I have seen Bosnia a few times over this campaign and they are decent team but they are far from a great side. If I was to compare them with Polish team that Ireland played, Poland would be the better of the two. Bosnia are good going forward but defensively are poor. I was watching the game against Cyprus the other day and it was quite clear in my mind that if you have solid defense, you would have a great opportunity to beat them. Cyprus were below average on the night but could have scored more than the 2 they got. I can see the tie being alive right up the very last minute, I think the 2nd leg will be full of goals after what I expect will be tight first leg.

DeLorean
19/10/2015, 9:48 AM
I don't have the same warm fuzzy feeling like some others on here and in the media. It'll be tough going and too close to call.

I think that warm fuzzy feeling is that at least we have a decent chance, surely nobody is taking this opposition for granted. 50/50 chance at best.

Most of our players are playing at a similar level to those guys, the actual club status of some of their players possibly more glamorous but nothing major in it really. As 'star' players go, Dzeko is relatively manageable.

The suspensions to O'Shea and Walters are a real blow for the away leg, another reason why it may have been more beneficial playing at home first. I presume McCarthy is still on thin ice and could miss the second leg with a booking, anybody else? I really think they should have been wiped clean after the group stage ended but not much point complaining about that.

19/10/2015, 9:51 AM
Missing Long and Walters will be huge. Long definitely would be a problem for Spahic who still seems to be central to their defensive structure. In Walters absence it's hard not to imagine Murphy starting.

What Bosnia will do is get on the ball and pin us back, they are an attacking team, it's their strong point and it's what we're not comfortable with - the high intensity attacking that they've employed - just as we saw with Poland, a team we've always struggled against. Keep ball in front of us, such as what Germany do is usually ok for us to deal with.

Not trying to be too dramatic either. they're in the playoff's for a reason too, but if we can come away from Zeljenicar or whatever they call the hovel the ground is in, not behind then I'd be very happy.

19/10/2015, 10:21 AM
Dzeko has got 44 goals in 74 games for them. On paper probably a better side than us but we did well to avoid Ukraine and Sweden. Reasonable draw - main thing is to pray for no further injuries for us and hope the Bosnians have a run like the Irish rugby team.

19/10/2015, 11:38 AM
Dzeko didn't play their last two qualifiers, 2-0 win over Wales, and 3-2 win over Cyprus, although he was an unused sub in both games.

Olé Olé
19/10/2015, 11:39 AM
I was thinking there that Dzeko was very poor last season for City and checked and found that his record so far with Roma is poor also (1 in 7).

But he's 6 in 5 for Bosnia this year. Ugh.

19/10/2015, 12:09 PM
Dzeko is a superb player that was not utilised correctly by City, purely because they didn't have to utilise him the way he would want. Similar to Lewandowski, if the team is set up to service him, then he's in his element.

DeLorean
19/10/2015, 12:14 PM
Imo they outplayed Wales both times.

I suppose, in hindsight, Wales weren't all that more impressive in the final analysis than ourselves. The main difference was that they got the bulk of their work done early.

Home

Away

Home

Away

Home

Away

Home

Away

Home

Away

Wales

Belgium

W 1-0

D 0-0

Bosnia

D 0-0

L 0-2

Israel

D 0-0

W 3-0

Cyprus

W 2-1

W 1-0

Andorra

W 2-0

W 2-1

Ireland

Germany

W 1-0

D 1-1

Poland

D 1-1

L 1-2

Scotland

D 1-1

L 0-1

Georgia

W 1-0

W 2-1

Gibraltar

W 7-0

W 4-0

The results are actually incredibly similar, only separated by Wales managing to win in Israel wheras we lost in Glasgow. It could definitely be argued that we had a (much?) tougher group also. This is neither here nor there by the way, just thought it was interesting how similar our campaigns were despite the general perception and Wales' meteoric rise in the FIFA Rankings.

19/10/2015, 12:22 PM
I suppose, in hindsight, Wales weren't all that more impressive in the final analysis than ourselves. The main difference was that they got the bulk of their work done early.

The results are actually incredibly similar, only separated by Wales managing to win Israel while we lost in Glasgow. It could definitely be argued that we had a (much?) tougher group also. This is neither here nor there by the way, just thought it was interesting how similar our campaigns were despite the general perception and Wales' meteoric rise in the FIFA Rankings.

which makes it all the better that we got them as first seeds for the wc draw. I watched a lot of their qualifiers this time and their Israel performance stood out ok but apart from their Belgium performances and results (which were similar to ours v Germany as you say) I wasn't overly impressed tbh.

DeLorean
19/10/2015, 12:36 PM
Yeah I saw nearly all their games. There's no doubt they've got their house in order defensively but let's call a spade a spade, it was pretty much a one man show offensively. Good luck to them though, I'm not knocking them for a second.

Littlest Hobo
19/10/2015, 12:39 PM
The Bosnians have picked up alot of yellow cards along the way and quite a few are 1 more from suspension.

I've watched alot of highlights from their qualifying group and they appear very confident in attack, but suspect at the back. Begovic has made a few blunders and their central pairing are not the best.

Their ground is like a mini version of Montenegro's. It's a real dump. But the 12 or so K who can fit in make a lot of noise. In saying that it shouldn't bother us.

19/10/2015, 3:30 PM
Dzeko didn't play their last two qualifiers, 2-0 win over Wales, and 3-2 win over Cyprus, although he was an unused sub in both games.
Dzeko the giant went off injured in his last club game and was deemed not fully fit to play for Bosnia, unless there was an emergency calling for his introduction, where the need outweighed the risk involved. That sounds rational enough to me.

However the concept of having a not-fully-fit player on standby on the subs bench is one which doesn't cut any mustard with the rte panel pundits who take the black and white position that if a player is on the subs bench, that means he is fit to start. And if the coach states that the same player was not fully fit , then he's accused of being a liar or/and talking balderdash.

19/10/2015, 3:40 PM
Dzeko the giant went off injured in his last club game and was deemed not fully fit to play for Bosnia, unless there was an emergency calling for his introduction, where the need outweighed the risk involved. That sounds rational enough to me.

However the concept of having a not-fully-fit player on standby on the subs bench is one which doesn't cut any mustard with the rte panel pundits who take the black and white position that if a player is on the subs bench, that means he is fit to start. And if the coach states that the same player was not fully fit , then he's accused of being a liar or/and talking balderdash.

with same panel also accusing MO'N of leaving out said player from the team against Scotland away when he wasn't even in the squad due to injury!

back of the net
19/10/2015, 3:42 PM
Anyone on here going to the away leg?

Dont see a thread on the fans forum

Realise our ticket allocation is tiny - but looking at ways to get there and hopefully just getting a ticket over there

19/10/2015, 3:51 PM

Home
Away

Home
Away

Home
Away

Home
Away

Home
Away

Wales
Belgium
W 1-0
D 0-0
Bosnia
D 0-0
L 0-2
Israel
D 0-0
W 3-0
Cyprus
W 2-1
W 1-0
Andorra
W 2-0
W 2-1

Ireland
Germany
W 1-0
D 1-1
Poland
D 1-1
L 1-2
Scotland
D 1-1
L 0-1
Georgia
W 1-0
W 2-1
Gibraltar
W 7-0
W 4-0

The results are actually incredibly similar, only separated by Wales managing to win in Israel wheras we lost in Glasgow. It could definitely be argued that we had a (much?) tougher group also. This is neither here nor there by the way, just thought it was interesting how similar our campaigns were despite the general perception and Wales' meteoric rise in the FIFA Rankings.
I interpret all that to mean, Bosnia > Wales . Wales = or slightly > Ireland, therefore Bosnia are still > Ireland, which was the gist of my point :)

I was impressed with Bosnia's last 2 performances though I just saw the extended highlights of the game against Wales
Mostly it's only the top teams who are consistantly good in a qual campaign and it would appear that both Bosnia and Belgium had some adjusting issues after their WC Finals. ATM Bosnia look to be back to their best form or close enough.

19/10/2015, 4:09 PM
Anyone on here going to the away leg?

Dont see a thread on the fans forum

Realise our ticket allocation is tiny - but looking at ways to get there and hopefully just getting a ticket over there

sorry, thread created - http://foot.ie/threads/205839-Friday-13th-November-2015-Bosnia-V-Ireland-General-Discussion

DeLorean
19/10/2015, 4:43 PM
I presume McCarthy is still on thin ice and could miss the second leg with a booking, anybody else? I really think they should have been wiped clean after the group stage ended but not much point complaining about that.

They don't seem to be clearly indicated, but I went through the squads on the UEFA website and these seem to be the guys one booking away from missing the second leg:

Bosnia and Herzegovina
Spahic (D)
Sunjic (D)
Hadzic (M)
Pjanic (M)
Dzeko (F)

Republic of Ireland
Wilson (D)
Coleman (D)
McCarthy (M)
Hoolahan (M)

Some really important players on both sides. Besic got a straight red against Andorra but they have played two qualifiers since then so presumably he's available again.

19/10/2015, 4:53 PM
Besic got a straight red against Andorra but they have played two qualifiers since then so presumably he's available again.

He's suspended for the first leg: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2016_qualifying_play-offs#Discipline

19/10/2015, 5:29 PM
Details released by the FAI.

The Football Association of Ireland would like to announce that tickets for the Republic of Ireland's UEFA 2016 European Championship Play-Off Second Leg game versus Bosnia-Herzegovina on Monday, November 16 at Aviva Stadium will go on public sale on Tuesday, October 27.

The First Leg of the Play-Off will take place on Friday, November 13 in Bosnia-Herzegovina in a venue yet to be officially confirmed. The Football Association of Bosnia and Herzegovina have until October 25 to confirm the match venue.

In advance of any such official stadium announcement, the FAI has requested a 10 per cent overall ticket allocation for the First Leg match. Under UEFA regulations away teams are guaranteed five per cent of the overall ticket allocation, but may apply for an additional five per cent. This application is subject to the discretion of the home association.As soon as the FAI's ticket allocation for the game is confirmed, the Away Ticketing Scheme, which was piloted for the away fixtures against Gibraltar and Poland, will be activated. Under the scheme, tickets will be distributed as follows:

[*=left]55 per cent will be distributed to supporters from affiliated football Leagues and more than 2,000 clubs that fall under their remit, Board and National Council members, players/staff, Club Ireland members, and Jack Charlton Lounge patrons.
[*=left]30 per cent will be allocated to independent supporters who are members of Republic of Ireland Soccer Supporter Clubs or Fans' Direct.
[*=left]15 per cent will be provided to supporters travelling with the FAI's official travel partner, Abbey Travel. These supporters have their details of match attendance at away games logged should they ever decide to apply independently for tickets.

Allocations to independent supporters registered with Fans' Direct are made on a points based system. This system collates data from Autumn 2012 (the start of 2014 World Cup qualification) and supporters have been awarded points on an individual basis as follows:

[*=left]70 points for a Season Ticket purchased for each season from the 2012/13 season
[*=left]20 points for each away match attended since September 2012
[*=left]10 points for each single home match attended since the 2012/13 season (if not a Season Ticket holder)

Allocations to Republic of Ireland Soccer Supporter Clubs will be based on the numbers of season tickets held by each club and divided accordingly among Republic of Ireland Soccer Supporter Clubs.

Within the 30 per cent of away tickets allocated to Republic of Ireland Soccer Supporter Clubs and Fans' Direct, away tickets will split on a pro-rata basis based on season tickets held by Supporters' Clubs and the number of members registered with Fans' Direct.Should any tickets remain after they have been offered to Republic of Ireland Soccer Supporter Clubs or Fans' Direct, they will be offered between these groupings, who will have first option on any remaining tickets.

The FAI received 9,800 tickets for the game against Gibraltar in Faro, Portugal and 3,800 tickets for the game against Poland in Warsaw. In both matches the full allocation was not taken up.

backstothewall
19/10/2015, 6:14 PM
Oh for a score draw in Sarajevo with Dzeko picking up a booking!

20/10/2015, 11:22 AM
Oh for a win in Sarajevo with Dzeko picking up a booking!

Fixed.

DeLorean
20/10/2015, 1:43 PM
Hope? Let me tell you something, my friend. Hope is a dangerous thing. Hope can drive a man insane. It's got no use supporting Ireland. You'd better get used to that idea.

20/10/2015, 2:22 PM
Having hope is normal but having high hopes can be a dangerous thing.

20/10/2015, 2:38 PM
Having hope is normal but having high hopes can be a dangerous thing.

Yes, we have to distinguish between hope and expectation. My football supporter's life has been built on hope but seldom on high hopes and virtually never on expectation.

20/10/2015, 3:00 PM
it's the hope that kills you
to paraphrase high fidelity, "did I watch football because I was miserable, or was I miserable because I watched football"

20/10/2015, 3:46 PM
it's the hope that kills you
to paraphrase high fidelity, "did I watch football because I was miserable, or was I miserable because I watched football"

“They say a person needs just three things to be truly happy in this world: someone to love, something to do, and something to hope for.”
― Tom Bodett

20/10/2015, 7:11 PM
"They say the world is round"

The end.

Crosby87
20/10/2015, 10:42 PM
[QUOT=OwlsFan;1844406]“They say a person needs just three things to be truly happy in this world: someone to love, something to do, and something to hope for.”
― Tom Bodett[/QUOTE]

What If the someone is a sheep? Just asking...for a friend.

21/10/2015, 9:17 AM

Tell him that all's wool that ends wool.

punkrocket
21/10/2015, 12:08 PM
For most travelling Ireland fans in my experience it's the hops that kill you.

DeLorean
21/10/2015, 12:18 PM

Wim Kieft?

DeLorean
21/10/2015, 12:53 PM
I was only playing with the famous quote from The Shawshank Redemption, maybe not as famous as I thought!

21/10/2015, 1:30 PM
Even truer than you might have thought

http://fatcatbeers.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/beer-hops-291x300.jpg

Crosby87
21/10/2015, 1:34 PM
I was only playing with the famous quote from The Shawshank Redemption, maybe not as famous as I thought!

They should have made a sequel where they show what happens In Mexico.

21/10/2015, 1:45 PM
Never ever a free kick in the first place, nevertheless here's Pjanic's perfect free kick goal last night in the CL,
almost outshone by Naingolan's successfull dive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3Se9Y3qEyo

I think I saw Djeko's shadow in the background, late on.

21/10/2015, 3:20 PM

Red was a staunch Ireland fan.

Crosby87
21/10/2015, 4:17 PM
Tim Robbins plays street hockey in lower Manhattan.

Stu your man got elected! Welfare and food stamps for all! Quit your job.

Crosby87
21/10/2015, 6:17 PM
Ybig not happy with ticket situation.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/looking-for-a-ticket-for-ireland-v-bosnia-here-is-how-to-get-them-34126277.html

MeathDrog
21/10/2015, 6:44 PM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/looking-for-a-ticket-for-ireland-v-bosnia-here-is-how-to-get-them-34126277.html
They never are.

IsMiseSean
21/10/2015, 7:12 PM
They're always complaining or panicking about something over there...

Crosby87
21/10/2015, 9:01 PM
I have an idea....Nigel Harps storms the FAI headquarters with a pitch fork. Takes Ruud Doktor hostage. Forces FAI to negotiate.

21/10/2015, 9:20 PM
I have an idea....Nigel Harps storms the FAI headquarters with a pitch fork. Takes Ruud Doktor hostage. Forces FAI to negotiate.

If I was part of YBIG, that'd be a great idea.

Although, I've a couple of flaws to point out.

I wouldn't going to Bosnia. I don't have a pitch fork, and Ruud Doktor has nothing to do with ticketing.

Crosby87
21/10/2015, 9:43 PM
I think they're actually talking about the tix for the home game.

DeLorean
21/10/2015, 9:58 PM
Very brief discussion about drawing Bosnia at the end of the Champions League coverage on RTE just now. In summary:

Liam Brady: Not a good draw, was hoping for Hungary. We're up against it.

Ronnie Whelan: Impossible to call, nothing between any of the eight teams in the draw, seeded or non seeded.

Richie Sadlier: The most important thing is that our options aren't reduced further between now and the game. We're already missing O'Shea and Walters, who has had an excellent campaign and even if Long makes it he'll have spent most of his preparation in the treatment room. We don't have the squad to deal with any more injuries.

colonelwest
22/10/2015, 11:56 AM

I'm alright Jack indeed. Moaning about the clubs/ leagues getting their tickets, well what about the load of us who get our ST's and away tickets for donkeys years through the clubs? Now I'm as partial to a good FAI bashing session as the next man but sure they have brought in a similar system to the Welsh that they're moaning about based on a points system of ST's, prev away games attended etc which of course isn't perfect but should on the whole sort out people who put in the time and the miles for games.

Ok lads, grand job, ye can have all the away tickets for yisser selfs and feck everyone else.

22/10/2015, 12:12 PM
Very brief discussion about drawing Bosnia at the end of the Champions League coverage on RTE just now. In summary:

Liam Brady: Not a good draw, was hoping for Hungary. We're up against it.

Ronnie Whelan: Impossible to call, nothing between any of the eight teams in the draw, seeded or non seeded.

Richie Sadlier: The most important thing is that our options aren't reduced further between now and the game. We're already missing O'Shea and Walters, who has had an excellent campaign and even if Long makes it he'll have spent most of his preparation in the treatment room. We don't have the squad to deal with any more injuries.

I know that rankings can be taken with a pinch of salt (Wales 8th in the world) but Ukraine are 24, Bosnia 30, Hungary 33 and Sweden 45 (we're 54 stuck between South Korea and Guinea), I am glad we missed Ukraine where I would have rated our chances as about one in three of getting through but with Bosnia I think we have at minimum an even chance, particularly with the 2nd leg at home. I agree with Sadlier, we can ill afford any more injuries. Whelan is talking through his proverbials as I think there is a lot between Ukraine and the others while Brady would be worried if we drew Luxembourgh.

Cymro
22/10/2015, 12:49 PM
“They say a person needs just three things to be truly happy in this world: someone to love, something to do, and something to hope for.”
― Tom Bodett

Jesus Crosby, I told you not to out me until I'd spoken to my parents......

punkrocket
22/10/2015, 6:19 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfnhmuZ27eQ

I like this one better.