View Full Version : Transfers and next years squad

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

L.T.F.C.
17/01/2014, 12:41 PM
Fair play to Tony. This'll be the second time in a couple of years that we have sold a player for great money.

18/01/2014, 2:54 PM
I doubt TC's negotiating the fees somehow. Hopefully there's some other add on clauses, because 40k isn't a whole lot of money if Josh turns out to be even a decent championship player. Obviously it's a decent sum of money for an Irish team from the backarse of nowhere, but With that many clubs interested in him, his potential can't be doubted, and chances are he'll end up being worth considerably more and we'll be complaining that we got shafted :D Hope he does well.

Right it's been days since we signed some galacticos, what gives? :D

18/01/2014, 3:49 PM
We had add ons in the deal to sell The Don to Stevenage so I'd imagine we do with Josh too. Jim Hanley is a good negotiator for such things.

Town Legend
18/01/2014, 5:23 PM
Just heard Ian Ryan is rumoured to be talking about re-joining us. Bray also in the mix for him.

L.T.F.C.
18/01/2014, 5:49 PM
What I'm saying is that he is picking up great unknown players. Look at O'Sullivan.

18/01/2014, 6:51 PM
Not sure if Ian Ryan is what we need.

18/01/2014, 7:04 PM
I'd take him. He's decent enough and experienced, we need another centre back. We don't have unlimited funds either despite recent signings! I'd say he could well go to Bray though as he'd have a good relationship with Alan Mathews.

Cabs88
18/01/2014, 8:14 PM
What I'm saying is that he is picking up great unknown players. Look at O'Sullivan.

Wouldn't be bestowing too much praise on Tony in relation to them two players, he didn't bring O'sullivan in it was Britton apparently and he was hardly an unknown when he won intermediate player of the year, as for Josh he barely got game time even when we were struggling up top

18/01/2014, 8:26 PM
Well to give credit where it's due Davy himself says Tony was a big reason he chose Longford over other clubs that had been on to him, he met Tony and liked what he had to say. He didn't win the Intermediate award til after he signed either. He signed back for this year too because he was enjoying being here long after Britton had left. I wouldn't say Tony discovered a gem out of nowhere but he played his part in getting him here and keeping him for this year.

Cabs88
19/01/2014, 12:15 PM
I wouldn't say Tony discovered a gem out of nowhere

I take your point about TC being an important factor in Sully staying, but the above was exactly my point.

19/01/2014, 6:03 PM
speakin of TC we spoke to him after the Section O meetin.. Josh is back trainin with us until the few clubs after him negotiate a trfr frm us. I didnt catch the rest of the earlier conversation so I will let the other foot.iers that were present explain!

IrishRossi
19/01/2014, 6:09 PM
speakin of TC we spoke to him after the Section O meetin.. Josh is back trainin with us until the few clubs after him negotiate a trfr frm us. I didnt catch the rest of the earlier conversation so I will let the other foot.iers that were present explain! he was saying jamie was back training and if i remember he said he hopes salmon is back by march

19/01/2014, 6:16 PM
he was saying jamie was back training and if i remember he said he hopes salmon is back by march

I was there when he mentioned about Jamie.. by the way I heard there that we have a great chance of getting Danny O Connor back.. I thought he had retired but if thats the case I wouldnt say no I would rather him than Ian Ryan to be honest.

19/01/2014, 7:13 PM
Yeah Danny would be a great lad to have around if he fancies it. We'll have to wait and see, I'm sure Bray want him back too.

20/01/2014, 9:03 PM
Jim Hanley was saying on Shannonside tonight that Josh is still with us for the moment. The clubs that have come in for him haven't convinced him and his family that it's the right move for him as yet by the sounds of things.

Danny O'Connor resigned for Bray now too. Pity but I think he lives out that way so it's handy for him.

Mister X
21/01/2014, 12:38 AM
would josh stay with us ? be very hard for him to make it into the starting 11

21/01/2014, 7:42 AM
Presumably he's already signed some form of a contract given that the club would be getting a fee for him if he goes. As mentioned above he was apparently back training with the rest of the squad at the weekend. He could still go before the end of the month though if they make him a better offer.

21/01/2014, 5:38 PM
on twitter saw Craigoooo @Fitzer_7 said that he is delighted to have signed a first team contract with us. anyone know anything about him. I safely assume he came from the Under 19s

21/01/2014, 5:49 PM
Yeah Craig Fitzgerald, you're correct he's from the u19s. I think he's a winger and from Dublin but I don't know much else about him really. He'll probably just be cover at this stage.

22/01/2014, 4:02 PM
on twitter saw Craigoooo @Fitzer_7 said that he is delighted to have signed a first team contract with us. anyone know anything about him. I safely assume he came from the Under 19s

Tricky little winger surprised he wasn't called up earlier tbh. Should see a good bit of game time since himself and Shannon are only 2 wingers

22/01/2014, 4:27 PM
Lee Higgins is in the first team squad as well I see. I know even less about him, aside from him being with the u19s. So that's four of the u19s registered for the first team, Jamie Mulhall, Dean Murphy, Fitzgerald and Higgins.

22/01/2014, 5:04 PM
Lee Higgins is in the first team squad as well I see. I know even less about him, aside from him being with the u19s. So that's four of the u19s registered for the first team, Jamie Mulhall, Dean Murphy, Fitzgerald and Higgins.

He's a central midfielder, quite a big lad but great feet.

23/01/2014, 7:18 PM
Just going to stick this in here for anyone who didn't catch it. Jim Hanley on Shannonside speaking with Tony Ghee the other day. Good to hear the youth structures are coming along well.

http://media.radiokerry.ie/upload/shannon/audio/JIM_HANLEY.mp3

IrishRossi
25/01/2014, 11:37 AM
josh gone to Bournemouth think its a good move for the lad

25/01/2014, 12:12 PM
Hopefully it works out for him. It was a wise move to take his time and not jump at the first offer he got. Apparently he's going into their first team squad not the reserves.

IrishRossi
25/01/2014, 6:36 PM
Hopefully it works out for him. It was a wise move to take his time and not jump at the first offer he got. Apparently he's going into their first team squad not the reserves.

yeah i heard that, i seen it somewhere on twitter some Bournemouth fans reckon he could be on the subs bench next weekend

25/01/2014, 6:59 PM
yeah i heard that, i seen it somewhere on twitter some Bournemouth fans reckon he could be on the subs bench next weekend
I suppose he'll be match fit after all those trials he was on. Would still be a surprise to see him step up so fast, although Jake Carroll did the same at Huddersfield (for a while, anyway).

25/01/2014, 10:21 PM
I only heard the news on Josh today as I was working the night shift till 8 this morning. A super move for him. Any idea of what the transfer fee was in the end?

25/01/2014, 10:22 PM
Rumour is 40,000, presumably euro but I haven't seen a set figure. You'd have to imagine they negotiated a sell-on clause too - Longford's people seem to be pretty shrewd negotiators.

25/01/2014, 10:34 PM
its a super deal.. what was the fee when we sold DC to Stevenage?

25/01/2014, 10:38 PM
Just did a quick search on foot.ie there and it looks like nobody came up with an informed figure, but certainly it was in five figures, probably not as high as this though.

IrishRossi
25/01/2014, 11:02 PM
according to football manager don cowan went for 35000, i heard we got 50000 for josh

25/01/2014, 11:04 PM
€50,000 would work out at roughly £40,000.

25/01/2014, 11:18 PM
according to football manager don cowan went for 35000, i heard we got 50000 for josh

Yeah I think Don's fee was about €30-35k plus add ons for appearances and stuff. I would assume there's a sell on in Josh's deal too. Great work by the club really considering we only got him last year and he hadn't been figuring for the national squads or anything so he wasn't a high profile youngster really. Goes to show that LOI is a great platform for young Irish talent.

IrishRossi
25/01/2014, 11:31 PM
that and jim doesn't seem too bad at negotiations

26/01/2014, 6:17 PM
theres a good piece about us today in the sun- an interview with Sully-Pat that is!

27/01/2014, 1:06 PM
its a super deal.. what was the fee when we sold DC to Stevenage?

Reported to be between 35,000-50,000 at the time.

29/01/2014, 7:55 PM
We got around £50k for Josh it seems. Nice.

http://www.bournemouthecho.co.uk/sport/10972665.AFC_Bournemouth__Cherries_complete_deal_f or_rookie_striker_Josh_O_Hanlon/

Town Legend
31/01/2014, 10:19 PM
I've heard we've signed a young Carrigy fella from Moydow. Apparently he played in England. Can't say I know anything about him. Anyone else hear of this signing or even know of the lad?

01/02/2014, 7:48 AM
Yep I was told last week we have signed him on a 1 year loan deal from derby county. Scored 15 goals for their reserves last season and was over here on trial with harps, Longford got wind of it and made a move for him, he's 17 years old and a very talented striker. Exciting to say the least.

L.T.F.C.
01/02/2014, 12:35 PM
At the bottom of this page: http://www.dcfc.co.uk/team/U18_profiles/

Keen2win
01/02/2014, 1:18 PM
Notice my location, know him well... Great news, he is very well known around Town with all the younger crowd, so expect a few new faces at matches if he starts performing

01/02/2014, 9:10 PM
Local reporter up here screwed up the whole deal for us. Rang longford leader looking for info on him, and nobody in Longford knew he was available. The reporter passed it onto Longford who then made a bid to sign him.

Was fantastic in a trial game for us, very young, but very promising. Looks the real deal.

02/02/2014, 1:34 AM
Is he back in Ireland due to homesickness or was he released? The English clubs don't usually loan lads out at his age.

02/02/2014, 4:43 PM
I would have first heard of Daryl when he first went to UK. I am delighted we have got him as I thought Harps would have snapped him up.

02/02/2014, 8:19 PM
I would have first heard of Daryl when he first went to UK. I am delighted we have got him as I thought Harps would have snapped him up.

Nothing confirmed yet though?

02/02/2014, 9:20 PM
Nothing confirmed yet at all, Ollie Horgan has stated it's unlikely he'll sign for us, but it's not 100% out of the question yet.

Tiki-Taka
03/02/2014, 6:25 PM
Local reporter up here screwed up the whole deal for us. Rang longford leader looking for info on him, and nobody in Longford knew he was available. The reporter passed it onto Longford who then made a bid to sign him.

Your local reporter definitely didn't contact the Leader office looking for info anyway... :)

03/02/2014, 6:35 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=2735

keith quinn is now with Shels!

03/02/2014, 7:05 PM
"Robby Collins" :D