View Full Version : League cup 2014
20/09/2014, 5:43 PM
All the brouhaha about the temporary stand and there's about thirty people in it.
colonelwest
20/09/2014, 7:47 PM
All the brouhaha about the temporary stand and there's about thirty people in it.
Near more stewards on it than fans! The normal away end and away stand allocation was full though.
Decent game, Dundalk sat back after getting the early goal, Rovers had a lot of ball but bar Sheppard didn't create much first half. Whatever Kenny said at half time obviously worked, we came storming out of the gates. May be the league cup but its a big win for us to get a trophy under our belt leading into the run in for the league.
No trouble as far as I saw in and around the ground anyway which is always a plus. Heard there was a small bit of bother pre match outside one of the pubs down the road but nothing too mad.
White Horse
20/09/2014, 7:52 PM
The first half was the worst we played this season.
The sun caused havoc as Rovers played a lot of long balls and the Dundalk defence struggled to clear them. Kenny's decision to rest a few players may have been the decent thing to do as the players who came in to the side were the ones that got the team to the final. However, Rovers approached this game as it was the Champions League final, there was no messing about with their selection or desire. Fair play to them.
One we got the sun on our backs and Shields on the pitch, it was a different game. We really should have won by more.
Calcio Jack
20/09/2014, 8:24 PM
The first half was the worst we played this season.
The sun caused havoc as Rovers played a lot of long balls and the Dundalk defence struggled to clear them. Kenny's decision to rest a few players may have been the decent thing to do as the players who came in to the side were the ones that got the team to the final. However, Rovers approached this game as it was the Champions League final, there was no messing about with their selection or desire. Fair play to them.
One we got the sun on our backs and Shields on the pitch, it was a different game. We really should have won by more.
Think the sun caused havoc for us in second half- amazed that neither keeper wore a cap.
Either side could easily of won it- not too much between the teams .
Most interesting point is the manner in which Fenlon has improved us after only a few weeks- remarkable when compared to the mess made by Kenny & Croly
Augurs well for rest of season but particularly next when Fenlon can bring in his own players with lots of money available to him- interesting times ahead
PS - congrats to Dundalk
El-Pietro
20/09/2014, 9:18 PM
Why don't Rovers have a man on the back post? None for the game against us when Dan Murray scored from a corner either.
20/09/2014, 10:39 PM
Why don't Rovers have a man on the back post? None for the game against us when Dan Murray scored from a corner either.
No idea, presumably Fenlon has come in with his own ideas on how to organise for set-pieces and it's not working. We were generally solid defending them under Croly. I think that's four goals conceded from free set-piece headers in four games.
It was a poor enough game and Dundalk just about deserved the win for how they played after they went 3-1 up, but overall it was very cautious from both sides, which is no surprise given the previous six games between the sides. Kilduff's goal was a real beauty and McPhail in particular looks to finally be living up to his billing, and overall they look miles better than this time two months ago.
There were **** all people in the waste of money behind the western-facing goal but we knew that before the game.
21/09/2014, 3:44 AM
Think the sun caused havoc for us in second half- amazed that neither keeper wore a cap.
Either side could easily of won it- not too much between the teams .
Most interesting point is the manner in which Fenlon has improved us after only a few weeks- remarkable when compared to the mess made by Twigg & Croly
Augurs well for rest of season but particularly next when Fenlon can bring in his own players with lots of money available to him- interesting times ahead
PS - congrats to Dundalk
The win obviously meant something to both sides and managers considering relative reaction/team selection. The ball over the top was killing us 1st half, i presume due to the sun - bit back at ye 2nd half type stuff. For Fenlon to go high hoof mix it up when the sun was in our face was the sort of on the feet thinking Croly lacked!
The temporary stand was a waste and if the view from the 'away' terrace is truely as bad as some claim why was it the vantage point of choice for shams fans with ground tickets? Away section drops down the list of things to sort in Oriel....blame SRFC, they rented their own stand and then boycotted it :p
White Horse
21/09/2014, 9:35 AM
The ball over the top was killing us 1st half, i presume due to the sun - bit back at ye 2nd half type stuff. For Fenlon to go high hoof mix it up when the sun was in our face was the sort of on the feet thinking Croly lacked!
Fenlon got his tactics spot on. He saw we rested Boyle and had the sun in our eyes and went for the long ball. The only negative for Rovers was not going in at half time with a lead.
The temporary stand was a waste and if the view from the 'away' terrace is truely as bad as some claim why was it the vantage point of choice for shams fans with ground tickets? Away section drops down the list of things to sort in Oriel....blame SRFC, they rented their own stand and then boycotted it :p
Why did Rovers fans stay in the "terrible" away section? The new stand was in a lovely position, very close to the pitch, with lovely seats, and a viewing position. For those of us who want the club to invest in better facilities for the away fans, it was a real disappointment not to see the new stand full.
21/09/2014, 10:49 AM
Behind the goals is the worst spot on the pitch for me. The slight angle on the away stand is preferable, but then you have the problem of there being a stand blocking some of the pitch. My issue is more that everybody knew it wouldn't be needed but the mandarins built it anyway, paid for by the fans.
21/09/2014, 1:39 PM
Behind the goals is the worst spot on the pitch for me. The slight angle on the away stand is preferable, but then you have the problem of there being a stand blocking some of the pitch. My issue is more that everybody knew it wouldn't be needed but the mandarins built it anyway, paid for by the fans.
The view is the same on the town end terrace stand side though it is a bigger terrace, but those closest to the stand would lose sight of part of the pitch. I agree, I prefer to watch a game from as central as possible. But there are many who prefer standing behind the goal and some of the most famous fan sections in football are beind goal stands. There were a lot of people behind the town goal. Second half a group did the old rovers favourite of moving after h/t and went in to the temp stand.
21/09/2014, 5:39 PM
Some people said they weren't let into the temporary seats until later in the first half. I wouldn't know, I didn't try go in there. The stewards were ushering us into the stand as we arrived though.
I thought it was a statement the Rovers fans were making, by purposely not using the temporary stand. I could be wrong but it looked a little odd, years of complaints about the away terrace, and up until the second half less than 50 people in it. I know there was a good rovers crowd in the main stand, they looked to have one third of that, but still found it strange why the majority wanted to use the away terrace instead of perfect view behind the goal. Anyway, it was their choice.
On the match itself, we were dreadful in the first half, never got going really in mf, but huge improvement in the second, probably just deserved to win. Some celebrations all night, may 'only' be the League Cup, but when it's your first trophy in 12 years it really meant something, and there was a fantastic buzz around the town lasted night. It should give the team a great boost going into the final 5 league games. And that's obviously the big one.
dundalkfc10
21/09/2014, 6:24 PM
A mourner brutally attacked outside a wake by drunken football thugs has told how he feared for his life.
Paul McGee, 37, was left with horrific injuries after a group of Shamrock Rovers fans attacked him outside a house in Dundalk.
Paul was with his wife Dara at the wake of her grandmother Maura Coleman, 77, when he says he was struck in the face with a beer can.
The innocent mourner was left shaken with a broken nose, a fractured eye socket and had to receive six stitches in his face following the cowardly assault.
He was with Eddie Coleman, a son of the deceased, when a group of more than 70 Shamrock Rovers fans walked along the road past Mrs Coleman’s house in Pearse Park in the town on Saturday afternoon before the match between Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk FC.
Paul told the Irish Mirror: “My nose is broken, I have had 6 stitches to my face and the doctors think my eye socket is fractured.
“What happened was disgraceful and unreal. The can was smashed into my face without any warning and it was completely unprovoked.”
Paul said he could not believe it when they set upon him as he had not engaged them at all.
http://i3.irishmirror.ie/incoming/article4300975.ece/alternates/s615/Shamrock-Rovers-Fans-Strike-Paul-McGee-With-A-Can-1.jpgEddie Coleman (left) and Paul McGee pictured outside the home of Maura Coleman He said: “They had no regard for anyone or anything. If I had not gone behind a van (parked outside) I think they would have killed me. I didn’t even look at them in fact when I first saw them I thought they were Dundalk fans. ”
Furious Eddie branded the attackers “scum” and said the incident had added to his family’s grief.
He hit out: “We as a family condemn this violence as we waked my mother. They were throwing cans into the garden as they passed by and I said to them ‘would you show a bit of respect, there is a wake here, maybe take your rubbish with you’.
“Then one of the crowd assaulted Paul with the can and when other family members came outside to see what was happening, the crowd verbally abused them calling them ‘sheep sh*****s,’ and ‘**** bag.’
“My mother had 7 children and 28 grand-children and 5 great grand-children so when the children came out they saw this and they were crying. My mother would be horrified at this behaviour. She was one of the nicest people you could meet and we were never ever in any trouble.
“We condemn this behaviour from so-called Shamrock Rover’s fans, I am sure there are decent Shamrock Rover’s fans but these were the scum of the Earth and they weren’t young, they looked to be in their 30’s and 40’s.”
The family wants to know why any football fans were directed into a residential area.
http://i4.irishmirror.ie/incoming/article4300996.ece/alternates/s615/Shamrock-Rovers-Fans-Strike-Paul-McGee-With-A-Can-3.jpgThe estate where the incident happened Eddie added: “We want answers as to how these rowdy drunken hooligans ended up passing by our vicinity.”
The family has made a complaint to the gardai and officers are investigating the violent incident.
A spokesman for Dundalk gardai confirmed: “There was an issue with some Shamrock Rovers supporters who took a wrong turn to the match. We are aware an incident occurred in Pearse Park.
"We were very disappointed to hear something happened at a wake house.”
Mrs Coleman will be buried in Dundalk on Monday morning.
It is understood that a number of Shamrock Rovers fans had already caused a disturbance in the town centre before the brutal attack.
One man, who did not want to be named, said he witnessed elderly people being abused.
He told the Irish Mirror: “They were drinking in a pub in the middle of the town and pretty quickly it got ugly. They ran up the middle of the town.
“They started abusing children and elderly people and banging on cars and all sorts.
“It was absolutely disgraceful. There has been some needle between Dundalk and Rovers fans in the past but this was beyond that.
“I am sure most Rovers fans are decent but these lads were a disgrace to their club.”
White Horse
21/09/2014, 6:31 PM
I didn't believe the tweets about Rovers fans attacking mourners at a wake. I know they are bad but surely not that bad?
It seems that I am a bit naive.
Ezeikial
21/09/2014, 6:32 PM
http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/mourner-brutally-attacked-outside-wake-4300720
21/09/2014, 6:48 PM
I thought it was a statement the Rovers fans were making, by purposely not using the temporary stand. I could be wrong but it looked a little odd, years of complaints about the away terrace, and up until the second half less than 50 people in it. I know there was a good rovers crowd in the main stand, they looked to have one third of that, but still found it strange why the majority wanted to use the away terrace instead of perfect view behind the goal. Anyway, it was their choice.
On the match itself, we were dreadful in the first half, never got going really in mf, but huge improvement in the second, probably just deserved to win. Some celebrations all night, may 'only' be the League Cup, but when it's your first trophy in 12 years it really meant something, and there was a fantastic buzz around the town lasted night. It should give the team a great boost going into the final 5 league games. And that's obviously the big one.
No, there was no statement being made by anyone I talked to. We're in stands behind goals all the time and it's just crap for watching football. Granted, the temp stand offers a bit of a higher platform so you can see more, but it's still not ideal. Most people just wanted to be as close to the middle as they could.
I didn't see the guy being attacked as I was at the back of the group but from what I heard he was attacked without provocation by one scumbag who was dragged away by right-thinking hoops and a couple more drunk eejits continued an argument with the family while the brave members of the Garda Síochana sat in their armoured car and watched. The police should have talked to the guy and tried to apprehend the culprit but clearly that didn't happen. I can't really offer any more information than that, except that the report at the end from the anonymous source is fictional.
dundalkfc10
21/09/2014, 6:57 PM
No, there was no statement being made by anyone I talked to. We're in stands behind goals all the time and it's just crap for watching football. Granted, the temp stand offers a bit of a higher platform so you can see more, but it's still not ideal. Most people just wanted to be as close to the middle as they could.
I didn't see the guy being attacked as I was at the back of the group but from what I heard he was attacked without provocation by one scumbag who was dragged away by right-thinking hoops and a couple more drunk eejits continued an argument with the family while the brave members of the Garda Síochana sat in their armoured car and watched. The police should have talked to the guy and tried to apprehend the culprit but clearly that didn't happen. I can't really offer any more information than that, except that the report at the end from the anonymous source is fictional.
Their is a video on facebook of your fans running through the town abusing people so its not fictional.
Can I ask why use went that way to the game or is that were the guards asked you to go....Its a very strange place to go through when going from Town to Oriel!
21/09/2014, 7:06 PM
Feel free to share it. A group of fans walking through the town singing songs about Dundalk. Think a couple of people banged on shutters. It was no worse than what goes on in any town in Ireland on a Saturday night.
We were walking the right way before some drunken idiots decided it was the wrong way and started walking the other way. The rest of us caught up with them rather than splitting up the group and some people getting even more lost. The Gards were just following us around instead of actually guiding us in the right direction.
21/09/2014, 7:09 PM
The model club. Is there any more space under Delaney's carpet?
Louth4sam
21/09/2014, 7:13 PM
So three lads in total were acting the ****** and the rest were well behaved? Pull the other one lad. Most of the big clubs have a filth element attached to them but it's mostly kids. Rovers have men in their 30s and 40s causing trouble all over the country. It's a sad state of affairs when most of the pubs in the town centre have to close their doors because a football team are playing there.
dundalkfc10
21/09/2014, 7:15 PM
Feel free to share it. A group of fans walking through the town singing songs about Dundalk. Think a couple of people banged on shutters. It was no worse than what goes on in any town in Ireland on a Saturday night.
We were walking the right way before some drunken idiots decided it was the wrong way and started walking the other way. The rest of us caught up with them rather than splitting up the group and some people getting even more lost. The Gards were just following us around instead of actually guiding us in the right direction.
You 1st said it was fictional that the report said "“They were drinking in a pub in the middle of the town and pretty quickly it got ugly. They ran up the middle of the town.“They started abusing children and elderly people and banging on cars and all sorts."
Then you say they might have banged shutters, sang songs about Dundalk (which women and kids would find abusive)
So its not fictional its true?
Il post the link tonight when im on the laptop
21/09/2014, 7:19 PM
I said a couple because I don't know the number - I can't give you an answer on it. By the time I got there a minute or so after the rest of the group, there was just one drunken lout who could barely stand up shouting and he was dragged away by Rovers fans. There are no Rovers fans who condone this, regardless of the situation, a man was attacked the lowlife who assaulted him should be locked up. I don't know who it was so I can't help.
21/09/2014, 7:21 PM
You 1st said it was fictional that the report said "“They were drinking in a pub in the middle of the town and pretty quickly it got ugly. They ran up the middle of the town.“They started abusing children and elderly people and banging on cars and all sorts."
Then you say they might have banged shutters, sang songs about Dundalk (which women and kids would find abusive)
So its not fictional its true?
Il post the link tonight when im on the laptop
I'm saying singing "we hate Dundalk" etc is no abusing people. If that's the case then Cork fans brutalise an entire city every time they play up here, which would be ridiculous. Yeah, a couple of lads banged some shutters. From what I could see, people were standing outside shops the whole way looking on Rovers fans as an oddity, which I suppose is fair enough as Irish people aren't used to seeing football fans in their own towns.
White Horse
21/09/2014, 7:23 PM
Irish people aren't used to seeing football fans in their own towns.
Whatever they are, they are not "football fans".
21/09/2014, 7:24 PM
Whatever they are, they are not "football fans".
The vast majority are football fans. The people who were involved in starting a fight with a man on the street are scum, but that's not the description of the vast majority of people who were walking to the game and didn't cause any trouble whatsoever.
dundalkfc10
21/09/2014, 7:29 PM
I said a couple because I don't know the number - I can't give you an answer on it. By the time I got there a minute or so after the rest of the group, there was just one drunken lout who could barely stand up shouting and he was dragged away by Rovers fans. There are no Rovers fans who condone this, regardless of the situation, a man was attacked the lowlife who assaulted him should be locked up. I don't know who it was so I can't help.
Well obvs their is Rovers fans who knew him at the time/seen the incident so why didnt they point him out to the Guards? ****ing Shambles of a club you are...Pub I drink in, had 4 auld fellas in who were Rovers fans (door was shut all day in the pub, let them in cause they def wernt gonna cause trouble) but the fact is anyone under 40 who was a Rovers fan not getting into the pub!
Your same "fans" were waiting outside Tallaght for Dundalk fans after the Setanta Final in May
Its time other fans of your club (the majority) **** these knackers out of your club because its gonna end up at a stage were the Guards (here in Dundalk anyway) and gonna say **** It No Away Fans Allowed
Its basically every time we play you
21/09/2014, 7:36 PM
That's a good question, and somebody should have pointed him out to the Gards. I don't know who it was so I can't do it, and a lot of Hoops would be the same. There's a contingent of lads in their 40s and 50s who fancy themselves as hooligans and only show up for the big away games. The Gards should have been trying to identify him immediately so they could catch him after the game, and hopefully they will now.
I don't what the story with the Setanta Cup final was. Are you sure it wasn't just a bunch of local ****s, same as the lads in Derry who brick Rovers buses but wouldn't be seen dead at a match?
As for pubs, we went to the Emerald where the vast majority of Hoops were and a good time was had by all, including the Dundalk people who were in there. No trouble, no damage done in spite of the bull**** being spouted by a few Dundalk people, we left with smiles and waves.
dundalkfc10
21/09/2014, 7:45 PM
That's a good question, and somebody should have pointed him out to the Gards. I don't know who it was so I can't do it, and a lot of Hoops would be the same. There's a contingent of lads in their 40s and 50s who fancy themselves as hooligans and only show up for the big away games. The Gards should have been trying to identify him immediately so they could catch him after the game, and hopefully they will now.
I don't what the story with the Setanta Cup final was. Are you sure it wasn't just a bunch of local ****s, same as the lads in Derry who brick Rovers buses but wouldn't be seen dead at a match?
As for pubs, we went to the Emerald where the vast majority of Hoops were and a good time was had by all, including the Dundalk people who were in there. No trouble, no damage done in spite of the bull**** being spouted by a few Dundalk people, we left with smiles and waves.
The clientele in the Emerald suits your club anyway! Anyone not a scumbag from Dundalk would not even enter the doors of the Emerakd, Full of IRA loving ***** and dole *****s! Actually anyone who isnt a scumbag wouldnt really go down to Bridge Street at all (known locally as The Strip/The Golden Mile)
jinxy lilywhite
21/09/2014, 7:50 PM
Yeah I wouldn't mess about in the emerald or that end of town.
Is such a sad story. Completely unprovoked and it just beggars belief how someone could be so low.
I heard the story last night but I didn't believe it. A massive blot on an otherwise very successful event.
In addition to winning it I did feel great pride that Oriel park held such an event. Our grand old lady of a ground does be open to huge criticism by even dfc fans and others but it was a great day out
21/09/2014, 7:51 PM
I couldn't tell you anything about the Emerald except that it's a bit of a dive and the service is very slow, but the point is that it was a grand atmosphere and nobody was causing any trouble. It's shameful that some louts went and attacked a law-abiding citizen but it's unfair to use it as a stick to beat us all with. I know there aren't many Rovers fans who post on here anymore but I don't think you'd find any of us defending what happened. My personal experience was that it was a good time had by almost everybody, with some nice rivalry going on between the two sets of fans, and I'm saddened that some people have brought the Rovers support into disrepute and made a sad day worse for some innocent people.
White Horse
22/09/2014, 8:17 AM
I would encourage any Shamrock Rovers fans who witnessed the attack on the mourners or who have photographs of the group of people involved to contact the Garda station in Dundalk.
By the way the statement provided to the Independent by Shamrock Rovers is a weasel worded and enaemic reaction to hooliganism; “Obviously the club don’t condone this kind of behaviour.”
I bet the thugs involved at shaking in their boots at this reaction from Shamrock Rovers.
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/shamrock-rovers-fans-broke-my-nose-with-a-beer-can-at-family-wake-30605082.html#sthash.slCED7HD.dpuf
By the way, what was the attendances at the League Cup Final?
From the TV you would say about 3,000+
Did I see Palestine Flags waving again in the Dundalk crowd or was I mistaken?
Why was there no temporary stand put up at the other end of Oriel Park?
desaintsno.12
22/09/2014, 9:39 AM
i presume becasue it wasnt needed
White Horse
22/09/2014, 9:42 AM
4,500 was the stimate provided by the club. I did not hear an official figure.
I didn't notice any Palestinian flags. They have been noticable in their absence lately.
There were no tickets sold for the town end. However, people who had tickets elsewhere choose to watch the game there.
If Dundalk had erected a temporary stand there, they would have sold it out. However, as 50% of the tickets available to fans had to be allocated to Shamrock Rovers, it would have meant giving another area of the ground to Shamrock Rovers. That would have resulted in another area of the ground being empty.
dundalkfc10
22/09/2014, 6:56 PM
4,500 was the stimate provided by the club. I did not hear an official figure.
I didn't notice any Palestinian flags. They have been noticable in their absence lately.
There were no tickets sold for the town end. However, people who had tickets elsewhere choose to watch the game there.
If Dundalk had erected a temporary stand there, they would have sold it out. However, as 50% of the tickets available to fans had to be allocated to Shamrock Rovers, it would have meant giving another area of the ground to Shamrock Rovers. That would have resulted in another area of the ground being empty.
One of the SSA was at Pats away game a few weeks back with a Palestine Flag and was removed by the Gardai (Dundalk fans will know him Podge) and he has been banned from Oriel over it so id imagine nobody wants to run the risk of a ban
(By way Club were/needed an excuse to ban this clown, so this gave them a reason)
Was def more than 4000 at it anyway, Shed hasnt been as packed since its been the "new Shed"...Surely our biggest crowd since Rovers 2002 Semi Final
22/09/2014, 7:04 PM
3,255 was the total allocation to both sets of fans.
1,255 of that for Shamrock Rovers, 2,000 for Dundalk. Presumably there were more tickets available for sponsors, etc. Maybe more tickets were made available for general admission?
What's the capacity of Oriel now? Couldn't be much more than 4,500 as it is? The temporary stand would have added 460 to capacity.
dundalkfc10
22/09/2014, 7:10 PM
3,255 was the total allocation to both sets of fans.
1,255 of that for Shamrock Rovers, 2,000 for Dundalk. Presumably there were more tickets available for sponsors, etc. Maybe more tickets were made available for general admission?
What's the capacity of Oriel now? Couldn't be much more than 4,500 as it is? The temporary stand would have added 460 to capacity.
Their is 3200 seats so surely its more than 4500...Ive a feeling when it was realised Rovers were not taking there allocation, Some of them tickets went to Dundalk
22/09/2014, 7:17 PM
Their is 3200 seats so surely its more than 4500...Ive a feeling when it was realised Rovers were not taking there allocation, Some of them tickets went to Dundalk
Well, there's not a huge amount left in the way of terrace now in Oriel is there? Away terrace and the bit in front of the main stand is all that's left that Dundalk are allowed to use isn't it?
dundalkfc10
22/09/2014, 7:30 PM
Well, there's not a huge amount left in the way of terrace now in Oriel is there? Away terrace and the bit in front of the main stand is all that's left that Dundalk are allowed to use isn't it?
Behind the goals is allowed (for League games anyway) and for big games does be 3 deep standing around the pitch...Prob officially is 4500 but without ****ting Health and Saftey stuff, easily get 5500 plus in
Conroy
23/09/2014, 8:40 AM
Our ticket allocation was restricted to 2,500 due to it being an FAI run event.* They sold out early in the week, however a small numbers of tickets then went on sale again approximately 140.
Breakdown:
Total 3,200
Dundalk fans 2,640
Rovers/FAI 560
*The Dundalk allocation is sourced directly from www.dundalkfc.com and the 3,200 is from the local journalist who was given the information from a club and fai official.
A small(ish) number of the Shamrock Rovers tickets ended up in the hands of Dundalk fans too, as they were the only tickets available on the day. Would've thought the attendance had to be 4,000 plus but I suppose there were areas of the ground that weren't exactly packed.
Incidentally I know Rovers fans who had bought tickets for the main stand but were told it was full when they got there 15 mins before kickoff. They were directed to the terrace and asked to be let onto the empty temporary stand but were not allowed by the FAI goons.
23/09/2014, 9:43 AM
Looked a very good crowd on Soccer Republic last night. Would certainly have made sense to have just allocated the seating behind the goals to Shamrock Rovers fans and kept the main stand for themselves when you look back on it. Couldn't have been much more than about 500 Rovers fans there in total.
Either way, a good advertisement for the league in the end up.