Shane McGinty - Sligo Rovers
Lee Toland - Kildrum Tigers
Ross McLaughlin - Merville United
(OUT):
Matthew Crossan - released
Marc Brolly - released
Thomas McBride - released
Rory Kelly - Buncrana Hearts
Exactly, cos we don't know who any of these players are. Cousins even admitted it himself, he seen a 5 min on youtube but apart from that he never seem him play. We're just signing them cos we heard Athlone were interested.
Heard that alright, apparently Tony only realised when he met him today that he's the same Derek O'Brien that played for him at Galway. Said he didn't realise he was even still playing football until Roddy mentioned him.
poster
12/07/2013, 3:40 PM
Derek O'Brien has signed for us from Salthill
The step over king.
mightaswell
12/07/2013, 8:58 PM
Lorcan Shannon from Shamrock Rovers to Bohemians
14/07/2013, 11:16 AM
Ross McLaughlin - Merville UnitedMerville in Sligo? If that's Ross McLoughlin that played with Rovers his last club was City United not Merville. Great player.
14/07/2013, 12:21 PM
Merville in Sligo? If that's Ross McLoughlin that played with Rovers his last club was City United not Merville. Great player.
Yeah, used to play for Sligo alright.
I was sure he said Merville??
Looks a good player alright, making his debut for the USL side today against Letterkenny Rovers in Finn Park at 2.
14/07/2013, 5:21 PM
Yeah, used to play for Sligo alright.
I was sure he said Merville??
Looks a good player alright, making his debut for the USL side today against Letterkenny Rovers in Finn Park at 2.He used to play for Merville alright but won the league with City United last May. One of the best players in Sligo/Leitrim league and should be decent in the FD. Scored a great goal on his debut away to Bray in final game of 2007. He's a nephew of ex-Rovers/Harps Harry McLoughlin too.
18/07/2013, 10:51 AM
Pats have signed keeper Rene Gilmartin. He was released by Plymouth in June
18/07/2013, 10:58 AM
That sounds like a good signing. He's played at a good level in England and obviously has talent, though his failure to develop is probably mainly down to a lack of football and I don't know if he'll get it ahead of Clarke.
bluemovie
18/07/2013, 11:53 AM
Pats have signed keeper Rene Gilmartin. He was released by Plymouth in June
Allo Allo
desaintsno.12
18/07/2013, 1:08 PM
its a bit of a strange one IMO
bullit
18/07/2013, 8:02 PM
Dundalk in- Simon Kelly & Nathan Murphy
bullit
18/07/2013, 9:08 PM
^^^^ Kelly & Murphy bio's
http://orielupdates.com/2013/07/18/arrivals-murphy-kelly-make-oriel-return/
18/07/2013, 10:00 PM
Where has Murphy been?
bullit
18/07/2013, 10:08 PM
Where has Murphy been?
Dundalk.
Wasn't signed back at the start of the season.
18/07/2013, 10:12 PM
Ah, I see. I had forgotten about Stephen Kenny's irrational fear of full backs. Was there not really high hopes for Murphy a couple of years back?
Dillonman
18/07/2013, 10:24 PM
Ah, I see. I had forgotten about Stephen Kenny's irrational fear of full backs. Was there not really high hopes for Murphy a couple of years back?
was always targeted as the weak link in our defence any year hes been with us. we need cover as we are starting to pick up several injuries and our squad is small enough. both are probably on amateur terms.
bullit
18/07/2013, 10:26 PM
There was and there still is.Chap is only still only 20.I posted a link above maybe you cant read it of your mobile but have a look later.(link also below)
http://orielupdates.com/2013/07/18/arrivals-murphy-kelly-make-oriel-return/
19/07/2013, 1:53 AM
Still think Spud offered a bit more playing left mid. Could be great cover at left full but needs a shout from the centre backs to stop getting pulled out of position.
Am so sorry to see ossie go tbh.
Simon Kelly - well if fit saves us playing a midfielder at centre half, bonus! i really hope he does well at premier level
Guinney
19/07/2013, 10:39 AM
Simon Kelly - well if fit saves us playing a midfielder at centre half, bonus! i really hope he does well at premier level
Simon Kelly was decent enough when Sean Conor was here in our first year back up in the Premier. Admittedly that team put Wimbledon's Crazy Gang to shame. Kelly can do a job as cover, as our small squad size is being tested with injuries and suspensions creeping in.
dejadem
19/07/2013, 10:53 AM
In the early days I always thought Kelly could have become a very good player. Didn't he start out as a winger?
Town Legend
19/07/2013, 12:28 PM
Is that the Kelly lad we had for a few games a couple of seasons ago? Think his first name was Simon but he was a centre back and had previously played with Dundalk. Looked decent but was lacking in match fitness for the few games he played.
Ezeikial
19/07/2013, 12:44 PM
Is that the Kelly lad we had for a few games a couple of seasons ago? Think his first name was Simon but he was a centre back and had previously played with Dundalk. Looked decent but was lacking in match fitness for the few games he played.
Surname Kelly, First Name Simon, previously with Dundalk?
Nah, probably just a crazy coincidence
Dundalk in- Simon Kelly & Nathan Murphy
Still think Spud offered a bit more playing left mid. Could be great cover at left full but needs a shout from the centre backs to stop getting pulled out of position.
Am so sorry to see ossie go tbh.
Simon Kelly was decent enough when Sean Conor was here in our first year back up in the Premier. Admittedly that team put Wimbledon's Crazy Gang to shame. Kelly can do a job as cover, as our small squad size is being tested with injuries and suspensions creeping in.
Town Legend
19/07/2013, 2:08 PM
If you bothered to read my post I said his name was Kelly but I THINK his first name was Simon....as in I'm not sure if it was Simon!!! I just remember a Kelly lad from Dundalk who played with us. I know Kelly might not be a common name in Ireland but i was just asking. Read before you type next time!!
19/07/2013, 10:17 PM
Simon Kelly did play for us town legend when gareth cronin was in charge. certain he came from Dundalk think he only played somethin like 3 game for us before injury intervened
Town Legend
19/07/2013, 10:55 PM
Cheers Marty, at least someone has a bit of cop on!! Had we a Sean Kelly that played in defence for us as well? It would of been a couple of seasons before Simon Kelly.
19/07/2013, 11:20 PM
Had we a Sean Kelly that played in defence for us as well? It would of been a couple of seasons before Simon Kelly.Yes, ex-Sligo Rovers. Now of London GAA fame.
ATFC-1887
20/07/2013, 12:03 AM
All but confirmed tonight that Enda Curran has signed for Athlone
20/07/2013, 9:18 AM
All but confirmed tonight that Enda Curran has signed for Athlone
I hear ye offered him 6 times what we did
ATFC-1887
20/07/2013, 11:24 AM
Yeh we did. Ye Longford fans are pathetic at times. This "joke" is getting old very quick. Fact is the majority of your squad is on more than the majority of our squad. Get over it
Town Legend
20/07/2013, 11:38 AM
I hear ye offered him 6 times what we did
We didn't offer him anything. As I said 3 weeks ago he was offered to us but we turned him down. It amazes me how fans from other teams know our finances. Considering how the majority of players we signed all came from non league I highly doubt we're paying too much on wages!!
ATFC-1887
20/07/2013, 12:15 PM
Yes you did offer him a deal. I know that for a fact.
20/07/2013, 1:01 PM
Jesus all this fuss about Curran you'd swear he was Messi. He's a run of the mill First Division player good luck to him wherever he goes but I'm really and truly unars*d about it at this point.
Town Legend
20/07/2013, 1:07 PM
And you also know how much we're paying our players??!!! You say you're getting sick of the joke but ye bring it on yourselves by going on the whole time about how ye are offering such and such for so and so but then we come in and throw money at players!! Ye are all listening to Roddy a bit too much over there!! I know that Roddy is spouting this crap about our ability to pay more cos Cousins said it at a pre season game in Dublin. What Roddy didn't know and obviously still doesn't is that Cousins was taking the mick with him and he bought it!! Our budget has been basically the same the past 3 seasons and let me tell you....that its not a lot!! But sure we'll let ye all believe what Roddy tells ye over there.....after all didn't he say Curran signed for us?? Spoofer!!
Town Legend
20/07/2013, 1:09 PM
Jesus all this fuss about Curran you'd swear he was Messi. He's a run of the mill First Division player good luck to him wherever he goes but I'm really and truly unars*d about it at this point.
Think he's well overrated to be honest. Galway and Mervue fans hadn't much good to say about him when he played with them. Time will tell I suppose but he looks like he has a bit of a disciplinary problem lately.
20/07/2013, 1:14 PM
I always have to laugh when people on the internet can tell us for a fact what other teams are paying players or offering them. Most people who spout such nonsense wouldn't even have a clue what goes on at their own club, never mind the opposition.
ATFC-1887
20/07/2013, 1:34 PM
The person ye all believed to be Curran when Roddy said a player said for Longford was not Curran. It was Derek O Brien. And @ Charlie i do know what is going on at my own club. Fact is alot of the Athlone squad are not even getting paid. They get expenses. Enda Curran WAS offered a deal with Longford. Athlone then offered him a place in the AIT and the deal should be completed today. I never said Longford were loaded. All i said is they can offer better wages than we can.
Town Legend
20/07/2013, 1:59 PM
There ya go.....massive resources!! Cop on Roddy league of Ireland first division!!! What did we offer?? A 99 with sprinkles on top!! SPOOFER!!
http://www.theloiblog.com/NewsStory.aspx?n=601
Town Legend
20/07/2013, 2:05 PM
We obviously don't offer more when he signed for ye!! Athlone are the ones that are loaded!! :rolleyes:
ATFC-1887
20/07/2013, 2:30 PM
ya offered more money. We offered him education in the AIT.
Town Legend
20/07/2013, 3:19 PM
Who told ya that?? Good ol Roddy??!!! You make me laugh thinking you know what finances we have!!!
ATFC-1887
20/07/2013, 3:29 PM
no it wasnt Roddy actually. I never said i no what exact money ye have but i do know ye have a bigger budget than us.
Town Legend
20/07/2013, 3:31 PM
Well if you know that then I know ye have a bigger budget than us!! :rolleyes: Ridiculous!!
20/07/2013, 3:33 PM
We've actually made a slight profit the last two years right? As well as cleared an awful lot of the old debt since dropping down to the 1st division.You don't do that by spending lots of money on the 1st team.
Its been said a million times that the budget hasn't particularly changed much from season to season, we mostly sign young kids on loan from rovers, decent 1st division players or non league players, the only one we have commanding any sort of decent wage is Gillispie, and we aren't even paying that ourselves. So no we don't have any real resources that dwarf Athlones, we just spent the last 3 odd seasons building a squad for long term success. We're not the ones who got a 500 grand donation to clear stadium debt last season, so crying that we apparently have more money is a load of crap, it simply isn't true, and I for one am getting very tired of all the whining going on here from 1/2 people about it, as well as the town lads need to respond to it every time..
So much rabble over nothing, good lord. Bah humbug etc.
ATFC-1887
20/07/2013, 3:41 PM
Stadium debt was nothing to do the club debt. It was the Athlone Town Stadium committee debt. Not Athlone Town Fc debt
ATFC-1887
20/07/2013, 3:42 PM
Ye all get in such a heap over me saying it so why would i stop haha Ye abuse roddy saying hes a spoofer etc. The man knows exactly what hes doing. And at the moment its working :P
Town Legend
20/07/2013, 3:55 PM
Well said Acorn!
20/07/2013, 4:13 PM
Won't somebody please think of the coefficient?!?
20/07/2013, 5:45 PM
Yes, ex-Sligo Rovers. Now of London GAA fame.
yep played 1 game in 07 on live tv match against drogs i think and nvr plyd again for us