View Full Version : EA Sports Cup 2015
WoodquayBoy
14/09/2015, 5:42 PM
FAI running the show and they have capped capacity at 4,400 as far as I know. Also a rumour floating around that they won't allow people stand behind the car-park end goal. Sounds like a ludicrous rumour - but I refer you to the first four words in my post.
D24Saint
14/09/2015, 6:17 PM
FAI running the show and they have capped capacity at 4,400 as far as I know. Also a rumour floating around that they won't allow people stand behind the car-park end goal. Sounds like a ludicrous rumour - but I refer you to the first four words in my post.
Thought it was to be run by Galway themselves with the FAI in charge I'll have to leave the Menlo a hour before KO to allow for the body cavity search by the FAI henchmen.
WoodquayBoy
14/09/2015, 7:04 PM
Don't pretend you're not looking forward to that part of the day - hoping it'll be the sole highlight for you!!
El-Pietro
15/09/2015, 8:57 AM
There will be more gardaν and security at this game than have ever been seen in Galway before. There will be very little left of the gate money after the FAI take their expenses if previous finals are anything to go on.
15/09/2015, 11:33 AM
Thought it was to be run by Galway themselves with the FAI in charge I'll have to leave the Menlo a hour before KO to allow for the body cavity search by the FAI henchmen.
FAI ran it last year in Dundalk. They brought in their own stewards, who decided not to let Rovers fans into the stand that had been specifically built at great expense for the purpose of housing them. As El-Pietro says, any money the clubs might have made from the gates was eaten up by that ridiculous white elephant.
dundalkfc10
15/09/2015, 11:48 AM
FAI ran it last year in Dundalk. They brought in their own stewards, who decided not to let Rovers fans into the stand that had been specifically built at great expense for the purpose of housing them. As El-Pietro says, any money the clubs might have made from the gates was eaten up by that ridiculous white elephant.
Cant remember that?
There was Rovers fans in the temp stand (not too many though)
Must say last years final was no diff to any league game in the home end, cans freely brought into the ground and not a thing said to anyone drinking
15/09/2015, 11:52 AM
Cant remember that?
There was Rovers fans in the temp stand (not too many though)
Must say last years final was no diff to any league game in the home end, cans freely brought into the ground and not a thing said to anyone drinking
There were a couple of people allowed in during the first half and a few more at half time. The rest of us were told it wasn't open (not that I was going in anyway).
The main purpose of the extra stand for last year's League Cup final was to increase capacity of the existing away end so Dundalk could keep the main stand, shed and the rest of the ground. If it wasn't put it we'd presumably have had to give Rovers the main stand or the shed, either of which would have been less than half full- so we'd have had at least 1,000 - 1,500 less home fans, with not enough away fans to make up the shortfall. So it was immaterial whether the extra stand was used or not, it just increased the overall capacity. The increased capacity paid for the hire of stand. And yes, the FAI goons saw fit to turn many Rovers ticket holders away from an empty stand!
18/09/2015, 11:42 AM
Gufc fans reversing the trend "marching to the Dail""
There has to be thousands of Galway flags lying around after the last 3 weeks and also some big flags thrown in the back of wardrobes that could be dusted down and brought to EDP tomorrow night. Imagine the boost Paul Sinnott and the lads would get walking out the Tunnell to a stadium festooned in maroon.
Show your pride tomorrow in Your City Your County Your club wear anything maroon whatever the code whether your going to the game or not and bring your hats flags and scarves with you up the dyke road.
There is s group of fans marching from the Dail Bar after the rugby is over who will let all of Galway know their pride in their local team.
https://vimeo.com/139673473
D24Saint
19/09/2015, 11:18 AM
Hopefully there will be a decent turnout & a good game today.It will be a tight game I'd expect Galway to start the brighter but if we can hang on early I'd give us a chance. No extra time please had my fill in this competition this year.
wonder88
19/09/2015, 12:02 PM
Looks like a good crowd will be at it. As mentioned, security is likely to be OTT for a crowd of around 4k, how much does this carry on dis-courages people going?
Collected my ticket at Terryland last evening and have to say the pitch/place looks well. Now for a decent game and the cup staying in the west.
Anyone got a link to watch this on a phone?
Fester
19/09/2015, 6:04 PM
http://nowwatchtvlive.me/setanta-ireland-live-stream-watch-setanta-sports-channel-online/ Live link
Cheers Fester,working perfect.
White Horse
19/09/2015, 6:54 PM
Decent game, good atmosphere, and Terryland looking great.
19/09/2015, 7:44 PM
Did Pats not go first in that shootout?
Paulgufc
19/09/2015, 9:08 PM
Gutted at the end to lose but very proud of my club tonight. First half was awful stuff but second half was fantastic. If only Enda could have finished that chance. Best atmosphere I've experienced in Terryland, not sure how it came across on TV.
wonder88
19/09/2015, 10:05 PM
Agree very poor first half, maybe Galway lads bit nervous, but game improved lot after that. Pats better team, they have better players of course, but some performance from Galway and could have won it. Both side had chances. Great atmosphere at Terryland, fair play to both sets of fans. Connor Winn had good game and other Connor made great save frmo Curran's free kick.
19/09/2015, 11:04 PM
To win a trophy in a season is great and got the monkey off the back for Dundalk last season and we kicked on in the league. Would have been massive for Galway after a barren spell without silverware. For St Pats though it must feel a bit bitter sweet or anticlimax like after a disappointing league season where they would have hoped to have been title challengers and and may miss out on Europe. Still a trophy is a trophy, I want to bag the LSC on top of hopefully League and Cup, im greedy individual!So well done to Pats and unlucky Galway, penalty shoot-outs are always a lottery - so near yet so far. Hopefully this final in EDP will raise the local interest in Galway United and boost home crowds as its certainly a ground that many clubs would love to have so some onfield success would really kick the club on.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/09/2015, 7:30 AM
Enjoyed the game. Ground looked in great knick and with a classic league of ireland ending with none of the Pats players realising they'd won the shoot out.
D24Saint
20/09/2015, 8:35 AM
Poor game imo , we had the better chances but glad to win it in the end after three shootout wins on the trot.It was a great turnout by the Galway public it's the reason I was backing them in the bowl last year it's great to have them back. That's the whole set for Bucko who has cemented his stature as the clubs greatest manager.
White Horse
20/09/2015, 8:37 AM
Gutted at the end to lose but very proud of my club tonight. First half was awful stuff but second half was fantastic. If only Enda could have finished that chance. Best atmosphere I've experienced in Terryland, not sure how it came across on TV.
Hopefully, it is the start of something for Galway.
Cup finals are rarely great games, but it looked like a proper final on TV. Terryland was great and the fans (both sides) were a credit.
White Horse
20/09/2015, 8:39 AM
Poor game imo , we had the better chances but glad to win it in the end after three shootout wins on the trot.It was a great turnout by the Galway public it's the reason I was backing them in the bowl last year it's great to have them back. That's the whole set for Bucko who has cemented his stature as the clubs greatest manager.
The stats don't lie.
His biggest test is to come though. He has to rebuild the side for next season.
D24Saint
20/09/2015, 12:43 PM
What prize money do the winners get ?
oriel
20/09/2015, 12:52 PM
What prize money do the winners get ?
I think I remember reading last year, the fai took care of the day and the gate! And the winners got something like 10k, possibly 12.5k,and if the latter figure is correct, there is definitely something wrong with me.
Tough way to lose it, but at least it looked a good occasion for Galway.
WoodquayBoy
20/09/2015, 3:54 PM
Heard a few weeks ago it was 12,500 for winners, 7,500 for runners -up and 2,500 a piece for beaten semi-finalists. And I think gate last night was a 3-way split so maybe both clubs make close to 10k each from that as well
D24Saint
20/09/2015, 4:22 PM
Not a bad few quid after it was divided three ways, I suppose John D's cristal champagne & Lobster Thermidor doesn't buy itself.
Ezeikial
20/09/2015, 8:20 PM
Suggest that you guys wait to see the cheque before you go on a spending spree
Ezeikial
20/09/2015, 8:21 PM
Congrats to St Pats
WoodquayBoy
20/09/2015, 10:53 PM
Suggest that you guys wait to see the cheque before you go on a spending spree
Hope our spending spree is on finishing that mural behind the town goal! And should have said earlier: congrats to Pats, absolutely devastated to lose, but hands-up, the best team on the night took the cup home. Being honest, also disappointed with the crowd - just over 3,300 for the club's first final in nearly 19 years. Thought there would be more barstoolers, bandwagon jumpers and the straightforward curious who would have attended
PartySaint
21/09/2015, 7:57 AM
Great occasion on Saturday night. I really hope Galway get a few of the newbies to come back, great setup down there and even better when it's full.
Just thinking back on the games this year, Pats had a fairly tough route to the final, may have won most on pens but they were very tough games. They were away to Cork in the QF, away to Rovers in the semi, then away to Galway in the final.
Also I think the old competition still has a bit of a sparkle about it, looked a great occasion in Galway with over 3 times their average and live on TV. Same last year for us, it was our chance to win our first trophy in 12 years and I'm convinced it put us on the right track going into the final 5 league games, if we had lost it, we could have gone on losing streak.
So fair play to Pats, if they make Europe I'm sure they will still see it as a successful season. Tough on Galway but at least they know what the scope of support is now if they can make improvements to the team.
21/09/2015, 10:40 AM
Hope our spending spree is on finishing that mural behind the town goal! And should have said earlier: congrats to Pats, absolutely devastated to lose, but hands-up, the best team on the night took the cup home. Being honest, also disappointed with the crowd - just over 3,300 for the club's first final in nearly 19 years. Thought there would be more barstoolers, bandwagon jumpers and the straightforward curious who would have attended
The murals behind the goals look unreal. Credit to the people currently at GUFC they are doing everything right
WoodquayBoy
21/09/2015, 10:44 AM
Yeah, and it's only taken us 34 years!! In fairness to the guys doing the mural, the weather last week was brutal so they couldn't finish it as the paint would have just ran.
21/09/2015, 10:54 AM
Also I think the old competition still has a bit of a sparkle about it, looked a great occasion in Galway with over 3 times their average and live on TV.
It felt like a bit of an occasion too. President there (nothing special now), Delaney there (absolutely a rare thing) and everything was run well bu Galway and the FAI/League.
gufc2000
21/09/2015, 3:32 PM
It felt like more than that at the game tbh, I think 3662 was called out. EDP can hold circa 5k, I don't know where they would have crammed another 1,400 people in. It was probably the best atmosphere at a game in Terryland during my time following United.
First half was a very scrappy affair but the game opened up from then on with both sides spurning decent chances. Pats probably had the better of it. Gut wrenching to lose but hopefully the lads can learn from the experience and maintain our Premier Division status over the next few weeks.,
WoodquayBoy
21/09/2015, 5:16 PM
Thought there was more myself, must have misheard announcement
Olander
21/09/2015, 6:47 PM
Genuinely felt the crowd was much bigger too. I would've guessed 4,100 or so.
Both stands were full, which is about 3,300. Pats had a large overflow on their away terrace and the club is supposed to have sold around 500-600 terrace tickets on the gate and through the Dail Bar/club office.
It felt like a bit of an occasion too. President there (nothing special now), Delaney there (absolutely a rare thing) and everything was run well bu Galway and the FAI/League.
Delaney ? Jesus, the things you see when you're out without your gun !!
Thoroughly enjoyed the occasion. Thought we deserved it, though Galway had a couple of good chances and on another night could have done it. Was convinced we'd lose on penalties before they started. Bizarre ending too. I was thinking "We've won it, haven't we ?" The lack of reaction made me doubt myself.
Successful season Oriel ? well, ...ish I suppose.
22/09/2015, 1:13 AM
Be nice to think the The President had a word with Delaney about attending domestic games at least. If MDH can manage it regularly well JD has no excuse!
22/09/2015, 10:08 AM
Michael D's interview on Setanta was class. I've been going to Terryland since 1977 and there was way more than 3,600 at the game a lot closer to 4,500. We have had bigger crowds but never a better atmosphere proud as hell of where we are now compared to three years ago. Amazing the amount of People wearing their colours as well. Simply have to stay up we all know it the players are determined so lets get started Friday.
22/09/2015, 11:07 AM
Sounds to me like Galway are trying to rip Pats off with the crowd split here :)
Paddyfield
22/09/2015, 11:34 AM
Just thinking back on the games this year, Pats had a fairly tough route to the final, may have won most on pens but they were very tough games. They were away to Cork in the QF, away to Rovers in the semi, then away to Galway in the final.
Huh? Galway United knocked out Dundalk, Bohs and Harps en route to the final.
That said, Pat's were the better team. And credit to the referee and the officials who were excellent. Best refereeing that I've seen in the LOI. When you don't notice the referee, then he/she must be doing a good job.
Olander
22/09/2015, 12:13 PM
Sounds to me like Galway are trying to rip Pats off with the crowd split here :)
It wasn't Galway who came up with the figure. It's an FAI event...
22/09/2015, 12:33 PM
Who done the collecting of tickets at the gate? May be a case of every third ticket into the pocket to miss the final count.
22/09/2015, 1:13 PM
Definitely somebody being ripped off with the crowd split then.
I was joking. I'd imagine the crowd figure is right
23/09/2015, 7:45 AM
The FAI could do with the money
WoodquayBoy
23/09/2015, 9:09 AM
Having watched highlights on Soccer Republic, I'd say the 3,600 figure was right. Combined stand capacity is about 3,300, old stand wasn't full and there was also the loss of seats to create the 'buffer zone' with the Pats fans. There was also loads of room behind the goal at the Corrib end.
GalwayFrancis
23/09/2015, 9:55 AM
I'm with Woodbury boy on this.