View Full Version : League cup 2014

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

dundalkfc10
29/08/2014, 10:32 PM
About 1.3million has been spent on Oriel over the last decade! For which a period of that was in the 1st division and on the brink of going out of business. With a new ground to walk in to and to maintain has hardly cost anywhere near €1mil to Rovers?

No doubt you are wrong Nesta, Rovers fans are never wrong!

29/08/2014, 10:40 PM
€1.3 million??? Good god, have you gold plated the bloody toilets or something? You got badly ripped off otherwise.

I don't know how much Rovers have put in since the council took over (I'll exclude the considerable amount the old club paid since the debts were written off), but there's no doubt it's at least a million, and over the course of the stadium's life we'll pay them far more money than it would have cost if we'd been able to build it ourselves.

29/08/2014, 11:06 PM
Yup! Its what happens when you try to cope with a creaky old ground as money is spent after years of neglect and it hardly is noticible initially. Problem is an obvious one, to flatten the existing place to rebuild or move to a greenfield site needs a lot of money up front which we dont have. So bringing old infrastructure up to current safety regulations is expensive, slow, and the only option - hence prioritising areas to spend on say meeting UEFA stuff like floodlighting lux levels etc. The cost of tarmacing the entrances home and away for example cost a small fortune (remember the potholes and the amount of complaining about the away laneway). All that small unnoticed stuff will be done at some point and then hopefully investment in the ground will become apparent. Long term yes you may repay the cost of your ground to SDCC but the initial outlay for the build is the obstacle, you got a dig out and Id grab a similar chance in Dundalk. I'd genuinely like to hear wwhere additional money was spent by SRFC, was it fitting out the offices under the stand or the like? Like in Oriel I havent noticed such changes that would be evident of €1mils worth of works.

29/08/2014, 11:30 PM
Fair enough, I didn't think to factor in the maintenance/upgrades you've done on your pitch which obviously doesn't apply to Bohs or Shels.

As for Rovers, we don't just rent the ground, there's the club shop to pay for, the club doesn't get any income from the concessions which are a nice earner for most clubs, we weren't contracted for the Europa League so that was extra plus the temporary stands. Bear in mind, that stadium is a serious earner for the council - they invested heavily, to their credit, and despite what people think they're not giving it away for buttons. They run the stadium as a profit-making enterprise and that means exploiting maximum value from every source, be it Rovers or Leinster Rugby or the American football teams or FAI underage teams. It's run as a proper business and they make sure Rovers pay for the privilege of being tenants. Rovers can't just sack the groundsman to cut costs - we pay what they ask because they maintain the stadium to a very high standard.

30/08/2014, 12:51 AM
Fair enough, I didn't think to factor in the maintenance/upgrades you've done on your pitch which obviously doesn't apply to Bohs or Shels.

As for Rovers, we don't just rent the ground, there's the club shop to pay for, the club doesn't get any income from the concessions which are a nice earner for most clubs, we weren't contracted for the Europa League so that was extra plus the temporary stands. Bear in mind, that stadium is a serious earner for the council - they invested heavily, to their credit, and despite what people think they're not giving it away for buttons. They run the stadium as a profit-making enterprise and that means exploiting maximum value from every source, be it Rovers or Leinster Rugby or the American football teams or FAI underage teams. It's run as a proper business and they make sure Rovers pay for the privilege of being tenants. Rovers can't just sack the groundsman to cut costs - we pay what they ask because they maintain the stadium to a very high standard.

This feels more like a pm to someone answering stuff that wasnt really mentioned previously in the thread?

oriel
30/08/2014, 7:17 AM
As far as I know and heard last night the arrangements for the LC Final are still not finalised. I did hear the Guards were not happy with Rovers fans going to the shed side. Also heard about possibility of erecting a temporary stand behind the goal where the away fans are now, but nothing official has been announced.

The match is only 3 weeks away now, so you would imagine an announcement will need to be made this week on tickets, and which sections are going to home and away fans.

If they do erect a temporary structure I'm sure this can go up in under a week, I think Rovers had one in for their EL group games, plus back in the day seating was installed quick enough in the old lansdowne terracing. Also if they were doing it, it would make sense to have this in place for the remaining 3 home league games and the next one is on Monday 8th Sept v Derry. Other two are Rovers again in the league, early Oct tbc, then final match home to Cork.

White Horse
30/08/2014, 8:26 PM
The EA Sports Cup Final is an FAI event and normal seating allocations for Dundalk fans are subject to a number of changes for this match.

Dundalk FC fans will be located in the Shed and the Town end areas. Dundalk fans will also have approximately 50% of the stand seats with the rest of the stand being allocated to FAI, Sponsors, Guests and Shamrock Rovers supporters. Plans are in place for temporary seating to be erected behind the Carrick Road end goals for Shamrock Rovers fans who will also have access to the regular away supporter area.

It is planned that tickets for the final will go on sale towards the end of the week from Oriel Park. A further update will be provided in the coming days before tickets are released on sale.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/st-pats-ea-sports-cup-details/

31/08/2014, 10:58 PM
What's the problem with Shams paying towards the stand? Their fans will have most of it dismantled before the end of the match anyway.

31/08/2014, 11:03 PM
What's the problem with Shams paying towards the stand? Their fans will have most of it dismantled before the end of the match anyway.
The best comment I read about the situation online was from a Rovers fan: "If we have to pay for 1/3 of their stand, it's only right we should get to take 1/3 of it home."

dundalkfc10
01/09/2014, 9:30 AM
The best comment I read about the situation online was from a Rovers fan: "If we have to pay for 1/3 of their stand, it's only right we should get to take 1/3 of it home."

The best comment I seen was a Rovers fans asking, "What would be the best pub in Dundalk to get a drink in" good luck with that one, Id say you will be lucky to find 1 who will let ya in (Im not saying that its right but its true)

Back upto the Forge and Newry with you if ya want to be sure of getting a few pints

White Horse
01/09/2014, 10:16 AM
The best comment I seen was a Rovers fans asking, "What would be the best pub in Dundalk to get a drink in" good luck with that one, Id say you will be lucky to find 1 who will let ya in (Im not saying that its right but its true)

Back upto the Forge and Newry with you if ya want to be sure of getting a few pints

Are Rovers not also demanding the Lilywhite Lounge?

dundalkfc10
01/09/2014, 10:54 AM
Are Rovers not also demanding the Lilywhite Lounge?

We could just send them down to the pubs on Bridge Street, They will fit right in

01/09/2014, 6:06 PM

I wonder what happened to this dude (http://foot.ie/threads/112322-Televised-games-2009?p=1112672&viewfull=1#post1112672):

White Horse
10/09/2014, 5:17 PM
Picked up my stand tickets today, they're nearly sold out already.

10/09/2014, 5:22 PM
Looks like no temp stand, Rovers with a bigger allocation than usual but still the away team.

Ezeikial
10/09/2014, 7:04 PM
Looks like no temp stand, Rovers with a bigger allocation than usual but still the away team.

Please explain. What is Rovers "usual allocation"?

10/09/2014, 7:22 PM
Rovers' usual allocation is whatever amount of tickets Dundalk send, a few hundred I assume.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/09/2014, 8:48 PM
Rovers' usual allocation is whatever amount of tickets Dundalk send, a few hundred I assume.

Its an FAI event

10/09/2014, 8:50 PM
I know, hence the increased allocation. According to Dundalk, it was going to be 50% Dundalk, 30% Rovers, and Dundalk have already been selling their tickets for a while so presumably they know what the breakdown will be.

dundalkfc10
10/09/2014, 9:10 PM

Were are you getting this bull from?
The temp stand is going up (starting Saturday if its not a draw on Friday, starting Tues morning if its a draw Fri as the replay is Monday)
Our Stand allocation is nearly gone 40% of the stand, Rovers have the other 40% and Sponsors, Guests etc the remaining 20% in the middle of the stand!

Its unreal how big of a deal Rovers fans are making of this.

Have your club even started selling you tickets yet?

10/09/2014, 9:15 PM
I heard it from another fan, if the stand is going up then I suppose I'm wrong. Rovers haven't started selling tickets. If Rovers are getting 40% why did Dundalk say 30%? If we're getting the same allocation, then clearly making a big deal worked.

dundalkfc10
10/09/2014, 9:19 PM
I heard it from another fan, if the stand is going up then I suppose I'm wrong. Rovers haven't started selling tickets. If Rovers are getting 40% why did Dundalk say 30%? If we're getting the same allocation, then clearly making a big deal worked.

Sorry hearing it on another thread too like its gospel

I assumed it was 40% for Rovers too as the girl in the ticket office told me we only had 40% so I assumed 40 us 40 rovers 20 FAI

Stand is going up alright, hopefully Saturday...Id rather Lose than Draw on Friday

10/09/2014, 9:23 PM
Why would you rather lose than draw? You have a shot at the treble, the logistics of getting a temporary stand in should be a distant second, especially as the gate for the replay would be a handy one.

10/09/2014, 9:27 PM
I dont see how Dundalk have any say on ticket allocation!

10/09/2014, 9:28 PM
No, but presumably if they announced the 50/30/20 split it was based on what the FAI were telling them.

White Horse
10/09/2014, 9:31 PM

It was always 40% for Dundalk and 40% for Rovers as far as I'm aware. Perhaps there was some haggling between the clubs on some of the details. It has to be an equal allocation, anything else would be very unfair on Shamrock Rovers.

I 'm looking forward to seeing the temporary stand. A full Carrick Road end will create a great atmosphere.

White Horse
10/09/2014, 9:35 PM
No, but presumably if they announced the 50/30/20 split it was based on what the FAI were telling them.

They said initially that Dundalk were getting half the stand tickets. However, they meant half of the tickets available to fans, i.e.. half of the 80%. When it was then mentioned that 20% was going to the FAI and sponsors, Rovers fans interpreted the split as a 50-30-20 split. I think unnecessary confusion was caused by sloppy wording.

10/09/2014, 9:35 PM
The only way id imagine there was a 50 30 20 split is if Rovers agreed on the basis that they feel they wouldnt sell out their allocation of 40%. If there isnt an equal allocation it wont be a Dundalk demand or without Rovers approval!

dundalkfc10
10/09/2014, 9:41 PM
Why would you rather lose than draw? You have a shot at the treble, the logistics of getting a temporary stand in should be a distant second, especially as the gate for the replay would be a handy one.

More to do with the extra game. We have alot of players on 3 Yellows, 1 away from Suspension. Gartland and McDermott missing UCD game too
The last week of the season it looks, as either ourselves or yourselves are going to be in the Cup Semi so our League match has to be moved and their are really no other days apart from the Mon/Tues inbetween 2nd last and last games

10/09/2014, 9:52 PM
It was always 40% for Dundalk and 40% for Rovers as far as I'm aware. Perhaps there was some haggling between the clubs on some of the details. It has to be an equal allocation, anything else would be very unfair on Shamrock Rovers.

I 'm looking forward to seeing the temporary stand. A full Carrick Road end will create a great atmosphere.
From Dundalk:

Dundalk FC fans will be located in the Shed and the Town end areas. Dundalk fans will also have approximately 50% of the stand seats with the rest of the stand being allocated to FAI, Sponsors, Guests and Shamrock Rovers supporters. Plans are in place for temporary seating to be erected behind the Carrick Road end goals for Shamrock Rovers fans who will also have access to the regular away supporter area.

I don't blame Dundalk for haggling and trying to get the best deal for themselves as it is their home stadium, but you'd think the FAI would have a bit more cop-on (silly, I know) and just make it clear from the start, but then again they were probably all at Old Trafford on a junket or something.

10/09/2014, 9:54 PM
More to do with the extra game. We have alot of players on 3 Yellows, 1 away from Suspension. Gartland and McDermott missing UCD game too
The last week of the season it looks, as either ourselves or yourselves are going to be in the Cup Semi so our League match has to be moved and their are really no other days apart from the Mon/Tues inbetween 2nd last and last games
Suppose so, you'd just always a chance to continue in competition over an easier schedule. When Rovers qualified for the Europa, it meant a lot of games had to be shoved in at short notice but we wouldn't have had it any other way.

Ezeikial
11/09/2014, 7:52 AM

That gave me a laugh

Rovers have a history of non-cooperation in the advance sale of tickets for league games in Oriel Park (and other grounds from what I hear). Irrespective of the number of tickets sent in advance, inevitably Rovers would return the bulk of them unsold.

11/09/2014, 10:23 AM
That gave me a laugh

Rovers have a history of non-cooperation in the advance sale of tickets for league games in Oriel Park (and other grounds from what I hear). Irrespective of the number of tickets sent in advance, inevitably Rovers would return the bulk of them unsold.
They've also refused to sell any tickets to their fans for away games, instead instructing them to pay at gate

Calcio Jack
11/09/2014, 3:34 PM
They've also refused to sell any tickets to their fans for away games, instead instructing them to pay at gate

Isn't it remarkable that a club that doesn't co-operate with ticket sales etc. manages consistently to bring largest away support to venues all over the country.

poster
11/09/2014, 3:43 PM
Isn't it remarkable that a club that doesn't co-operate with ticket sales etc. manages consistently to bring largest away support to venues all over the country.

Some of them even get a go on the pitch!

Ezeikial
11/09/2014, 5:13 PM

No - the two are not linked at all

But it is worth remarking that the club's refusal has consistently led to additional crowd control and public order challenges for the Gardai and hosting clubs.

placid casual
11/09/2014, 5:38 PM
Rovers fans spent years getting dicked around by clubs like dundalk and Pats who thought they could chance their arm for their biggest gate of the season.
The rovers board who are part of this fanbase simply refuse to co-operate with these clubs demands

you reap what you sow.

Ezeikial
11/09/2014, 6:21 PM
Rovers fans spent years getting dicked around by clubs like dundalk and Pats

Is this a sexual thing?

Does paying at the gate protect a fan from some awful affliction?

12/09/2014, 8:48 AM
Rovers fans spent years getting dicked around by clubs like dundalk and Pats who thought they could chance their arm for their biggest gate of the season.
The rovers board who are part of this fanbase simply refuse to co-operate with these clubs demands

you reap what you sow.
How is making tickets available early to away fans "getting dicked around"?

PartySaint
12/09/2014, 9:06 AM
you reap what you sow.

That's Rovers f*cked in a few years so.

sundance kid
12/09/2014, 9:09 AM
Pretty sure that since moving to tallaght i've bought tickets for most, if not all, pats away and bohs away games from the rovers shop the week before each game. Even athlone away recently i got my ticket from rovers the week before the game.

12/09/2014, 9:45 AM

you reap what you sow.

Are you referring to rthe catagorising of matches and charging a higher price for Catagory A? If so this was to cover additional security costs among other things while maximising income. Dundalk included Drogs Derry, Pats and Bohs as Category A also. Other clubs had similar systems of which Dundalk were considered Category A. If you are referring to the way Shamrock Rovers supporters are coralled and herded around in and out of grounds? Well unfortunately you reap what you sow!

Co-operation on advance tickets sales guages the level of security needed and prevents potental oppressive ott security arrangements. It allows vetting of the travelling scumbags by supporters who know trouble makers stopping them from aquiring tickets and preventing the Shams brand from being tarnished. Seems like a case of cutting off ones nose to spite their face. Tickets numbers available are hardly an issue, league wise anyway, the more the merrier!! I fail to see the problem for Shams board members bar cronyism and not wanting to be responsible for the prevention of some fans travelling!

White Horse
18/09/2014, 5:58 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bx1WDsbCIAAAuKQ.jpg

And it's green too.

18/09/2014, 11:04 PM
Looks excellent in there. Should look to have something like that permanently in there.

patrickccfc
19/09/2014, 8:25 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bx1WDsbCIAAAuKQ.jpg

And it's green too.

now rovers fans dundalk have been very good making ye feel at home with green seats, don't go breaking them now

19/09/2014, 8:37 PM
I think they're the same ones we had for the Europa League and Sligo had for a while. I assume there's only one temporary seating company around :p

20/09/2014, 9:30 AM
Anyone know a LOI friendly bar in Dublin city centre that would be likely to show this game today (considering the fact Liverpool are playing at the same time)?

jinxy lilywhite
20/09/2014, 10:13 AM
AFAIK Dundalk's allocation is completely sold out. Good buzz around town to with black and white bunting.

Here's hoping that our 50th senior trophy will be won today

Cuyahoga
20/09/2014, 4:17 PM
Any one know a link to watch the League Cup Final ?

IrishRossi
20/09/2014, 4:28 PM
Any one know a link to watch the League Cup Final ?
http://www.streamking.org/channel5.html
there you go