View Full Version : Hair products

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

20/10/2004, 8:14 AM
next up...

Dinosaurs like you, Conor and Macy are a dying breed!
In nature, the male is typically more flamboyant than the female.
We're readdressing the balance of nature.

TheJamaicanP.M.
20/10/2004, 7:42 PM
Peadar, you are a legend! I've often heard that Cork people are a little more sophisticated than their neighbours from Kerry. You and Conor have both proven this stereo-type to be true! Keep up the grooming and the good work Peadar! :D

Dillo
26/10/2004, 4:48 PM
L'Oreal "Out of Bed" isn't bad.
The one I have at the moment is Brylcreem "Reshaper Gum."
Brylcreem "Reshaper Putty" is equally as good.
Great for short hair, doesn't harden and easy to wash out.

L'Oreal 'Out of Bed' my ar$e Peadar! Purchased it a few days ago and it's a total waste of money! Bitterly disapointed and I spent €5.79 on it. Luckily I got some fine advice from the Jamaican PM and have finally found the best gel on the market- PUTTY!

26/10/2004, 4:55 PM
L'Oreal 'Out of Bed' my ar$e Peadar!!

You picked the product I promoted least favorably.
I gave you a choice and you were unhappy with your own decision.
The stuff I use myself is the best I've ever used.

27/10/2004, 1:40 PM
Can't believe I didn't comment on this sooner.

Best shampoo is Schwarzkopf or however they spell it.

The worst is that Fructis crap (for longhairs anyway).

The rest is somewhere in the middle.

TheJamaicanP.M.
29/10/2004, 7:50 PM
I know a fella who swears by Herbal Essences shampoo.

Peadar, you shouldn't be giving advice on hair gels if you dont think they're up to standard. Thanks for trying though.

Dillo
29/10/2004, 7:57 PM
So do I! ;)

TheJamaicanP.M.
03/11/2004, 5:20 PM
Does Beckham still promote Brylcream. Dont know how anyone could use the stuff. Putty is where it is at these days.

03/11/2004, 5:25 PM
Peadar, you shouldn't be giving advice on hair gels if you dont think they're up to standard.

As the saying goes, there are horses for courses.
That out of bed stuff is good for spikes when you apply it to dry hair.
The putty is good for a messed up look.
I was offering choice.
That's as much as I can do.

TheJamaicanP.M.
03/11/2004, 5:27 PM
As the saying goes, there are horses for courses.
That out of bed stuff is good for spikes when you apply it to dry hair.
The putty is good for a messed up look.
I was offering choice.
That's as much as I can do.

As a matter of interest Peadar, which fashion do you think is "in" at the moment? Spikes or the messed up look? Or a bit of both?

03/11/2004, 5:32 PM
Spikes or the messed up look? Or a bit of both?

Depends on the person and their hair.
I expect there'll be a new style in time for the Christmas party season.

TheJamaicanP.M.
03/11/2004, 5:36 PM
What do you think of the current style of spiking hair up at the back of the head? Putty is good for that. One observer recently pointed out that the back of the head would appear to be the new fringe. People seem to be taking great care in spiking this part of their hair. What do you think Peadar?

03/11/2004, 5:42 PM
People seem to be taking great care in spiking this part of their hair. What do you think Peadar?

People with too much time on their hands!
In order to be successful a hairstyle needs to be practical.
If you need to spend ages twisting your spikes then you may only have time to do it before you go out.
The messed up look is much easier to achieve.

TheJamaicanP.M.
03/11/2004, 5:54 PM
People with too much time on their hands!
In order to be successful a hairstyle needs to be practical.
If you need to spend ages twisting your spikes then you may only have time to do it before you go out.
The messed up look is much easier to achieve.

Yeah I'd be inclined to agree with you on that. Spikes look a bit gay anyway. Messed up look with putty is the way forward.

03/11/2004, 6:13 PM
Messed up look with putty is the way forward.

Until the next style craze hits us at least anyway.

03/11/2004, 7:19 PM
i used brylcream was terrible. i use colourFX styling gel if i want something out-of-the-ordinary. my head's the wrong shape for spiking, although messed up always seems to go down well with the ladies. whats the best product for messed up, but kinda long? i havea clay thing but it kills me scalp so i dont use it that often.

TheJamaicanP.M.
03/11/2004, 7:23 PM
i used brylcream was terrible. i use colourFX styling gel if i want something out-of-the-ordinary. my head's the wrong shape for spiking, although messed up always seems to go down well with the ladies. whats the best product for messed up, but kinda long? i havea clay thing but it kills me scalp so i dont use it that often.

Definitly VO5 Putty. I think you will find that a lot of people on this thread will endorse that product.

Don Vito
04/11/2004, 6:54 AM
Definitely the V05 Putty, quite hard to come across but it is def available in Boots

04/11/2004, 7:19 AM
Definitely the V05 Putty, quite hard to come across but it is def available in Boots

i've been accused of being a dinasaour on this topic,
but give me the days when the nearest you got to this kind of thing was a tv ad with henry cooper turning to kevin keegan and saying "nothing beats the smell of brut" :D

Dillo
04/11/2004, 7:34 PM
I really recommend this hair product. The Jamaican Prime Minister made me aware of it not so long ago and it has transformed my life entirely. You only require a small amount of it while it retains the colour of your hair to give you that natural but messed up effect. Sadly, I am greatly limited to what I can do with my hair but Vo5 Putty definitely helps you achieve it's maximum potential.

$Leon$
04/11/2004, 7:39 PM

your right der its like a minger in da 92 almost impossible to find.
now outside pleadin with the bouncers is a different story.
fair play to the lads on the door for keepin the standard so high.

TheJamaicanP.M.
05/11/2004, 4:51 PM
I hope VO5 dont decide to sell putty anywhere outside of Boots. Usually skangers wont venture into Boots. Thats a good thing. Hopefelly we can keep putty for the select few.

Don Vito
06/11/2004, 11:36 AM
I hope VO5 dont decide to sell putty anywhere outside of Boots. Usually skangers wont venture into Boots. Thats a good thing. Hopefelly we can keep putty for the select few.

I was in the Boots in Jervis recently and there was a load a skobies in there Mr. PM. They were lookin at hair stuff and aftershave, maybe we're not all that different form them after all.

Actually wait I paid for my stuff, they didn't pay for theirs.

Don Vito
06/11/2004, 11:41 AM
i've been accused of being a dinasaour on this topic,
but give me the days when the nearest you got to this kind of thing was a tv ad with henry cooper turning to kevin keegan and saying "nothing beats the smell of brut" :D

Fair enough if you're married and settled down 12th man. Been in a realtionship myself foir the last 14months and I really let myself go, stopped worrying about my appearnace, put on a stone, generally looked like sh!t and didnt care. Its all changed now though, saw some pictures of myself that were taken in the summer and I was disgusted cos I'd been having a go at herself for putting on some weight. Thankfully I'm getting back to my best, approx. 85% finess at the moment.

TheJamaicanP.M.
06/11/2004, 11:58 AM
Fair enough if you're married and settled down 12th man. Been in a realtionship myself foir the last 14months and I really let myself go, stopped worrying about my appearnace, put on a stone, generally looked like sh!t and didnt care. Its all changed now though, saw some pictures of myself that were taken in the summer and I was disgusted cos I'd been having a go at herself for putting on some weight. Thankfully I'm getting back to my best, approx. 85% finess at the moment.

I understand completely how you felt Don. I was in a relationship for over two years. Its amazing how you can let yourself go. I stopped worrying about such simple things as a shower and grooming the hair. I didnt have your foresight to sort myself out during the relationship but thankfully I have now got to grips with things. As one observer recently pointed out, I am now at my peak. The only way I feel I can improve is by having more money and a car but we cant all be like Max Power. Im happy that Im at my peak. VO5 putty has helped me get there. Don, if you keep working hard and dont become complacent you can reach full fitness.

jofyisgod
06/11/2004, 8:42 PM
VO5 putty has helped me get there.

Putty is the way forward, but let's hope it doesn't become too widely used. I love the feeling of having something the common plebs don't :D

I had years of sh1te gel(sooo 90's) then brylcreem wax which nearly involved surgery to remove it, then i found putty...a door opened in my life. 'Tis great stuff, and you only need the tiniest bit to get it to work. I have a double crown ,which is hell, but Putty can control it! :eek: Respect to Putty.

TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 7:08 PM
Putty is the way forward, but let's hope it doesn't become too widely used. I love the feeling of having something the common plebs don't :D

I had years of sh1te gel(sooo 90's) then brylcreem wax which nearly involved surgery to remove it, then i found putty...a door opened in my life. 'Tis great stuff, and you only need the tiniest bit to get it to work. I have a double crown ,which is hell, but Putty can control it! :eek: Respect to Putty.

I feel that you are singing from the same hymn sheet jofyisgod. Life seemed pointless before we discovered putty. BTW, what is a double crown?

$Leon$
08/11/2004, 7:13 PM
I feel that you are singing from the same hymn sheet jofyisgod. Life seemed pointless before we discovered putty. BTW, what is a double crown?

since discoverin putty my life has meaning, purpose and direction

Dillo
08/11/2004, 7:16 PM
:confused: What's that $Leon$????????????????????????????????

$Leon$
08/11/2004, 7:18 PM
:confused: What's that $Leon$????????????????????????????????

it gives me a reason for living dillo. thought you'd understand

TheJamaicanP.M.
10/11/2004, 5:33 PM
Im posing this question to foot.ie user, Sinead or anyone else who can help me and my mates.

Sinead, on another thread, you pointed out that you cannot do without your GHD. I would just like to know how good they are? Ive been keeping my eye on them of late. Think the general price is about €120 in Peter Marks. I would like to know are they good value? As Dillo always says, money should be no barrier to looking well. I really think that a GHD could do a lot for me, especially when it is followed by VO5 putty. One or two of the other lads reckon it could help them in a similar way. So does anyone recommend the GHD?

11/11/2004, 7:30 AM
Think the general price is about €120 in Peter Marks.

My mate picked one up for his missus on e-bay for a bit cheaper.
Brand new, out of the box.

I really think that a GHD could do a lot for me

How long is your hair?
You hardly need one unless your hair is a decent length.

I wonder how many guys have quietly had a peek in Boots or Tesco for hair putty after reading this thread???
Don't expect them to own up though. :D

Littlest Hobo
11/11/2004, 11:41 AM
Jaysus....and I've been talking football with some of youse on here.
Whats next Peadar? [This is totally unacceptable comment on Foot.ie. Do it again and you'll be suspended. --adam]

$Leon$
11/11/2004, 11:57 AM
[Quote deleted --adam] no need for those sort of insults.
were happy with who we are.
we feel we can talk about our problems with each other.
we can talk football with the best of them but we have other interests

11/11/2004, 12:31 PM
[Quote deleted --adam]I suppose you'd nail bomb my house if I did?
Get a life!
We don't need such pathetic remarks on here.

11/11/2004, 1:26 PM
LittlestHobo, note my edit of your post above.

jofyisgod
11/11/2004, 4:11 PM
BTW, what is a double crown?

Well-a crown is where the hair on your head comes out of in the middle of the top of your head. It should come out of one, and therefore in one direction. Mine, howver, to be a b@stard and be different decided to happen twice, and therefore fling the hair on my head in two directions. This results in an Eiffel Tower-shaped piece of hair sticking out the top/back of my head every morning. Hats can help to get it down again, but putty works best.
Littlest Hobo-curb your enthusiasm dearest.

Babysis
11/11/2004, 4:19 PM
in case you were interested, Lee Stafford products and Charles Worthington - Not too expensive, very good and unisex!available in Boots! ;)

11/11/2004, 4:21 PM
in case you were interested, Lee Stafford products and Charles Worthington - Not too expensive, very good and unisex!available in Boots! ;)

or bed head is pretty good ! well so robbie doyle tells me :D GHD's rock by the way !

Babysis
11/11/2004, 4:23 PM
or bed head is pretty good ! well so robbie doyle tells me :D GHD's rock by the way !
Its all good! Not a GHD girl fan personally!! but thats just my opinion, sure some people love it

Duffer
11/11/2004, 4:23 PM
JamaicanPM
let me help you out with your GHD querie.
Yes they are brilliant no girl should be without they also have one's with smaller irons for boys to use. If you wear your hair sticking up a bit then yeah you'll never look back.
They are good value definately as ye get that salon look from home remember to use your comb with them though cos they burn the bejaysus fingers off ye.

Babysis
11/11/2004, 4:30 PM
JamaicanPM
let me help you out with your GHD querie.
Yes they are brilliant no girl should be without they also have one's with smaller irons for boys to use. If you wear your hair sticking up a bit then yeah you'll never look back.
They are good value definately as ye get that salon look from home remember to use your comb with them though cos they burn the bejaysus fingers off ye.

Very well said, but there are some other very good ones out there!! Saks are fantastic - would not be without them!! all much the same really

Pat O' Banton
11/11/2004, 4:32 PM
Very well said, but there are some other very good ones out there!! Saks are fantastic - would not be without them!! all much the same really

Babysis next time I speak to you can you translate all this for me :confused:

Babysis
11/11/2004, 4:40 PM
Babysis next time I speak to you can you translate all this for me :confused:
Its what all the kids are talking about on the street!! I will do better than translate, will give you a make over :D

Pat O' Banton
11/11/2004, 4:49 PM
Its what all the kids are talking about on the street!! I will do better than translate, will give you a make over :D

:eek: :eek: :eek: :D

Babysis
11/11/2004, 4:52 PM
:eek: :eek: :eek: :D
Hey my hair dressing skills are not to bad at all!! Im a dab habd with a pair of clippers!!

ccfcman
11/11/2004, 5:45 PM
flick up the back of your hair if its relatively long [in a shaven sense 3/4] looks wicked

jofyisgod
11/11/2004, 5:48 PM
flick up the back of your hair if its relatively long [in a shaven sense 3/4] looks wicked

I'm letting mine grow out a bit at the mo, then i'm gonna get it highlighted. Should look class...hopefully :o

ccfcman
11/11/2004, 5:50 PM
Queer eye for . . . .

I'll not go on.

Well I've been spending ludicrous amounts on hair care and "experimenting" with different looks, highlights are on the cards, but its a expensive mistake, I've no wish to look like a friggin Solero either!

Dillo
11/11/2004, 7:34 PM
I'm letting mine grow out a bit at the mo, then i'm gonna get it highlighted. Should look class...hopefully :o

Good minds think alike jofyisgod! I'm also letting mine grow out for another two weeks at least. I'm in two minds as whether to get highlights though. However, the days of me getting a 'two back and sides' are well and truely gone!! It's too common for my liking. Anyway, I believe the blade is damaging to your hair and in some instances can lead to grey hairs! :o A Scissors cut with our very own Grafton Barber is the way forward. Don Vito recently got his done. Very impressive too I must add. Twenty euro and "very good service" according to him!