View Full Version : EA Sports Cup 2015
oriel
23/09/2015, 11:35 AM
Huh? Galway United knocked out Dundalk, Bohs and Harps en route to the final.
That said, Pat's were the better team. And credit to the referee and the officials who were excellent. Best refereeing that I've seen in the LOI. When you don't notice the referee, then he/she must be doing a good job.
Yep, fair point, both had a tough enough route, but I think all of those I mentioned were away games for Pats?
oriel
23/09/2015, 11:38 AM
Having watched highlights on Soccer Republic, I'd say the 3,600 figure was right. Combined stand capacity is about 3,300, old stand wasn't full and there was also the loss of seats to create the 'buffer zone' with the Pats fans. There was also loads of room behind the goal at the Corrib end.
There would be no reason why a figure would be incorrect, often I find for occasions like these, the crowds can look bigger than they are. Still a very good turnout, what did Pats take over 300? (I don't know, only going on small clips I saw)
As for the flares, (not the jeans............) tut tut boys on both sides, even our lads have cut that out this season! Any fines due?
The FAI ran the game. So presumably they will be fining themselves.
23/09/2015, 12:53 PM
Yep, fair point, both had a tough enough route, but I think all of those I mentioned were away games for Pats?
Galways route
home to Finn Harps
home to Cockhill Celtic
home to Bohs
home to Dundalk
home to Pats
Pat's route
away to Cumlin (played in Richmond)
away to Cork
away to Rovers
away to Galway
Trivia buffs will be delighted to note that Pats have surely become the first team ever anywhere to win a country's League Cup competition without beating a league team. (drew with Cork, Rovers and Galway)
dundalkfc10
23/09/2015, 2:16 PM
There would be no reason why a figure would be incorrect, often I find for occasions like these, the crowds can look bigger than they are. Still a very good turnout, what did Pats take over 300? (I don't know, only going on small clips I saw)
As for the flares, (not the jeans............) tut tut boys on both sides, even our lads have cut that out this season! Any fines due?
When we win the League, its 100% certantity the SSA lads will have flares, and If we get to the Aviva, id imagine there will be even more.
Bohs, Rovers, Derry, Cork etc.. all have let off smoke bombs, flares this season (very surprised our lads have managed not too)
Any idea how much a fine is for a flare, and is it per flare or per game clubs are fined!
Are the clubs mentioned board doing anything to stop their fans letting them off because i know alot of work went in from the Dundalk board to get the lads to stop
23/09/2015, 2:47 PM
When we win the League, its 100% certantity the SSA lads will have flares, and If we get to the Aviva, id imagine there will be even more.
Bohs, Rovers, Derry, Cork etc.. all have let off smoke bombs, flares this season (very surprised our lads have managed not too)
Any idea how much a fine is for a flare, and is it per flare or per game clubs are fined!
Are the clubs mentioned board doing anything to stop their fans letting them off because i know alot of work went in from the Dundalk board to get the lads to stop
It's always been accepted that it's 500 euro per flare but no one has ever actually proved that so hard to know. Apparently smokebombs and the like only incur a 150 euro fine but again this is all hearsay, personally don't see anything wrong with a bit of pyro a couple of times a year
I sincerely hope you are wrong with this, as the club has indeed worked very hard with community groups to stop these, and some even visited the club with the Community Worker and were told at first hand what it cost in fines. It would be nice to get all prize money this year as a full amount, without a single cent being deducted, after the disaster of last seasons fines (over 20k). With 3 home games remaining and a possible cup final, the current fines total in all areas is Zero.
Last years fines of over 20k was just a ridiculous waste of hard earned income.
Most fan groups around the country pay for their own flare fines.
gufcfan
23/09/2015, 6:30 PM
Be nice to think the The President had a word with Delaney about attending domestic games at least. If MDH can manage it regularly well JD has no excuse!
Why in the name of Christ would we want to see more of him?
23/09/2015, 9:55 PM
Most fan groups around the country pay for their own flare fines.
Not so sure about that, obviously it's possible for the likes of rovers ultras, the NBB and the SEI who have large numbers but for small clubs that might reach a cup final once In a blue moon or win the FD etc they are obviously going to want to let off some pyro
wonder88
23/09/2015, 11:26 PM
On the crowd, the figure looks accurate to me if you add on top all the stewards, officials down from Dublin, guests, gardaí you may be close to 4k. The horse racing folks include these in their figures; jockeys, stable lads, everyone at the track. There were empty seats on Saturday.
As others have said the LC still has some value and Pats having to play two games outside Dublin are worthy winners. My first ever game of proper/LoI soccer was in Terryland in the league cup against Thurles Town. Semi final on a October bank holiday with the great N Steadman playing. Long time ago. How long did Thurles last? and were they a Dublin based/backed club?
23/09/2015, 11:26 PM
Not so sure about that, obviously it's possible for the likes of rovers ultras, the NBB and the SEI who have large numbers but for small clubs that might reach a cup final once In a blue moon or win the FD etc they are obviously going to want to let off some pyro
So, you're saying, if Section O caused Longford a fine of a couple of grand, knowing you'd do so in the first place, you'd refuse to pay it because there's not enough of you there and leave it up to the club to pay for a bit of idiocy from the fans?
dundalkfc10
24/09/2015, 7:49 AM
I sincerely hope you are wrong with this, as the club has indeed worked very hard with community groups to stop these, and some even visited the club with the Community Worker and were told at first hand what it cost in fines. It would be nice to get all prize money this year as a full amount, without a single cent being deducted, after the disaster of last seasons fines (over 20k). With 3 home games remaining and a possible cup final, the current fines total in all areas is Zero.
Last years fines of over 20k was just a ridiculous waste of hard earned income.
Il put money on it that they will have flares/smoke bombs!
24/09/2015, 7:28 PM
Surely that's an even better reason not to saddle the club with it.
25/09/2015, 12:22 PM
Fans pay enough money all year long following their clubs, if they can't let a bit of pyro off at a cup final then what's the point. So many people take the moral high ground on this yet they are usually the first one sharing photos from away day pages on Twitter saying no pyro no party.
25/09/2015, 12:32 PM
Pyros are decidedly overrated especially when it's just one or two of them. Plenty of ways to celebrate that won't incur fines.
25/09/2015, 12:36 PM
Fans pay enough money all year long following their clubs, if they can't let a bit of pyro off at a cup final then what's the point.
Are you asking what's the point in supporting a team in a cup final if you can't use flares? How odd.
So many people take the moral high ground on this yet they are usually the first one sharing photos from away day pages on Twitter saying no pyro no party.
I haven't seen too many on here be on any moral high ground.
25/09/2015, 1:22 PM
Fans pay enough money all year long following their clubs, if they can't let a bit of pyro off at a cup final then what's the point. So many people take the moral high ground on this yet they are usually the first one sharing photos from away day pages on Twitter saying no pyro no party.
Obviously the fines for pyro are an issue but, knowing they'll damage the club financially, why would you do it?
25/09/2015, 4:12 PM
I haven't seen too many on here be on any moral high ground.
I've got an ivory tower.
28/09/2015, 5:00 PM
Personally I don't believe you need pyro to create a good atmosphere and the last time I can remember anyone in section O letting any off was when we won the league but I'd be surprised if some of the younger lads hadn't something up their sleeve for Friday. As long as the people letting it off are responsible I don't have a problem with it. I can see why clubs would be frustrated with needless fines though and that's why I'd never let any off myself, well that and I'd probably burn the place down.
Ezeikial
28/09/2015, 6:24 PM
As long as the people letting it off are responsible I don't have a problem with it.
Does your definition of "responsible" include paying any fines?
28/09/2015, 9:01 PM
Taking about pyro, Basel this weekend, yeah down with this sort of thing:rolleyes:
https://scontent-fra3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12019931_875127715869740_8461038500485450654_n.jpg ?oh=b5512e42b6af3da08ecffd626fb191e2&oe=5692AFD8
28/09/2015, 9:35 PM
Does your definition of "responsible" include paying any fines?
It would look crap in that away end anyway so hopefully nobody gets in with any.
jinxy lilywhite
29/09/2015, 10:10 PM
As an ashmatic pyros are horrific to be around.
I remember the setanta cup final last year and I nearly choked with the fumes of the them.
patrickccfc
24/12/2015, 9:41 AM
Final being shown at the moment on setanta Ireland, followed by dundalk vs bray. And after that there's a show each about Keith fahey and Jason Byrne. Setanta looking after us this Xmas :cool:
24/12/2015, 9:58 AM
Santanta.
24/12/2015, 5:25 PM
Final being shown at the moment on setanta Ireland, followed by dundalk vs bray. And after that there's a show each about Keith fahey and Jason Byrne. Setanta looking after us this Xmas :cool:
no talk about setanta cup for 2016? wonder is there an appetite for it in the north still?
Hopefuly Would like to see it this year