View Full Version : Hair products
12/11/2004, 8:04 AM
highlights are on the cards, but its a expensive mistake,
You can always colour over them if you're not happy.
My advice for highlights is go to a good salon and get the job done right.
It's all well and good getting highlights but you need a style that suits you too.
For any women reading this, the effort you girls go to in preparation for the party season is recognised and very very much appreciated. ;)
It's as though the girls in the office are replaced with lashers for the Christmans party. :p
Duffer
12/11/2004, 11:11 AM
isn't this lovely.
I've never had such a detailed conversation with boys about hair care.
I feel like I have payback for all the footie conversations I've had with boys.
TheJamaicanP.M.
12/11/2004, 11:26 AM
Thanks a million for all the advice lads, especially ccfcman and Peadar. It would appear that you Cork lads really know yer stuff when it comes to grooming. All the advice will come in handy. Im also considering highlights to combine with the putty. Highlighted hair that is GHDed will surely go down a treat in the Dublin niteclubs.
TheJamaicanP.M.
12/11/2004, 11:31 AM
or bed head is pretty good ! well so robbie doyle tells me :D GHD's rock by the way !
What is bed head? Haven't heard of it before. If Robbie Doyle uses it then its worth a try. Robbie is a prime example of how a less than moderate looking fella can be transformed into a presentable fella. If more naturally attractive lads like myself or Dillo got hold of that stuff then we would surely look very well.
12/11/2004, 11:46 AM
What is bed head?
A lot of salons use it.
Look here (http://www.tigihaircare.com/uk/products/) for the product range.
I still think that Brylcreem Reshaper Gum and Putty (http://www.brylcreem.co.uk/static/productsReshapersCremes.jsp) are two of the best products on the market.
TheJamaicanP.M.
12/11/2004, 11:59 AM
A lot of salons use it.
Look here (http://www.tigihaircare.com/uk/products/) for the product range.
I still think that Brylcreem Reshaper Gum and Putty (http://www.brylcreem.co.uk/static/productsReshapersCremes.jsp) are two of the best products on the market.
Thanks Peadar. Much appreciated. May try and pick up some.
ccfcman
12/11/2004, 1:12 PM
There is this crazy Glow in the dark stuph u can get, it gives the impression of your hair glowing, Vidal Sassoon UV Glow gel, use in moderation and make sure it doesnt linger on yer hands, cos u dont want ur hands glowin now do u?!
JoeSemi
12/11/2004, 1:21 PM
What is bed head? Haven't heard of it before. If Robbie Doyle uses it then its worth a try. Robbie is a prime example of how a less than moderate looking fella can be transformed into a presentable fella. If more naturally attractive lads like myself or Dillo got hold of that stuff then we would surely look very well.
I think you've outgrown putty P.M and can hope for Champions Lge football if you move onto this bed head product. Dillo is a different kettle tho....Like myself, I think Dillo has to find his feet in mid table, and putty is best to bring him forward in the near future :)
Don Vito
13/11/2004, 1:25 PM
or bed head is pretty good ! well so robbie doyle tells me :D GHD's rock by the way !
Nuff said, if its good enough for Doyler its good enough for me.
Don Vito
13/11/2004, 1:28 PM
Thanks a million for all the advice lads, especially ccfcman and Peadar. It would appear that you Cork lads really know yer stuff when it comes to grooming. All the advice will come in handy. Im also considering highlights to combine with the putty. Highlighted hair that is GHDed will surely go down a treat in the Dublin niteclubs.
You're right, the cork boys really know their stuff. I'd say Robbie Doyle is kickin himself for not signing for Cork recently when he had the chance now, word was he wouldnt go cos there was no proper Peter Marksor somethin down there, but ccfcman and Peadar have shown us you can be well groomed and be from Cork.
TheJamaicanP.M.
15/11/2004, 11:07 AM
I think you've outgrown putty P.M and can hope for Champions Lge football if you move onto this bed head product. Dillo is a different kettle tho....Like myself, I think Dillo has to find his feet in mid table, and putty is best to bring him forward in the near future :)
Its far from Champions League that I am JoeSemi. Maybe Intertoto Cup if I put everything into it. Have to make the most of limited resources. Yourself and Don Vito are Champions League material. Dillo is a seeded team in the Uefa Cup.
ccfcman
15/11/2004, 11:16 AM
....no proper Peter Marksor.
Ah now you see we have 2 AFAIK and damn proud of it *shuffles back into the shadows*
Peadar is a different case he's in UK so be weary of his tips ;) :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
15/11/2004, 11:27 AM
Ah now you see we have 2 AFAIK and damn proud of it *shuffles back into the shadows*
So Cork does have Peter Marks? Maybe it was Toni n Guy that Robbie Doyle was looking for. Word has it that the hair-dressing factor was the main reason for the deal breaking down.
ccfcman
15/11/2004, 11:31 AM
Tut tut, what are ye like eh?
Dolan caught him in a Nail Technicians gaff and that was that for young Robbie in Cork
Don Vito
15/11/2004, 8:06 PM
Its far from Champions League that I am JoeSemi. Maybe Intertoto Cup if I put everything into it. Have to make the most of limited resources. Yourself and Don Vito are Champions League material. Dillo is a seeded team in the Uefa Cup.
I really am champions league material, but puttin JoeSemi in there was just takin the Michael it was.
16/11/2004, 3:08 PM
Oi! I'm only over here on a mission.
Teaching Landaners a thing or two about style. ;)
Thanks Peadar. Much appreciated. May try and pick up some.
You pick up any Bed Head yet PM? I know you're planning on a major shopping spree at the weekend so you'll probably purchase both Putty and Bed Head (knowing you) in your local Boots store along with many other beauty products! ;) The PM loves experimenting!
TheJamaicanP.M.
20/11/2004, 1:37 PM
You pick up any Bed Head yet PM? I know you're planning on a major shopping spree at the weekend so you'll probably purchase both Putty and Bed Head (knowing you) in your local Boots store along with many other beauty products! ;) The PM loves experimenting!
Had intended a bit of a shopping spree today Dillo but the weather is just awful. No point getting your hair wet, simply to get putty. It would be a case of robbing Peter to pay Paul. Definitly putty is on my shopping list at the moment but I think I might put bed head on the long finger. Robbie Doyle wasnt wearing it last night so I would guess that it is on its way out of fashion. No point us getting it just as it goes out. It's a pain in the prostate that I have to go into city centre just to find a proper Boots store.
ccfcman
23/11/2004, 8:10 AM
Argh Dax blue ruined me hair last night! :eek:
I was also down that road in my younger days! Best staying away from that stuff CCFC. A small bit of it is sufficient for short hair but that's it. $Leon$ is very fond of both Dax and some unknown stuff called Fish Fingers!
ccfcman
23/11/2004, 10:05 AM
Caused by a Dub scanger :eek:
Yer I've olngishhair well spiked (4back and cut top) other gels/cream make me hair rock solid and cuts people!
TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 10:18 AM
ccfcman, as Dillo pointed out, we've been there and bought the t-shirt with regard to Dax. It really is bad stuff. My advice is to stay away from Dax or any other type of wax. Myself and my mates highly recommend VO5 Putty. It retails in Boots for €5.85 and will be the solution to all your problems. You wont have to worry about a bad hair day again. However, it may be advised that you grow your hair a little. The 4 at the back and sides look may be popular with GAA players such as Philip Clifford. However, that wont cut ice in Dublin. Grow the hair a little and spike the back along with the top. Im not an expert but I suggest you send Don Vito a private message for some top advice.
$Leon$
23/11/2004, 10:21 AM
. The 4 at the back and sides look may be popular with GAA players such as Philip Clifford. However, that wont cut ice in Dublin.
speakin of gaa players with bad hair just look at benny coulter down and mayobridge star forward. has to be the worst do i've ever seen
ccfcman
23/11/2004, 10:22 AM
Yer I do spike the back, reckon I pioneerede the idea in Cork :P, 'cos there's surely enough Skin head, stripy shirt wearin' feens out there!
My problem is that some of the stup sets lightly and there's no hold, Lynx Ultra and VSasoon are rock hard!
$Leon$
23/11/2004, 10:22 AM
$Leon$ is very fond of both Dax and some unknown stuff called Fish Fingers!
fish fingers is a far superior wax to dax. more gental on the hair with better hold
TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 10:41 AM
fish fingers is a far superior wax to dax. more gental on the hair with better hold
Wax you say? 'Nuff said!
$Leon$
23/11/2004, 10:43 AM
Was you say? 'Nuff said!
prefer to only break out the putty for special occasions.
it can be very heavy in the hair.
FF is a light wax for daily use.
TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 10:44 AM
Yer I do spike the back, reckon I pioneerede the idea in Cork :P, 'cos there's surely enough Skin head, stripy shirt wearin' feens out there!
My problem is that some of the stup sets lightly and there's no hold, Lynx Ultra and VSasoon are rock hard!
VO5 Putty will give you the hold that you so crave ccfcman. Just ask Dillo. He has thick hair but still managed to get the look right the night of the FAI cup final. The great thing about putty is that your hair wont be greasy and it wont be hard. Glad to see you've been experimenting.
ccfcman
23/11/2004, 10:45 AM
We'll have to raid 92 some night then, bring the mates tto The Pale and show you Lonfordites whaqt proper hair is :P
TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 10:55 AM
We'll have to raid 92 some night then, bring the mates tto The Pale and show you Lonfordites whaqt proper hair is :P
My advice is dont bring too many of your mates to the 92 because they wont get in. You were lucky that you were with a D4 wan the night you got in. Generally, unless you've lived in D4 for quite some time or are particularly good looking, you wont get in. No offence to your mates but they probably wont get in as a group.
$Leon$
23/11/2004, 11:04 AM
the pm speaks the truth.
i've seen a male model turned away just cos he was from "just outside dublin" (longford) and the fact that he thought he was william wallace.
ccfcman
23/11/2004, 11:06 AM
She was exiled in D6 actually! I just shut up and went with her in, Jesus lads the ladies phew!
Ok better continue this in the other topic eh!??
TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 11:12 AM
She was exiled in D6 actually! I just shut up and went with her in, Jesus lads the ladies phew!
Ok better continue this in the other topic eh!??
Yeah perhaps talk about this in the most talented nightclub thread. This is a serious thread solely about hair products. But yes, the wans are rather amazing.
Dillo
23/11/2004, 12:07 PM
VO5 Putty will give you the hold that you so crave ccfcman. Just ask Dillo. He has thick hair but still managed to get the look right the night of the FAI cup final. The great thing about putty is that your hair wont be greasy and it wont be hard. Glad to see you've been experimenting.
Think Dillo used a little too much putty that night! It all made perfect sense at the time though! :cool:
JoeSemi
23/11/2004, 4:13 PM
I was away at the weekend and to my horror I discovered I'd no hair products with me to look the part while headin down to the pub to watch Barca thump Real Madrid. That required some alternative thinking ........and I found out to my great surprise that vaseline can work a treat on the gruaig when applied it to wet hair. You may ask why I had vaseline and no hair gel with me?! The stiff breeze blowing off the River Mersey can do serious damage to a fella's lips :p
Remember hearing from a former Bohs U21's Skipper that Robbie Doyle spent ages putting vaseline in his hair down in Flancare before a match a couple of seasons ago! The PM informs me that Dax contains vaseline hence it probably does the same job! Hear you've a tendency to use vaseline for a number of things. I won't elaborate on such an issue on this forum! :p
TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 8:05 PM
Indeed Dax does contain vaseline or a product remarkably similar. When I was younger I was advised to rub vaseline on my boots to keep them soft and stop them from cracking. I didn't have any vaseline so I was forced to use my pot of Dax. It did the same job for me. In hyndsight, it probably made more sense putting the Dax on the boots than in the gruaig. Awful stuff is wax.
JoeSemi
23/11/2004, 9:15 PM
My thinking was also forged through the Robbie Doyle story which was leaked through a source within Dalymount. It was claimed that Robbie spent the guts of 45minutes preparing his hair for a pre-season game against Spurs; which just about beat his record of 35minutes for most training sessions. :D
$Leon$
24/11/2004, 8:50 PM
got another question on hair produts here...dye or not to dye?
whats the opinion here should fellas use dye to cover grey hairs or is it best to go grey naturally?
i'm really talkin bout fellas who start to show signs of grey hair between 18 and 35
maybe we could get a pole on this important issue adam?
It's hard to know really $Leon$. If a lad is going grey at an early age and the signs are ominious he's best holding out IMO as long as possible until starting to use that dreaded dye. Just for men seems to be the way forward for many but then again take for exampe the Graham Kavanagh's and Fabrizio Ravanelli's of this world and we may have second thoughts. Even Jose Mourinho has gone distinctively greyer since taking over at Chelsea. There's no doubt that stress plays a major role.
$Leon$
26/11/2004, 8:21 AM
It's hard to know really $Leon$. If a lad is going grey at an early age and the signs are ominious he's best holding out IMO as long as possible until starting to use that dreaded dye. Just for men seems to be the way forward for many but then again take for exampe the Graham Kavanagh's and Fabrizio Ravanelli's of this world and we may have second thoughts. Even Jose Mourinho has gone distinctively greyer since taking over at Chelsea. There's no doubt that stress plays a major role.
suppose workin in a stressful high powered job can do that to someone but don't neccessarly think thats true. anyone else got an opinion???
TheJamaicanP.M.
26/11/2004, 6:33 PM
I think dye is definitly the only alternative when faced with such a predicament. You've got to fight the problem.
$Leon$
27/11/2004, 9:29 PM
I think dye is definitly the only alternative when faced with such a predicament. You've got to fight the problem.
ye but u gotta get it lookin natural.
don't wanna look like tom jones do ya?
TheJamaicanP.M.
28/11/2004, 10:54 AM
Yes Tom Jones, its amazing what Just for Men and Viagra can do for a fella. :D
ccfcman
29/11/2004, 8:38 AM
Highlights will destroy those damned greys, my mate dyed red :eek: , then later had higlights, he now looks like a jock strap, err i Mean plonker, well more than usual, in fairness if you look beyond the "I'm a sailer from Crosshaven" look then his hair has recovered from a bout of Greyitis
Grey hairs are a real worry for some alright! :o
Are you Peadar, PM or $Leon$ or any of the other self conscious lads familiar with EMU Shampoo/Oil? If so where is it available? Supposed to help tackle grey hairs.
On a different note, I found out that Bed Head is readily available in Tony n Guy. How good is this hair product though does anybody know when compared to Vo5 Putty?
06/12/2004, 8:19 AM
Are you Peadar, PM or $Leon$ or any of the other self conscious lads familiar with EMU Shampoo/Oil? If so where is it available? Supposed to help tackle grey hairs.
Never heard of it but I'l go grey gracefully, Dillo. ;)
It's not a genuine concern of mine.
I've accepted a long time ago that I'll go grey and the first signs are appearing. Haven't once looked at any products to combat greyness. Not even out of curiosity.
That said, I appreciate how others may feel differently on the subject and I don't see anything wrong with trying to prevent or conceal it.
TheJamaicanP.M.
14/12/2004, 12:10 PM
On a different note, I found out that Bed Head is readily available in Tony n Guy. How good is this hair product though does anybody know when compared to Vo5 Putty?
Dillo, one thing is for sure, after seeing you in action last Thursday night, you have no need to worry about your appearance. That white shirt underneath the black blazer, hair spiked with putty, cracking blond girl on your arm for the night. Very impressed with your performance. I'd give you a rating of 9 out of 10 for your performance. I take 1 point away for being a little sloppy...you got a stain on your blazer. But its fair to say you're hitting full fitness for the time for the busy Christmas schedule.
14/12/2004, 12:50 PM
Got my first few grey hairs at 17 and am now almost fully grey but staunchly refuse to dye my hair.
I feel it gives me a more distinguished look.
Use Dax which does tend to darken the hair making it not look as grey but I don't really care either way.
Worry not lads, if you've got the looks it don't make a difference.
Thanks for the compliments PM but think you wearing those beer goggles of yours for the night! Anabels always proves a tough away trip from our home ground that is Tramco. Always guaranteed a hostile atmosphere and stiff competition. Thankfully we put up a good performance on the night and had a bit more luck been on our side, we might have nicked all three points! Despite this however, I think certain aspects of our play need readdressing including our awareness, tackling and finishing off our chances! Our next fixture is this coming thursday night (weather permitting) at home in Tramco. However we are minus the services of the PM which makes this an uphill task on the night. All we can do is keep it tight, remain focused and hope for some kind of result. Even LadyJane at this early stage acknoweldges this colossal loss that is the PM. Let's just hope he's available for the festive season. I know hee will be. Not only has the PM a cowslick like Mattie Holland, he boasts an outstanding record of games played. :cool: