View Full Version : Transfers In/Out

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

18/01/2015, 10:48 PM
Where's McKeever from? Assumed he was one of the Dublin lads. I was expecting Carrigy to make a big impact at u19 level given the level he was playing at but he hasn't really scored many before today has he?

Not sure maybe one of the other lads might know the answer to that, I think all the crap with international clearance etc really held back carrigy but now he has a clear path ahead of him I epxect him to shine and a pre season with the senior team would really help push him on in my opinion, can always go back to under 19's if IT doesnt work out.

19/01/2015, 2:40 AM
Wouldn't be surprised to see a few of them get a run in the LSC as usual anyway.

19/01/2015, 6:45 AM
Carrigy was training with the first team last year so I assume he'll do so again. I think he may play a fairly strong team in the LSC as it's needed for fitness at this time of year.

19/01/2015, 10:02 AM
As far as I'm aware, Carrigy being held back was much more to do with his lifestyle than anything else.

19/01/2015, 3:54 PM
Carrigy was training with the first team last year so I assume he'll do so again. I think he may play a fairly strong team in the LSC as it's needed for fitness at this time of year.

Was chatting him the other day and he hasn't been called up to senior team training yet so unless TC has his arm twisted by yesterday's hattrick is looks unlikely.

thelocal
24/01/2015, 6:09 PM
Heard we've two players coming from England. A leyton orient striker, watch this space.

24/01/2015, 7:32 PM
Mooney obviously coming back :cool:

24/01/2015, 9:11 PM
Mooney obviously coming back :cool:

if Moons comes back how would he fit in? who would have to be on the bench? surely it would be him!

24/01/2015, 9:18 PM
I'm sure we'd manage to fit him in somewhere. Not that he'll be back in Ireland for a while yet I'd imagine. He seems to have made a decent career for himself at League One level.

Town Legend
25/01/2015, 3:43 PM
Mooney is first choice striker with Orient when not injured so can't see him coming back this season to be honest. Getting Josh back on loan could be an option.....not like playing for Poole Town is any better than playing for us!

25/01/2015, 3:52 PM
I wasn't suggesting it was actually a possibility ;).

I think Josh is injured at the moment, not too sure how serious it is.

25/01/2015, 3:52 PM
if Moons comes back how would he fit in? who would have to be on the bench? surely it would be him!

Apparently he's going to be unvealed at the open training session 🚖

25/01/2015, 5:03 PM
Where's McKeever from? Assumed he was one of the Dublin lads.

I think he was signed from Liffey Valley Rangers in Clondalkin.

25/01/2015, 5:50 PM
Yeah I was thinking he isn't a local but still he's been in the u19s for a couple of years so we'll claim credit for him if he turns out to be good!

25/01/2015, 5:53 PM
I think he was signed from Liffey Valley Rangers in Clondalkin.

Was at the 19's game today he just confirmed to me what I already knew about him, absolutely excellent with his feet.

First time seeing local lad Darragh Doherty play and boy can he pick a pass, he's not the biggest in height or physique but now a days that shouldn't be held against a player so with the right coaching I really think he could be a talent for the future.

Lee Higgins scored a screamer and having seen him line out for the senior team a few times before Im sure hel get a shout from Tony a few times again this season and last weeks hattrick hero Daryl Carrigy was on the score sheet again and also got their keeper sent off for denying a CGSO and has been offered a first team contract as I had hoped would happen, great to see.

They are just 4 players I think could turn into real talents for this club.

Mister X
26/01/2015, 3:27 PM
First time seeing local lad Darragh Doherty play and boy can he pick a pass, he's not the biggest in height or physique but now a days that shouldn't be held against a player so with the right coaching I really think he could be a talent for the future.

hes only 17 years old too

26/01/2015, 7:53 PM
Both McKeever and Carrigy confirmed for the first team squad now. Hopefully they can develop into decent players for us.

Bosco
27/01/2015, 3:52 PM
They both sound very promising. Great boost to have a local player in the first team squad, hopefully might stir up a bit of interest locally.

Cabs88
27/01/2015, 6:28 PM
As Bosco said, great to have a local on the first team squad. Hopefully both players will get game time. With more games in the premier, and with consolidation Id imagine the priority for the year, there should be plenty of opportunities for younger players in the LSC and possibly the league cup

02/02/2015, 4:08 PM
forgot to say there was a piece in the herald on Saturday bout Jamie Mulhall.Sunderland are heavily interested in him after injury put paid to his trial when at Wolves and Sunderland. Also Hamilton contacted Tony Cousins about their vacant role through an intermediary but he turned them down as he said that he has promised to give two more years to us!

02/02/2015, 4:13 PM
Seen it on Facebook that we've signed Conor Powell? Any truth in this.

02/02/2015, 4:29 PM
forgot to say there was a piece in the herald on Saturday bout Jamie Mulhall.Sunderland are heavily interested in him after injury put paid to his trial when at Wolves and Sunderland. Also Hamilton contacted Tony Cousins about their vacant role through an intermediary but he turned them down as he said that he has promised to give two more years to us!

I was thinking we may find it hard to hold on to Jamie. Luckily he's under contract so if he does go it'll be for decent money. Bit surprised about TC if that's true. Wouldn't have thought his profile would be very high in the UK.

Found the story online

http://www.herald.ie/sport/jamie-is-talk-of-the-town-30951107.html

03/02/2015, 3:58 PM
Seen it on Facebook that we've signed Conor Powell? Any truth in this.
its in all the tabloids today that he has signed. but I got a text saying it is subject to international clearance. in the herald it says that he will play against shels tonight. it also said that we were the only team to move in for him.

I am so made up with this signing.. We are lookin solid in defence now if we can get another striker that will do me.. he has won medals galore from his spells with bohs and sligo rovers. I dont think he won anything with Shams but I could be wrong.

03/02/2015, 4:18 PM
International clearance is a formality but it is required if you move internationally. It might take a week or so but it'd only be an issue if there was a competitive game coming up. I'd say we can do without him for the LSC. As for the signing itself, it remains to be seen what kind of nick he's in but it should be a good signing on the face of it.

Town Legend
03/02/2015, 6:12 PM
With that signing its looking very likely now that Tom Morris will mainly be used as a centre half. Another good signing, really looking forward to the season kicking off!

03/02/2015, 9:51 PM
With that signing its looking very likely now that Tom Morris will mainly be used as a centre half. Another good signing, really looking forward to the season kicking off!

Morris played centre half tonight and was excellent, set up the first goal, extremely unlucky not to score it himself only for keeper tipping it onto post before sully tapped home.

Joe Dixon
05/02/2015, 12:06 PM
I am so made up with this signing.. We are lookin solid in defence now if we can get another striker that will do me..

I still maintain the area that needed most strengthening from last year has not been addressed. If we go into the season with Don and Lorcan as our starting wide options we will be short. I would love to be proven wrong but I don't think either will cut it at the higher level. Supposedly Deady is able to play further forward from his usual full back position and Mr Bin Mohammed is a prospect. But I think we need Premier quality width and we don't have it a present.

Darklordsbane
05/02/2015, 1:02 PM
You will probably be slated Joe but I for one agree with you

Mister X
05/02/2015, 1:46 PM
I still maintain the area that needed most strengthening from last year has not been addressed. If we go into the season with Don and Lorcan as our starting wide options we will be short. I would love to be proven wrong but I don't think either will cut it at the higher level. Supposedly Deady is able to play further forward from his usual full back position and Mr Bin Mohammed is a prospect. But I think we need Premier quality width and we don't have it a present.

Id agree, I would of liked TC to sign a more experienced winger and possibly another striker but were not looking for a mid table finish, survival is the goal and with the signings he has made in the defence we should be well able to achieve that!

Town Legend
05/02/2015, 4:04 PM
Why would he be slated darklordsbane? All winter the majority of people have been saying we needed re-enforcement on the wing! And I include myself in that! We could do with another striker as having, Pender and Carrigy as cover isn't enough. I don't think he likes playing Don up front.

05/02/2015, 4:29 PM
I can't think of too many experienced wingers that would have been realistic signings to be honest. The lads from UCD could make more of an impact than we would initially think too. We'll see how things are looking come March 6th.

05/02/2015, 5:41 PM
Deady played left wing Tuesday night and himself and Powell seem to have struck up an instant partnership down that side so we should see plenty of attacks coming down that side of the pitch and more importantly with both being of the 'defensive mould' we shouldn't concede any goals down that side.

On the right we have Jamie bombing on from full back but Don isn't a natural winger so his instinct will also be to go forward and that's where we could get left open but with Salmo and Ricer we should be able to plug the gap but Don didn't really like to come inside last year so we could become very predictable down that side and almost get in each others way so that's where I feel we need another winger.

Up front we defo need another striker even though Pender did play well from the left wing on Tuesday night. As said above the goal is to stay up and this squad should do that but a serious injury to the SOS and suddenly we are wondering where the goals come from and that would spell trouble.

05/02/2015, 10:27 PM
outspoken I missed out on the twitter updates have you the town lineup and subs from the other night please?

Town Legend
05/02/2015, 10:35 PM
Skinner, Rossiter, Flynn, Morris, Powell, Shannon, Salmon, Rice, Deady, O'Sullivan, Shaw.

Subs: Hunt, Dunne, Pat Sullivan, O'Connor, Bin Mohammed, Pender, Carrigy, McKeever, Smith, Doyle.

06/02/2015, 3:52 PM
Skinner, Rossiter, Flynn, Morris, Powell, Shannon, Salmon, Rice, Deady, O'Sullivan, Shaw.

Subs: Hunt, Dunne, Pat Sullivan, O'Connor, Bin Mohammed, Pender, Carrigy, McKeever, Smith, Doyle.

anyone know anything about Smith & Doyle?

06/02/2015, 4:18 PM
Doyle is one of the u19s don't know who Smith was. Team sheet said Darren Smith, the only Smith in the u19s is a Daniel Smith so I don't think it was him.

Mister X
06/02/2015, 5:27 PM
Doyle is one of the u19s don't know who Smith was. Team sheet said Darren Smith, the only Smith in the u19s is a Daniel Smith so I don't think it was him.

couldnt figure this myself so asked one of the 19s players and he said that the lad in question is infact a 19s player

Town Legend
08/02/2015, 1:57 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/19s-dundalk-4-1-longford-town/

This match report has a Darren Smith in our line up.

Darklordsbane
21/02/2015, 6:36 PM
Heard Ger Pender is gone from De Town might be crap but that's what I was told by the same guy that told me he signed in the first place so I would tend to believe it, anyone know if it's true

21/02/2015, 6:52 PM
Heard Ger Pender is gone from De Town might be crap but that's what I was told by the same guy that told me he signed in the first place so I would tend to believe it, anyone know if it's true
yep its true.. Was chattin to one of the lads at the match earlier and he confirmed to me that Pender is gone to Cabinteely. What a waste of a transfer that was. On the general forum someone made the point that Conor O Brien hasnt made the squad for this season. Anyone know the reason for it?

Town Legend
21/02/2015, 11:18 PM
So our light in numbers strike force has just gotten lighter! I have a bad feeling going into this season. We've been very lucky that Davy hasn't missed a league game through injury if I'm not mistaken. And Shawsy has been in the wars in a few aerial battles over the last couple of seasons. But not only injuries and suspension, if either has a dip in form we're in bother. With our tight defence we could battle out the wins if that does happen but as we've seen from pre season our defence is far from water tight! But......it is preseason!

L.T.F.C.
22/02/2015, 4:57 PM
We never do well in pre-season. I would be alot happier if we had more strikers.

Town Legend
22/02/2015, 5:09 PM
I know we never do well in pre season, that's why I do have a bit of hope. But then again for the last 7 years we were a first division side playing premier sides. It's the other way round this year. But we are unbeaten though.....

22/02/2015, 6:21 PM
Looks like Don will be called upon as 3rd choice striker and about time too, he showed before and now in pre season that he can score goals and his pace and power would terrorise any back 4. However if Don gets injured playing out wide we are back to square 1 with the SOS situation so in my opinion it's madness we haven't signed another named striker. I know he's a lakes boy but Daryl Kavanagh is one i wouldn't have minded as a back up.

22/02/2015, 6:53 PM
Was chatting to one of our ex players uncle and aunt and they told me that Etanda Nkolo is now playing with Mullingar Athletic joining Mick Lee and ex coach Phil Coffey.

22/02/2015, 6:57 PM
There's still time to bring one in if one can be found. You'd imagine TC wouldn't have let Pender go if he wasn't able to replace him. Unless he thinks one of the young lads can step up.

Mister X
22/02/2015, 8:25 PM
Don played good up front v ucd and took his two goals well, looks far more comfortable up top but then he was running onto balls rather then trying to knock ones down or hold up play like shaw is used.

This leaking of goals, 11 in 4 matches i think it is , has me worried too, the 2nd half v ucd the back four were so lackadaisical, the attitude among the senior players was Cat, none of them looked as if they wanted to be there atall...

23/02/2015, 9:27 AM
There's still time to bring one in if one can be found. You'd imagine TC wouldn't have let Pender go if he wasn't able to replace him. Unless he thinks one of the young lads can step up.
Was chatting to someone when we signed Pender. I was going with the "things worked out ok with the last striker we got from Wayside", the response was that he had potential but that he hadn't put the time in at that level that Davy had.

23/02/2015, 1:38 PM
From Prenders point of view, he's at an age where he needs to be playing every week, so you can't blame him for jumping at that chance, so it's understandable enough for him to want to leave.

Some of ye looked at me like I had two heads when I said I see Don turning into our best striker when we get to the PD, if TC gives him a chance. I still stand by that, he's the best athlete of the 3, no disrespect to the SOS, but Don's a beast, and we seen what he could do when given a run up top a few years ago, really don't see why he won't eventually get his chance and take it up there again, in time.

I hate him on the wing, if he knew how to pick a pass it'd be grand, because he has the beating of anyone on his day, but it's a square peg in round hole job, when he's out there.

hollocaine
23/02/2015, 6:42 PM
Let's face it, the only reason why Cowan is likely not to play right wing in the Premier cos he won't do a job defensively against wingers of a far better quality than what we were up against last year. He has a lot of improving to do if he is to make any impression in the Premier