View Full Version : Transfers In/Out

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

31/10/2014, 4:29 PM
Fair enough. My main memories of Skinner are from playing us in the First two years ago and he was decent. I watched feck all of the Premier last season even on TV tbh. Remains to be seen I suppose if he or Hunt will be first choice.

31/10/2014, 4:43 PM
Underwhelming, but sure he's probably better than Hunty. I propose we call him Skinny Pete.

31/10/2014, 4:57 PM
Decent enough keeper. Competition for Hunt anyway if he has signed.
hunty has already signed. it was confirmed by us unless I have misread wot you have said?

31/10/2014, 5:01 PM
I think you have Marty to be honest but it was a bit poorly phrased maybe. I meant Skinner will provide a challenge to Hunt if he (Skinner) has signed

31/10/2014, 5:19 PM
A bit underwhelmed by that signing tbh. Saw a few Athlone fans on FB/Twitter calling him a traitor and the like but you can't blame the lad for wanting to treble his money and get a club car. It's great being so loaded.

Darklordsbane
31/10/2014, 6:20 PM
I read and heard Hunt has signed as well, delighted with that, he is not brilliant but compared to Bennion he is, probably on my own here but he was my player of the year, made a massive difference to the way we played and got results once Bennion was dropped, not all down to Paul I know but I seriously doubt we would have been promoted without him

31/10/2014, 6:29 PM
I'd agree with you in that we played an awful lot better when he came in and he always tried to play out from the back as well. It's hard to know though without talking to the staff whether that was why they put him in. I don't mean to sound like I'm not giving him credit because to be fair his defenders definitely seemed to trust him but it's hard to say whether he benefitted from Sully/Flynn/Jamie getting settled or whether the defence improved because of Hunt replacing Bennion. He's still young by keeper standards too, what is he 23 or so?

L.T.F.C.
01/11/2014, 12:34 AM
I'd be happy to take one or two from UCD there.

01/11/2014, 3:04 PM
I'd be happy to take one or two from UCD there.

Dead right, some talented players in that squad.

02/11/2014, 11:50 AM
I'd agree with you in that we played an awful lot better when he came in and he always tried to play out from the back as well. It's hard to know though without talking to the staff whether that was why they put him in. I don't mean to sound like I'm not giving him credit because to be fair his defenders definitely seemed to trust him but it's hard to say whether he benefitted from Sully/Flynn/Jamie getting settled or whether the defence improved because of Hunt replacing Bennion. He's still young by keeper standards too, what is he 23 or so?

yeah hes around that age. he has being with us since 2011!

03/11/2014, 12:09 PM
heard at cup final that Ricer will be resigning for us in coming days... also there will be a few more players being let go and a few new signings in comin days/weeks.. I also heard that the transfer business will be wrapped up early .. Also training will start in early Jan but players would be goin to gymn on tailered programmes in comin weeks...

03/11/2014, 1:46 PM
heard at cup final that Ricer will be resigning for us in coming days... also there will be a few more players being let go and a few new signings in comin days/weeks.. I also heard that the transfer business will be wrapped up early .. Also training will start in early Jan but players would be goin to gymn on tailered programmes in comin weeks...

Nice one Martinho

Mister X
03/11/2014, 6:50 PM
also there will be a few more players being let go and a few new signings in comin days/weeks..

assume all will be announced at dinner dance if not before then

03/11/2014, 8:00 PM
Some more players being announced tomorrow according to the one and only Shannonside shock jock Tony Ghee! Probably re-signings I'd say but you wouldn't know.

Mister X
03/11/2014, 8:37 PM
Some more players being announced tomorrow according to the one and only Shannonside shock jock Tony Ghee! Probably re-signings I'd say but you wouldn't know.

constant refreshing of ltfc.ie for the day so

03/11/2014, 8:45 PM
Just heard from a buddy who works in the Longford Arms, there's a "Gareth Tree" booked in for tonight and tomorrow night. Make of that what you will.

03/11/2014, 9:45 PM
Pat Sully, Don, Willie Tyrrell and Ger Pender all signed on again for 2015. Good news especially Sully! Now come on and sign up, Ricer!

03/11/2014, 10:13 PM
Pat Sully, Don, Willie Tyrrell and Ger Pender all signed on again for 2015. Good news especially Sully! Now come on and sign up, Ricer!

Delighted with the players we've re-signed so far, a very good core to the squad being built up already.

03/11/2014, 10:29 PM
Apart from Rice, who should hopefully be signed up shortly by all accounts, who else do people want to see back from last season's squad?

There's some who may move on to get football and I'm guessing Havo may be one because Jamie's only going to get better and I can't see him being happy on the bench for another season. Hynes will probably go as well I'd say. I'd keep Kev O'Connor personally unless there's someone better lined up, he's a good footballer.

04/11/2014, 7:14 AM
Apart from Rice, who should hopefully be signed up shortly by all accounts, who else do people want to see back from last season's squad?

There's some who may move on to get football and I'm guessing Havo may be one because Jamie's only going to get better and I can't see him being happy on the bench for another season. Hynes will probably go as well I'd say. I'd keep Kev O'Connor personally unless there's someone better lined up, he's a good footballer.

Kev might get game time hard next season so maybe he's looking to move on? I haven't a clue only guessing as you said a talented talented footballer. I'd agree with you on Havo would love to see him stay but maybe he wants first team football too, Id personally love to see Tom Morris back with us

04/11/2014, 11:49 AM
1st division was a 28 game season, the prem will be 33, so there are a few more matches to go around, I'd also like to hope that we at least do alright in the cups, and with the fact that games will probably take a lot more out of the lads next season as apposed to this, I'd say there's going to be a need to hold on to those three if we can at all.

If Etan is happy enough to be backup, I'd also like to keep him, good lad, and would make a good impact sub if he's fit. Lots of skill and a bit of pace.

04/11/2014, 12:37 PM
We'll need a bigger squad alright but it's important to improve it at the same time so we can't keep everyone. There could be better options even as squad players though I suppose it depends on how much money there is to spend. Nearly all of those that you'd say we must sign back have done so early though so that's a good start to the off season.

04/11/2014, 1:30 PM
1st division was a 28 game season, the prem will be 33, so there are a few more matches to go around, I'd also like to hope that we at least do alright in the cups, and with the fact that games will probably take a lot more out of the lads next season as apposed to this, I'd say there's going to be a need to hold on to those three if we can at all.

If Etan is happy enough to be backup, I'd also like to keep him, good lad, and would make a good impact sub if he's fit. Lots of skill and a bit of pace.

One thing I will say about Etanda is he's very dedicated to getting himself fit once and for all after all his injuries, he's in the gym every day and he said he's feeling super fit for next season and believes he can show his very very best for us when fit.

Darklordsbane
04/11/2014, 3:11 PM
I don't like to be critical about players but I never saw Ethanda do a whole lot, I know he scored a great and very important goal in Waterford but didn't see much else end product wise,
I didn't keep track of who scored what but I would say the proper wingers got very few goals this year 3 or 4 each at best and Kevin O Connor, Don Cowan and Gary Shaw probably got more than the rest playing out of position, compare that to Dylan Connolly from Shels goal record double figures we will need 2 wingers that can do that
So regardless of whether it's resigning or new singings I for one think we need better players not just the same as before

04/11/2014, 5:16 PM
Ah, sure Etan is probably retiring anyway ;)

04/11/2014, 5:32 PM
Ricer has signed on again! Great news!

L.T.F.C.
04/11/2014, 5:37 PM
Magic!

04/11/2014, 5:39 PM
Jumped out of the chair with Joy when I saw on twitter ricer had re-signed, now let the big name signings commence 😉😉

04/11/2014, 5:48 PM
Great work from TC in his squad building so far. No messing around, get the lads signed up that you want to keep. I'm sure in the next few weeks he'll add new players. Hopefully Twigg passes his medical.

04/11/2014, 5:57 PM
Great work from TC in his squad building so far. No messing around, get the lads signed up that you want to keep. I'm sure in the next few weeks he'll add new players. Hopefully Twigg passes his medical.

Seen him running around the mall with Etanda earlier on, hopefully the guys in the gym can get him ready.

04/11/2014, 8:16 PM
Conor O'Brien has signed back as well. A little bit surprised at that given he hardly played but I guess he wasn't available until July then he was in a car accident. Obviously he's shown enough potential in training to be worth holding onto. Only young still.

http://ltfc.ie/index.php/stephen-rice-is-staying-with-de-town/

Town Legend
05/11/2014, 10:11 AM
Benno, Havo, Ethan and Hynes all added to G O'Connor to the departed list. It looks like K O'Connor could re-sign as he's not on the list of departed.

Darklordsbane
05/11/2014, 10:24 AM
That makes 5 out so hopefully there will be at least 5 new signings

Thanks and best wishes to all the departed

05/11/2014, 10:29 AM
Shame to see Havo go in particular. Best of luck to all of them wherever they end up going.

05/11/2014, 10:56 AM
Delighted with all that has resigned especially with Ricer.. I happened to speak to TC in the jacks after cup final as I got free tickets in the Longford Town box. So I cut to the chase and asked him. I had a great chat for five mins with him about comin season.
I wasnt sure to make of Gary Twiggs rumours -I thought that was a far fetched rumour. So what is the latest story with him? I would be made up if he signed for us.. Considering Ricer,Flynner and Sully played with him before we surely would have a chance of gettin him!

05/11/2014, 11:06 AM
As far as I know anybody from Longford actually talking about it (including myself on here!) is only taking the pee and we're not actually trying to sign him. A few people seem to have been taken in by the rumours in the last few days though for some reason!

05/11/2014, 11:27 AM
As far as I know anybody from Longford actually talking about it (including myself on here!) is only taking the pee and we're not actually trying to sign him. A few people seem to have been taken in by the rumours in the last few days though for some reason!

was speakin to a well known local based sports journo a few days back and they were taken in by it! thats why I was askin!

05/11/2014, 11:35 AM
In fairness I can only speak for myself, they could have heard it from a different source. I just know that the first rumours I heard were a few of the section O lads having a laugh on social media. I'd be very surprised if there's anything in it!

Town Legend
05/11/2014, 11:57 AM
Signed, sealed and just has to be delivered :cool:

05/11/2014, 1:34 PM
It's gaining so much momentum on social media now that is has to be true 😂😂😂keep it up lads.

IrishRossi
05/11/2014, 9:24 PM
i see kev o'connor on the pfai transfer list

05/11/2014, 10:18 PM

Doesn't mean an awful lot really. Rhys is on it and he's signed up.

05/11/2014, 10:19 PM

Half the leagues on that list it doesn't mean much but I do think Kev will move on.

06/11/2014, 10:00 AM
Surprised to see Haverty released by Longford. Is he retiring or just not up to Premier Division?

06/11/2014, 11:09 AM
Extratime said it's something to do with work commitments. I think most of us would have wanted him to stay.

06/11/2014, 12:11 PM
Yeah he said on Twitter that he couldn't commit for next year due to work. I don't know whether that's because there's more training and games as a Premier side or if he just can't play LOI at all. Good player though.

06/11/2014, 1:55 PM
Someone mentioned that he might be off to America for the year? Havo is a fantastic player and a gent off the field, best of luck to him wherever or whatever he does.

07/11/2014, 6:10 PM
Kev O'Connor and Tom Morris staying on as per the Town social media pages. Is that all of last year's squad accounted for one way or another now?

07/11/2014, 6:38 PM
Kev O'Connor and Tom Morris staying on as per the Town social media pages. Is that all of last year's squad accounted for one way or another now?

practically think so!

07/11/2014, 6:44 PM
If we add a few more of better quality than the ones who've left we'll be well set up to hold our own. Good work getting so many signed up quickly though and keeping everyone we'd particularly want to keep from last year, except Havo I suppose.