View Full Version : Pre-season friendlies

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8

17/02/2013, 8:39 PM
From what I can gather is, most Harps folk that were down were delighted at our work-rate, fitness and team shape against a good Sligo side.
We have a very good 1st division side, had we went there and played Sligo off the pitch, Id be extremely surprised and to be honest, Sligo would seriously need to look at themselves if that happened.
By the updates, there were plenty of chances in the second half, surely that adds to the excitement of a game?

on a side note, most Harps folk weren't happy at Peers taking out Ciaran Coll at the knee though (I didn't see it so just going by hear-say).

17/02/2013, 8:43 PM
Forgotten how utterly crap the viewing is from the away part.

In fairness, they've made it a lot worse in recent years.

17/02/2013, 8:49 PM
In fairness, they've made it a lot worse in recent years.Stand at the wall and it's grand. You'd need to stand on the dog track at the Brandywell to get a good view.

17/02/2013, 10:02 PM
A draw against Sligo and a win 24 hours later against Leterkenny (with 11 changes) just shows how strong Harps squad is, my money is looking good.

18/02/2013, 12:01 AM
I'm glad we're not in FD these days if that's what you class as an enjoyable game.

No. It was a poor match.

Point exactly to where I said there was good football.

It was a pre-season match. I'd be sticking my house on Finn Harps to win the league, cup and league cup if we went out and blitzed Sligo playing wonderful football.

It was enjoyable. There were plenty of chances. The craic was good. It was good to watch live football again.

Enjoyable.

Sean South
18/02/2013, 8:05 AM
It was far from enjoyable. There was no craic and in my humble opinion the Jinks is perfect the way it is, I wouldn't change it. Up there with Drogheda's away end.

bullit
18/02/2013, 8:21 AM
It was far from enjoyable. There was no craic and in my humble opinion the Jinks is perfect the way it is, I wouldn't change it. Up there with Drogheda's away end.

Have ya not made it down to Dundalk's away patch yet BUD? Bloody amateurs the lot off yee! "Come down once and don't come back MATE! " is the motto and we have no plans to change the situation anytime soon YIS...FreeeeekkkkSS ** :D

*lol *JOKE

redobit
18/02/2013, 9:02 AM
From what I can gather is, most Harps folk that were down were delighted at our work-rate, fitness and team shape against a good Sligo side.
We have a very good 1st division side, had we went there and played Sligo off the pitch, Id be extremely surprised and to be honest, Sligo would seriously need to look at themselves if that happened.
By the updates, there were plenty of chances in the second half, surely that adds to the excitement of a game?

on a side note, most Harps folk weren't happy at Peers taking out Ciaran Coll at the knee though (I didn't see it so just going by hear-say).

It was a fair challenge right in front of your fans. I dont think the referee even gave a free kick for it. Granted is was full blooded and that can be the problem with friendlies in some ways, different teams (and players) show different levels of committment when there isint much to play for. Probably the reason why your fans enjoyed the game as your players seemed up for it and put in a decent performance. Our performance never really got going.

Neish
18/02/2013, 9:05 AM

IMO I don't think it was as bad as some people are making it out to be. Overly ambitious and maybe miss-timed would probably be the best way to describe it. I thought it was pretty bad at the time but on reflection if Wizzy or Cowan had made a similar tackle at Finn Park in a league game most wouldn't of passed much regard to it. That being said it was a friendly game and there wasn't much danger for Sligo a the time as the ball seemed to be going out of play

Neish
18/02/2013, 9:09 AM
Probably the reason why your fans enjoyed the game as your players seemed up for it and put in a decent performance. Our performance never really got going.

I think your lot never got going as Harps did an excellent job of closing the Sligo players down and not giving them much chance to do anything

redobit
18/02/2013, 9:29 AM
I think your lot never got going as Harps did an excellent job of closing the Sligo players down and not giving them much chance to do anything

Na, we were just shiite on the night.

gormacha
18/02/2013, 10:23 AM
Na, we were just shiite on the night.

Yes, but were ye shiite, or did Harps make ye look shiite?

18/02/2013, 10:47 AM
qaivewgu9C0

18/02/2013, 11:12 AM
Point exactly to where I said there was good football.What? You actually quoted two posts, neither of which mentioned anything about you saying there was good football :confused:

Anyway, not bothered arguing about the game anymore. It was a nothing game so not worth the effort.

Bigger game for us tonight. Rovers Vs. Ballinamallard. A lot of ex-Rovers involved there these days.

18/02/2013, 11:15 AM
What? You actually quoted two posts, neither of which mentioned anything about you saying there was good football :confused:

Anyway, not bothered arguing about the game anymore. It was a nothing game so not worth the effort.

Bigger game for us tonight. Rovers Vs. Ballinamallard. A lot of ex-Rovers involved there these days.
That's needlessly condescending.

18/02/2013, 11:18 AM
That's needlessly condescending.I mean it was a nothing game as in nothing really happened in it. But the Harps fans seemed happy with it and that's grand. We don't have to agree.

Tonight's game is bigger for us naturally, given the number of ex-Rovers players with them. No big deal.

bluemovie
18/02/2013, 11:27 AM
Thoroughly enjoyable game in Sligo tonight. Must say though, it's been a few years since I've been in the showgrounds, and I mistakenly thought they'd replaced the old s**t blue seats, only realising tonight that they're still the same ones that are falling apart. Forgotten how utterly crap the viewing is from the away part.

There's an away section now?

18/02/2013, 3:01 PM
I'm actually glad we don't have to deal with Sligo fans on a regular basis.

redobit
18/02/2013, 3:15 PM

Can ya not come up with a better excuse than that for being stuck in the first division.

18/02/2013, 3:19 PM
Can ya not come up with a better excuse than that for being stuck in the first division.

I could come up with a million excuses to be honest. Still, shows how far along the 'Champions' have come along when they couldn't beat a lowly mid table first division side.

redobit
18/02/2013, 3:25 PM
I could come up with a million excuses to be honest. Still, shows how far along the 'Champions' have come along when they couldn't beat a lowly mid table first division side.

Champions in inverted comas. We must not have won the 'league' last season.

Sean South
18/02/2013, 3:28 PM
Whys that Nidge?

El-Pietro
18/02/2013, 5:32 PM
gladly swap ye with them. Not even their team, ye can have their team and all. Congratulations Finn Harps fans, your team just won the league, only they play in Sligo...

18/02/2013, 7:08 PM
Bohs beat the mighty Hardwicke FC today. 5-2...

18/02/2013, 9:27 PM
Rovers 3-1 Ballinamallard. Raf, Conneely and Cawley with an unbelievable strike.

Much better quality game than the Harps game Nigel.

18/02/2013, 9:46 PM
Rovers 3-1 Ballinamallard. Raf, Conneely and Cawley with an unbelievable strike.

Much better quality game than the Harps game Nigel.
Funny how your higher enjoyment of the game correlates with Sligo scoring more goals!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/02/2013, 9:55 PM
Cawleys goal alone made it better then the Harps game

18/02/2013, 10:01 PM
Harps pre-season so far:

Erne - 3-0 - McCarron, M Doherty, McVeigh
Gleneely - 10-0 - M Doherty, T Bonner (2), Funsty (2), McBride (2), Harkin, McHugh, D Curtis
Inishowen - 0-0
Cockhill - 3-2 - Harkin, McMonagle, Duffy
Dergview - 6-1 - Crossan (2), McHugh (2), Hagey, McVeigh
LYIT - 3-0 Mc Bride (2) Reilly
Dundalk - 2-0 - McHugh (2)
Sligo - 1-1 - McCarron
Letterkenny - 2-1 - Duffy, J Bonner

1 more pre-season game and then into the League cup.
Sunday against Derry City - Finn Park 2.30pm for the JJ Reid Cup. Extratime and penalties if needed. (just an annual thing that adds a bit to the friendly, 3rd years it's been run. Harps won it once, Derry once)

18/02/2013, 10:04 PM
Cawleys goal alone made it better then the Harps game
He's got a strike on him that boy. Impressed me every time I saw him.

ATFC-1887
19/02/2013, 6:19 AM
http://www.athlonetownfc.ie/?p=5934

20/02/2013, 3:20 PM
Not in pre-season but Drogheda playing Trabzonspor in Tallaght in a month's time

http://balls.ie/football/drogheda-united-trabzonspor/

20/02/2013, 3:43 PM
That's a slightly odd fixture but good on Setanta for choosing an Irish team. It's a shame the Turks won't be treated to a free packet of Hunky Dory's though.

White Horse
20/02/2013, 4:35 PM
Not in pre-season but Drogheda playing Trabzonspor in Tallaght in a month's time

http://balls.ie/football/drogheda-united-trabzonspor/

Great boost to local business in Tallaght. :)

I'm sure businesses in Drogheda who support the club are delighted.

20/02/2013, 5:08 PM
That's a slightly odd fixture but good on Setanta for choosing an Irish team. It's a shame the Turks won't be treated to a free packet of Hunky Dory's though.

Well the game was happening anyway. Setanta Turkey just piggybacking on as it makes a fair bit of sense.

20/02/2013, 5:56 PM
That's a real kick in the teeth for Drogs fans too. Bad PR move.

20/02/2013, 7:08 PM
Wexford 1-0 up at home to the Limerick Galacticos.

edit: 1-1

cornflakes
20/02/2013, 7:29 PM
1-1 now. Shane Treacy from a free kick for Limerick

20/02/2013, 7:50 PM
Wexford 1-2 Limerick HT

20/02/2013, 7:55 PM
Wexford 1-3 Limerick

Shane Tracey x3

20/02/2013, 8:18 PM
Bohs beat Athlone with a 90th minute winner from Pender.

20/02/2013, 8:46 PM
Wexford 1-4 Limerick FT

NeverFeltBetter
20/02/2013, 9:52 PM
Nice to get a win.

bullit
21/02/2013, 4:50 PM
Last night >

Derry 1-2 Northern Ireland Juniors.

Dundalk play the Northern Ireland Juniors side on Monday.Venue and KO time TBA.

DaveyPats
22/02/2013, 9:35 AM
Pats 6-0 Bluebell

Dillonman
22/02/2013, 10:09 AM
Dundalk play Wexford in Oriel tonight.

22/02/2013, 1:24 PM
Athlone/Rovers tonight is called off due to illness/injury in Athlone squad.

bluemovie
22/02/2013, 4:48 PM
Bray v Blues announced for 7.30 next Wednesday 27th in the Carlisle.

bullit
22/02/2013, 9:00 PM
DundalkFC 2-1 Wexford Y.

22/02/2013, 9:17 PM
DundalkFC 2-1 Wexford Y.

What were Wexford like?
They sound like they put in a good bit of work pre-season too

Dillonman
23/02/2013, 1:13 AM
What were Wexford like?
They sound like they put in a good bit of work pre-season too

didnt do a great deal. their keeper made a blunder for our first. our keeper made s blunder for their equaliser. they tried to play it on the ground but their passing let them down. they only had twelve players with them. duno what that was about.