View Full Version : Transfers and next years squad

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

24/11/2013, 8:34 PM
Graham's a good coach, Cooke did everything to keep him, gets on well with cousins and would know some of the current squad from his time in Bray, he had to retire from playing early due to horrendous injuries...would be a good addition and is not a yes man.
Sounds absolutely ideal. Hopefully he's coming on board.

25/11/2013, 2:20 AM
Anyone who'll listen to me at this stage knows my views on Tony, but if that news is true, he's been making some great strides so far to push on and finally get us the **** up.

25/11/2013, 8:58 PM
How long ago was Graham Lawlor at Bray and was he there for long? I wonder did his and Tony Cousins career paths cross at Bray as Tony retired from playing whilst at Bray ten yrs ago?

Captain2007
25/11/2013, 9:42 PM
How long ago was Graham Lawlor at Bray and was he there for long? I wonder did his and Tony Cousins career paths cross at Bray as Tony retired from playing whilst at Bray ten yrs ago?

Martin, Tony never played for Bray can only remember him at a few training sessions, Graham made 6 app in 2002/03 1 app in 2003/04 for Bray, he was unfortunate with injuries and he had probably more games with Boh's and I think he may have played for Rovers.

Cabs88
26/11/2013, 9:59 AM
and is not a yes man.

Hopefully he's given a bit more time than those previously on the coaching staff

Tiki-Taka
27/11/2013, 3:24 PM
Graham Lawlor confirmed!

27/11/2013, 3:36 PM
Good, sounds like a much needed addition. If we can add a few defenders we may be in business again.

27/11/2013, 7:12 PM
I saw in the Herald today that Josh O Hanlon will also be on trial with C.Palace and Burnley. TC also confirmed that an offer has come in for him but we are holding out depending on how his trial got on.

27/11/2013, 7:22 PM
Interesting. Didn't know we still had him on contract but I guess we must. So much the better if we get a few pound for him.

28/11/2013, 8:52 AM
Lawlor is going to Be our best addition in the off season we are a long time looking for a proper number 2 and Lawlor has the experience of getting a team over the line with athlone so maybe we can avoid a huge collapse again next season. All we need now is a back 4 and I think wel do it.

28/11/2013, 3:51 PM
Here's that piece Martinho was referring to

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/united-on-trail-of-longfords-teen-striker-ohanlon-29789999.html

29/11/2013, 7:26 PM
The return of Peter Hynes. Interesting. Not sure what to make of it but TC knows what he's getting I guess.

http://ltfc.ie/index.php/peter-hynes-returns/#more-5188

29/11/2013, 7:59 PM
Sure we can have himself and Shaw on the wings now and hoof at them till the cows come home.

29/11/2013, 8:03 PM
Sure we can have himself and Shaw on the wings now and hoof at them till the cows come home.

Now now, let's wait til the second half of the first pre season game for the booing and moaning. Fresh start for TC for now!

29/11/2013, 9:04 PM
Like Longfordian I am not convinced about return of PH but is happy for him to prove me wrong as he was top scorer in 2010 for us dont forget!

Darklordsbane
29/11/2013, 9:08 PM
I agree with Longfordian
Lets have only positive chat until we know different, so far so good from TC

29/11/2013, 9:10 PM
He'd be a shocking signing if for example he was replacing Davy but as another striker it could work out. He's a better goalscorer than the likes of Isichei anyway. It's all about his attitude really, if he wants to do well he more than likely will.

29/11/2013, 9:18 PM
Him not actually getting used as a striker properly would be my main worry. Hence the previous comment.
We'll see. Also I'm not sure the 2010 squad was all that vintage of a crop Marty!

29/11/2013, 9:56 PM
Him not actually getting used as a striker properly would be my main worry. Hence the previous comment.
We'll see. Also I'm not sure the 2010 squad was all that vintage of a crop Marty!
what about Salmo and Mick Lee from that squad?

29/11/2013, 11:27 PM
what about Salmo and Mick Lee from that squad?
Goalscoring titans the pair of them, aside from Sammos penalty's he hardly scores a lot.

30/11/2013, 6:16 PM
Goalscoring titans the pair of them, aside from Sammos penalty's he hardly scores a lot.

sorry totally misunderstood what u were sayin! point i was tryin to make was Mick lee got plyr of the yr..

fitzpatrick10
02/12/2013, 2:19 PM
Hynes is not a bad signing imo, shaw didn’t have a great season and hynes is a more experienced player, as someone mentioned in another thread sully scored most goals when playing with shaw .
I don’t think scoring goals will be our problem id be more concerned on who we bring in to strengthen our back four! Id rather TC pushed the boat out in that department

02/12/2013, 2:38 PM
Seeing as he's let a lot of defenders go you'd hope that he's making room for some better ones if possible.

02/12/2013, 6:48 PM
Like Longfordian I am not convinced about return of PH but is happy for him to prove me wrong as he was top scorer in 2010 for us dont forget!

His total was extremely low though less than 10 goals iirc. He's an awful signing IMO he showed no effort last time he was here so what's going to change that? I'd agree with Fitzy that scoring goals won't be a problem it's the back 4 that win win or lose us the league because even at this early stage we have the best squad by far.

Darklordsbane
02/12/2013, 6:57 PM
Jasus if those opinions are true about PH, just when we got rid of one waster another one turns up to haunt us, here's hoping he has learnt his lesson and will prove to be an asset instead of a liability

fitzpatrick10
03/12/2013, 1:40 AM
according to extratime.ie he scored only 2 goals in the league this season... suppose he could do as a back up for isichei

03/12/2013, 8:42 AM
More signings to be announced by the end of the week apparently. TC looking to bring in "experience" and "leaders in the dressing room" to help the young lads.

05/12/2013, 3:21 PM
Tommo Crawley and Garto both free agents I wonder if either of them could be on Cousins radar. As I said in another thread I don't think Garto is the answer to our lack of mobility at centre-half but Tom Crawley is exactly the sort of player we need. Probably little chance of us getting him though.

05/12/2013, 3:47 PM
Even if Gartland is slow I'd imagine he has enough ability to read the game and not need blistering pace at this level..

He mightn't be at his best any more by my God he's way too good for the 1st division so if we got him and he had a run of games and got properly fit he'd be immense for us I think.

Town Legend
05/12/2013, 10:37 PM
I heard he's made an offer to Crawley. But depends on whether anyone else is interested.

06/12/2013, 9:27 AM
Wonder where Crawley would fit in if we signed him? For me he was always a better winger than full back but we've just signed lorcan Shannon to play there and I can't see TC using his head and playing willie Tyrell in his natural position of centre back next season and we've re-signed Glenn O'Connor to that position also so it will be interesting to see where he ends up putting these players should Crawley sign.

fitzpatrick10
07/12/2013, 8:25 AM
I heard he's made an offer to Crawley. But depends on whether anyone else is interested.. Be serious if we signed him again, any word on purdy??

07/12/2013, 3:56 PM
Conor O'Brien has signed apparently. He was with Bohs until July this year by the looks of things. 20 year old midfielder, son of Liam O'Brien. Don't know anything else about him really.

Town Legend
07/12/2013, 4:02 PM
Cousins wants to re-sign Purdy but I think Purdy has said he wants to be playing more regularly. He wasn't happy with O'Brien been picked ahead of him week after week. There is a contract on the table for him but have heard UCD and Bray are interested.

07/12/2013, 7:16 PM
Conor O'Brien has signed apparently. He was with Bohs until July this year by the looks of things. 20 year old midfielder, son of Liam O'Brien. Don't know anything else about him really.
hmm interesting that. A little known fact is that his uncle Michael O Brien played for us in the 93/94 season making 27 appearances and scoring 2 goals.

07/12/2013, 8:53 PM
hmm interesting that. A little known fact is that his uncle Michael O Brien played for us in the 93/94 season making 27 appearances and scoring 2 goals.

I thought that was common knowledge, no?

07/12/2013, 9:16 PM
In fairness people may have forgotten. I had, as it happens.

07/12/2013, 9:33 PM
http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/longford-town-get-ready-for-next-campaign/

signing confirmed on Shannonside today!

10/12/2013, 5:16 PM
Can I ask why on earth Aaron brilly has been let go? Anytime he's come in for the first team he's been played out of the position and been fantastic. He's a natural leader of the u19 side and as a result he never worried or looked phased when he came on alongside the senior players, I mean what is the point in producing these u-19 lads if we are just going to let them go after 2 seasons because bar the odd exception like Jamie Mulhall that's what seems to be happening every single season.

10/12/2013, 5:23 PM
Didn't see much of Brilly to be honest but he's very small which may have counted against him. Dean Murphy and Dylan McKeever have apparently been signed for the first team for next season along with Mulhall as confirmed already.

Town Legend
10/12/2013, 11:48 PM
Can I ask why on earth Aaron brilly has been let go? Anytime he's come in for the first team he's been played out of the position and been fantastic. He's a natural leader of the u19 side and as a result he never worried or looked phased when he came on alongside the senior players, I mean what is the point in producing these u-19 lads if we are just going to let them go after 2 seasons because bar the odd exception like Jamie Mulhall that's what seems to be happening every single season.

Probably to make room for a new right back. Cousins has a Premier right back lined up. If he signs it nearly looks like Havo could be centre back next season.

11/12/2013, 7:18 AM
Yeah Pat Flynn has signed, as confirmed on the club website. Decent player, for this level anyway, very experienced. Bit of a lunatic on the field mind you, between himself and Havo there'll be plenty of physicality in defence!

11/12/2013, 9:20 AM
He was small but he was very strong physically and he was played as a right back for the first team when he was in fact a midfielder and preformed brilliantly it would he no harm to keep players like him around the club.

11/12/2013, 7:41 PM
I for one am delighted Pat Flynn is coming. He is extremely experienced and except for his spell with Shels I think he is highly thought of by Waterford,St Pats and Shamrock Rovers.Maybe a few of the shamrock rovers can tell me if he played for Shamrock Rovers against Partizan Belgrade. I think he did play in that game..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pat_Flynn_(footballer)

howsyourtouch
12/12/2013, 2:39 AM
He was small but he was very strong physically and he was played as a right back for the first team when he was in fact a midfielder and preformed brilliantly it would he no harm to keep players like him around the club.

what's the point in just keeping someone around the club who won't get a game,even as second choice!?for the craic?he is a good ball player all right but not good enough for senior football yet,he would not be able for the physicality of the first devision yet either from watching him. it goes to show the terrible structures in place in this country for bridging the gap between U19 and senior football if anything!

12/12/2013, 9:26 AM
what's the point in just keeping someone around the club who won't get a game,even as second choice!?for the craic?he is a good ball player all right but not good enough for senior football yet,he would not be able for the physicality of the first devision yet either from watching him. it goes to show the terrible structures in place in this country for bridging the gap between U19 and senior football if anything!

Well TC has certainty kept some players not up to it around the club in the past but I agree with you on the structures In this country it's a joke

17/12/2013, 9:23 PM
in the herald today QPR are the latest club to take an interest in Josh O Hanlon. This week he is training with Bournemouth and Peterborough are also keen on him. Josh scored twice for Crystal Palace last week in a trial game. Harry Redknapp is very keen for Josh to have a trial.

In other news the draw was made for the fourth round of the Leinster Senior Cup and we have being drawn against Shamrock Rovers(Wexford) away. Ties have to be played on or before February 16 2014.

17/12/2013, 11:28 PM
Never knew there was a Shamrock Rovers in Wexford but it seems there is. Maybe they'd like to join the league as well.

17/12/2013, 11:42 PM
I for one am delighted Pat Flynn is coming. He is extremely experienced and except for his spell with Shels I think he is highly thought of by Waterford,St Pats and Shamrock Rovers.Maybe a few of the shamrock rovers can tell me if he played for Shamrock Rovers against Partizan Belgrade. I think he did play in that game..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pat_Flynn_(footballer)
No, Pat Sullivan started and finished both games. He was an unused sub for both matches I think.

Darklordsbane
18/12/2013, 4:45 AM
Shamrock rovers Wexford played Shamrock rovers Tallaght in a charity match on a bank holiday weekend about a year ago in Enniscourty (as far as I know) I remember hearing about it at the time I was in Curracloe for the weekend didn't go to the match but I heard SR Wexford put it up to SR Tallaght until the fitness told, I think it was 1 nil to Shamrock rovers Tallaght, could be just locals wearing their rose tinted glasses but if it was only 1 nil you would think they can give us a bit of a game