View Full Version : LOI Series 2/3 - 2013

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

20/03/2013, 1:23 AM
I thought he was from Tipperary. If so, good to see people thinking outside their GAA-enforced boundaries.

20/03/2013, 1:46 AM
I thought he was from Tipperary. If so, good to see people thinking outside their GAA-enforced boundaries.

Wouldn't be the first really. Harps take fans from Tyrone and Fermanagh, even heard of fans as far as Dublin and further. Sligo take fans from south donegal and Mayo/Leitrim, Derry take in parts of North Donegal, etc etc.

20/03/2013, 1:53 AM
I suppose Ming Flanagan from Roscommon would be the archetypal example of that, although perhaps he was lying about that and did in fact request that his Sligo Rovers season ticket be expunged. I've heard plenty of people from places like Mayo explain their lack of support for the league away by saying they can't identify with a team in another county, yet for some reason they're fine with supporting a big English team.

20/03/2013, 6:41 AM
Well we're not very good... We do insist on shooting ourselves in the foot though (one, maybe two deflected goals to help Limerick on their way)

Thomond Park's a great venue for the LoI, even mostly empty (although if Pat Dolan ever says "Build it and they will come", he should be directed here and soundly beaten, and I mean that with no disrespect whatsoever to Limerick).

Match organisation still seems a mess though. I had my name on the gate, but no-one seemed to know anything about it. Got directed from one gate across the ground to reception, to the ticket booth via a confused radio call and then back to the gate I'd originally been at, where I was given out to for not being there 15 minutes earlier (even though I had been) cos it was a big event they were running and they hadn't time for last-minute stuff. All a bit amateur hour.

Guy Incognito
20/03/2013, 8:35 AM
Thomond Park's a great venue for the LoI, even mostly empty (although if Pat Dolan ever says "Build it and they will come", he should be directed here and soundly beaten, and I mean that with no disrespect whatsoever to Limerick).

Guaranteed sell out if you put that as the half-time show!

redobit
20/03/2013, 11:11 AM
Elding wasn't even listed by some bookies on the Top Scorer odds prior to the season starting, he's now looking like clear favourite after 3 games.

Sligo seem to have been majorly overlooked before the season started, they are the team to beat.

In some ways its a reflection of how Baraclough goes about his business. No fuzz, patience and gets the job done. While there was a lot of talk about Limerick and Shams squads (and Pats less so) in the off season, Bara nailed down 16 players from a league winning squad and held back from signing just for the sake of it too -making signings right up to before the league started. Add to that the conditioning coach the players worked with in the off season and Bara has put together a fit, capable and talented squad. A squad far ahead of last seasons imo.

wonder88
20/03/2013, 1:38 PM
Fair play to Pat Short for supporting the local game, also credit to John Creedon down in Cork and Ming and Tommy (loves the queen) Gorman if they still go to Sligo games. How about UCD try and get their celeb fan Dave Fanning back from Manchester to the Belfield Bowl.

20/03/2013, 3:03 PM
Were Sligo overlooked??

I, and most people I know, had them down as being well out on top with Shamrock and Pats.

Think the only real question mark anyone had was around whether McMillan would do as a replacement for McGuinness.

adamd164
20/03/2013, 3:33 PM
Were Sligo overlooked??

I, and most people I know, had them down as being well out on top with Shamrock and Pats.

Think the only real question mark anyone had was around whether McMillan would do as a replacement for McGuinness.
Well, overlooked in the sense that a lot of the build up was about how Shamrock had strengthened at Sligo's expense and were bookies favourites. The loss of McGuinness and Quigley in particular sort of cast a shadow over Sligo. But if anything they look like they could be stronger than last year (only 3 games in granted).

noddy102
20/03/2013, 4:18 PM
Well, overlooked in the sense that a lot of the build up was about how Shamrock had strengthened at Sligo's expense and were bookies favourites. The loss of McGuinness and Quigley in particular sort of cast a shadow over Sligo. But if anything they look like they could be stronger than last year (only 3 games in granted).

People forget the young age of a lot the Sligo squad too. Conneely, Connolly, Lynch, Cawley, Greene, Djilali, Gaynor all 24 or under, and winning the league last year can only make them stronger and better players. Added to that how Elding has hit the ground running and the experience of Keane, Ventre, Rogers, N'Do and you have a pretty formidable outfit

Quayman
20/03/2013, 4:25 PM
I'v seen Rovers, Drogs, Shels and Derry so far this season and Sligo really are a step above all. Shels have been the worst to date. Sligo blew us away last night and looked like they could go up another gear if they needed too. Although a top class save from Rogers at 2-0 and an unbelievable miss with an open goal from Ward with 10 to play fceked us up!

Aaron
20/03/2013, 4:29 PM
Just had a chance to watch Monday's MNS. Christ, the UCD defence and keeper had an absolute nightmare. Derry were ruthless. Heard Patterson played another blinder tonight and was unlucky not to bag a few more goals had it not been for Sava.

We should have been 4-0 up at half time, and had one or 2 chances in the second half. We played well but just couldtn finish the game. Sava played a blinder, game of his career. Of course when you dont take chances your open to being punished and we were unfortunately

adamd164
20/03/2013, 4:34 PM
Sava is the best keeper in the league, in my opinion. :o

20/03/2013, 4:43 PM
I would have said so last season. I haven't seen Sava yet this year but Barry Murphy has had a magnificent start, which I'm still finding hard to believe.

20/03/2013, 4:51 PM
Barry Murphy or no Barry Murphy, Sava is still the best keeper in the league by a long way. Absolutely top class.

20/03/2013, 4:54 PM
Sava has a tendency to let in the odd shocker though. As far as I know, no team challenging for the title has ever tried to sign him.

20/03/2013, 4:58 PM
Sava is ****e lads.

20/03/2013, 5:01 PM
I've always liked him. He makes some outstanding saves, but perhaps he's just a match of the day player.

kksaints
20/03/2013, 5:20 PM
Sava is a good shot stopper but his kicking is woeful.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/03/2013, 6:00 PM
I wouldn't swap Gary Rogers for any other keeper in the league

patrickccfc
20/03/2013, 6:49 PM
clearer video of the bohs fan last friday
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UElvs9pg7zY

20/03/2013, 8:47 PM
Fair play to Pat Short for supporting the local game, also credit to John Creedon down in Cork and Ming and Tommy (loves the queen) Gorman if they still go to Sligo games. How about UCD try and get their celeb fan Dave Fanning back from Manchester to the Belfield Bowl.

Tommy Gorman is on the committee and was one of the headliners who changed the chairman after Cook left and made it possible for us to win the league. Tommy is the real deal. Minger, on the other hand, may have visited a few times while in RTC, in search of cheap grass.

20/03/2013, 9:15 PM
clearer video of the bohs fan last friday
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UElvs9pg7zY

Clearly doctored footage.

legendz
20/03/2013, 9:31 PM

Ha ha, shock horror, what's going on? The LoI should have county teams!!

Word had it a few years ago that a previous Cork board wanted to make use of the clubs location and become a big club for the region. I would think Limerick have a better chance in the midwest. Clare, Tipperary and Kerry are 3 counties without a club.

legendz
20/03/2013, 9:36 PM

I suppose in terms of news in the off-season, Limerick and Shamrock created the most to attract the headlines. It's early yet though as you say.

patrickccfc
20/03/2013, 10:35 PM
Clearly doctored footage.
huh? not my vid anyway..
love the way someone throws sand at him at 0:56

20/03/2013, 11:08 PM
Pretty sure it was coffee - saw a still pic on another forum which showed it.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BFbsgCdCAAA_XiK.jpg

Shelsred
20/03/2013, 11:49 PM
We are in massive massive trouble this year. Our team, under Mathews, is going no where fast. I just pray that UCD and possibly Bray dont improve.

21/03/2013, 12:05 AM
We are in massive massive trouble this year. Our team, under Mathews, is going no where fast. I just pray that UCD and possibly Bray dont improve.

Ahh, only three games in .... he'll turn it around alright, you have to give him credit for that to be fair.

21/03/2013, 1:05 AM

Should have decked the stupid pr1ck instead of spraying everyone with a hot beverage...

21/03/2013, 1:07 AM
huh? not my vid anyway..

Sorry, my profile must have been momentarily hacked by a Shams fan... ;)

21/03/2013, 2:13 AM
Whats the story with that little tap dance shuffle thing all football hooligans do instead of fighting??

The youngfella that got dragged off looks about 14??

21/03/2013, 9:53 AM
Whats the story with that little tap dance shuffle thing all football hooligans do instead of fighting?? The youngfella that got dragged off looks about 14??

The way he was walking up the pitch was a bit funny alright. I heard someone asking was he special needs or something .... But i think that was partly to do with him running out of ideas when he realised he was being let walk up there.

patrickccfc
21/03/2013, 2:22 PM

ha that's brilliant

21/03/2013, 2:35 PM

With some of the clowns we have in the squad do you reckon anyone else could do much better? I'm all for giving him some time. Who else would come in anyway?

Shelsred
21/03/2013, 2:45 PM
With some of the clowns we have in the squad do you reckon anyone else could do much better? I'm all for giving him some time. Who else would come in anyway?

The problem is that he drove good players out of the club. Casso, Dawson, Kavanagh, I'd even say Philly Gorman and Andy Boyle. He did this by playing that awful style of football.

I have no problem if a manager has no decent players to work with, but he had the tools and didn't utilise them. So yes, I do think a lot of other managers could do a better job.

The one thing I will say is that some of the players he's brought in look ok. Gartland has impressed, as has Bayly. The signing of all the young players was only done because he had no other choice, and it won't be long until he sucks any sort of football ability out of those players with his negative tactics

PartySaint
21/03/2013, 2:48 PM
Whats the story with that little tap dance shuffle thing all football hooligans do instead of fighting??

The youngfella that got dragged off looks about 14??

I was thinking that as well. It's hilarious, he ran the full length of the pitch and as soon as he gets confronted by another fan they both just stop and bounce around for awhile.

21/03/2013, 3:04 PM
The problem is that he drove good players out of the club. Casso, Dawson, Kavanagh, I'd even say Philly Gorman and Andy Boyle. He did this by playing that awful style of football.

I have no problem if a manager has no decent players to work with, but he had the tools and didn't utilise them. So yes, I do think a lot of other managers could do a better job.

The one thing I will say is that some of the players he's brought in look ok. Gartland has impressed, as has Bayly. The signing of all the young players was only done because he had no other choice, and it won't be long until he sucks any sort of football ability out of those players with his negative tactics
He hardly drove Dawson out, did he? Yeovil is a good stepping stone for him and I'm sure he'll be playing at a higher level soon.

Shelsred
21/03/2013, 4:51 PM
He hardly drove Dawson out, did he? Yeovil is a good stepping stone for him and I'm sure he'll be playing at a higher level soon.

Daws told me he was happy to stay with Shels if his trial didnt work out, once Mathews was gone. The amount of players that said they left because of him is amazing. Dean Delany, Casso, Kavanagh, Paisley, Sean Byrne, Conan Byrne, Philly Gorman, Paul Skinner, Andy Boyle, Brenny McGill and Barry Clancy all cited Mathews as the reason they left the club, unbelievable.

21/03/2013, 5:42 PM
ha that's brilliant

Hm. I think it's more embarrassing than 'brilliant' tbh.

21/03/2013, 5:54 PM
thing I find puzzling about Paisley was that Mathews signed him. He left Longford Town on bad terms in 06 when he brought us to a tribunal and won it cos we didnt pay him.So why he go to shels if he doenst get on with the man??

21/03/2013, 6:00 PM
What would Mathews have to do with the club not paying his wages?

21/03/2013, 6:00 PM
2 games played and the Matthews out campaign has already started.

21/03/2013, 6:02 PM
What would Mathews have to do with the club not paying his wages?

just thought at the time it might explain why he left shels or maybe it was some other reason...

21/03/2013, 6:31 PM
Mathews and himself didn't really have any disagreement over him leaving LTFC. The club got over it fairly quickly too, there was a bit of annoyance that he was told exactly what to say at the tribunal by Messrs McGuinness and Gilhooly and even more so that McGuinness was one of the three decision makers. The club felt they had an agreement with him that his wages would be rescheduled but it didn't matter too much we would have had to let him go the following year anyway. If anything Graham Gartland left on worse terms with Mathews and he's back playing for him now. These things blow over pretty quickly, especially when players need a club and a club needs players.

patrickccfc
21/03/2013, 6:56 PM
I was thinking that as well. It's hilarious, he ran the full length of the pitch and as soon as he gets confronted by another fan they both just stop and bounce around for awhile.
i know ya thought it was all gona kick off at that point

wonder88
21/03/2013, 8:00 PM
Was it just Stephen Kenny and the guy at Dundalk (McClafferky ?) that were sacked during last season. It seems that Mathews is the favourite to be the first to go this year. We have only 20 manager jobs going in our league and it is only by replacing one of those that an opportunity can be given for new blood. While I would not accept that clubs should be getting rid of their manager after a few dissappointing results (Kenny at Rovers was a mistake) it is important that we have a reasonable turnover of them. Bohs would more than likely have held on to Fenlon if they any money left rather than giving a chance to someone like Callaghan who I think can become a really good manager. I think Fenlon was over-rated in Ireland and his true worth will be discovered over in Scotland, so far he has not achieved that much although I hope he does well for the sake of the league here.

21/03/2013, 8:06 PM
Yeah, just Kenny and McClafferky, and Scully technically. Roddy left of his own accord, as he always does.

22/03/2013, 4:00 PM
Felix Healy at Harps.

22/03/2013, 4:40 PM
Felix Healy at Harps.

I always thought Peter Hutton has being in charge since James Gallagher left..