View Full Version : LOI July Transfers 2013

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

ATFC-1887
29/07/2013, 10:46 PM
Haha Surprised Sky Sports News don't have it on it

29/07/2013, 11:02 PM
Haha Surprised Sky Sports News don't have it on it

So ye paid Salthill the compensation we wouldn't and Denis Behan is being linked too but we have more money? Great signing for Athlone but will he get a look in with Gorman and Coughlan?

ATFC-1887
29/07/2013, 11:05 PM
Behan wont be signing. Ya see the chairman promised Roddy whatever extra came in the gates will be put towards players. So our increased crowds enable us to spend a bit more. Curran will start up front with Gorman with Coughlan dropping back to the wing id imagine.

ATFC-1887
29/07/2013, 11:27 PM
And Curran himself said he is taking less money to sign for us because he likes the plan Roddy has for Athlone. Doesn't really matter anyways

Bosco
30/07/2013, 8:06 AM
Enda Curran signed for Athlone. Confirmed on his twitter too.

I'm heartbroken, what will we talk about now?

CraftyToePoke
30/07/2013, 2:59 PM
I'm heartbroken, what will we talk about now?

Speculate on his release maybe ?

Bosco
30/07/2013, 3:35 PM
Speculate on his release maybe ?

Wasn't going to say anything but I've heard they've agreed to release him if Athlone don't go up, apparently he's already in negotiations with us,Bohs, Cork and whatever Galway team is in the league next year. Heard a few unconfirmed reports that he's been overheard at different stages saying he's definitely going to all 4. If anyone else has any information at all on this hypothetical move do share.

30/07/2013, 5:35 PM
And Curran himself said he is taking less money to sign for us because he likes the plan Roddy has for Athlone. Doesn't really matter anyways

That's a load if bull, Roddy almost blew the deal but publicising its every development. Only reason he's signing is because Longford wouldn't pay the compensation Salthill wanted.

Ezeikial
30/07/2013, 5:42 PM
Arggghhhh

peterpan
30/07/2013, 6:06 PM
Different Shane Barrett that played with Longford lads, not the striker Barrett this guy is a midfield spoiler who played with rams before and had a short spell in Waterford with Hendo also.

ATFC-1887
30/07/2013, 6:14 PM
And you reckon Athlone Paid it :P Stop talking through your hole. I seen the message from curran saying he is taking less money with us.

30/07/2013, 6:19 PM
Jesus H Christ you pair are doing my nut in. Mods can the words "Enda Curran" be filtered out from this forum or something?

cobhlad
30/07/2013, 6:43 PM
Anything on Denis Behan? Got released by City today. Wouldn't mind if he came down to Cobh. Signed with Cors before this LOI season so could go back to them.

30/07/2013, 6:55 PM
And you reckon Athlone Paid it :P Stop talking through your hole. I seen the message from curran saying he is taking less money with us.

Well if he's under 24 then Athlone have to pay compensation.

30/07/2013, 9:05 PM
Adam Rundle also released by Cork.

Town Legend
30/07/2013, 9:07 PM
Athlone didn't pay any compensation.....they bought him a college instead!! ;)

30/07/2013, 9:37 PM
Well if he's under 24 then Athlone have to pay compensation.

Don't think so if he was on amateur forms? Could be wrong.

Battery Rover
30/07/2013, 9:58 PM
Don't think so if he was on amateur forms? Could be wrong.

Compensation only due if a player is Under 23 and is signed on a pro contract

Ezeikial
30/07/2013, 11:32 PM
Compensation only due if a player is Under 23 and is signed on a pro contract

If the player was signed to a professional contract then it is up to the two clubs to agree terms, otherwise the player simply cannot transfer.

Any pro contract signed at the start of a season must be season long, although obviously the club could agree to release a player without fee (as with UCD / David McMillan)

31/07/2013, 12:01 AM
As far as I'm aware, any contract in which consideration of any sort is paid counts as a professional contract. Joking aside, I'd think even Salthill would ensure if they have a decent player on their books they'll have him on some sort of paid contract.

Nailor
31/07/2013, 9:16 AM
Conor Winn released by Rovers.

vinnie
31/07/2013, 10:33 AM
Conor Winn released by Rovers.

He never really got a look-in, probably better off in new pastures, good luck to him

31/07/2013, 1:55 PM
salthill got no comp. as Enda would have been free to move due to salthill being unable to pay the players expenses for the past month or more.

Salthill in real trouble with there coaching staff (including senior coach Mike Quirke) moving to local junior clubs across the city and county.

bluewhitearmy
31/07/2013, 3:52 PM
Limerick have signed Carel Tiofack according to his twitter.

Confirmed : http://www.limerickfc.ie/tiofack-hughes

NeverFeltBetter
31/07/2013, 5:20 PM
Waterford have confirmed that Danny Furlong has joined them on loan. Some interesting reaction on Twitter related to how much, if any, of his wages Waterford will be paying.

31/07/2013, 5:37 PM
And the sky sports presenter is beside himself with excitement as things really hot up at Finn Park on deadline day.

IN:
Marty Owens (Sligo Rovers, Loan)
Shane Buchanan (Fanad United)
Matt Henry (Derry City)

OUT:
Stephen O’Donnell
Hugh Carlin
Chris McBride (All released)

Any Sligo fans know anything about Owens?

gormacha
31/07/2013, 5:43 PM
Waterford have confirmed that Danny Furlong has joined them on loan. Some interesting reaction on Twitter related to how much, if any, of his wages Waterford will be paying.

The club's press release says: "Danny's signing is not expected to significantly increase the Blues' running costs, as recent and on-going player movements will see the playing budget remain at the same level."

I'm not advocating for this position by the way (before someone flames me), I'm just pointing out what the release says.

31/07/2013, 6:29 PM
Good player and I'm surprised he's going out on loan but we have cover at right full and centre back so maybe they want to get some football into him. You'll like him.

dong
31/07/2013, 8:09 PM
I think he has good potential. Needs games big time as he's wasted on the bench with us.

31/07/2013, 11:44 PM
Any Sligo fans know anything about Owens?Not good enough for PD. Has made mistakes in each of the few games he played for us. Young enough so maybe he can improve with games but like Ryan Connolly, don't see him coming back to us tbh.

Has Ross McLoughlin got a game with ye yet?

01/08/2013, 8:53 AM
No, he hasn't appeared yet, but none of the new signings this month have. They'll probably be bedded into the USL team first but they have a few weeks off currently which is a bit unfortunate.

01/08/2013, 10:39 AM
Pats are signing Daryl Kavanagh from Cork

Dave Ryan is going the opposit direction

ATFC-1887
01/08/2013, 1:20 PM
Former Derby County and Bray midfielder Graham Kelly signed for Athlone from Salthill.

01/08/2013, 1:47 PM
No, he hasn't appeared yet, but none of the new signings this month have. They'll probably be bedded into the USL team first but they have a few weeks off currently which is a bit unfortunate.

Has left the club, wasn't able to commit to training. Was highly rated at the club and would have certainly got his chance but fitness and sharpness needed to be better.
Maybe Marty Owens coming up might change his mind as they can share lifts.

01/08/2013, 2:31 PM
Former Derby County and Bray midfielder Graham Kelly signed for Athlone from Salthill.

Don't see him getting much game time at Athlone. Take it Roddys just strengthening the squad?

ATFC-1887
01/08/2013, 4:31 PM
Hard to tell. He impressed big time with us pre season. Roddy seems to be very fond of him. When he played against us he looked very good. I reckon hell go straight into the team

patrickccfc
01/08/2013, 6:49 PM
Pats are signing Daryl Kavanagh from Cork

Dave Ryan is going the opposit direction
Absolutely ridiculous. We dont even need a keeper and now kenny and morrissey are our only registered strikers with kilduff only on loan. Behan and furlong also out the door and although they weren't up to much we now have limited options up front. Im hoping he has another striker lined up... surely?

01/08/2013, 7:09 PM
Maybe but reading Tommy Dunne's quotes, it's clearly financially motivated

03/08/2013, 9:25 AM
Sligo Rovers in:
Matt Gledhill, last with Stoke City reserves.

dong
06/08/2013, 12:00 PM
Richie Ryan returning to us apparently. Not confirmed yet.

bluewhitearmy
06/08/2013, 1:02 PM
Limerick in:

Cecil Nyoni
Ali Abass (Pending work permit)
Prince Agyemanng ( Pending work permit)

06/08/2013, 1:22 PM
Those are some fantastic names.

06/08/2013, 1:44 PM
The second two lads have come through the right to dream academy in Ghana.

http://academy.righttodream.com/home.aspx

bluewhitearmy
06/08/2013, 1:52 PM
Those are some fantastic names.

I cant wait til we are live on RTE and the commentators have to describe a flowing move from Abass through Nzuzi,Nyoni,Tiofack,Agyemang and Bossekota.

06/08/2013, 1:53 PM
I cant wait til we are live on RTE and the commentators have to describe a flowing move from Abass through Nzuzi,Nyoni,Tiofack,Agyemang and Bossekota.
That'll be the Nzonzi brothers, Tiocfaidh (ár lá), Prince Boateng and Axel Foley so.

06/08/2013, 2:13 PM
Practically speaking how do work permits work in the league??

Only lads I can think of off top of my head are mbazi livingstone, alvin rousse and that herd of barbadans that were brought to galway.

Were they entitled to british passports because they were from former colonies or what??

But then ghana is a former colony aswell. :-\

Also how long do you have to stay in Ireland to get eu citizenship??

#2lazy4google

El-Pietro
06/08/2013, 6:35 PM
Practically speaking how do work permits work in the league??

Only lads I can think of off top of my head are mbazi livingstone, alvin rousse and that herd of barbadans that were brought to galway.

Were they entitled to british passports because they were from former colonies or what??

But then ghana is a former colony aswell. :-\

Also how long do you have to stay in Ireland to get eu citizenship??

#2lazy4google
They work the same way they work in any job in Ireland, football doesn't get an exception. If you aren't an EU citizen you have to be working in a job that pays a certain salary. That used to be around €30,000 a year or so but may have changed.

06/08/2013, 6:37 PM
Confirmation of signings

http://www.limerickfc.ie/cecil-nyoni-signs

http://www.limerickfc.ie/limerick-fc-signings

El-Pietro
06/08/2013, 6:39 PM
Apparently Liam Kearney is in Turners Cross, on the pitch, wearing City colours.

06/08/2013, 6:42 PM
Big signing.