View Full Version : Transfers and next years squad

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

L.T.F.C.
18/12/2013, 10:17 AM
Relax... it was a charity match on a Bank Holiday weekend.

18/12/2013, 11:28 AM
Besides we never take this competition seriously last year we should have been knocked out by st Kevin's boys they played us off the pitch (or beach as it was that day) and only for a terrible referee and 2 great strikes from Salmo we stole it. We went out to killester a few years ago too so of course they'll 'put it up to us'

18/12/2013, 11:55 AM
It was later on in the season last year if I remember rightly, this is in pre season so it could be a useful enough warm up against a team that's mid season.

02/01/2014, 9:21 PM
Just noticed that Gary Dempsey has said on his Twitter, amongst other things, that he thinks Shane O'Connor from Bray is signing for us. Don't know much about but he's a defender with a few years' Premier Division experience so could be a pretty decent signing.

02/01/2014, 10:43 PM
Just noticed that Gary Dempsey has said on his Twitter, amongst other things, that he thinks Shane O'Connor from Bray is signing for us. Don't know much about but he's a defender with a few years' Premier Division experience so could be a pretty decent signing.

Flying for me in FIFA anyway, good signing on the simple fact it's some premier experience that we've badly lacked in the back4.

fitzpatrick10
03/01/2014, 5:03 PM
Flying for me in FIFA anyway

o well then...

09/01/2014, 7:24 PM
I hear, separately to the tweets last night, that Cowan is definitely a done deal. Apparently it was agreed before he went to Finland and the paperwork was done today. Tony thought Connolly was signing for us today but he obviously decided against it. Shame but still plenty of players available.

09/01/2014, 8:17 PM
Why did Cowan go to Finland if he'd done a deal? Not that the FIFPro tournament serves that much of a purpose, but presumably he was taking a spot somebody else could use.

09/01/2014, 8:21 PM
I was expectin ryan to go to a top flight team so its a kick in the teeth. But I am delighted that Don is back for us. The only concern is will he lose his pace after the injuries hes had over the last few years but it relieves the pressure on Sully a bit!

09/01/2014, 8:32 PM
Why did Cowan go to Finland if he'd done a deal? Not that the FIFPro tournament serves that much of a purpose, but presumably he was taking a spot somebody else could use.

I'm not sure. That's just what I was told. I don't know if the PFAI were turning players away in fairness.

09/01/2014, 8:38 PM
Well Sava opted out once he'd signed his deal. There are still a few decent strikers around who don't have deals. You'd think Akinade at Bray would like a go but he's not on PFAI list.

09/01/2014, 9:42 PM

Wouldn't you go if you were offered an all expenses paid trip to Finland?

09/01/2014, 9:47 PM
There's probably a few with deals lined up that fancied the trip so were postponing signing officially. On another note, Des Hope has retired from senior football. Not a big surprise he's had a lot of injuries lately. Good player for us though and a gentleman by all accounts.

L.T.F.C.
09/01/2014, 10:30 PM
Where did Connolly go to?

09/01/2014, 10:37 PM
Galway

L.T.F.C.
09/01/2014, 10:51 PM
Ah come on!

09/01/2014, 10:54 PM
Shame we couldn't keep Connolly as he was probably our best player for the last 10 games or so of last season. He lives in Mayo I think so that probably influenced his decision to go to Galway rather than us. They're probably shaping up to be our main challengers next season.

10/01/2014, 2:37 PM
The Don returns!

http://ltfc.ie

Cabs88
10/01/2014, 10:29 PM
http://shar.es/9Dw7G. Bit about Cowan in the FIFPRO tournament here, seems the pace is still intact, he did however go off with an injury hope it's not too serious. Hopefully he can be a key player for us.

As regards Connolly disappointed he didn't re-sign, we are light in central midfield and can't afford to let injuries de-rail us again this year. We've only Sammo and Gorman there as things stand iirc.

10/01/2014, 10:46 PM
Conor O'Brien as well though I don't know a lot about him. I'd expect TC to sign someone else instead of Connolly as he had apparently been confident of him signing back so would have budgeted for him. Lots of players out there still.

Just going to throw this in here, Stephen McGuinness talking, amongst other things, about big bad Don. Reckons he's even better now.

https://audioboo.fm/boos/1844732-stephen-mcguinness-from-the-pfai-talks-about-the-trip-to-norway-and-deals-already-done-as-a-result

11/01/2014, 10:48 PM
Hon De' Town!

12/01/2014, 2:39 PM
Kevin O'Connor signs from Bray. Least he could do to make amends for that goal. Stephen Rice is a great signing.

Keen2win
12/01/2014, 4:41 PM
Hon De Town!

RockofGibraltar
12/01/2014, 4:45 PM
Town!

12/01/2014, 7:48 PM
I heard the news about Stephen Rice up up in Dublin at eleven last night. I nearly collapsed due to shock! massive kudos to TC it shows a massive intent. I wasnt expectin KOC at all- what age is he though? he has some shot on him. what happens to Shane O Connor though?

12/01/2014, 8:02 PM
I heard the news about Stephen Rice up up in Dublin at eleven last night. I nearly collapsed due to shock! massive kudos to TC it shows a massive intent. I wasnt expectin KOC at all- what age is he though? he has some shot on him. what happens to Shane O Connor though?

He's 28. I'd imagine there's still a few more to be signed yet, Shane O'Connor could be one of them.

12/01/2014, 8:05 PM
He's 28. I'd imagine there's still a few more to be signed yet, Shane O'Connor could be one of them.

for some reason I thought Kevin was older than DOC. he has huge experience from across the water. With him with us now wonder will Danny O Connor join him with us?

12/01/2014, 8:16 PM
for some reason I thought Kevin was older than DOC. he has huge experience from across the water. With him with us now wonder will Danny O Connor join him with us?

I read somewhere that Danny's retired and is looking at going into coaching.

12/01/2014, 9:11 PM
Shane o'connor expected to re-sign with bray now Apparnetly but not a huge loss to be honest. Like martinho I didnt realise KOC was only 28 so that's a superb signing given his experience and as we all know he has a rocket of a shot on him. Rice is the best signing any side will make this season and for me we have a natural leader in the side there while Don Cowan still has that frightening to pace to pull defenders out of position and create the pockets of space sully thrives off. I've never ever been as excited for a season in my entire life. C'mon de town!

12/01/2014, 9:23 PM
Need a central defender or two and another winger just to round things off. We're well stocked in central midfield and up front now.

L.T.F.C.
13/01/2014, 12:16 AM
We really need some centre backs.

13/01/2014, 4:02 AM
Need to dust off that Des Hope and bandage him back together for one final hurrah I tells ye.

Darklordsbane
13/01/2014, 11:19 AM
Just read Rice played over 150 times for Shamrock rovers scoring 11 goals, I was thinking that's not a great record for a midfielder,
but then I thought maybe he is a destroyer if so I'm very happy we badly need one,
Don't mind me I'm just day dreaming of what might be. I'm guessing but with those signings I think we will have 3 midfielders playing with Rice destroyer, Gorman creator and O' Connor attacking and shooting until Mark is fit and sharp enough to get his place back.
let the good times roll

L.T.F.C.
13/01/2014, 2:14 PM
We have the makings of a decent prem team in the first div!

13/01/2014, 7:32 PM
Ricer's not a destroyer - he does break up play but he's also a great link man between defence and midfield if you're playing it on the ground (though this thought has presumably never occurred to Cousins). Goalscoring was never his strong point though.

13/01/2014, 8:48 PM
From listenin to Stephen McGuinnesses interview earlier he reckons da Don is a way better player than when he was with us. his pace is believed to be faster. I think Hynes would be good as a sub for us. Roll on the new season! I was depressed earlier in preseason until Sully resigned for us. Ever since then it has got better and better except for Ryan Connolly.

15/01/2014, 4:07 PM
Mr Patrick Sullivan returns, Jaysus this is a fun off season so far.

15/01/2014, 4:23 PM
Ballsing this up will be the biggest challenge of TC's career.

Looking forward to us playing a bit off football finally thou, although chances are the tactics will be pass to rice who hoofs to Don, who either scores or lays off to Sully.

Sullivans past his best, but should do a job no bother in the 1st anyway. Sammon and Rice can cover in def, so I wonder how many more we'll be bringing in?

Big Mac was saying on twitter that he's gone anyhow, but I don't think many expected him to be kept on really.

15/01/2014, 4:34 PM
Still need a left winger I reckon, we just have Shannon for that spot at the minute. Maybe another centre back too depending on where TC intends to play Flynn and Sullivan. You'd imagine one could be in the centre, Havo could be in there too.

15/01/2014, 4:38 PM
2 wingers still needed imo. No to Don being played there, although I can see TC wasting him there.

15/01/2014, 4:43 PM
Yeah I meant defensive signings, any news in if we're trying to get Tomo or not? He'd be another mid who can cover.. I'll be ****ed off if I see Don on the wing of a front 3 but surprised if it doesn't happen. Our frontline will destroy the weaker teams but not sure that setup will be as effective as it could be against the stronger sides.

15/01/2014, 4:52 PM
jaysus this preseason just gets better and better! hear garto is goin to drogs as plyr coach. also I heard that Tomo is emigrating so no joy with him..by the way section o are havin a meeting this sunday in the clubhouse at half one.spread the word! hope cabs you dont mind me postin on ur behalf!

15/01/2014, 5:18 PM
jaysus this preseason just gets better and better! hear garto is goin to drogs as plyr coach. also I heard that Tomo is emigrating so no joy with him..by the way section o are havin a meeting this sunday in the clubhouse at half one.spread the word! hope cabs you dont mind me postin on ur behalf!

He was up training with Drogs last week apparently. He could still be emigrating of course. Either way doesn't look like he'll be heading to us.

16/01/2014, 4:40 PM
I see in todays sun that we have accepted an offer for JOH and he is set to go in the nxt few days. Bournemouth,Burnley and Reading are the clubs tryin to chase his signature.

16/01/2014, 4:46 PM
Good luck to him hope he makes a good career for himself over there. Great that we get a little bit of money out of it too.

Darklordsbane
16/01/2014, 6:57 PM
That's brilliant news for young Josh, I wish him all the best, I really hope he gets a chance and grabs it with both hands, it would be an awful shame if he was just over there warming the benches

Tiki-Taka
16/01/2014, 11:43 PM
Some fantastic signings, and great news for Josh O'Hanlon, too!

Heard that Purdy could be togging out for Shamrock Rovers B this season.

L.T.F.C.
16/01/2014, 11:56 PM
How much?

17/01/2014, 11:23 AM
How much?
40k seems to be the number doing the rounds.

17/01/2014, 12:01 PM
Euros or Pounds? A welcome bit of cash either way.