View Full Version : Football in Shannon 2014/15
Pages :
[
4]
AC Melon
20/07/2014, 10:37 PM
Am I correct in saying Ray is the only Shannon Olympic player who has played with them for more than 2years? Watch Shannon Olympic fold like a deck of cards in a couple of years. Bar Ray none of those players will stick around when things go south and they eventually will. Where are all the regular Olympic players gone like the real Olympic club men who's were at the club for a good length of time. Shower of mercenaries same players all the time. When things go south and they definitely will? Well that's your opinion anyway. I beg to differ, personally I'd hope to stay up next season and progress from there. No Shannon team can survive in the limerick league no matter what 11 players you throw together, winning 1a in limerick and getting battered in the premier is not progress! The sooner shannon people realise that the better, the players coming through may eventually do well and it would be great for Shannon football! It'd be great to do well in premier of clare and that's the focus for now!
old git
20/07/2014, 11:41 PM
When things go south and they definitely will? Well that's your opinion anyway. I beg to differ, personally I'd hope to stay up next season and progress from there. No Shannon team can survive in the limerick league no matter what 11 players you throw together, winning 1a in limerick and getting battered in the premier is not progress! The sooner shannon people realise that the better, the players coming through may eventually do well and it would be great for Shannon football! It'd be great to do well in premier of clare and that's the focus for now!
Melon
before you start having a go at Shannon teams not being able to survive in the limerick premier first of all it is a higher standard and the mighty Olympics past record in the clare premier has not been do great either, don't get carried away with the coming season yet ye have a good squad of players and should be capable of staying up my biggest concern is how management can keep all the players happy and if things start to go wrong you have a few lads in the squad who will look to jump ship at the first opportunity.
AC Melon
21/07/2014, 7:36 AM
Melon
before you start having a go at Shannon teams not being able to survive in the limerick premier first of all it is a higher standard and the mighty Olympics past record in the clare premier has not been do great either, don't get carried away with the coming season yet ye have a good squad of players and should be capable of staying up my biggest concern is how management can keep all the players happy and if things start to go wrong you have a few lads in the squad who will look to jump ship at the first opportunity. Your post doesn't even make sense? What argument are you trying to make? Obviously limerick premier is a higher standard, you don't have to be a genius to know that! Everyone in and around shannon know themselves that right now the best squad of players in shannon would struggle in limerick premier! "don't get carried away with the coming season yet" read my post I stated we hope to stay up explain to me how I'm getting "carried away" with that? It would be great to stay up and hopefully push on next season. If players aren't happy than why have them at the club? There is a perfectly good squad of players around that you don't need to "try keep happy" and I'm sure we'll find that out in the near future.
AC Melon
21/07/2014, 7:57 AM
Cricket score? just about!
Lev Yashin
21/07/2014, 8:33 AM
I'd say the point is this....if you bring lads into a club who have a history of club jumping when it gets tough, and play them ahead of long time club men. What tends to happen then is after a couple of losses these lads leave and the long term club men have also packed it in or moved on or are happy playing b team now because the manager preferred someone else.
Then the club goes on to struggle.
Devoted club men are rare and it is within everyone's right to move clubs but a bit of caution should be shown when leaving out people who have been at the club years.
Hopefully it doesn't happen with Olympic and I do think ye will do well in the premier.
Football-Unites
21/07/2014, 9:27 AM
Everyone has made good points, but sometimes it's not as simple as it seems. Surely it all depends on the cluibs ambition ? Players should get a clear picture from the manager at the start of the season about his plans and how he hopes to do it - aimlessly signing loads of players with a hope that it all works out (win matches, good training attendance and to keep everyone happy) is a bit naive.
If a club wants to kick on a and progress, then it has to be done right. That may mean bringing new players to the club, and it may mean more competition for places, but if everyone knows the plan and the manager is open with the players, then that's a good start.
I don't agree that club men by default should have a special status because of their length of service. If they are good enough, then by all means yes, but if not, then they should be honest enough themselves to understand that. If they are devoted club men, then they should be happy for the club to be making progress on the field. They should stick with the cause, even if they are not guaranteed their place. Otheriwse, they are only devoted club men when they are playing.
Players nowadays get molly coddled way too much. I don't think players are honest with themselves at all, I don't think they take responsibility, they will look to everyone else and everything else to make excuses if they are not playing. They look for an easy way out (change club) when the going gets tough, instead of putting their heads down and fighting for their place.
Shuffleruns
21/07/2014, 9:37 AM
Any word on the Wesley Webb? Surely something has been planned by now
old git
21/07/2014, 10:19 AM
Your post doesn't even make sense? What argument are you trying to make? Obviously limerick premier is a higher standard, you don't have to be a genius to know that! Everyone in and around shannon know themselves that right now the best squad of players in shannon would struggle in limerick premier! "don't get carried away with the coming season yet" read my post I stated we hope to stay up explain to me how I'm getting "carried away" with that? It would be great to stay up and hopefully push on next season. If players aren't happy than why have them at the club? There is a perfectly good squad of players around that you don't need to "try keep happy" and I'm sure we'll find that out in the near future.
melon
read your original post again last line " It'd be great to do well in premier of clare "
Lev Yashin
21/07/2014, 10:23 AM
Everyone has made good points, but sometimes it's not as simple as it seems. Surely it all depends on the cluibs ambition ? Players should get a clear picture from the manager at the start of the season about his plans and how he hopes to do it - aimlessly signing loads of players with a hope that it all works out (win matches, good training attendance and to keep everyone happy) is a bit naive.
If a club wants to kick on a and progress, then it has to be done right. That may mean bringing new players to the club, and it may mean more competition for places, but if everyone knows the plan and the manager is open with the players, then that's a good start.
I don't agree that club men by default should have a special status because of their length of service. If they are good enough, then by all means yes, but if not, then they should be honest enough themselves to understand that. If they are devoted club men, then they should be happy for the club to be making progress on the field. They should stick with the cause, even if they are not guaranteed their place. Otheriwse, they are only devoted club men when they are playing.
Players nowadays get molly coddled way too much. I don't think players are honest with themselves at all, I don't think they take responsibility, they will look to everyone else and everything else to make excuses if they are not playing. They look for an easy way out (change club) when the going gets tough, instead of putting their heads down and fighting for their place.
Agreed but if the players brought in suddenly jump ship halfway through a season and you have been ousted for them then your gonna be p!ssed off royally.
Side Cutter
21/07/2014, 10:40 AM
When things go south and they definitely will? Well that's your opinion anyway. I beg to differ, personally I'd hope to stay up next season and progress from there. No Shannon team can survive in the limerick league no matter what 11 players you throw together, winning 1a in limerick and getting battered in the premier is not progress! The sooner shannon people realise that the better, the players coming through may eventually do well and it would be great for Shannon football! It'd be great to do well in premier of clare and that's the focus for now!
No shannon team can survive in the limerick league? And your solution melon is to just join a clare team instead?
Football-Unites
21/07/2014, 10:50 AM
You'd defo be p!ssed off, but that shouldn't happen if the manager gets the right commitment from all players - at the start of the season before they sign. To me it all comes back to not having a plan - What is success for the season ahead ? What do we have to do to achieve that success ? Then just go and do it - easy really :cool:
All joking aside, you need a manager with a plan, a group of players (full squad) committed to that plan, then you have some chance.
AC Melon
21/07/2014, 12:04 PM
melon
read your original post again last line " It'd be great to do well in premier of clare "
Is that your point on myself "getting carried away with things"?
AC Melon
21/07/2014, 12:26 PM
No shannon team can survive in the limerick league? And your solution melon is to just join a clare team instead?
Of course not! Just stating the truth IMO. If someone leaves a club when it's on the downfall and jumps ship no club needs them kind of players, new managers at different clubs all do the same thing, try sign new players to do what they think is best for the club which is win games and try bring them to the top level of the league they are in! No new manager goes to a club and to stay in the position there in and try keep everyone happy. Some players leave to try better themselves, some leave because they are not getting in the squad, some leave for a different experience. It's football, if the so called "club hoppers" do end up leaving I think we would still have a strong enough squad.
Shuffleruns
21/07/2014, 12:33 PM
Of course not! Just stating the truth IMO. If someone leaves a club when it's on the downfall and jumps ship no club needs them kind of players, new managers at different clubs all do the same thing, try sign new players to do what they think is best for the club which is win games and try bring them to the top level of the league they are in! No new manager goes to a club and to stay in the position there in and try keep everyone happy. Some players leave to try better themselves, some leave because they are not getting in the squad, some leave for a different experience. It's football, if the so called "club hoppers" do end up leaving I think we would still have a strong enough squad.
Melon,
are you a player or part of the management at Olympic??
gaiscíoch
21/07/2014, 12:38 PM
So signing club hoppers is good for the club? A short term plan is better than a long term plan for clubs?
All the work put into school boys all to build a stable club can be undone by these glory hunting managers?
As for the above coment on plans. What plans do these managers have? Obviously short term. Shannon town have the most stable team in Shannon for a reason and the same could have been said for Olympic.
Two Feet Up
21/07/2014, 1:04 PM
So signing club hoppers is good for the club? A short term plan is better than a long term plan for clubs?
All the work put into school boys all to build a stable club can be undone by these glory hunting managers?
As for the above coment on plans. What plans do these managers have? Obviously short term. Shannon town have the most stable team in Shannon for a reason and the same could have been said for Olympic.
what makes them so stable?
Second
21/07/2014, 1:04 PM
[QUE=AC Melon;1767587]Of course not! Just stating the truth IMO. If someone leaves a club when it's on the downfall and jumps ship no club needs them kind of players, new managers at different clubs all do the same thing, try sign new players to do what they think is best for the club which is win games and try bring them to the top level of the league they are in! No new manager goes to a club and to stay in the position there in and try keep everyone happy. Some players leave to try better themselves, some leave because they are not getting in the squad, some leave for a different experience. It's football, if the so called "club hoppers" do end up leaving I think we would still have a strong enough squad.[/QUOTE]
So you recon ye will be ok without the club hoppers..why then let 7 or 8 new lads sign.. surely by bringing in 3 or 4 ye should be strong enough for premier if as you state ye would be ok without these club hoppers..
7 new lads coming into a club will all expect to play every week
old git
21/07/2014, 2:37 PM
Melon,
are you a player or part of the management at Olympic??
melon is a player and some might call him one of the club hoppers group :D
Shuffleruns
21/07/2014, 2:47 PM
melon is a player and some might call him one of the club hoppers group :D
Ah here
old git
21/07/2014, 3:23 PM
Ah here
notice the smiley face only having a joke before anybody gets offended
AC Melon
21/07/2014, 3:27 PM
melon is a player and some might call him one of the club hoppers group :D Really? As we know eachother quite well in your honest opinion would you agree with them?
AC Melon
21/07/2014, 3:48 PM
Really? As we know eachother quite well in your honest opinion would you agree with them?
notice the smiley face only having a joke before anybody gets offended
No offence taking pal! But to be honest I preferred the other label someone gave me last season 😁
old git
21/07/2014, 4:00 PM
No offence taking pal! But to be honest I preferred the other label someone gave me last season
easy to get labled in shannon you just need a thick skin to ignore it :ball:
Football-Unites
23/07/2014, 2:48 PM
There's not a whole lot of point in club hopping between clubs that aren't successful. I don't agree with club hopping at all, however players want to play and when the going gets tough (they aren't starting, or the team is winning week in week out) then the player wants out. Very few willing to stick out the tough times.
gerardkelly
25/07/2014, 2:14 PM
Guys just to give ye an update regarding the Wesley Webb. The club hope to start the tournament on the 5th Aug. This will depend on the ongoing referring dispute with the LDMC. We believe there is a meeting next Tuesday between the league & the refs & the club should know more early next week. The club has explored other avenues to get it up & running but without success. Hope this will shed some light on it for ye. Please note that the club are very anxious get it played as it has been run every year since 1977.
don't panic
26/07/2014, 6:38 AM
Is it true that they asked Olympic & the bridge to host the tournament
faceoff
26/07/2014, 5:29 PM
Why don't ye get Clare officials?They have nothing to do with whats going on in Limerick league?Limerick refs are reffing games that have nothing to do with LDMC.Is most clubs in this play in Clare league.Just get permission off clare league.
gerardkelly
28/07/2014, 11:40 AM
Sorry Faceoff it's not as simple as you may think. The Clare referees know it's a Shannon Town tournament & will not be seen to go against one of it's societies that is in dispute with the LDMC. Believe me the club have tried to go down many different avenues but to no avail. Hopefully there will be a resolution between the LDMC & the referees soon. To my knowledge there is a meeting between them tomorrow night so fingers crossed it gets sorted for the sake of all football in Limerick.
Two Feet Up
28/07/2014, 1:11 PM
Sorry Faceoff it's not as simple as you may think. The Clare referees know it's a Shannon Town tournament & will not be seen to go against one of it's societies that is in dispute with the LDMC. Believe me the club have tried to go down many different avenues but to no avail. Hopefully there will be a resolution between the LDMC & the referees soon. To my knowledge there is a meeting between them tomorrow night so fingers crossed it gets sorted for the sake of all football in Limerick.
the ldmc ref's seem to be on strike as often as the French control towers. I am sure no other league has seen this amount of disruptions?
Shuffleruns
28/07/2014, 9:27 PM
How many teams are in the Wesley Webb this year?
the lobster
29/07/2014, 7:36 AM
How come the Patrick O'Holloren Memorial was played in Limerick, surely they used refs for this.???
the lobster
29/07/2014, 10:33 AM
Just read that few lads just ref'd the above, could it not happen with the Wesley Webb aswell? just wondering.
gerardkelly
30/07/2014, 7:43 AM
Lobster it is an idea but not sure if it would work. Also i don't think to many people would put their name forward to ref it. For example if i did a games & made a dodgy decision or gave a peno what would be the reaction of the players? I'm not a ref. Then you'd get the crap your only looking after your own club & so on. Proper ref are needed IMO. Shuffleruns the amount of team taking part will probably depend on the out come of the meeting between the LDMC & the Refs. I know they were thinking of running it a bit different this year. It was hoped to break it up into 2 group of 3 so each team would at least get 2 games. Then 2 semi finals & then the final. Not sure it will happen now, which is a pity as i thought it was a good idea.
Two Feet Up
30/07/2014, 11:16 AM
Ger, I would suspect that there may be a person or two out there willing to ref these games. You don't need 'proper' officials as long as the person understands most rules (most players don't understand the rules). The purpose is to progress the teams training in a match format for pre-season. As long as the games did not get nasty, but that is up to the players and managers.
Its a shame to have a delay to this comp and potentially miss out altogether....
the lobster
30/07/2014, 11:54 AM
It's simple, any player that give the Ref any crap gets sent off, make it known before game starts.
OneNightOnly
30/07/2014, 1:38 PM
It's simple, any player that give the Ref any crap gets sent off, make it known before game starts.
Are you covered by insurance if there isn't an official referee??
Whoever makes the application to the Munster Council to organise the tournament is responsible for getting the referees. The venue is immaterial as long as a Clare Team are on the letter requesting permission for same. The Clare League would then be obliged to appoint referees from Clare to the tournament. Hope this clears things up.
old git
30/07/2014, 4:30 PM
not as simple as that i dont think players would have the same respect for stand in ref's ? Plus shannon town could also get in trouble with league if they organise an unauthorised tournament.
the lobster
30/07/2014, 6:10 PM
Pike, The Boro, Hyde & Abbey all played in tournament with stand in Ref, no problems at that
Two Feet Up
01/08/2014, 7:20 AM
could the stand in ref's officiate better than the 'qualified' officials......shocker
what dats have been bumped around for the tournament anyway?
Shuffleruns
01/08/2014, 10:03 AM
How'd the draw for Wesley Webb go ?
old git
03/08/2014, 12:33 AM
How'd the draw for Wesley Webb go ?
two groups
GROUP ..1town A / HIBS A / OLYMPIC B
GROUP 2 OLYMPIC A / TOWN B / RINEANNA
Not 100% sure but top 2 in each group qualify for semi finals ? anybody know why newmarket/ bridge not included this year,,, tournament to start Tuesday night
Coolcat
04/08/2014, 7:54 PM
Any fixtures for the Wesley Webb?
old git
04/08/2014, 9:53 PM
Any fixtures for the Wesley Webb?
heard it supposed to start Tuesday night first game 6.15pm and 2nd game 7.30pm in the comp pitch don't know who is playing and nothing on Shannon town website ??
Side Cutter
05/08/2014, 9:32 AM
heard it supposed to start Tuesday night first game 6.15pm and 2nd game 7.30pm in the comp pitch don't know who is playing and nothing on Shannon town website ??
Matches fixed for tonight and thursday are off. I think they are hoping to start it on friday now. Some problem with referees i hear!!
Football-Unites
05/08/2014, 9:47 AM
Shame that Bridge and Newmarket are not in the tournament.
Seems a strange and unfair decision to not invite 2 teams that played last year because you don't want the tournament to be a straight knock. Didn't realise the rules were changed year on year ?
Any other friendlies knocking around ? Lots of games on in Limerick, but being reffed by joesoaps as opposed to actual refs.
Shuffleruns
05/08/2014, 10:38 AM
Taken from Facebook
Coolcat
07/08/2014, 12:21 PM
Is the Wesley Webb going ahead on Friday?
Shuffleruns
07/08/2014, 8:33 PM
Kicking off tomorrow evening
- Olympic A v Rineanna(6.15)
- Town A v Olympic B (7.30)
Lynch Park
old git
08/08/2014, 10:17 AM
Kicking off tomorrow evening
- Olympic A v Rineanna(6.15)
- Town A v Olympic B (7.30)
Lynch Park
Will start early with predictions .. Shannon town a v Olympic a final and Olympic to win it out