View Full Version : Football in Shannon 2014/15

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Second
10/07/2014, 12:20 PM
Also must say fair play to him for taking them over when nobody else would he could have easily sat back and said no way. But he obviously wants the junior side to progress

old git
10/07/2014, 6:44 PM
why do you think this?

to steal second's fine words ". his heart is definitely in the right place and no arguing with his knowledge of the game .. but he lets himself down with the way he speaks to his players and opposition players during games..its all heat of the moment passionate stuff but needs to be controlled. " i personally think most of the lads playing ball in shannon know him and would not fancy the odd rant and abuse he is prone to..

old git
10/07/2014, 6:49 PM
Old Git, why didn't you take the managers job at Hibs?

Not enough money offered ;) Never asked and never had any plans to go into management ..

AC Melon
10/07/2014, 8:48 PM
Fair play to Stoney and the lads, glad to see theres still a team. I think with that management there would be more chance of players staying with hibs, as there would be proper training drills etc...? maybe Rob will stay and a return of Davy? any dates for the Wesley Webb yet?

Coolcat
10/07/2014, 9:18 PM
Ya good to see hibs still going..teams back training this week any news of new faces at training?

Football-Unites
11/07/2014, 12:06 PM
I agree with the sentiments on Stoney - heart in right place, knows the game fairly well, but his antics aren't great. He needs to calm down. He kills a player for making a mistake, which is wrong - everyone makes mistakes, players, managers, refs everyone. It doesn't help anybody by jumping up and down like a lunatic. However if someone isn't trying, or is doing stupid things, then that player should get a bollicking.

Should be an interesting season, Big Daddy can only play 11 players. He has probably spoken to 50 already. He'll find it hard to keep all happy if he signs too many.

Second
11/07/2014, 12:34 PM
Big daddy had rob wall james cullen and mackie training last week cant see rob or cullen going there if stoney manager of hibs

Lev Yashin
11/07/2014, 1:56 PM
Big daddy had rob wall james cullen and mackie training last week cant see rob or cullen going there if stoney manager of hibs

Three of them trained again last night...

Two Feet Up
11/07/2014, 2:00 PM

and so the amalgamation has started lol

Coolcat
11/07/2014, 2:30 PM

They could be just keeping fit till hibs start training..Are forms out?if not when are they?

Second
11/07/2014, 2:56 PM

Lev do you think they will be good additions..

Football-Unites
11/07/2014, 3:47 PM
Are the numbers good ? Hibs could really struggle if Town sign a big squad.

Lev Yashin
11/07/2014, 5:22 PM
Lev do you think they will be good additions..

Ya definitely. Three good players comfortable on the ball. So a good addition for sure... Just hopefully they sign now.

Have had 16/17 training this week both nights

Second
11/07/2014, 7:02 PM
[QUOTE=Lev Yashin;1765699]Ya definitely. Three good players comfortable on the ball. So a good addition for sure... Just hopefully they sign now.

Thats good numbers hopefully these lads sign

old git
11/07/2014, 8:17 PM
Ya definitely. Three good players comfortable on the ball. So a good addition for sure... Just hopefully they sign now.

Have had 16/17 training this week both nights

Lev
plenty of lads will train but when forms produced thats another story ... mackie must be runnning out of clubs he has played for now ;)

Shuffleruns
11/07/2014, 8:20 PM
When are the forms out?

AC Melon
11/07/2014, 9:04 PM
Clare league forms are out now anyway, Alex Cole and Garry Higgins have signed for Olympic!

Second
11/07/2014, 9:45 PM
Clare league forms are out now anyway, Alex Cole and Garry Higgins have signed for Olympic!

Surely olympic couldn't afford higgins' s salary.. he wont last in clare I've seen him plenty of times and he won't like to be tackled hard..

First
11/07/2014, 10:48 PM
Newmarket Celtic have appointed Liam Murphy and David Ryan as management of the A team for the 2014/ 2015 season.

Second
11/07/2014, 10:51 PM
Newmarket Celtic have appointed Liam Murphy and David Ryan as management of the A team for the 2014/ 2015 season.

Sure everyone knew that weeks ago.. and thats not shannon news its clare news so wrong thread..

First
11/07/2014, 11:04 PM
Sure everyone knew that weeks ago.. and thats not shannon news its clare news so wrong thread..

Funny that as it was only announced tonight. Anyway just thought I'd let ye know so any of the players in Shannon with ability and ambition know there are other options. :)

I'll head back over to the Clare league thread now.

old git
12/07/2014, 12:14 AM
Funny that as it was only announced tonight. Anyway just thought I'd let ye know so any of the players in Shannon with ability and ambition know there are other options. :)

I'll head back over to the Clare league thread now.

first

why would Shannon players go out to Newmarket when we already have a Shannon team ( Olympic ) in the premier league in clare

old git
12/07/2014, 12:19 AM

melon

Olympic had a decent enough squad last year and add these two plus possible 1-2 others going to be hard for manager to keep all the squad happy for the coming season I can see a few departures on the cards also.

old git
12/07/2014, 12:25 AM
Surely olympic couldn't afford higgins' s salary.. he wont last in clare I've seen him plenty of times and he won't like to be tackled hard..

second

gary's played at league of Ireland level / premier limerick / 3b limerick and 1b limerick im sure these teams liked the odd hard tackle so he should be ok for the clare league,

old git
12/07/2014, 12:28 AM
Are the numbers good ? Hibs could really struggle if Town sign a big squad.

any word when hibs or Olympic back training

Hibs7772
12/07/2014, 1:58 AM
Olympic looking like they will have a very strong squad this year, even stronger than last year. James Harty, Gav Hayes, Tino and Sean Burke all down training as well the other night and have been told Whealers is on his way down there too. all very good players, if they all sign they could be in with a great chance of finishing top 3 or 4 IMO

don't panic
12/07/2014, 8:01 AM
thats it, no more holidays for me. landed back in shannon and it was 1990

Shuffleruns
12/07/2014, 8:23 AM
any word when hibs or Olympic back training

Olympic are back, had 6-7 Tuesday dunno the numbers for Thursday!

AC Melon
12/07/2014, 9:51 AM
melon

Olympic had a decent enough squad last year and add these two plus possible 1-2 others going to be hard for manager to keep all the squad happy for the coming season I can see a few departures on the cards also. True, but I think its time teams in Shannon stopped trying to keep everyone happy and started looking at doing whats best for the club! Hogie also down training last Thursday!

Lev - Your midfield is fairly strong as it is, where will Robbie, Jamie Cullen and Maccy fit in?

First
12/07/2014, 10:19 AM
first

why would Shannon players go out to Newmarket when we already have a Shannon team ( Olympic ) in the premier league in clare

I was only joking. My original post was meant for the Clare League thread. I genuinely hope that Olympic stay in the Clare Premier league and would Love to see the other Shannon teams play in Clare.

old git
12/07/2014, 12:16 PM
I was only joking. My original post was meant for the Clare League thread. I genuinely hope that Olympic stay in the Clare Premier league and would Love to see the other Shannon teams play in Clare.

totally agree with you on above

old git
12/07/2014, 12:19 PM
Olympic looking like they will have a very strong squad this year, even stronger than last year. James Harty, Gav Hayes, Tino and Sean Burke all down training as well the other night and have been told Whealers is on his way down there too. all very good players, if they all sign they could be in with a great chance of finishing top 3 or 4 IMO

lets see here james harty could not train or make matches last year with hibs & bridge utd , gav hayes disappeard from hibs near end of season not the most reliable lads ? tino only keeping fit untill he goes back up to mERVUE ... sean burke will have new town manager on his back to sign for town.. were were the two new signings higgins & cole ?

Lev Yashin
12/07/2014, 12:31 PM
True, but I think its time teams in Shannon stopped trying to keep everyone happy and started looking at doing whats best for the club! Hogie also down training last Thursday!

Lev - Your midfield is fairly strong as it is, where will Robbie, Jamie Cullen and Maccy fit in?

Thankfully I don't have to pick the team!

AC Melon
12/07/2014, 12:52 PM
lets see here james harty could not train or make matches last year with hibs & bridge utd , gav hayes disappeard from hibs near end of season not the most reliable lads ? tino only keeping fit untill he goes back up to mERVUE ... sean burke will have new town manager on his back to sign for town.. were were the two new signings higgins & cole ?
Think harty just wasn't interested, good player if he gets fit and stays interested! Gavin a very good left full didn't know he disappeared the end of season, agree don't think Tino will sign because of college, Sean Burke only training quality player town wont want to lose him! 2 lads were training Thursday.

Coolcat
12/07/2014, 1:26 PM
Think harty just wasn't interested, good player if he gets fit and stays interested! Gavin a very good left full didn't know he disappeared the end of season, agree don't think Tino will sign because of college, Sean Burke only training quality player town wont want to lose him! 2 lads were training Thursday.

2 lads training thurs!! Lads missing due to hols I take it and gaa lads missing..

AC Melon
12/07/2014, 2:35 PM
2 lads training thurs!! Lads missing due to hols I take it and gaa lads missing..
I was replying to Old Gits comment about Garry Higgins and Alex Cole (2 lads) were training Thursday! Pay attention and you might make it somewhere pal.

Coolcat
12/07/2014, 3:24 PM
I was replying to Old Gits comment about Garry Higgins and Alex Cole (2 lads) were training Thursday! Pay attention and you might make it somewhere pal.

Sorry AC wasn't paying attention..

Hibs7772
14/07/2014, 2:07 AM
Was simply stating that they are good players IMO and IF they turn up would do well

Two Feet Up
14/07/2014, 9:09 AM
Was simply stating that they are good players IMO and IF they turn up would do well

there is what is partly wrong with football in Shannon

Football-Unites
14/07/2014, 10:14 AM
When does the season actually start ?

Also - does anyone know when the Wesley Webb starts ?

AC Melon
14/07/2014, 12:41 PM
When does the season actually start ?

Also - does anyone know when the Wesley Webb starts ? not sure about limerick, clare is 23/24 of August afaik

Second
14/07/2014, 2:29 PM
not sure about limerick, clare is 23/24 of August afaik

Limerick is down to start 17/18 august but refs are still on strike and doesn't look like they will be back

Football-Unites
14/07/2014, 2:32 PM
Looks like it will be a long pre-season so, with plenty of speculation on players for weeks to come.
Anyone know about the Wesley Webb ?

don't panic
14/07/2014, 3:17 PM
I would think that the refs strike will have an effect on the wesley webb

Lev Yashin
14/07/2014, 3:55 PM
I would think that the refs strike will have an effect on the wesley webb

Well it will if Refs are being advised not to referee friendlies which I believe they are at the moment. The only alternative would be to get Clare league Refs.

Football-Unites
14/07/2014, 4:06 PM
Any idea of planned start date Lev ?

Lev Yashin
14/07/2014, 4:07 PM
Any idea of planned start date Lev ?

I dont..its normally around the start of August..The week starting the 4th would be my guess but i honestly don't know

Football-Unites
14/07/2014, 4:11 PM
With the Clare teams involved surely the Clare refs would do it - unless they are tied up in Clare pre-season matches.

old git
14/07/2014, 10:26 PM
Well it will if Refs are being advised not to referee friendlies which I believe they are at the moment. The only alternative would be to get Clare league Refs.

don't think they can use clare league ref's .. as shannon town based in limerick league all games / friendlies etc must be organised with Limerick league and limerick ref's have to be used :mad:

Second
14/07/2014, 11:04 PM
don't think they can use clare league ref's .. as shannon town based in limerick league all games / friendlies etc must be organised with Limerick league and limerick ref's have to be used :mad:

This is true cant use clare refs