View Full Version : Pre-season friendlies

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

peterpan
08/02/2013, 4:52 AM
I think that burns has a good chance of been number one this season, McMulty would have your heart in his mouth when he has the ball!! Was really hopeing that they would have brought in a decent keeper in the off season but it never happened. Give burns a go I'd day!

Pablo Escobar
08/02/2013, 6:00 AM
I think that burns has a good chance of been number one this season, McMulty would have your heart in his mouth when he has the ball!! Was really hopeing that they would have brought in a decent keeper in the off season but it never happened. Give burns a go I'd day!
Is this the same McNulty that is technically the best keeper in the league with the ball at his feet and the same Burns that scuffed a few clearances and looked completely uncomfortable while being instructed to play every ball short?

El-Pietro
08/02/2013, 9:19 AM
Burns didnt impress last season innhis limited opportunities Nults is still our number one. There arent many better than him in this league, and those who are, arent by much.

Nailor
08/02/2013, 10:15 AM
Hoops beat Longford last night 3-1

Pablo Escobar
08/02/2013, 12:48 PM
Burns didnt impress last season innhis limited opportunities Nults is still our number one. There arent many better than him in this league, and those who are, arent by much.

In a word, yes. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Sometimes fans cook up problems. Maybe that's a sign that things are right though.

08/02/2013, 12:55 PM

McNulty seems to have come a long way since we're stint in the First Division, I remember Cork fans commenting on him being a weak link in the team.

peterpan
08/02/2013, 12:58 PM
Lads I go to turners cross for 90% of the games and when nults has the ball of his feet you can feel the tension in the ground, imagine how his defence must feel!!

08/02/2013, 2:48 PM
McMulty would have your heart in his mouth when he has the ball!!
Now that's multitasking.

Pablo Escobar
08/02/2013, 3:09 PM
Lads I go to turners cross for 90% of the games and when nults has the ball of his feet you can feel the tension in the ground, imagine how his defence must feel!!
He's an able striker. He actually has a great first touch. Is there any chance that his comfort on the ball and, therefore, regularity with the ball at his feet makes you uncomfortable? :D

peterpan
08/02/2013, 3:36 PM
He's an able striker. He actually has a great first touch. Is there any chance that his comfort on the ball and, therefore, regularity with the ball at his feet makes you uncomfortable? :D
He couldn't catch a cold lads!

Pablo Escobar
08/02/2013, 6:03 PM
What mistakes did he make last season?

KUFCMan
08/02/2013, 6:06 PM
LATEST

Drogs 2-0 Athlone
80 Mins played

08/02/2013, 6:17 PM

So...judging by your statements, he can neither keep the ball at his feet comfortably, nor can he catch a football.

Yet..Cork only conceded 36 goals last season in the League, which only two teams bettered.

LOGIC.

http://scrapetv.com/News/News%20Pages/Politics/Images/computer-thrown-out-a-window.JPG

08/02/2013, 6:28 PM
So...judging by your statements, he can neither keep the ball at his feet comfortably, nor can he catch a football.

Yet..Cork only conceded 36 goals last season in the League, which only two teams bettered.

LOGIC.

http://scrapetv.com/News/News%20Pages/Politics/Images/computer-thrown-out-a-window.JPG
Logic gone out the window!

08/02/2013, 6:32 PM
Looks more like a computer to me.

Battery Rover
08/02/2013, 6:41 PM
LATEST

Drogs 2-0 Athlone
80 Mins played

Any positives for Athlone from the game

08/02/2013, 6:53 PM
Looks more like a computer to me.

Or a monitor to be more precise...

Monitor gone out the window!

08/02/2013, 7:10 PM
It's all out the window in this case. Smashy smashy.

08/02/2013, 7:54 PM
We're playing Ballinamallard at home instead. Also home to Harps on Feb 16th.

08/02/2013, 8:00 PM
Harps 1-0 up on Dundalk. Kevin McHugh with the goal.

08/02/2013, 8:06 PM
Scratch that...2-0. McHugh with a second from the penalty spot.

Battery Rover
08/02/2013, 8:42 PM
Final Score

Drogheda United 3 Athlone Town 0

Goals from Eric Foley, Gary O'neill and Declan O'Brien

08/02/2013, 8:43 PM
Final score Dundalk 0-2 Harps. Encouraging for Harps.

peterpan
08/02/2013, 8:46 PM
[QUOTE=nigel-harps1954;1661252]So...judging by your statements, he can neither keep the ball at his feet comfortably, nor can he catch a football.

Corks record last season was down to a solid defence and hard working midfielders like Dugan that made us hard to break down, nults is a decent shot stopper ill give him that....but Pablo we will talk more a few weeks in!

08/02/2013, 9:16 PM
A defence always needs to have a good goalkeeper backing it up.

luiz
08/02/2013, 9:54 PM
UCD 0 x 1 Mervue United. Really boring match, few chances, goal scored from a free kick.

Dillonman
09/02/2013, 7:34 AM
Harps were well organised last night and deserved their win. We controlled the game in the first half and the slick short passing was a joy to watch. we just looked clueless up top until mulvenna came on. He then pulled a hamstring ten mins later. Richie Towell was a joy to watch last night and will be s star this season.

09/02/2013, 9:48 AM
Harps have played 6 in pre-season.

Won - 5, Drew - 1, Scored 24 and conceded 3.

All coming along nicely. Be nice to have that record after 6 played in the league......

Dillonman
09/02/2013, 9:56 AM
Harps have played 6 in pre-season.

Won - 5, Drew - 1, Scored 24 and conceded 3.

All coming along nicely. Be nice to have that record after 6 played in the league......

Your players seem to know each very well, were most of them with ye last year? I'd say ye will be there or there abouts at the end of the season.

oriel
09/02/2013, 10:31 AM
Final score Dundalk 0-2 Harps. Encouraging for Harps.

Yes I'd think so, caught the second half, Harps passed the ball around very well, looked a decent outfit. Looked like a team who were together for a few weeks compared to us.

09/02/2013, 10:31 AM
There's about 14 or 15 of the squad from the end of last season where we went on the 10 or 11 game unbeaten run.
We've added some quality in the likes of Sean McCarron with players like Josh Mailey, Matty Crossan, Mark Forker, Jonny Bonner and Damien McNulty all very capable at 1st Division.

Very happy with the squad this season. We've probably around 30 players that could all come in and do a job in the side which is impressive on such a small budget.

gormacha
09/02/2013, 11:48 AM
By all accounts Harps were impressive last night. A large squad of good first division standard would seem to set them in good stead for the season.

What will stand to them is the amount of pre-season they have in already. They've played six, whilst Waterford United for example, have yet to play at all.

adamd164
09/02/2013, 1:13 PM
Cork City 2-0 Longford Town after 2 minutes!

09/02/2013, 1:17 PM
I think our lads were more enthused about their post match team night out in Cork than the match itself. Still as long as it stays respectable and we don't get any injuries then fair enough.

09/02/2013, 1:54 PM
5-1 at half time. Daryl Kavanagh with a hattrick.

Different city team expected in the second half.

patrickccfc
09/02/2013, 1:55 PM
I think our lads were more enthused about their post match team night out in Cork than the match itself. Still as long as it stays respectable and we don't get any injuries then fair enough.
5-1 at half time.. gone past respectable now me thinks.. hat-trick for daryl kavanagh, ian turner and and own goal

09/02/2013, 2:46 PM
Yep it's embarrassing now. Shouldn't be losing 6-1 even if it is only pre-season. A deserved pre-season three points according to some Cork lad on Twitter!

patrickccfc
09/02/2013, 7:03 PM
Any city or ramblers fans know what the admission price is for the game on friday?

Comic Book Guy
09/02/2013, 7:34 PM
I think its 5 euro in.

El-Pietro
10/02/2013, 6:19 AM
Longford should be worried about their defence if yesterdays game is anything to go on. Kavanaghs third goal was a horribly one bad to concede. He was in the box, surrounded by defenders, took a shot that sorta went up in the air, only it came back to him with his back to goal (hes quite short, a defender should have won that ball). He was then able to take four touches and score from 7/8 yards.

Let me repeat this, it was a crowded penalty box, he won a ball that was in the air, and he had about 16 weeks to take the ball down, turn to face goal and shoot.

The most comedic goal was the own goal though, that was hilarious.

10/02/2013, 9:47 AM
It's better to learn lessons and shake off the cob webs now than on march 8th.

Look at us two years ago, we beat everyone in friendlies scoring something like 25 goals and only conceding 3 or 4 and ended up finishing 4th in the first division.

10/02/2013, 10:36 AM
Was it last year that Waterford got battered in a bunch of their pre season games? Means feck all really, although obviously it's best avoided!

10/02/2013, 10:48 AM
It's better to learn lessons and shake off the cob webs now than on march 8th.

Look at us two years ago, we beat everyone in friendlies scoring something like 25 goals and only conceding 3 or 4 and ended up finishing 4th in the first division.

To be fair finishing 4th in that 1st division was probably a better achievement than finishing 2nd or 3rd in last seasons considering how bad the standard was last year.

10/02/2013, 10:57 AM
Was it last year that Waterford got battered in a bunch of their pre season games? Means feck all really, although obviously it's best avoided!

Ye I think it was Rovers that beat them 5 or 6-0

adamd164
10/02/2013, 11:03 AM
Waterford did start the season very poorly last year though, probably cost them the league.

donnrua
10/02/2013, 11:33 AM
Ye I think it was Rovers that beat them 5 or 6-0
I believe Rovers hit Waterford for 8 in that game and Wexford put 6 past them first or second game of the season.

L.T.F.C.
10/02/2013, 10:16 PM
I don't think we won one pre-season game last year.

mardyke
10/02/2013, 10:38 PM
Have Athlone under Roddy Collins played any friendlies he seems to have got in alot of new faces might be worth looking at for the 1st division title.

10/02/2013, 11:45 PM
Howya Roddy... ;)

11/02/2013, 6:36 AM
They lost to UCD and got thumped by Pat's